(2007/11) November MTBs

Cindy,no need nursing rooms la...i have mastered the art of BF under my shawl! heee..jus need to find a chair though now i can carry her on one hand to BF, but soon when she put on more weight then cant liao. i m quite frustrated when it comes to searching for nursing rooms. eithe they are always occupied or to cold inside or dirty. And i hate to keep the whole family waiting for me while i BF....so i think u can try this method so tt u can BF anywhere any time!

As for trimming bb's hair, if u are keen, can go to the Forum Shopping centre, there is a salon on 2nd floor (or 3rd floor at the end of the escalator) called 'FANTASTIC SAMS'. They give u a certificate and a 'sample' of ur bb's hair as a momento if u tell them tt is ur bb's 1st hair cut. quite cute and interesting.

Dokie, i already went shopping 2x during confinement but only the shopping mall near my plc....i supersian so aft checkup with bb (PD and gynae followup) i begged hb to stopover the shopping mall for a while

s@l:: hahahas, shawl! okay maybe i try your method. Use a shawl or a jacket. Aiyos, so troublesome manz. hahaa. so when you go shopping that's what you did?
did you wear nursing tops or normal tshirt tops? hehe...

Forum shipping centre, you went before? heh i thinking of gg suntec's one but okay! i can consider forum one! you not cutting bb's hair? roughly how much you know? hehe

cindy,
what i know takashimaya and vivocity both have nursing room, if i'm not wrong IMM also have, i ever saw it at the 3rd floor.

Cindy, jacket a bt difficult, shawl big enough or bb blanket also can.

I wore both nursing top n normal tshirt with front opening on different occasions. if ur nursing top design is discreet enough, dun even need the shawl.

Ya i brought my son there to cut hair many times before but now i dun. its abt $18 i tink. i nt cuttin my gal's hair this time cos she has alot, i cant bear to trim it!

hahaha chamz i dodn't buy nursing tops. nevermind lahs, then i shall go stcok up on shawls! hahaha... and okay! i'll see, either suntec or Forum! see what hubby says. hahahas. muacks. my bb's hair also a lot ley but MIL say just trim trim for saying's sake. so bo bians.

HI Ladies

Thanks for all your advice on the relief of engorgement...its been really helpful with the massages and like what Cindy said, you have to press REALLY REALLY HARD on the lumpy areas. My breasts doesnt feel so engorged anymore, though at certain times of the day, it really can hardened, and I will start my massaging again.

Dokie, I was at first in ward 4411 (double room) as they ran out of single room...heard that they had a full house the night before and the day after I delivered too...seems alot of people delivered in Nov. I find only the delivery ward nurses/midwives very helpful, nice and patient. But after delivery, the nurses in the ward were really quite bad, and I would say service was really below my expectation. 80-90% of the nurses didnt have a good attitude and were very slow especially when you press the alarm...dont know if you had the same experience?

Now my birth story:
20th November

2pm: felt a gush of water, panty was wet, decided to make my way to hospital
330pm: check in hospital, told to change and was in delivery suite to monitor contractions. Contractions were not painful, though not so far apart.
5pm: Gynae came and broke water bag..said there was only a crack thats why water leaked, so broke water bag to speed up. Said I was only 2cm dilated, and won't deliver till next day (mind was thinking, oh no expecting a long labor then)Started walking around the room hopefully to speed the dilation.

6pm-9pm : Contractions still manageable though getting more intense. Tried the breathing techniques which didnt help for me. Midwife came and check, said I was only 4cm dilated. Was put on the drip to hasten the dilation at 8pm.

10pm :Contractions getting more and more intense. Midwife told me option of Epi, gas, pethidine available. Didnt use any of these.

12am: Very ntense pain felt, and asked for entonox, nurse showed how to use, tried, but felt that it didnt work for me. Endured the intense pain for the next 2 hours

2am-3am: intense pain reached optimal stage as contractions came almost every minute, midwife checked and I was about 8cm dilated. Throughout all this, HB was encouraging me and was beside me, dabbing my face with wet towel, telling me to hold on , I can do it etc...but though the entonox was of little use to me, it make me quite numb as I felt drain trying to breathe into the gas when the contractions came. Asked nurse for pethidine...50ml was administered only, as I was close to delivery. Still felt alot of pain despite the pethidine

4am: Felt the need to push, but nurse checked and said only 9cm dilated. Whilst dealing with the intense pain, HB told me to try to relax and not tense as it will delay the process...tried to relax despite the pain, and somehow automatically felt that I am pushing, quickly told nurse. Gynae came and check. Thoughj 9cm dilated, she asked to try to push. Midwifes advised when to push, pushing was done wrongly for the 1st 2 pushes, next number of pushes didnt really help, as I was really drained by now. Gynae said last resort was vacuum assisted, if not have to go for emergency C. I almost cried upon hearing that.

430am: L Did episotomy as this is normal procedure for vacuum, then told to try pushing again. After about maybe another 4-6 pushes, baby was out at 448am . Was really relieved , but very very very drained.

THat is my above birth story, sorry if longwinded. Anyway it has been quite an experience for me, never knew labor could be so out of this world, many times during the labor, I was mentally telling myself I can do it, though it crossed my mind I dont think I can take this pain anymore. But what really helped was the presence of my HB who stood the whole night beside me encouraging and holding my hand, and trying his best to make me comfortable. W/o him, I doubt I can make it.

Later Gynae told me my labor was harder cos baby's head was facing the ceiling instead of facing the floor, so the pushing through the birth canal was much harder.
Well, I am still feeling quite sore down there and tired, but its really worth it when you see your baby

Anyone still have water retention on their feet despite delivering already? My feet still looks pretty swollen, thought it should go away after delivery.

Erika,
Think your case was the same as mine. BB's face in the wrong direction. I had a 15 hour labour too and almost ended up in emergency C section. Luckily my bb was average size, so gynae say can try to deliver naturally.

As for water retention, I still have it for the last few days. Think it takes a couple of days to go away. But I still hv quite bad water retention and blood circulation on my fingers. Feel numb. Not sure if it was worsened cos I touched water.

hello erika and tinkabel:: i also had water retention for a few days but it'll go away. i find the malay massage helps! cause like tinkabel, my fingers were very numb. don't know why, like always numb. after doing the massage, the problem went away. So no idea if it's time and it went away or is it that the massage helps.
tinkabel, hehe, glad the massage helps. just be sure to USE full force to force away the lumps. I am still doing that now.

erika/tinkabel/cindy

did you gals drink any plain water? i also have this problem in the first few days but after i stop drinking plain water (only red date tea) then this problem solved....

winwin:: i did drink but very little. haha reddatetea is my main source of water right now.
only when i really need something plain then will i take plain water.

winwin, cindy
the malay massage did help, but it comes back. Somemore, it's on my left hand and I use left hand to carry bb. Seems to worsen it. Don't think I drank much plain water, except when in hospital. Now just drinking the red date tea. But the finger numbness is getting quite bad. Wonder is it cos of I touch water quite often. But it's hard not to touch water, when u need to wash the milk bottles etc. My MIL say she will wash for me, always ask me to leave stuff there. But I feel paiseh la. Tink I will try if tui na works.

Oh gals,
I also feel so thirsty nowadays. Keep drinking the red date tea. Ate a lot of fruits too, but doesnt seem to help. Anyone experience that too?

Cindy: Happy birthday to u, happy birthday to u, happy birthday to Cindy.., happy birthday to U!
kao_kiss.gif

Olivertree: Thanks for the reminder. How are u feeling now? Hope yr fever has gone down by now.

Lynda: I rejected the laughing gas then coz my friend told me it doesnt really help. Also, dun know what i was thinking then, kee kee...Took pethidine, but guess it din help much too coz within 5 mins i could feel bb's head coming, even before the jab took effect, i think.

Brought my bb for his check up yesterday. Gynae said he has a bit jaudice and asked us to monitor and sun bath him, if his colour still looks the same on Monday, then will need to bring him to hospital for blood testing. But gynae said most likely not coz yesterday was his 7th day where jaudice level is at its highest. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Anyone here let bb sleep in aircon room? My bb is sleeping with me and i turn the a/c on at 26degree celcius, izzit ok?

Also, anyone can advise the amount of milk intake for a 7days old bb? I latch him on for abt 20-30mins for each feed or 45ml EBM and it can last him a gd 3-4hrs, is it enuff? Pediatrician said it's more than enuff since can last him so long. But i'm worried he is not getting enough.

cactus:: thank you dear!! ehehe... and i hope your bb's jaundice will go downn soon! my bb also sleeps in aircon at 26degrees, so it's okay! and wow, hahaha 45EBM is a lot i guess. my bb is 3 wks old and takes about 60EBM hahahas. and i let him latch on for 30mins too and lasts only about 2hours, at most 2.5hours. So yours is more than enough!

hi erika, I hav water retention after birth and nt before. My feet swell like pig trotters. Like cindy said it will goes away esp after massage. Same i did mine too. Or no massage i ton it takes abt 2 weeks.

cactusnah, i also put my bb in aircon room temp 26-27degree. cos weather too hot. can feel he sweat alot too, esp after his feeding.

Hallo ladies!

Just wanna rant out my frustrations. I wailed together with my baby gal just now..... The funny thing is when she heard me crying, she stopped liao.

I m so pissed off with my hubby! I asked him to do things like dun want to do etc... Especially when it comes to our baby gal.... Being a 1st time mother, i really gan cheong & worried abt my baby....

My baby gal poo, he will come out and say, "oh, our gal pooed har?"

Nvm, my family is buey song with my in laws over the full month celebration for my gal liao. My hubbby still has the cheek to say, "Its ur Cantonese thing."

Just now, i asked him to go and get his stuff ready so that no need last min, everything all haywired... He told me that the weather is hot...

Then my baby started to fuss, she cried, fussed, pooed & merlion... I buey tahan and cried together with her..... Really felt that i failed as a mother.

Cindy, my gal also takes more than 60ml i think cos tt day after i jus finished expressing she yelled for milk, so i bo bian have to give her the one i jus collected cos my brsts empty liao. So i kept the rest and only fed her in case she waste. aft tt she still nt happy so like her suckle a bit more.
sometime really feel like doing expressing so tt can monitor her intake..but on the other hand enjoy the convenience of bringing bb out without having to lug all the btls, hot flask etc...

Cactus nah, i also put my bb with us in air-con room abt 26 degrees C. cos i cant sleep without aircon, but will swaddle bb in her cot.

K@ye, sometime men are like tt. My hb actually helped me a lot when i gave birth to my son 4yrs ago? he will help me to change diapers , feed him etc....BUT.....can u believe tt this time round my gal already 18days old, he have not changed her diapers before! This time being a bb girl, he feel tt its best tt mummy attend to her...he refuse to clean her cos he say 'embarassing'..hahah....maybe jus a good excuse la.

Aft u wailed out, is he more willing to help? cos i also broke down last time and he finally helped me with my son then. But tis time i nvr force him since i can cope.

As for in-laws problem..hiaz...i also been thru tt....my MIL also wanted to have 'her say' in the celebration. but its all empty-talk. old folks sometimes jus like to 'talk' to show their authority. jus do what u think is best and appropriate.

cheer up ok? u have nt failed as a mother...its takes time for one to learn to be a mother esp for a 1st timer.

looks like we are all having fair share of problems... my girl has been yelling since 12 plus till now... let her suckle for about 20 mins each time and she start yelling again after 15 -30 mins... never ending... going to peng liao... my CL just went back today cos her daughter is sick... dunno whats wrong with my girl... also had to change her diapers 3 times since 12 plus cos its soiled with a lot of urine & poo...dunno if she has monster appetite... or thinks she is having buffet... then i got aunties, granny & my PIL coming later to visit... peng liao... where got time to cook dinner...very tempted to feed her the milk feeds fr hospital liao...just wondering wh brands of milk powder is good for NB? thks!

rast, email me for your address so that I can post to you on Monday. The cost is $85.60
we split the costs into 2.

S@L, the pills is $18. I send u on Monday.
Thanks. My cousin sent to my parents house without knowing my intention and hence cant hand delivered to u

Cindy, I tried the tangy mangoes last night yummy.
Told victoria I might order a whole cake for my full month celebration coming weekend :p

Wanna check if there's a guideline as to how much milk our bbs shld drink on a weekly or monthly basis? My boy is 10 day old and he is already drinking 80ml every 3 hours. My hubby said that he's a big cc and I'm worried that my milk supply can't meet his demand! My stupid CL lagi best, geh kiang and add formula into my breast milk in the night so that he will feel fuller!! So damn pissed off and gave her a piece of my mind. I'm so tempted to keep the can of FM in my room at night!

Cindy, I tried the tangy mangoes last night yummy.
Told victoria I might order a whole cake for my full month celebration coming weekend :p

Poissons, I am a little confused. When I bf my elder son using bottles, he drank around 90ml to 100ml of EBM but now my baby only takes may 60ml of EBM by direct feed.
I don understand why it seems bottle feed takes more.
your 80ml is by bottle?

Dokie,
I express my milk and bottle feed most of the time cos' I find that I can monitor my bb's intake better like that. However during the day, I still try to latch him on at least twice to help stimulate the milk supply, but often he will be hungry after an hr + and I will supplement him with my expressed milk (abt 50ml) and he will be satisfied and sleep for abt 3 hrs before he screams for his next feed.

Oh yah, my CL doesn't let my bb sleeps with air con cos' she claims that will cause my bb to have nasal probs. She damn funny, the weather is so HOT at night and she can still wear a sweater, long sweat pants and socks to sleep at night! That aside, she will saddle my bb until bah zhang and now he's suffering from heat rashes all over the body...sigh! I wanna fire her but the agent cldn't get me a replacement in time, hopefully can do so within these 2 days.

Btw, for malay massage, do you gals do it on a everyday basis or alternate? My massage lady say it's better to do it daily within a week wor. I'm starting mine tmr...pls enlighten..thanks!

poissons,

juz kpo in, seem like ur CL is not very pro-bf huh. anyway, glad to hear that ur supply is pretty good unlike mine. hehe, keep it up

btw, for massage it shld be a daily basis.. i did it for 14 days before i see my tummy flatten abit. after the massage ur can apply some powder on uself so that u wont feel so oily.

okipoki,

My CL is juz being lazy lor, she doesn't want to keep on waking up at night to serve my bb, so she prefers to give him formula to let him sleep peacefully. Anyway, her days are numbered here, I've already complaint to the agent and waiting earnestly for the replacement to come soon.

Ok, noted on the massage. Actually I have already lost abt 6 kg since birth, got abt 5kg more to go..tummy has shrunk alot probably due to breastfeeding, need the massage to tuck in the flab and tighten the fats..Haha..can't wait to fit into my pre-pregnancy clothes!

poissons,
ohh u got ur CL thru'agency.. u shld hv ask me for mine but her food is not that fantastic. in terms of taking care of our lil'ones she is consider very good

haha so envy of you, i am still stuck with 6kgs for the past 1 year. anyway, i hear that bf can really slim one down & unfortunately my supply is super pathetic then. i am u will be back to your pre-pregnancy weight in no time

poissons,
Yah, it's easier to monitor bb's intake by feeding him expressed milk. I started giving him 60ML, then increased to 70ML, cos he always finished it. Think will slowly monitor and see how.

Re: Massage
I did mine consecutively. Already did 4 sessions so far but today din do cos Aunty Sadiah is off. So will finish my last session tomorrow. I am about 2kg more to go back to pre-preg weight. I managed to pull on some of my pre-preg clothes. Think still need to lose some weight around my hips to fit my levis. Jia You....

poissons:: here's something winwin posted! hope it helps you! boy your little one is feeeeding a lot!
kg x 120ml = ml required per day.

for my bb as example,
3kg x 120ml = 360 ml, so if she is eating 360ml per day is enough...now she is eating abt 40 to 50ml per feed (beg of week 3) every 2 hr, and she eats abt 9 feeds per day so total abt 360 to 450ml which is just nice....and dont worry if your bb eat more than that since some bb are small eater and some are big eaters....just use that as ref...

also take note how many diaper u change per day and how much weight ur bb gain every 5 days (take bb's weight every 5 days at the same time e.g. 9am ), should gain abt 120 to 160g every 5 days

dokie:: haha which one betteR? i still prefer the simply chocolate decadence. yummms.

tinkabel:: 2 more kg! wow, so enviousss!! i tried to fit in my levis still can't hahaha. better not be too ambitious. I still have 4more kg to lose! bah! my friend said can NEVER fit in. she was the very petite kind and since last dec she gave birth, until now, cannot fit. woops.

kaye:: this is the place to vent frustrations! i so pissed at my bb la, i fed him for 1 hour and 15 mins already! and he's still mouthing. Good ness me! i know he's full cause he's already regurgitating milk! just have to pass him to MIL and he stops his mouthing and sticking out his tongue. Sigh. this is maddening. my hubby also like your hubby lah. many excuses de. Hugs.

cindy,

you mention that Suntec got place can cut/trim baby hair? which salon and how much they charge? DH and i don't intend to shave him... just wanna trim also.

hi ladies so envy all of u. i still have 12kg more to go. I dun Bf too so slim very slow. Even my massage also dun lost much. Hiaz.... I dun tin can even fit into my pre preg clothes. Way to go... sian. Looking at my bloated and stretch tummy and my rashes breast so disappointed and sad.

my HB went for reservist. he's not coming back till fri! i cried just now *sob* couldn't bear the tot being a new mother & hubby not ard *sob* my mother not willing to come over coz she said the food tat the CL cooked made her sore throat worst. so it's going to be me, baby and CL for the next few days *sob* *sob* *sob*

just now my CL told me she did confinement for a lady who had abundant milk. this lady could store 120ml of milk after every feed. she had 100bags of frozen milk even b4 her confinement ended!

mommies,
like to ask for those of u who store ur expressed BM, how do u store it? I'm using 1 glass bottle to store the milk i expressed every time. Am running out of space in the fridge to keep the bottles of milk leh...

what other ways are the mommies here using? Anyone can share? How abt those milk bags? Any comments?

Dokie,
saw the slimlines milk tray, seems quite space saving... however, do you know how can we thaw the individual sticks? do u know if the sticks are small enuff to fit into a glass bottle (covered with cap) so tat i can thaw it overnight in the fridge? otherwise, do u know using these sticks, wat is the best way to thaw them, assuming i wan to thaw them overnight in fridge?

Sorry for so many questions but cld not find out the dimensions of the trays from the website to let me determine how i can do it...

catherine,
dun b too sad lah, i know 5 days can b a bit long especially during this period... but try to cheer up so tat it will not impact ur breastmilk supply...

wa, the lady ur CL mentioned has so much BM, envious!

I am not happy today as I am sick.

I have sore throat & a bit of running nose. I am worry I didnt do good confinement thus is sick after 1 month.

Anybody know how are we going to know if we have done proper confinement and our body is "bu" during the confinement?

Does having flu after 1 month of delivery means I got "fong" inside my body ?

I am so worry about my body now.

hi dokie,
pls check ur email, i sent u my address liao. btw, how much in total i need to pay u, cos i dun know how much is the postage cost. thank u

Cindy, I prefer simply choco. tangy mango also nice except it is a lite cake. I prefer richer cake.

Plim, if u refer to those hosp glass bottle, I don think can fit.
Any standard bottle can fit. I am using wide neck pigeon bottle for my elder son. So what I did was I squeeze all 8 sticks into the wide neck bottle and let it thaw in the fridge. If by the time I want to consume it is still not defroze, I would let it stand in a cup of normal temp water. It should be ready in 30 min.
What I was told was after frozen, u can store in a clean ziplock bag and take the nos. of sticks required by baby. If baby drinks 60ml, u just take out 2 sticks from ziplock bag. In this way, u can save your bm.
Let me measure and give u the dimen tomo.
I like the concept and also prefer it to storing it in bottles. U can give it a try and see.

rast, sorry I missed your posting as I was busy. I can only send out yours on tue as I have missed Monday cut off posting.
I am not sure how much, if not much I can absorb; no problem.
I will send out the full package including the box and receipt on the box for you to see.
I can use back my old box from the last purchase.

Plim, u can use avent storage bottle to thaw them.
Let me know if u are interested as I want to purchase liao.

Supperhappymum, perhaps u fall sick after taking the heaty confinement food.
Don worry too much about the impact on your body whether did u bu etc. Now u have to focus on getting well soon so that it doesnt affect your bf.

s@L,i received the tea last wed.. thanks!

i need to get a stroller, anyone can recommend a good stroller?

I also need to get a car seat. There are so many different type of car seat (infant, convertible, booster), which type is more practical?