(2007/11) November MTBs

Seashell,
I've just posted my cheque for the talk this morning cos' cldn't register by phone, hopefully they will confirm my seat when they received it.

My fingers also numb and stiff, especially its in the morning. I was told it is due to water retention... rem to monitor ur blood pressure if you experience sudden gain in water retention...

Dokie, u have been using Dr Ong EK for so long? DO u stay very near to his clinic? I stopped going to him aft my son turned 3mths. initially was assigned to him cos i delivered at TMC, but found his charges sky high and really packed each time. In the end decided to stick to my PD nearer to my mum's place at least his rates are reasonable. Maybe becos he is attached to your coy u get better rates...for me i dun think he is especially good.

RE: bringing Breastpump/steriliser to hospital
i think there is no hard and fast rules la...like i said based on my fren's experience, she made good use of the pump to stimulate the breast cos her son was unfit to latch on...as long as u dun find it a bother, no harm bringing.

S@L, yes because I used to attend TMC parentcraft mthly parents' meeting and he is one of the regular doctor who answers questions from new parents. So I got to know him better for 15 months. :p Thereafter only visit him when my son is unwell until now he is 2.5 years old.

Also he is my company panel of doctors and so when my son sees him, I don have to pay under company insurance plan. :p

Again, PD, gynaes, doctors etc are based on personal experiences. So far I have good experience with him. Just share my recommendation.

Pump, also my personal opinion. I cant imagine bringing steriliser, pump to hospital. U can also massage your breasts to stimulate.
Agreed no hard and fast rules...:p

My husband tried to registered on Monday moring for the baby talk - Morning session and was told that it was full. Maybe that is why no one answer the call. Guess better not send in anymore cheques until confirmation of the seats.

hi mummies-to-be...

not sure if u all stil remember me.. havent drop by here for awhile liaoz, cos bz with my elder son & preparing for his 1st birthday tis saturday....

my EDD was suppose to be 1st Dec, but judging from my "condition" he/she (we stil dont know gender) will be out within Nov definitely... last week at 32 weeks, bb is weighing 2.3kg...

juz to share my personal opinion, dont need to bring too many things to hospital.. whenever baby is not around, try to take more naps n rest.. it helps u keep ur energy up n also help boost milk supply cos u get more rest... this is my "packing list", alot of things are optional hor...

<font color="0000ff">Things to Pack into Hospital Bag
Documents
Gynae receipts / Pink Card
Daddy & Mummy IC
Original Marriage Certificate (+ copy) - only if u r registering baby's BC before discharge..
Handphone with Charger
DIGITAL CAMERA W CHARGER
Magazine / Book (Optional)
Mummy's Stuff
Open-Front Nightie / Nursing Bra
Breast Pads
Disposable Panties
Sanitary Pads
Clothes for discharge
Shampoo, Conditioner, Shower & Facial Foam (TMC provides)
Tooth Brush / Paste (TMC provides)
Bedroom Slipper / Socks
Sweater / Jacket / Shawl
Chicken Essence
Lip Balm / Eye Drops / Moisturiser
Comb / Hairband / Scrungee
Baby's Stuff (Optional - TBC as TMC provides everything)
Small wash cloth / hanky
Wrap Blanket
Clothes for discharge
Mittens & Booties
Daddy's Stuff
Sweater / Jacket
MP3 Player - entertainment
Snacks / Biscuits </font>

as for breastpump, i did not bring... i cannot remember if it was Mrs Wong or gynae's advise, i request to latch him on immediately after he's delivered (after a brief wipe-clean), before they carry him away to do proper clean-up... because after they bring e baby to nursery for all e test n a proper cleaning, e baby comes back very sleepy, n wont be able to latch well le... so e immediate moments after he's born, he's still quite alert, tats e best time to latch him on..... it also gets our "milk machine" engine started...

starz,

who and how do u tell that u wanna latch bb on immediately after delivery??

will the nurses in the delivery room help if we dunno how to latch the bb??

and have to latch him on for how long??

I feel so emotionally drained this season. I donno is it hormone changes. Do you feel the same eg easily frustrated or angered?
I wonder whether is it normal?

sleepystar,
i told e nurses who were in e delivery suite with me.... halfway thru they "change shift", so have to tell e "new" nurses again....
cos i gave birth at TMC e last time.. so e nurses do know how to help u latch baby on...
no need very long, juz for awhile.. but i seriously cannot remember how long it was....

yes hehee if we tell nurses that we want to BF, then they help us latch bb on, what happens then?

I am thinking if we will have milk that soon? Hmmm.

HI Plim, Cindy,

Thanks, will check out those maternity pads you mentioned. Maybe if those normal heavy flow one works, I might just get them too.

This morning, the baby cot was delivered, suddenly everything seems so real and so near. Quite happy with the cot as it was a good deal from John Littles. Only $263 after 20% discount and comes w 9 pc bedding set and mattress.

hi dokie,

i am very tired these few days and quite cranky at times as well...

nowadays if i working i will be v sleepy at around 4pm.. if i am at home (eg weekends) i need to zzz for 1-2 hrs around 4pm... if no zzz i get v v tired... last mth i can still sleep at 12am and wake up at 8am.. but now at 9pm i am yawning non stop liao... then around 10pm must go sleep else i can doze off on the sofa.

hb also can see that i tire more easily and walk very slow now...

I have delivered this morning 5.42am at Mount Alvernia. Baby Leroy weighs 2.575kg, 49 cm. Natural-epidural.

Any of you have contact for "master" to select baby's deliver date. I opts for natural delivery but unfortunately my baby is too big and have to be C-section. Since it's C-section, I prefer to have date and time selected for my baby good fortune in the future. Thanks!

My mind can't concentrate on a single thing. This minutes thinking of what to pack for the hospital bag, the other minutes will be thinking of what to buy for confinement and also the scary C-section that I am going to go through. Am I normal?

For those who are delivering at Mt A and choosing 1 bedder, u may be disappointed.
The hospital is going through major renovations for their maternity wards and had shut down one wing. So currently there r only 2 1 bedder room avaliable. I had booked a 1 bedder room but am now staying at a 2 bedder due to unavailabity there is a long waiting list for their 1 bedder. Was disappointed, hoping that hubby can keep me company but now sharing the room with someone else, no privacy.

Ueno

i think you can demand them to give u the 2 bedder room just to u only...coz u booked 1 bedder....i read from forum many mummies experience same thing and they demand hospital to give them the 2 bedder room all to themselves as they want hubby to stay over....think u should try also....

tinkabel & Cindy: I was told that should be water retention. but then the best way to relieve is the soak our hand into warm water.. but i dun find it useful le
every morning struggle to move my fingers, like will break anytime...

6 months back, when i visited my fren in KKH, she BF bb 1 hour after bb was born but then latch on for more than 1 hour... i was so shocked... and when i attended Mrs Wong antenatal class, was advise the most should be 30mins... so confused... and keep on hearing from my fren then after few days of feeding got to rely on fm liao...

My birth story

Mon 15 oct went for my regular check up, doc did a VE, dilated 1 cm. Swept my membranes.
Tues 16 0ct felt bad cramps on my tummy, called the doc's clinic,told to go for ctg. Ctg showed regular contractions 3mins apar. Doc advised to check into hospital to observe rather than rush last minute.
430 pm- check into hospital,having regular contractions but bearable, took a walk ard the hospital premises,watched HBO.
945 pm- doc came n checked, dilated 2cm.
10 pm- broke my water bag.put on drip to increase contractions.
12 am- asked for epi,dilated 3cm.
5 am- dilated 5cm. Doc notified.
515 am- doc arrived,already start pushing.
542 am- baby leroy came into our loving arms.

Was having strong contractions after my water was broken, used laughing gas but it did little to relief my pain. Decided on epidural n it really helped! Although i felt numbness on my legs but it really took the pain off me n i was able to sleep from 2-5am. when i woke up its time to deliver! Managed to conserve my energy to push.
So epidural ROCKS!

Winwin,
I tried asking them for the conversion of 2 bedder to 1 bedder but they are really short of rooms! So its not impossible! No choice...

piggypiggy,
i latched on my baby for 30 mins each feed on 1 breast then i changed sides for the next feed. So far, baby really suckles well...

congrats Ueno!! we actually were thinking the 2nd mummy may be mandy/kaye/tweety, never expected you to be next. glad to hear that all is well with baby and yourself.

as for mount alvernia...so in this case that they cannot give you the 1 bedder, do they charge u the 2 bedder price or 1 bedder cost? do try to ask them to give u the 2 bedder as a 1 bedder. i rem they can push the extra bed out.

this is getting really exciting now!

Hi Ueno,
congrats!! Do post ur bb pic soon. Hw many wks ur bb stayed in ur womb? My gynae did told mi tat Mt A hvin reno..bt as for service, is it gd? Heard gd comments abt there.

Hi Superhappymum,
Do u wan 2 consider 2 take Medical Leave nw? At least u can stay at hm and relax, at e same time prepare for e arrival of ur bb. Mux relax ok?

I may consider taking 1wk MC before EDD. Nw crossing my hands n see whether bb be cmin out within these 2wks or nt. Apparently bb hasnt engaged when i had my recent chkup 2days ago.

ueno congrats! Its really getting exciting...i hope my schdeuled c-sect doesnt come earlier than expected! i haven packed my bags!

Who's next doesnt seem accurate now...kekeke....

ueno, so u using laptop to surf now ah? free connection? how is your neighbour, is she nice and considerate?

so scared got this problem also as i opt for mount a too.

grace: don't think u will hv this problem as dr fong says that the reno shld end by the time i deliver....or u want to call and check?

CONGRATS ueno!! oh no... how. hmmz.

grace, i alsp opted for mount A and for 1 bedder. I really don't want to share with a neighbour ley. Really no privacy at all and i would really wish for hubby's company with me. I think i will call up to ask, is it too late to change hospital now? HAha..

Mandy:: i tnk i will call up to check. See when their renovations will end. hehe.
grace, when are you due again? hehe ^^

Poissons,
My bb is 3.6kg at Week37. My 1st baby is 2.97kg with perfect position to be borned but gynae seen difficulty and use vacuum. He already warned me after my 1st baby that my 2nd baby shouldn't be > 3kg. Sigh, I can't control baby's weight leh.

mandy, hahah how u going to know when u are delivering. it could be tomorrow u know heheh....
tomorrow u ask dr fong when is the exact date reno will end. =)

cindy, my edd is 15 nov lah but i was hoping for a 1 Nov baby- my wedding anniversay. by 1 nov, i will be 38 weeks. so in order to hit "target", i have to walk alot now. of cos there is no confirmed date unless i opt for c-sect which i am not. hoping to do a normal one if possible. when is yours? mayb we can be neighbours...i think it might be abit late to change hospital now. u are in the sat class rite at 1.30pm? this sat last class, which one is you? me and vivian found each other on the 5th lesson. =)

Grace, u wan to celebrate bb's birthday and annivesary together ah? No good le...kekekeke....then every yr no candlelight dinner....

For me i wished my gal's bday can be the same date as my son..which is 24th oct. heee...but actual EDD already brought forward by 2.5weeks...i think cannot be any earlier liao....

Grace, u wan to celebrate bb's birthday and annivesary together ah? No good le...kekekeke....then every yr no candlelight dinner....

For me i wished my gal's bday can be the same date as my son..which is 24th oct. heee...but actual EDD already brought forward by 2.5weeks...i think cannot be any earlier liao....

[email protected] my birthday on 30oct leh so i think 1 nov is ok lah. afterall my silly hubby not romantic one lah. no candlelight dinner. always eat together with my birthday. so in this case, can eat 2 times mah =p your hubby sweet hor.. i saw your blog and the food.. make me drool only.
i still purposely show him the food, he got no reaction....boohoohoo..

Superhappymum,
Ah..no wonder you need c-sec. Actually my gf's bb was also 3.7kg and she went through 20 hrs of labour for natural birth successfully. Really salute her.

I will know the new weight of my bb tmr..cross fingers and toes..

Meanwhile, just dun stress yourself and quickly pack the hospital bag and choose the c-sect date. Getting so excited for all of you ladies!

Grace...haha....u saw my blog? heee..
my hb also nt romantic la..this time is cos i preggy ma...maybe he see me suffered for the 1st 4 mths...then this is the last time to pigout before i pop!

grace: ah!! u always like to remind me of my edd!!! what i meant was ah fong told me by 5th nov lah.. haha... u very notty! i ask ah fong last wk he say early nov.. but i remember hor.. during my ante natal class i saw them starting to renovate liao.. i think call up Mt A to check will be better

ueno,

congrats!!
so how do u feel now?? happy?? relieved??
how do u feel when u know u dilating liaoz??
scared not?? or more of excited??
wonder how will i feel when its my turn...:p
btw, how did u manage to note down the series of events in such details??

s@l, yah i saw, salivate at the food loh heheh...
still its very sweet of him to bring you to pig out before delivery. i cannot really eat leh, so if pig out is only going to be a minor one. not major at all.

mandy, heheh. anyway i called mount a already. the renovated ward is supposed to be ready around the first week of nov. the lady say shouldnt have a problem with 1 bedder. fingers crossed now.

Anyone is with Raffles Hospital? I'm wondering what they provide and what to pack into my hospital bag. My Dr says she will most likely induce me to deliver on 22 Nov. 5 more weeks! Feels like a long time...

ZZZ...u will 'remember' or rather u will not forget the events too when its ur turn....dunno why..till now i still can recall the details when i was sent in for c-sect 4yrs ago...

Grace, hahah...then ask ur hb go there to pigout aft u pop lor! can eat more!

s@l,

reallly meh??
aiya nowadays i very scared/worried leh, esp knowing that nov mtbs start popping liaoz..
somehow i am not looking forward leh...
very scared...*sighz*
but for me i tink i sure very panicky leh..
seems amazing tat she can rem the events and the exact time leh..:p

Ueno: Congrats on yr delivery! Share bb Leroy's picture once u've settled down ok. And glad to hear that u managed to BF yr bb.

Aiyo, so exciting. Expecting more gd news within the weeks ahead.

Poissons: Think i may not be attending the class on 10th Nov coz HB have something on at 4pm that day. Will not be able to make it.

Dear gals,
now I very scared leh... i scared after bb born, no more movies, no more freedom, no more good night sleep, no more shopping.. I scared i cry cry cry for no reason, i scared nobody will help me, i scared hubby bad tempered, i scared first kid jealous of the bb....how???

juan: don't think so much first.... there are a lot of things we have to sacrifice, but think it in a more positive light.... u have a kid!! ;)
all the no movies, cut in expenditure, etc are worth it... as next time u will have another person who will make u smile at her slightest action.

for me i try not to think about the sacrifices that we need to make as nowadays it is not so easy to conceive as I have seen in my friends, etc.