(2007/11) November MTBs

Erika, ya its driving me crazy! Sometimes if i m in good mood still ok. but if my elder son is at home at the same time, i usually feel like banging the wall together with them....

i feel feeding her every so often is weird...even when i go out with bb, i hv to keep cradling her halfway thru my shopping n feed her as i walk. but i m confused cos read somewhere tt this cultivate good eating habits by giving smaller more frequent feeds. morever her growth/ weight has been very good so i'm still hanging on to frequent latching.

Winn, welcome. do join us here more often.

Tinkabel, yes perfectly normal to hv 1 side with more milk. as for bb crying when pumping, usually i will detach one side of the pump n latch her while pumping the other. this takes practice n actually gd cos bb trigger more letdowns so can empty the other side faster. ya single pump u will feel more tired cos hv to repeat both sides over again. i also holding 2 pumps in my hands but i try to rest them on my lap (i cross my lap during pumping- on the bed) so nt tt tiring.

Sabrina, ya cos the speed/vacuum control for avebt Duo is on the pump itself so cant balance well.

do any one u gals have this problem?
everytime i bring my gal out, she can't seem to sleep.always wake up and wants to be carried.. aiyo... hard to go out like that leh... very chum. always cry and cry...

then end up cannot shop much at all.. haiz...
I also encounter the part on need to be carried in order to sleep also.. really very tiring...
anyone has any gd idea on how to 'wean' bb off this habit? haiz.

pacifier i had succumbed last wed.. after a few days of non stop carrying and bb crying.. but she refused to suck it..

hb and i felt very guilty to gv her pacifier some more... we felt as if we force her to take drugs.. haha....

tinkabel,
thank u so much, yes, pls bring the tube of desitin cream on monday and i'll pay u (how much ah?)

S@L,
thanks so much for offering to let me have some sample of the desitin cream... since tinkabel is going to let go her spare tube, think no need the sample liao... will juz get it... i might order thru u for extra tubes later on ;)

re: Pacifier
I had succumbed to it since 1st wk she was born... that only for 1 of the days... we stopped for a while (she din seem to need it as she was sleeping and eating well most of the time)... then we had to use it again starting right after her full month... sigh... now, i give it to her when she crys for no reason (e.g. shortly after a feed, etc.)... it somehow seems to calm her down... on some days even when i put the pacifier in her mouth, she did not even wan to take it, juz spit it out!
For me, the pacifier helps keep my sanity!

sabrina,
i rem. u using Ameda Lactaline pumps right? the pumping pal works perfect? how much is it ah? was it S@L who posted the link on the pumping pal ah?
now whenever i pump my hands are not hands-free, hv to hold the pumps, very mah-fun...

oh, i rem. u asked abt the Ameda manual head pump right? i called up the distributor, apparently they are OOS for that now, asked me to leave them my number, and they will call me back, called early this wk, up till now no one called me :S
they told me it's ard $49 for 1 head...
am thinking of getting it cos sometimes i go out for 4-5 hrs and feel guilty for not being able to pump in between, so getting tat manual head will allow me to bring my pump out without much hassle! will prob call them again to check...

plim,

the Pumping Pal cost $34 from mumsfairy. u can order from the business thread. yup, it works perfect for me, only the first time a bit troublesome coz must keep adjusting the straps to find the best fit.

haha! i faster than u.. :p I got the last piece for the manual pump grip from the agent.. hehe. got it when i sent my pump motor for servicing last week. But frankly i find it quite useless lor, coz the suction quite weak. But just keeping it for "what if" situation. oh yah. the agent don't get back to you one, coz when i went there, the entire agency consists of 2 persons only. A lady (who attends to everything) and a man ( who check stocks). If i m not wrong they are also the distributor for Leapfrog toys. Saw a lot of that brand toys in their office cum warehouse.

You can also try calling / emailing BReastfeeding Mothers' Support Group (www.breastfeeding.org.sg). I tried calling them, they say can get the pump head for me but need to give them 2-3 weeks.

re: pacifier

For me it was an easy decision to decide on the pacifier. First, I'm a believer of the fourth trimester where it's important for babies to suck to self soothe. Secondly, The baby might eventually learn to suck own thumb or fingers to self-soothe. When it comes to weaning, the pacifier can always get rid of it gradually. But the baby's thumb / fingers, how to get rid from the baby??? :p

When my gal get fretful, I follow the steps from "The Happiest Baby in the Block". Seems to work for me. I use the method to comfort my kids eversince from my elder gal.

my itchy skin is driving me crazy!... especially around the breasts area. Only have this problem after giving birth. Anyone have the same problem?

i almost died last night. refuses to sleep from 1am to 4 am, then sleep for 1 hr, up again from 5 to 6. i am so tired. want to cry already.

s@l and erika:: my bb also like that with the odd feeding habits. but like s@l i also still hangling on.

mandy:: for now when we bring bb out, we always carry hahaha. lazy to push pram. haha

sabrina,
kinda agree with u. My SIL refuses to give pacifier to my niece. my niece now 18 mths, hv been suckg thumbs since young. Till now, still cannot get rid of this habit. imagine them at 18 mths, touching everythg, then put thumb in mouth. cant imagine that pacifier is a worse idea than thumbs. but think will only intro when bb is a bit older

cindy,
cheerup. somtimes this happen. and i can understand, feel like stuffing the bb' mouth up. my bb was gd last night. not sure if he was tired cos i brought him back to my mum's place. fed him at 11pm and he slept all the way until almost 5am. then work up only slightly after 8am for another feed. Hopefully he will be like that every day.

tinkabel:: hmm but pacifier is not good too, my nephew is already close to 3 and is heavily dependent on pacifier. Cannot go without it. He even speaks with it in his mouth, really not advisable. hahaha...

and yes, i will bear with it. Sigh. I hope and pray your little boy will be this good everyday! I brought him out the whole day yesterday too, but he doesn't seem tired. doesn't seem to want to sleep much. Sighs, later gg out again! that's something positive to look forward to.

k@ye,
i dunno if it'll help but could u have a good heart to heart talk wif your hubby? i just talked to my hubby last night. he fell asleep while sterlising the bottles for me and could still zonk out at times when the baby is wailing away. told him wat i tot and the stress we mothers are going thru. don't be disheartened. remember why u want to have this baby in the first place. i hope this helps. we are all here, facing similar, if not congruent situations. this, too, will pass. and when baby is older, she'll be able to smile at you and interact wif u.

Tub, yup i talked to my hubby abt it liao. Guess, its his personality and bundled with a wailing baby... Everything seems to be blown out of proportion.

Mandy, my baby opp of urs. Whenever, we bring her out, she will sleep and sleep... The min we stepped into our home, she will wake and fuss... And she won;t sleep at all! Faints!

On pacifier, i had already succumbed to it. To me, its the lesser evil of using the thumb or hand as a soother. Besides, my gal will spit out the pacifier once she is in deep sleep.

Plim, ok let me know if u want it. BtW if u intend to get manual pump, i would suggest Avent isis instead. the Ameda one has weak suction n is quite expensive. If u keen drugstore also have the Avent pump selling cheaper than locally.

Sabrina, i also hv the itchiness on my breasts usually when it about pumping time cos its stretching the skin thus feel itchy.

Tweety & mummies,
I am having fever now. Just come back from clinic. Sigh.....sorry it will affect the milk ss again. Sigh....
I won't be able to go for your gathering tomorrow.

Superhappymum, is ur fever due to engorgement? no worries. rest well dun worry so much. when u recover add more pumping sesssion, ur BM ss will be fine. take care.

Sabrina,
me also have rashes from the 6 day after birth. not sure if bath the da feng cao or what. lasted till now still. i just saw the skin specialist after pd recommend. my rashes cover my whole legs from ankle to thighs...its getting better after some mediciation, 2 kinds of creams, a moisturiser and a bathing creme.

let me know if u need the specialist's details. do bear in mind he is very packed too.

i am hoping it goes away faster so that i can feel better and feed bb better too.

grace,

oooo... ur rashes sound bad. Good that it has starting to clear. Did the specialist tell u wat's the cause? For me, my rashes has gone. But the itchiness is still there. Especially at the breast and tummy area. Sometimes scratch like crazy.

hi sabrina..
not sure what is the cause. specialist didnt say but pd says its from within the body and could be post natal rashes. i had a bout of rashes 14-15 years ago due to yeast. so i cant really tell what it is this time.
it started with the tummy stretchmark area then spread out. i also cant stand it, i will scratch.

As for bb's reflux. it is better with the thickener, keeps milk in the stomach better. i went out to ikea today, order food for dinner then suddenly bb poo and mess up her clothes. then went to change and feed her for 20mins. i was just trying to hook my bra. all the milk came out.. top and pants wet. lucky i wear black..then smelly smelly went back to gop down the food. so horrible...

s@l, how do u feed bb while walking? which sling u use? i have 2 carriers, a bb bjorn and a mim sling. i never use the mim sling yet..its a gift. but i absolutely love the bb bjorn one.

S@L- u can cancel my order for the desitin cream liao as my hb already got it. sorry.

grace, I have given up on sling.. so fed up with it.. cannot handle it at all. now very tempted to buy a carrier but hb kept saying no use for it.
hmm

grace, u use baby bjorn? I also wanted to get a baby bjorn coz my baby likes to be carried in the upright position. I tried my friend's, But my baby's neck and spine still soft soft, she slumps in the carrier. So in the end didn't get. I got the CuddlyWrap. It's basically a really long piece of cloth you wrap around the body. Easier to use than MIM sling.

rast,

u ride a bike?? COOL!! I don't even know how to cycle... :p

grace again,

glad that ur baby can keep more milk now. My baby also vomitted all over me when we went out on two occasions. Unfortunately, her vomit is those curd-like like cottage cheese... so no choice must go home immediately. sigh

Finally got time to come here...

Can I ask did you freeze your milk? How you thaw the forzen milk? My friend told me have to remove it from the frozen compartment one nite before and put into the chiller before I take it out and warm it. Is that true?

I have stock up the frozen milk but don't know the correct way to thaw it, so funny me...

hi sabrina,
yes, i like the bb bjorn cos she can be upright after a feed. then after like 20 -30mins, then i put her down in the pram. the neck support is quite ok, i put an extra napkin cloth behind her neck so more cushion. if she falls asleep, there is a bib so that she wont salivate on your shirt. she will sleep with her forehead on your chest...

as for the vomit episode, its beancurd like too. but i clean up with water and lots of tissue. cant help it cos actually we just fed her then hubby went to buy food like then she poo. after poo only sure want to feed. so i smelly smelly went back and gurp food down before go home.

Grace, can bb used baby bjorn carrier now? i tot is for 3mths up cos neck still nt strong? i dun use sling to BF although i have 1 types of sling- Littlepods pouch and Babyrock sling. i simply carry her in my arms and BF her on the way...hahaha initially can do it with a breeze..recently kinda tiring cos shes gaining quite a bit of weight. As for MIM, i have long given up on it..so hot and difficult to handle.

Rast, ya so cool ah can ride a bike? i guess it shouldnt be an issue right?

Koala, i dun thaw my milk overnight, but its true tt u can do tt. if u know how many feeds ur bb will be taking the next day otherwise i dun suggest in case of wastage. like for my case cos i still latch bb, so only sometimes emergency (i need to be away) then will take 1 feed from freezer and place in warm water jus before a feed. Disadvantage is the milk take longer to defroze and if it doesnt help to have a wailing bb at the same time

sabrina & S@L,
hee...sorry for making u gals misnuderstanding. is my hubby drive on the motor and i sit behind him. i'm c-section, so i dun know when can ride on the motor as u gals know c-section take longer time to heal the internal wound than the outer layer wound.

rast,
oh, so u're the pillion rider.. kekeke! Must be the lack of sleep for the past month so brain cells abit short circuit already. Start to think too much 'out of the box'.. kekeke

i'm so upset today coz my milk supply has decreased tremendously
hopefully the increase in pumping session would help. But my gal is so colicky nowadays... i dono if the extra pumping session would help coz i really don't have much rest and sleep attending to her. We have tried every colic antidotes you can ever imagine but she is still the same. What's wrong??!! And my poor baby is affected too coz she couldn't sleep well. Poor girl! Got eyebags.. Could she be allergic to my BM??? Coz i have heard of such cases before...SOB!! SOB!!

S@L,
I am also suspect my fever is due to engorgement. BTW, how to confirm ?
I was in JB yesterday and didn't pump for 6 hours. Will this cause engorgement so soon ? Sometimes i also didn't pump for 6 hours at night and it's okay leh. I am suspect that it's due to I am taking Fenugreek. I am take 6 tablets for 4 days already. Is it the side effect of Fenugreek ?
I am go to read more about it.
How's the gathering ? It's great to "really meet up" the "friends". We have been helping and listening to one another.....it's great to really "know" you guys but too bad I can't go today. Still have fever now....May need to see Doctor again tonight.

S@L
Thanks. I find that after I defreeze the milk, the taste is a bit diffrent from the fresh ebm. That y I am a bit worry the milk can still be consumed. You have encountered this before?

I alway use hot water from the flask to thaw the ebm, so I think I need to use warm water instead.

Catherine,

Is the freezer cubes air-tight? If they are not, might risk contamination. Have you tried Lansinoh milkbags before? They are cheaper than Gerber's but same quality and design. You can get in this forum for $11-12 for a 25pc box. Or you can join the sprees. Lansinoh milkbags retail for $18+ at Mothercare.

Catherine

I use the first few years milk bags S$19.90 for a 25 pc box. I bought from kiddy Palace. Is a bit ex.

Sabrina

Can advise which thread that I should go for the Lansinoh's milkbags? Thanks.

hey girls, i have 4 boxes of 25 pc gerber milk bags to let go. let me know if any of you want them k? don't think i wanna freeze milk.

Computer has been down so not been able to post or read this thread at all. Glad it's up again now.

Sabrina / Grace,
How do you know your baby's have reflux? Mine spits up a lot after feeding. And I have to hold him upright for at least 15-30 mins after feeding before putting him to sleep. Is that reflux? Does the milk thickener help?

Sabrina,
I think I have the same problem as you. My breasts fill up very fast, every 2-3 hrs. If I ignore it for more than 3 hours, it gets engorged. So no choice, I have to pump every 3-4 hours max, even in the middle of night. Very tiring!

I still have to massage very very hard to remove the engorgement before my milk starts flowing. Without massaging, even the pump can't get the milk flowing. As a result, I have very sore boobs all the time. Anyone face this problem? It also takes me 30 mins to empty the breast still.
Sore nipples...

Anyone breastfeed in public? I've seen some mummies do it in a restaurant, and they either have the baby in a sling or throw a clothe over the baby's head to cover. I'm wondering how to do so, so that I can go out. Otherwise, I'm stuck at home all the time.

RE : Desitin Cream
I just bought 4 tubes of the blue Desitin from the pharmacy at Raffles Hospital today. 4 tubes for $58. Not sure if cheap or ex but it was very hard to find so I just bought. You can try that pharmacy if you can't find anywhere else.

my fiend told me can get it from any pharmacy, but u must ask from the pharmacist at the counter cos they usually dun display on the shelf.

Catherine, I have 2 sets of slimlines milk trays to let go . I bought extra to get the discounts.
It costs $33.90 per set. Let me know if u are keen.
I used it and find it good. the quality is of more superior than food cubes in your link.

Koala, for sure when u freeze the quality is not so good. However still better than FM.

S@L,

Where did you get the blessed thistle? I tried GNC but they don't carry? Nature's Farm have?

Twiggy,
I did breastfeed in public before i start to pump. But it was easier for me then coz i was wearing a nursing top and bra.

twiggy:: i went out last wkend both days for the whole day. also BF in public but i went nursing rooms if there is, if not i use the toilet. hahaha.

hi s@l,

the bb bjorn can be used from 3.5kg bb and 53cm. my gal 4.9kg liao so i think should be ok. yr arms so strong ah, can carry and feed at same time. my arms lousy..

sabrina, mayb u want to bring bb to see doc for a checkup? to find out how she can feel better too. i find that if u nap for a while, the milk supply will increase...

twiggy,
me also did not know that bb has reflux, i tot it was colic and went to pd to check. then pd teach to let bb in upright position for 20-30mins before putting her down. the thickener helps for the nite feeds.. to keep milk down. daytime i latch her all the time.

Hi mummies, the gathering this afternoon was fun! but if more mummies had turnen up it would be great.thanks tweety again for holding the gathering.
will update some pics in my blog soon, nt so nice to post here unless the mummies dun mind!

Re: Milk bags
i m using Playtex milkbags i got from the spree last time. these r more economical since its use n throw. i also use some Lansinoh, but i dun buy locally as they r too exp. i bought mine from the drugstore.com cheaper than the sprees.

Catherine, i tot of using the bb cubes but aft tt tot its difficult to handle when milk r stored in such small qty. very troblesome to freeze n remove them then put into ziplock then hv to take them out n transfer to btl to warm up. i feel tt the milk will be handled too many times before its consumed. so still stick to milk bags.

superhappymum, it could be due to engorgement cos if u do tt most nights as well they might accumulate if u dun empty ur breasts. i dun think fenugreek causes tt.

Koala, nt to worry,frozen EBM taste diff from fresh/chilled ones. as long u follow the storage principles n milk dun hv foul smell its safe. anyway if u still dun feel safe, better to discard than to risk.

Twiggy,is it the same Desitin creamy we got from the drugstore? i remember its nt so cheap locally. urs is 2oz or 4oz tube?

ya me too BF in public thesame way u described. if i m wearing nursing wear i dun even cover w/ scarf/blanket. but nursing bra is a must otherwise really dunno how to do it.
next thing i must learn is to express milk under the covers. my fren did tt n manage tp express milk for her son during her HK trip in Disneyland!

Sabrina, i ordered my fenugreek (GNC) and blessed thistle (natures farm) from Drugstore.much cheaper than sold here.
i m a drugstore freek!

Grace, soon i think i cant carry n BF at the same time cos this morning i weighed Mischa n she is 5.1kg! now my hb usually carries Mischa when we r out without a pram cos my arms r aching the past few days cradling her to sleep.

hi grace,

may i noe how much u paid for the baby bjorn carrier and where u got it?does kiddy palace have it? i reali got to give up on the mim sling liao.