(2007/11) November MTBs

s@l: you have organic mothers mailk tea fr drugstore spree?.. am interested and have pm-ed you my contact...can sms me? thanks!

so many of you are losing weight so well! i've lost 10kg after 2nd pregnancy.. 4kg away fr 2nd pre pregnancy weight and 10kg away fr 1st pre pregnancy weight.. many manykg more to go..

superhappymum: why not take a yr off work til your girls are bigger?

tub, u want to cancel ur orders? cos urs is batch #2, orders nt placed yet. the batch #1 orders are short of 6tubes, but batch #2 nt affected. let me know if u want to cancel anyway.

fushiastar, i got ur order/email. will let u know amt.

Superhappymum, if ur menses has returned. it means that your milk supply has dropped until it triggered it to come.
Is ok to continue to bf. Just continue to pump. is fine. don worry.

S@L, is ok to do it every night. Apart from night, u latch on and pump right?
milk supply wont drop just for not pumping nightly.

Yoko, simply no mood to go shopping. I just wore one of my black chiffon empire cut long blouse to go with my maternity pant...

sabrina,
of course i wun shoot u lah... hahhaa. i din try feeding him water last nite, too tired to go kitchen & fill bottle with water :p Anyway i'm quite used to baby Jovan waking up many times at nite. Last nite, his timings were 12, 2, 4.30, 5.15 and 6. So tiring

S@L,
i did ask the PD if baby Jovan is overweight (gain 2.3kg in 6 weeks) or overfed (110ml every 2hrs) but PD said he looks ok. PD said he's abit on the "meaty" side but not fat or overweight. anyway i found this yday - Baby Weight & Height Calculator http://www.eirpharm.com/search_weight_height.php Baby Jovan is just at the brim of the Healthy Weight Range for 1.5 Months.

A friend of mine has a tin of Friso Gold 900g 0-6 months (unopened) to give away... pls pm me if you would like to have it...

Hi Olivetree,
Is the amount you are pumping enough to feed baby? I pump about 180ml every 5 hrs and it might not be enough soon coz baby just increased his feed to 110ml every 2-3 hrs.
I really dread the massaging every 5 hour thing, especially in the middle of the night. Hoping to be able to BF for at least another month till baby is almost 3 mths old.

Dokie,
Sorry, I somehow missed a posting you sent me earlier. I get sore nipples from pumping for too long sometimes. In order to empty my breasts, I need to pump for at least 30 mins.

Pig07,
Oops! Sorry I must have mistaken you for someone else w engorgment too.

Sabrina,
Can dr prescribe medicine to stop breastmilk if I want to stop BF? If not, the way to stop gradually is to pump less and less (dont empty) breast at each session, is that right?

Superhappy mum,
I can understand your dilemma about working vs SAHM. I'm wondering the same myself, whether to go back to work. Told myself to be a SAHM for at least 6 mths but now I'm already missing work. I miss having my own income and having a work identiy and colleagues etc. But on the other hand, I want to spend all my time w my baby. Such a dilemma.

Do any of you know what percentiles mean? On my baby's medical records book, the nurse noted down his weight and height as 75% and 50% respectively. What does it mean?

Twiggy,
I tried to pump lesser, just express juz a little for a few days, but as my engorgement is real bad, and later it has a burning sensation, hence I went back to my gynae (lucky no mastitis) to take the pills to stop BM as well as anti-swell medi. I have taken for 3 days, and not yet completely stop whereas my frenz need only 2 days of medi.

Hi... I think most of us haven lost all the kilos yet.I also have another 6kg and my boy is 7 weeks old now. But, I've started buying clothes cos my pants cant be worn at all now.it gets stuck at before it reaches my thighs.very depressing, cos i used to wear "s" now I gotta get "L".. very depressing.

NTUC having Nepia offer. 2 pkts for $26.95. Shoot! I just received my 8 pkts from the delivery today. :p

Twiggy, yup, dat's right. i'm expressing lesser and lesser. Just now tried to empty my breasts. Can only pump out a miserable 60ml from both breasts... confirm ss drop liao! I think prescribed medicine is more for mummies who suffer from serious engorgement when stop bf.

sabrina:: congrats! your method's wokring! i wonder if i can succeed like you if i'm just doing direct latching and replace latchons with FM. afterall, bb also don't empty breasts each time they latch eh? aiya, i really hope won't get serious engorgement..

lazykat:: i also intned to take pills next monnth, but even taking pills also will face engorgement ley.

its my 2nd day back to work...miss my baby very much...so moody now...cant wait to knock off and go home and bao bao my dear...can only look at her pic to console myself hahah

here its carrie at week 8...

1178306.jpg

winwin, ur baby can 'sit' at two months?? her neck looks pretty sturdy too.

ladies, my girl haven pass motion for the whole of yesterday and today. Is it time to bring to the PD ?
My cousin told me to observe for one more day. Should I go PD or just GP?

fushiastar & all other mummies intersted in organic milk tea, i still have one and a half box left. Just let me know by PM if interested and send me self addressed envelope. Would like to give away for free...do not want to waste it :p

yami:

she can hold up her neck awhile..we took this pic fast fast so she only "sit" awhile...this chair designed to help baby to learn siting, was a gift from a friend...but should only start from 3mth and above...we just put her down to try try and take pic haha

ur gal drinking BM or FM, if FM you dont need go see PD so fast...that time my gal got same issue and the PD say no poo poo for 3 days then got to go see him...

Cindy, Gillian,
I wanted to stop gradually too, however, engorgement is really giving me the blues and each day I stared in front of the mirror with my bruised breasts, really down and out. Last draw came when it was burning each time it fills up.. cant sleep at nite cos will feel it every 3 hrs or so.. So decided to end it right away. Salute to the other persevering mums! Jia You!

BTW, I am letting go my Medela PIS, while it really works in getting my BM established, somehow cant really empty it.. maybe cos i am lazy, din pump too regularly, hence the engorgement.. intend to put up at the WTS section later, but if u hv frenz who might be interested, can PM me.

girls,

got a question.. my mother calls herself MA MA to my kid, and then my MIL came and call her self MA MA too!! so now i dont know what my kid should call both of them. my mum says my mil should be called NAI NAI. I dont know how to tell my MIL...sianzz.. so mahfan. i dont want them to both call themselves MA MA then my kid get confused.

what do your bb have to call your mother and your mil? can share?

i want to correct it before it gets woorse. only reason i have this prob now is that only last week then my mil carry my baby. she say cheong cos she is also born in pig year then she never touch my little girl at all for 2 months!

so its really called nai nai ah. but she is the ang mo kind...wonder if granny is ok? must tell my hubby to tell her lah. i dont know how to open my mouth to say. mayb the next time she comes, i pretend to talk to bb and say nai nai is here to see u..

hows little mischa? is she still having growth sprouts?

as for the desitin, am i in batch 1? if there are others who are more urgent then i will wait lah.

grace,
my gal calls my mother "Ma Ma" or "Ah Ma", and she calls my MIL "Nai Nai"... it's not a problem for my MIL at all cos her other grandchildren address her in this correct way also...

hmm, din know cheong 'pig' with 'pig'? My mother also born in year of pig but she has been handling my gal since day 1 wor...

grace,
i born in the year of pig too, but i dun believe in this...
i got this problem too, my father call himself as "yue yue" and my FIL also call himself "yue yue" too, i told my father my boy should call him "ah gong", but my father dun want...hai no choice, u know lah old ppl someimes can be quite stubborn one.

actually I call both my grandmothers Ah Ma. But I will differentiate by adding 'prefix' to their title based on where they stay. for eg. hougang ah ma.

plim/rast...
yah, my mil go and ask her favourite fengshui auntie loh who tell her pig cheong pig. this auntie is horrible lah and not accurate one. previously we were quarrelling over this over the old house cos the old house fengshui in huge mess. but she still believes her and go to her. me and hubby give up liao. i also quite irritated that she never touch my kid at all until last sunday. then she came to my house suddenly and want to carry. as i just finish feeding bb and burping her, she was impatient. so i let her carry, she was like ah yo.. i dont know how to carry so small bb. and faster return to me within 5 mins. so weird.....

rast.. so u have the same prob. i think they just want their way.

yami, ah..then mine will be very long. will have to call mil telok blangah ah ma, my mum - clementi ah ma.

Grace: We refer my MIL as Nai Nai too. Ya, think u can pretend to ask yr gal 'call' "Granny" when she comes to visit. Gotta start early, else once everyone gets used to it will be difficult to switch bk.

So sad, I just succumbed to giving Matt the pacifier. He's been crying a lot more for milk (cos his mouth looks like he wants to suckle) so I thought it was a growth spurt, but I increased his milk to 110ML. but then he is stil crying 1.5 hrs after his feed. So I tried the pacifier. Then it seems like he just wants to suckle something and not really hungry. Dont want to over feed him cos he has put on 1.5 kg at 1 mth. Now he's in his 7 wks, dunno how much he has put on as hvnt weighed him yet. Sigh... Now worry now to wean that off later

Tinkabel
No choice, i've also given Eagan the dummy abt 2 wks ago when he was constantly "hungry". So, instead of feeding him, we succumbed to pacifier too. Guess that's the best option for now instead of overfeeding or have them crying and causing wind in the stomach.

yah cactusnah,
I agree. My MIL keep asking me to feed. But then I really think he is not hungry. So when we finally tried the pacifier earlier tonight, it really works. And when the pacifier drop, he wails again. Haiz. Now he's finally asleep even though it's 3 hrs since his last feeding time. My FIL says, that's why it is called pacifier. Agree that pacifier is better than overfeeding them, or even them sucking their thumbs (even harder to wean off next time).

Tinkable,CActusnah, ya same here i m fine with giving paci too as long as bb can give me some peace. BUT, strangely Mischa dun wan to take paci...if i put it into her mouth she will wail even louder. when i gave paci to my son before, he took to it instantly...i have tried on Mischa for 2 weeksplus already..she still rejects paci..

S@L, does the babyrock sling cause major strain on the shoulders like the MIM sling? I'm scouting aroung for another baby sling where my gal can lie horizontally inside the sling. The only sling that i have that allows me to carry my gal like that is the MIM sling.... BUT the sling really caused bad strains on my shoulder (pain..!). I see that the babyrock sling has thick paddings. Does the padding help? thanks

cactusnah,
do u schedule timings for eagan's feed now that u give the pacifier? And you let bb sleep himself with it? Or just give in the day when he is throwing tantrums between feeds?

Tinkabel,
Eagan's feeding time is usually 3hrs apart. So, when he starts crying abt an hr aft feeding, we know it's def not due to hunger. We try not to give him paci first, but only aft trying all way (pat him, carry him, rock him, sing to him..which makes thing worst..ha ha..) then we offer him paci.

Sometimes, he cries coz he is tired and will get cranky. So the paci helps, but if it's abt 2hrs aft his last feed, paci will not wk. So, i'll feed him water instead and he'll doze off till his feeding time. He'll spit out the paci once he falls asleep deeply. But, if he is not, he will wail when the paci leaves his mouth which makes us very busy. My HB even suggested tying the paci to his mouth by looping round his ear. What a dad!

BUT, these few days my boy is difficult. Think he is having colic. Have to carry him all day. Try putting him on his cot and he wakes up and cry. My mil & i have to take turn to carry him. Brght him to the doc and he said he got wind in his stomach.

Yami,
According to PD if baby didn't poo for 3-4 days then is consider constipation. However it varies for different babies, even 2 days can be consider constipation if baby is straining alot and very hard until whole face red or crying. Or you notice that the poo is dry and hard like stone.

That time PD injects babylax thru the anus and immediately alot of poo came out, overflow diaper wor... but we were so happy! hee! Then she recommend we add Friso Comfort to the normal milk (50%:50%) To observe and adjust the ratio of accordingly. She also prescribed a probiotics (live bacteria) to be added to water/milk twice a day.

Btw babylax is available at pharmacies, not expensive. Accordingly to my hb there's different babylax.. for infants and older babies.

catherine, gf of mine bf for 1 year. She bought for me almond drink. She said is really good. I have no chance to try cos i stopped bf liao. Maybe u would like to try. She said that u really can see the difference in quality in BM. Moreover almond is gd for our skin too. She gave me 2 bottles. I open up one. There's another unopen. If u like to try, PM me.

superhappymum, I tin is me that tells u to watch HK series la and do some part time to get income. Like home telemarketing? If u wan, I may have some lobang. At least u dun feel so bored n no income. I am working as a property agt. I can just close my sales wo even have to work that often. Moreover I still have time for my bb and stay at home lo. Of cos i do hav a maid so that sometimes if i go for my presentation, the maid is around alone w bb for 1 to 2 hrs. I tin 1 to 2 hrs my maid still can handle. It won't be same like office job that u need to stay in office for straight 8 hrs. Need more info just let me know. Just my personal opinion.

BTW I am giving my bb enfalac, he also poo alternate days. PD asked me to give at least 3 oz a day for water. If constipate, put a little glucose. But his poo is GREEN color. My mom was saying like "scare" but i dun really believe in that. Wonder is it due to the FM that his poo is green...????

Stop Breast feeding by medication
ladies pls be careful with it. I stop mine by taking medication too. My gynae told me not to massage but the prob after that was I got lumps on my breast and I need to take anti biotic. I heard that u need to massage after to remove the lums. but not to stimulate it.

thks Lifesigreat....i getting worried leh. it's day two. tomorrow is day three...feel like taking her to see PD if she doesnt poo by noon time tomorrow. I cant sleep...keep smelling her bottom . hoping to smell her poo
argh, i wish i have breastmilk for her

yami, my baby also the same can't poo everyday. U try give her gloucose water. Advice given by PD, also to chnge his milk to enfalac HA or NAN. But i remember orrectly that Gillian's bb give NAN and also constipate rite? SO i decide to choose enfalac HA. STill same also every other day poo. Always must monitor whether poo or not lo... Other time I went to KK children emergency too cos my bb can't poo. The doc gave my boy the "butt stuffing wax". U know which type m talking abt? can't remember the name. Doc told me that if he dun poo for 5 days dan stick in his butt. But of cos we dun wish that to happen la. I tin he pooduring 3rd day. Luckily we do not have to resort to that. Same some times I wish to have BM too. But too bad. bo liao. Perhaps u monitor till tml. dan u make yr decision.

Today I went to doc to get slimming pills cannot tahan liao. Cos CNY coming and I still gt 10 kg to go. Of cos can't fit into my old clothes. Dun even need to tin abt trying. How to shed in 1 mth. I also sign up a slimming course. hopefully can get rid of my water retention and tone up a bit la. Hehe very vain hor.

Superhappymum, I used my quest already. i love it. :p
Yoko, I dare not weigh. Afraid of the truth. But cant go slimming salon as I am still bf.

I am returning to work soon. Need to get some new clothes as existing ones cant fit in. Very sad.

lazykat, how much are u letting go? I see if my friend or cousin interested.

Anyone wants to sell medela swing? I am interested to get one set for weekend and travelling. For existing users, any comment?

yami: have pm-ed you

grace: fathers parents are grandpa ye ye, grandma nai nai; mothers parents are grandpa gong gong, grandma po po.... my mil referred to herself as ah ma.. but i don't like it cos my daughter cals me mama and i thought it's be too confusing for her

superhappymum and dokie: are you talking about the maclaren quest? can it recline flat? i have the maclaren techno but it can't recline flat so haven't put luke in it yet..

does someone who has the gina ford the contented baby book mind typing out the routine for 6week old baby here for me?
hubby hasn't gotten down to buying it for me yet and i wanna use the routine cos tried the toddler years with my older girl and it works well.. thanks

Sabrina
I also bought the baby rock sling. But havent really use it coz my mil said bb too small and poorthing to "suffocate" inside the sling (even though my babyrock sling is the netted type). i tried it a few times at home. Love the thick padding, comfy. Dun think it'll strain the shoulder/neck as compared to cloth sling w/o padding. Also, i place my bb in the sling and have his neck supported on the padded edge, he fell asleep instantly. But, i haven't really master the skill of placing bb in gracefully, a bit 'garang gaboh'. Hee hee...

Oh ya, one con of the BR sling is that it's more bulky to keep as compared to the MIM sling. So, it wont fit into yr diaper bag.

dokie,
Sigh....I am trying my best to provide baby as much as I can. She is actually having a lot more than her sister already. I don't know what's wrong with my breast. Sigh..sigh....
I am using Medela PIS. I find it better than Medela Mini Electric. I am not sure about Medela Swing.

Zoe,
Maclaren techno XT should be able to recline flat. I am sure about it coz I was thinking of buying it but too expensive and my girl was 3 months old already. That's why I buy Quest instead.