(2007/11) November MTBs

congrats tweety!!! Just hang in there and take care. I'm sure all will turn out fine once you are used to it. Read the positive stories from kaye and ueno! hehe.

dokie:: but if c-sect epi isn't it scary to be awake throughout the procedure? hehe...

Cindy, I am only afraid of epi.
c sect epi better because u can recover fast and bf . Personal experience and also past record from gynae's patients.

[email protected] totally agreed. My PD commented the same thing too. He said today parents are asking for trouble. So young bring babies out.

kaye:: really? empty out all milk on the breast that the bb has fed on or the other one also? Sorry for asking this so crudely. Ooops.

Huh, Grace popped liao ah.Was chatting with her on sat night. She jokingly mentioned she felt contraction aft Mandy went to collect diapers from her one day prior to Mandy's delivery, she felt kan jiong for Mandy. True enuff, she gave birth also. Omigod, izzit coincidence or we pregnant ladies cannot get excited, else will induce labour? Hee...just my silly thots, can take this as an excuse to tell my HB cannot make me angry, else might induce labour:p

What a pity, Grace was planning for her tai tai lifestyle b4 bb pops. But it's ok la. So the rest, our date still on huh.

Kaye:
That's the problem with having too many ppl around to give comment and trying to play smart and give unnec advise.Nvm, u're almost half way thru yr confinement, hang in there. And, thanks for sharing the tips, think u're doing well too!Endure..

Grace, Tweety,
Congrats! Have a speedy recovery n rest well!

Twiggy,
Gina Ford i s an author. I find her books very useful, especially The Contented Little Baby which teaches u how to put babies on a routine.

On cutting hair, I had a hair cut 1 month b4 i delivered and its abt below chin length. I think thats the best length as i can still pin it up n its not too diffcult to keep it long after my confinement. I havent washed my hair since i delivered n i pin it up all the time, its not too bad.

Wow... Grace baby almost same weight as mine! Hehe, looking forward to see Grace baby pix!

Cindy, not crude lah. Yup, just pump out the excess milk from both the breasts that's his advice!

Ueno, *salutes*! I trimmed my hair short short also very hot... Also gotta wash hair!

Dokie, my in laws wanted to do my gal's full month celebration when she is 26 days old. Heng heng, my fren advised me not to... coz of all the germs etcc... So now, the celebration is pushed to a later date... Will wait for my hubby to be back and discuss again!

Congrats Tweety!!! Did you go into labour naturally or was it an induction? So scary, cord around the neck, thank God everything is fine with baby and you now.

Dokie, I heard that for some people, the babies dont engage until the contractions begin. So maybe that's what Tweety's gyne thought will happen. But i'm just guessing...

Quite scared, I'm going for induction too but scared I will end up w emergency C section. Ah well, as long as baby healthy, doenst matter if it hurts more or takes longer to recover.

Poissons / Ueno, thanks, the book sounds good. Think I'll go to Borders and buy it this week.

Hi yoko,

I also 2 Nov y my name is not mention???
Just kidding anyway i seldom post...but i always read e update..just that i dun contribute... hehe

oh ya, we have so many 2nd Nov mummies... 5 in total! 3 in TMC (Eufrasia, jo & yoko noriko) and 2 in MAH (Adeline chew & yami) Wonder if anyone will give birth on 1st Nov? i actually had wished for a 1st Nov baby coz tat's me & hubby's 10th pator anniversary! but then we think we are not prepared, our house is still in a big mess! so now we just hope tat baby will "arrive" on EDD 16 Nov

Grace, congrats! If u are reading this...haha came as a surprise to think that u still suggeste the kopi session on Thurs!

Now i am so scared cos ur EDD later than mine...but u pop alrady. My last scan showed my EDD on 10th nov! But already scheduled and prepare for c-sect on 7th nov..hope my little bb can wait...

Tweety, congrats to you! Sorry to hear that you suffered a bit from c-sect. Take care and rest well.

Re: C-sect w/ Epi,
yes its true that better to opt for Epi if urs is elective c-sect. Cos you will recover slower if under GA. i did my 1st c-sect under Epi and glad i chose tt cos i could hear my bb's 1st cries...very assuring. But on the other hand can also hear the conversation between gynae and the rest..heee...my boy's head was very big and gynae commented that he needs to 'cut' more for pulling my bb out! sounds so scary!

But overall i think c-sect is nt as bad as some describe. i could BF on the 2nd day..but have to becareful of the position u hold bb so that pressure is nt exerted on the wounds. when i was discharged, i could walk, eat, move like normal..

Twiggy, my bb didnt engage too but he was already overdue by 2 days and i was induced for 20hrs!. ended up c-sect cos fluid was low and quite dangerous if wait for another day.

Cassie, yes there are cases where cervix fail to dilate and pelvic is narrow. i am one of those who have this problem hence gynae dun advise me trying for natural.

I have been following this thread but seldom post as well.. but I would be able to do so now since my last work day is today!

I hope I am not one of those who deliver past my EDD.. as mine was 5 Nov & this little bb doesnt seem very eager to come out yet.. =P

Congrats to all mummies and All the best to the rest who are patiently counting down.

Hi MTB,

Maybe is becos stomach getting bigger feeling bb getting less movement as compare to 2nd tri. sometimes whole nite didnt move i will beat on my stomach to make bb wiggle abit feel safer.
Heard that if ur bb in ur stomach less active in e nitetime then when he/she comes out will sleep more at nitetime...

Dokie, S@l, I opt for GA. I think i will get very paranoid if i can hear dr talking. I be scare til death. Probably fainted. haha. If doc said cut more i will probably go in between the conversation and they will find me annoying and cut even bigger scar. Hehehe. tis mummy bit "mei you yong". It is not even scary and it is very very scary.

Hi Adeline sorry I miss u out. U r in MAH. U opt c section or natural? Epi or GA? I am in my week 37. cannot tahan liao. Hope he is eager to see the world too.

So many mummies have pop I tin kopi section become lesser pp.

K@ye, stay cool tell yrelf only few more days to go. Hang on there. after that asked them #$%%. hehe. Bad mummy i am. Paisei paisei. Lucky my mil move out liao. Hope she dun come visit me. Bad bad mummy.Dun follow.hahaha

Jia you!!!!!!

Catherine

Actually we have e same EDD but bb getting bigger 3.2kg so doc advise to go for c-section. Dont wish to recurr e same prob as my 1st born. When for induction but in e end emrg c-section.

My CL asked me to buy wine for cooking confinement food. I have no idea what she's talking about. Where can I buy that pls?

Adeline,
Huh, beat your stomach? Dun lah..juz give a pat on the bump or push it a little will do, usually my bb will respond when I do that.

Oh..juz now left out on Grace's update, she delivered natural with epi.

To add on, for those who really need to go on C section .Don be disappointed or sad. It is really not as bad.
Safety of the babies come first. I may have to go through c section for a second time too.
I wont insist of natural as I don want to compromise on safety of babies.

Yoko,

Me opt for epi c-section. 1st born chose GA so this time round opt for epi so my hubby get to accompanie me also. Also in e 37week stomach getting bigger n heavier cannot tahan also... very heavy burden. this 2 days got stomach pain n stool also very loose dunnoe is it bb getting impatient to come out.

Adeline, can share why emergency huh? i also scared i will go into labour and might end up emer Csect if cervix dun dilate. Is my theory correct?

Twiggy, i think she referring to Rice Wine. Can get at most supermarket. Depends on which type cos some dont taste good. Otherwise ask her to buy for u then claim with receipt lo.cos some wine are more exp some are cheap

Dokie: So u'll be gog thru VBAC? My sis went for her check up last sat and consulted the gynae with regards to natural birth for her 2nd (she went thru c section for her 1st). Gynae said can, but few criteria to meet, may end up c section also. So my sis chose not to.

wow, indeed, many mummies have popped over the past few days... Congrats! Congrats!

and i also realised that qutie a number of you are already on leave? You guys are taking early maternity leave or clearing your annual leave ah? I also feel like resting since not much mood to work nowadays... but can't bear to 'waste' my maternity leave now leh... rather leave it when i actually deliver... also, annual leave not many days to spare, dun wan to waste also :p
too bad i'm still officially working (although from home), otherwise, wld be nice to meet u ladies up on 1-Nov.

actually now hearing that some people after induce still hv to go thru emergency c-sect, it sounds quite scary... this never came to my mind at all when i was induced for my 1st one... i was quite lucky that i still managed to go thru natural delivery with epi then...

i've been having weird feelings in my stomach these 2 days... i dunno i'm juz being overly sensitive or what, keep wondering if i'm having contractions... hahaha...

went for my checkup last wkend... seems that bb's growth has slowed down (or mayb it's the way the measurements are taken, they are estimates only, actually)... from 35 wk to 37 wk, bb only gained btw 2-3kg... she's now at 2.7kg only... i try to put it off to the fact that the weight scan might not be that accurate... hopefully that is the case...

Poissons, but then cannot rinse off right? i dun think its good le.smell of the wine whole day? Then BF will be troublesome. bath with the herbal soak good enough. eat more ginger to get rid of the 'wind'.

i just came back from my gynae's appt... baby is at 3.9kg now. doc quite worried, and so is everyone. each week, baby has put on 500-600g. i still have about 2 more weeks to go.

i think i have no choice but to go for c-section. dun wanna risk baby being hurt in the process.

oh well, since no choice, i just hope baby grows well and doesn't come out so quickly... =)

Bel! 3.9Kg...that is HUGH!

Cactusnah, yes . I opted for but if really cant due to size of baby , cervix, pelvic etc. I will go for epi c section.

Gynae said slim chance it will split during labour.My only concern is end up emerg c section and I have to pay. It hurts me even though I can get significant reimbursiment from company.

i was also a big baby... 4kg. think my baby will be the same as me liao lor.

i told my hubby think no choice need to have c-section, he also never say anything. only complain since a few weeks ago that i keep complaining baby is small... sigh. my mom also say i eat too much. but i say it's genes lor. i only put on 10kg thus far, and considering baby is almost 4kg, i dun think i over ate leh...

i think i will opt for epi c-section also. want to see and hear baby first thing...

i also worried abt emergency c-section, dun want hubby to incur extra costs... coz he's paying for everything. *sigh*

last week i was admitted to kkh for monitoring due to my high blood pressure and my urine have protein content.i'm very scare now, cos u gals keep saying c-section is very painful.

Rast, don worry. Sometimes dwell on the positive when really have to go through c section, just do it. Don compare too.
Give thanks in all circumstances! It is already a blessing to have a baby. So don worry ok?

plim:: hehe school has just ended for me so i guess i'm quite heng in no need to take ML or MC before that.

Take care everyone! can't wait till we all download our babies!

4kg no joke. mine 2.8kg at 35 weeks i feel uncomfy already. Moving around so clumsy. Also it hurts. My bb still active in my tummy. Now souples of stretch marks liao. Also if let's say to huge also difficult to go thru natural dan doc said e c section, wow pain twice and $$$ for emer c section is more expensive then opt (i mean tis nt important). But can consider. Doc advise to go for natural but I tin that I m scare. Even just now i went to GP also ask me to go for natural. Everybody also encourage to go natural. I think I am still very scare.

rast, epi recovery is better based on my past experience and gynae patient's records. It also helps on your bf schedule and enable husband to accompany u.
It is nt that painful. Can walk the next day already.

S@L,

For my 1st born i went thru emr c-section due to i went for induction then dilation not completed only 4cm n bb in distress already over 24hrs so bopian have to go thru emr c-section. Doc said was becos pelvis too small n bb head too big. Haiz so this time round better to play it safe dun wish to go thru 2x pain plus cost....

Actually c-section not that painful. Just go in with a positive mind. I start to walk around on e second day liao.... i even bathed for my son n took care of him myself...

Wow, so many mummies popped. Congrats, tweety, Grace and superhappymum. Haha, grace, to think you were the organiser for the 1 Nov gathering. now we have to go ahead without you.

Me went to see gynae today. He was saying 2 weeks ago that my weight has been ok so far for the entire preg, so hope now that I am back in Singapore, can continue to be like dat. True enough, I put on like 1.8kg for the last 2 weeks and got a good "scolding" from him. Asked me what I ate. But me also quite upset that my weight control has been good throughout the pregnancy until now. (ie until 35 weeks, only put on 9kg) Now I really need to be "good" going forward. Bb put on about 600g for the last 2 weeks, so about 2.7kg now. Thinking if bb grow at a rate of 200-300g per week, I still have 3 weeks plus to go, my bb will be quite big. Can't imagine, already very tired now.

Adeline, yes agree, for me c-sect also nt tat painful as some described. Maybe cos i dun have natural birth to compare la .hee...but still bearable. I tot pain for episiotomy is worse...dunno.

I also agree tt if wants to go for c-sect, choose epi so tat hubby can share the birth of the baby. a very touching moment.
I always tell hubby i deprived him of witnessing natural birth, but luckily got Epi at least he gets to hold baby 1st thing. GA i am not sure how long aft birth hubby will get to hold bb. and mummy will take longer to regain from sleep and to start BF.

Grace give birth already???? i was still chatting with her last sat and she said got a bit of contractions but irregular... wah so fast pop!!!

congrats to her and wish her a speedy recovery

IMO, if possible opt for natural... No choice then C-section.. Personal experience of GA (other ops), side effects are worst than epidural. So, if possible dun opt for GA.

Some +ve feedback, i put on 17 kg during my pregnancy. Today went for my gynae check up and i lost 11 kg liao... It could be due to BF and i hope thta i can regain back to my old weight of 55kg!

K@ye, congrats wow tats very fast! Lost so much! I m veyr sure u can get back in shape in no time. Cos my fren also did TBF she put on 20kg during preg and lost all the extras within 6mths of TBF...now she still in good shape and she's in late 30s already!

poissons,
I am using the rice wine to wipe my body n face, the brand is King Narcissus Rice wine 100% salt free. U can get it from supermarkets, its at the alchol section.

K@ye,
I put on 18kg during my pregnancy, last weighed myself on fri, lost 15kg! I was also 55kg b4 i got pregnant. Hehe... I think BF and massage really helped. My tummy went down after my sessions. The 3 kg is now at my thighs, i think.

Sal,
My confinement lady said the rice wine is to add into the warm water for bathing wor. She also asked me to buy da feng cao (which I already did)for bathing, so dunno when I'm supposed to use rice wine or da feng cao to bathe..will juz listen to her instructions then.

Ueno,
Thanks for the rice wine recommendation, I bought one bottle last evening at NTUC at abt $8+ (forgot the brand liao), maybe will juz get another bottle of this brand you have recommended also.

Tinkabel,
Oh no, I think tmr will be my turn to be "scolded"! I think I have gained quite a bit since 2 weeks ago cos' my appetite improved..maybe shld "fast" a little today..haha..

tinkabel:
u must get used to Dr Chan's scolding coz it happens to me almost everytime i went see him hahah....but its for our own good lar....and dont be too stressed by this hahaha...

poissons:
me also worried seeing him tomolo....my mum been forcing me to eat meat lately, say bb need more meat to gain meat HAIZ.....and i dont want to argue with her anymore...think as a grandma, she care more of the grandchild then her own daughter gaining too much weight

yoko, u r so funny... hahaha... btw, wat was ur original EDD date?

Adeline, wow ur baby is big at 3.2kg. which week? mine was only 2.5kg at 36wk.

yday went for my 37th week checkup. gynae only checked for water level, never measure wt of baby. he said my water level quite borderline. index of 7+, if 4 would have to induce birth already