(2007/11) November MTBs

Yami/yoko

My gal also cannot poo everyday. She does it alternative days and her poo is abit yellow green kind. PD says its ok and due to formula she drinks (NAN HA) Guess we just got to monitor...

Superhappy Mum, never mind . Just provide what u have. Don give up.

Yoko, just bought the almond powder to drink. Hee, Actually I have it in office but bought a new can.

Anyone selling swing? I am interested. Currently using PIS.

zoe/superhappymum, ya Mac techno should be the only one tt can recline flat. i also vain la bought Quest cos the shocking pink was cool! didnt buy the techno cos was too exp n heavier than the rest n col not interesting
i added head padding n harness padding to make it more comfy for my gal cos she's only 2mths old, nt suppose to sit in Quest.

Sabrina, yes the bbrock padding definately wont strain the shoulders.
cactusnah,my hb started slinging Mischa since 3week. no issue abt suffocation cos its netted. bb feels good when they curl up inside the sling. eversince we used the sling, attracted alot of curious stares
some even concerned if my bb feels 'painful' or nt in the sling..hhahaa..i always reply:"if painful she will be crying n nt sleeping like this."

dokie, someone in WTS is letting go Swing. i jus saw few days ago.

Is the almond drink nice? is it for inc BM? where to buy n which brand?

yoko,
thanks for the advice & offer
think i'll get one can myself.

dokie,
i also interested to know where to get the almond drink.

S@L,
yoko mentioned tat the almond drink is supposed to improve quality of BM.

anyone know wat's the diff between NAN 1 & NAN HA? i'm interested to get 1 small tin of NAN milk powder to standby when i go back to work. dun wan my baby Jovan to starve
http://www.adshealthcareproducts.com.sg/popup_nutri_pediatrics.shtml

S@L, Cat I paid $17.80 for a tin. Not ex. Organic Almond Powder Brand Organic Resources. If u keen I get for u next week. :p I go there every week.
The sole distributor from the tin is Chyuan Siang Energy Life Teo 67455367
U can also ring them for the list of retailers.
Cat, where do u stay? Then I can refer u to a Organic retailer if I know they carry.

Actually if ur want to have quality BM is to take freshly squeezed organic carrots. It is the best for bm. Very hard to believe me because many people think that it will cause yellowish for baby.
But Must always use organic for carrots because normal carrots contain alot of pesticides.
To get rid of pesticides in the farming ground, farmers actually grow carrots to absorb all the chemicals, pesticides etc. So if normal non organic carrots would mean alot of pesticides as it absorbs from the ground.

Catherine, u TBF right? why will bb starve?

hiaz..today i super bad mood....last night had a tiff with hb and today i stll refuse to talk to him when he left hse this morning. jus now called me again i also reject his call.

as u all know i have been trying hard to build my BM ss since day one n i take a lot of pride in my BF this time cos of my struggling times 4yrs ago. Hubby knew very well and supported my idea of TBF for at least 6-12mths. and i have stopped helping him since i was 2mths preggy as i had very bad MS. so till now i have nt realy gone fully into helping him in his biz.

recently he has been talking to me in a tone which i hate. i m nt sure if its myself due to stress or he really despise tt i m staying at home 'rotting' with my bb. when i told my mum tt day tt i will start bringing bb to her aft xmas so she get the hang of it then i start work. then she told me so many yrs she kinda lost touch, dunno whether can or nt. and she suggested to add FM to my BM so tt bb can last longer betwn feeds when i complained tt Mischa kept wanting to latch. So all these made me have second tots to take care of bb myself cos i enjoy the latching bonding and the tot of my mum secretly adding FM to the feeds jus turns me off.when she came over a few days for dinner, she helped me feed bb thru btl. i gave 100ml and in the end left abt 40ml. she say mischa dun wan anymore. i was furious cos i told her tt she needs coaxing to finish the milk. sometimes taking 30min break betwn the single feed to finish all. my hb also nt patient in feeding bb. so end up always waste the milk. sometimes 20ml, soemtimes 40ml...its all my hard work. so in the end i turn bk to latchin since no one can help me. and to them BM is jus milk lo..

Then jus now mum called me and told me tt she jus called me hb and he told her my tots abt her taking care of bb. She was so upset and scolded me tt i dun trust her....sianz...she said why i m so uptight abt BF and make myself so stress...

i can feel myself breaking down anytime....only come into the forum here to find my sanity talking to u mummies...

Dokie, i also looking at Avent UNO to use when i go to work with hb. maybe pump in the car or find a shopping mall feeding room. I tot of using Avent manual pump, but i scared will affect my ss if i pump outside very often.

How much is brand new medela swing?

dokie,
is the almond tea nice? I like almond flavoured stuff a lot. You buy from supplier at 17.80? Any retailer near telok blangah or clementi? Me interested.

S@L:
Cheer up, we all have our down times. that's what this forum is what. things will definitely get better. I also worry if my MIL take care of bb, she might overfeed him , cos always tell me he's hungry when he cries.

Re:pacifier
Tink it works on my bb. Although i try to take it out when he falls asleep, or if can, dun give until last min. I tried decreasing his milk by 100ML and he is ok. So now, just wondering how to tell how much is enough milk for him. Guess will have to try and error. if my MIL knows i am decreasing, she will be mad I tink. Cos she tinks bb needs the milk.

Tinkabel
Why u decreasing the milk? My bb was taking 120ml every 3hrly 2 wks ago and he regurgitates after his feed. PD said too much for him. So i reduces to 90ml every 2.5-3hrly. BUT, he also regurgitate. But we continue to give him 90ml and monitor. Only started to increase bk to 120ml last evening coz he seems to be asking for more aft his feed. He is ok so far.

Cactusnah,
I mean decrease by 10ML, not 100ML. I want to see what's the optimum intake. Cos dun want to end up overfeeding. Will monitor and see how.

S@L, my sis in law use swing and love it. I donno avent UNO. Is it good? How much?
She paid after discounts at taka $236. No cooler bag and bottle I think.

Tinkabel, just drank. Ok leh. But no added sugar just almond powder.

My baby takes max 3 oz every 3 hourly exception is night last feed at 1030pm or 11pm. He takes more than that because I offer him both breasts.

Hallo ladies!

Had a bit of breather now coz i sent Claire to infant care centre! I cried on the 1st day that i sent her.

Claire seems to be okie at the centre but she seems to know that she is away from her parents. When we bought her home, she refused to be put down and wants to be carried a while.

Talking abt how to address the grandmothers....
My MIL i really faint, when i was pregnant. She told me that Hokkien addressed the paternal grandparents as Ah Ma & Ah Gong and not like the Cantonese like Ma Ma & Ye Ye.

Obviously, my daughter addressed my parents as PoPo & Gong Gong mah. Guess what, my MIL addressed herself as Popo & Gong Gong and when i told my daughter that her Ah Ma & Ah Gong are here. My MIL is stunned!

dokie, avent Duo is good,.bt too big/heavy to bring out. can convert to manual pump, but tiring if wan to empty 2 breasts. brand new avent single Uno is $279. everywhere no discount.

dokie, me also interested in the almond drink leh, i always like almond stuff... any suppliers near sengkang?

S@L, dun despair, do what you feel is best for ur baby, i'm sure ur HB and mother will understand in time to come... different people will have different ways to manage/handle babies, so perhaps it's just their way to do so...
lucky for me is that my mother tends to consult me when it comes to feeding bb... so we tend to be discussing whether to feed my gal more or should we feed her now or not, etc.

plim, exactly ! i m doing what i feel is best..but they dun agree. my mum super sensitive one la. if i tell her this/that, she will say she more experienced...blah blah...then end up will quarrel lo...
i told her BM how to thaw etc, she will say so 'ma fan'. hiaz..so she is actually makin me very uncomfortable to leave a breastfed bb with her. but now she turn ard n say i dun trust her. in the first plc she dun give me the confidence lo.

Tinkabel/Cactusnah,
I've also succumbed to the pacifier 2 weeks ago cos' baby garreth keeps crying and refused to sleep. The first time I offered him the pacifier, he readily sucked it and I was quite upset to see him sucking that piece of ugly thing in his mouth and wanted to cry. But the good thing is the paci helped to calm him down and let him suckle to sleep..usually he will suck for a while and then when he's halfway to dreamland, he will spit it out. Now I'm already quite used to him sucking the paci before sleeping, guess we shouldn't be so overconcerned as this is just a passing phase, once over, they will not want the paci anymore. My niece and gf's daughter are good examples, their babies only suckle in their earlier days, now they dun even need it!

poissons, same tots as me when i first intro paci to Mischa. I was looking at her when i put it into her mouth. then she sucked a few times my heart sank....aft tt she spitted out the paci..i was so happy..hahaha..dilemma...cos i wan to give her so she dun latch for comfort but on the other hand feels sad cos the thing does look ugly on them. tats why now paci comes in all kinds of design and colours..for vain parents like us.

sorry, i'm from dec 07 mtb thread, i got 4 pkts of Lansinoh milk bags to let go at $8 each, each pkts come with 25 pcs of the bags, pls pm me for collection details. thanks a lot!

dokie,
i stay in bukit merah central. any retailer there? thanks in advance.

S@L,
Firstly, i'm no longer on TBF. i have resorted to giving FM to my baby for his bedtime feed. my body cannot tahan waking up every 2hrs at nite. i'm down with cough & cold
i also look v haggard & pale. With FM, if i'm lucky, baby will wake up after 3hrs (but most of the time, he still wakes up after 2hrs!). i cried when i first gave him FM, i felt tat i have failed as a mother, not giving him the best, only wan to rest myself. But now, come to think of it, if i dun rest well, the quantity & quality of my BM will eventually suffer & it will be worse if i cant BF in the end. Secondly, i'm worried tat my milk ss will drop when i return to work. i din store much BM. i only have 5 bags of frozen BM (200ml each). so i wan to get FM to standy for all this.

S@L, i understand how u feel. my mum & HB same thinking as urs ... to them BM is just milk, can just produce more. my baby is mostly bottle-fed EBM in the day. Sometimes he takes v long time for one feed, so my mum & HB becomes impatient & wastes the milk. sometimes baby will demand more & my "smart" HB will go warm up another bottle of 110ml when baby clearly needs only at most another 30-40ml. Rest of BM all wasted! I qn him & he replies "wat if baby still hungry? i dun wan to waste effort to warm up again." i was so PISSED off!!! then my mum, she also said the same thing as ur mum, tat warming up BM is so "mafan", FM is so much easier & faster. i was so angry. in the first place, if u all "allowed" me to latch baby instead of wanting to "monitor" his feed volume, there's no need for such hassle at all. ok back to my HB again... if i latch when he's ard (e.g. on weekends), he always thinks tat baby will get hungry soon. it's as if i dun have enuff milk for him. so angry!

<font color="0000ff">mummies, so sorry for the long &amp; grumpy post</font> *sigh*

Haiz dear all,
dunno whether I am lucky or unlucky. At least ur hubbies are here with you, be it happy or frustrating. My hubby's been back in Shanghai since Matt is 2 wks old and I must say it has really been tough to handle alone, esp with sleep deprivation. But I must say other than a handful of times that Matt has been more difficult, he has usually been ok. He only wakes up once for a feed at night. He plays in the morning, naps the whole afternoon. It's the evening times that are usually more difficult, that's y I had to succumb to the pacifier yesterday night.

Dokie,
I hv not decided on the final price.. guess around $450 I will let go (purchased on 11 Nov 2007), will give away some add'l stuffs such as PureLan cream (37g), remaining milkbags (Medela x 19pcs &amp; Pigeon x 18pcs). I also hv a manual Medela Harmony pump to let go (only used a few times)- $40.

Any keen buyer, PM me.

Cat, Ok u can ring nature glory at 62271318 at tan boon liat building (near outram) to see if they carry this.

Sengkang I think nearest is yishun. There is an organic shop near interchange. name is yong xu blk 921 yishun cnetral #01-257
64815508. I saw it there.

Anyone letting go Avent Uno hehehe.,.

Dokie, if u help me buy the almond powder,can then pass to ur cousin? since she is picking up the lotion for u? btw why carrot can boost BM? apart from the pesticide thing, is carrot generally used to inc BM quality?

thanks dokie

mummies who are using Gerber milk bags, wat is the max capacity of the bag? I saw the markings till 150ml but i store only till 200ml.

S@L, let me scan 2 pages of my book to u tonight. Then u will understand. I am a juicing person and I have a book written by the father of juicing called norman walker.

S@L, sure I get the powder for u.
Plim if u want, I can get it for u but u mind collecting from my auntie place . U been there before?
I feel peh seh to trouble my cousin.

Cat, sorry u stay too far away. I cant help u to buy unless u get it from raffles place my auntie working place. She works in a shop.

Cathrine i think is 6oz-180ml. try nt to put too full cos when freeze afraid might tear.

Dokie, ok thanks. U can pass Plim's powder to me too. cos she will be meeting me to collect her stuff too. thanks ya

mummies, last call for drugstore orders cos batch #2 has been held on for too long.

pls send me additional orders by tonight if any. i will send in orders tomorrow morning. those who have my contact can jus sms me.

any one using lanosih milk bags? do u know how much can be stored per bag? the marking on the bag is 6 oz but can we store more as all as we leave some gap?

S@L,
Since it's your own businness, can you bring your baby girl along with you for work and bf her in the office/shop ?

haha, I like the idea of women give birth and men BF. Really hope can be that fair

dokie, S@L is right, the powder can pass to her since we stay very near each other... ;)

S@L, thanks!
oh, i might add a tube of desitin to the spree#2... will check out what else i need and let u know by tonight...

Sigh, i dunno how long more i can give BM to my gal, cos i'm returning to work soon (much sooner than i wanted)
and as soon as i return to work, i am required to travel liao, 1st to US, next to EU, then to Japan, although cld be 1 or 2 weeks trip each, but my supply will definitely suffer one... very sian leh, worked so hard to pump regularly everyday, tot can hv at least a period of time of 'office days' before i start to travel... sianz...

plim, then lug ur double pump and pump in hotel room lo. even cannot keep, jus pump and throw to keep up with supply.

ok grace, gt ur orders.

Lazykat,
Thanks for the info. Have you started to stop BFing yet? I think I have the same breast problems as you. Even the letdown is painful. But that's only for a few seconds. It's like a burning and stinging sensation right? So weird..... Btw, I'm thinking of trying out the PIS to see if it works better for me. If you don't have any buyers yet, do you mind renting to me for a few days and if it works well for me, I'll buy it over from you?

Yoko,
I'm thinking of looking for a home-based job too. Can you share a bit more info with me?
Btw, what's the almond milk thing you are talking about pls?

Cactusnah,
MY baby has the problem of regurgitation too. I tried reducing his feed to 90ml but he will still be hungry after that. So no choice, got to feed him 110 ml and let him puke. Dr says as long as weight gain is alright, then no need to intervene by giving medicine for his reflux.

Catherine,
I also give my baby one FM feed a day, for his night feed. In fact, my gyne sort of suggested that. I think that way, we are still giving our babies the benefits of BM. So don't be too hard on yourself ok? But I know what you mean, I do feel bad when I give baby FM, partly coz hubby had earlier on been giving me pressure to breastfeed.

S@L,
Pat pat, hope you have a better day today. Don't stress ok? I think in our mothers generation, they're not very educated about the benefits of BM and most of them feed FM. Hence they dont understand why we bother to try BFing. Try explaining to her or showing her some books and brochures?

twiggy, thanks. hahah give up liao...she know the benefits..FYI my grandma BF her till she was 4yrs old! she is nt against it jus tt she keep mentioning adding FM to fill her stomach which defeats the purpose of me building ss to do TBF...

Sorry plim, S@L the price is not $17.80. I see wrongly. It is $19.80. just saw the price tag.
I don rem individual price because I order alot of other fruits and veg and so didnt take note of the price. Just shop billed me in total. Peh seh.Let me know if u are keen.

Twiggy,
sounds like u may encounter the same problem as me.. stinging sensation. I have started on the pills for both anti-swelling and stop BM, today is my forth day. If you are persistent, can just take the anti-swell pills, take the stop BM one for standby if u still want to stop but not now.

So far no keen buyers, as I realised I cant post on WTS, so response much slower I guess. Shld be ok in renting out for a few days, since its sitting at home idling anyway. But I wouldnt know how to charge u the rental fee.. ha. What pump are u using now, cant empty?

Hey, anyone sends your child to music lesson?I am thinking of sending my elder child for class but donno which one. S@L, is your boy attending music class?

S@L,
yr suggestion is very good. I tin and get preggie even better. They will probably drop their confident level. Cos they will become FAT, stretch marks all over the place. And I will sit back and relax. And watch their PND, morning sickness.... Haha!!!

Twiggy,
Almond powder just like a form of dessert. I have a can to giveaway. U can PM me. Cos I dun BF anymore. Keep also no use cos I dun drink...

dokie, the powder u refering to is almond powder right? so juz mix with water right? u were also saying no taste hor, can add sugar/honey to it?
i am ok with $19.80

Dokie, i m keen. pls get a tin for me.thx.

i intend to send my son to piano lesson ...but hv nt researched yet...he dint seem interest too..kept wanting to learn guitar instead..so willllet daddy teach him lo.