(2007/11) November MTBs

I think if it's not a hassle to place the breast pump in the car boot, then just bring along lor. Cos I heard the nurses/lactational consultants can teach you the appropriate ways to breastfeed if you bringing your own pumps, kill 2 birds with one stone.

Cactusnah,
think I will just send a cheque instead lor, since it's only $8 for a couple. which session u wanna go? I only keen on session 2, morning one too early la..keke

i think i will be bringing the avent manual pump that i got from my cousin. Still have a class on sat on sterilisation and baby birth, i will check to see how to sterilise and pack into the hospital bag..

its getting exciting in our nov mtb threads.. our 2nd mummy is going to be either Kaye, Mandy or Tweety... =) keep us posted. oct mummies threads have alot of baby photos and over 40 mummies have given birth...

Poissons: Most likely be going for the 2nd session too if i'm going. Act have attended a similar session months ago by Mrs.Wong also, but thot it's gd to refresh, will have more "feel" by then. But i juz dun like the way they organise the event lor. Haizz..

i also attended a session by cordlife previously and mrs wong gave a talk on the massage and bath. its very interesting. but i think i cannot remember liao cos that time i was only 10 weeks hehehe..

Mandy, if u already bought ur pump, do bring it along. I am also bringin my pump to hospital..even thinking of bringing my steriliser.

My reason is becos i will nt be staying in a single bed ward, hence might nt be so convenient to keep bringing bb over (from previous experience, the mummy beside me was giving black face). Furthermore initial days need to stimulate the breast frequently...my fren did the same thing, keep pumping although no milk while her son was down with severe jaundice under the phototherapy, so she had a lot of free time in the ward. Now her supply of BM is alot! hee...hope it works

Although hospital offer rental for pumps, but i think u need to buy certain parts like the funnel/ tubings for hygiene purpose, they will insist. if u already have a pump, then no point spending this $$.

Also if u wan to do TBF, DO NOT request for supplementing with FM. If really need to, remember to ask them to feed thru cup or spoon....dun intro bottles at this stage! It'll jus foil ur plans to TBF.

Catherine, ya i put the sterilised pumps in Ziplock bags or boxes which have been sterilised with tablets to my workplace last time.

Tweety, car seat is compulsory in SG. And I think it's possibly the one most important item in your shopping list, so do go and buy it. They usually deliver so no need to worry about carrying it home on your own.

Ladies, I'm keen to attend the talk on looking after baby but I didnt see the ad. Can someone share w me the details like who to send cheque to, where and what time is it pls? Thanks!

Thanks for rem me.. My baby is doing well in KKH SCN and he is constantly gaining wt, can't wait for him to be home soon..

Anyway my birth story is written in my blog www.lawrencealicia.blogspot.com

Go read it and any question can ask me.. And mine is a C-section with epidural.. :p

Thanks for rem me.. My baby is doing well in KKH SCN and he is constantly gaining wt, can't wait for him to be home soon..

Anyway my birth story is written in my blog www.lawrencealicia.blogspot.com

Go read it and any question can ask me.. And mine is a C-section with epidural.. :p

cactusnah,
My hubby still around till thursday. So hopefully I still have time to shop for last minute essential before he leaves on his trip! Soo much to do, kids got exams next week, busy trying to fit in revisions with them as well as organise things around the house!! I hope my CL can cope, I told her to babysit my boys while I'm in hospital. Hubby will be around too but she will also be doing all the cooking and cleaning :p

I went to the hospital tour in TMC, they tell me you can rent the breast pump. But like S@L said it would be silly to rent from them if you have your own. So I will be sterilizing my pump and everything. I think I'll take sterilizing tablets to use in the hospital, better than taking a bulky steam sterilizer hor?

Winwin,
I'll be 37wks next week.

Mandy,
BB should be latched on as soon as they are born to encourage bonding and also to bring on your milk supply. The best milk as Dokie mentioned is the Colostrum which comes in on the first few days of breast feeding. Thats what they call the 'golden liquid'.

Dokie, ya delivering at TMC. actually i was so ignorant when i delivered my son. ddint know where to ask for help in BF...although was at TMC...nvr came across my mind to seek help from Mrs Wong...this time i will fully utilised the facility and her! haha

Tweety, ya can also use the tablets. but personally hate the smell aft use....for the box to contain the pump still alright, but i usually dun sterilise the btl and pumps with the tablets...

Alicia, glad u doing well....catch up someday aft most of us pop!

gals.. my butts tailbone ache like mad. whenever i sit or getting off from chair, its like muscle ache after long time you didn't excerise. any remedy???

Vivian..i used a lot of Salonpas to relieve the muscle aches....try it or rub some ache relieve cream...most impt is rest/sleep well...

Alicia, i jus read ur blog..so nicely done...i have added ur blog in mine..hope u dun mind

mummies who have blogs...do share with us le....It'll be fun to see updates of our bb next time!

I've been feeling breathless and "heavy" these days, after walking less than half an hour, already feel back breaking and pain near the pelvic.

Ask my gynae abt the cramps I've been experiencing, he says not contraction leh. just stretching only. Its a bit like mensus cramps.

you ladies taking ML soon? my colleague just went on ML and now a bit difficult for me to take also.

hi alicia,
welcome back!! Do post baby's photo once you have them. Glad to hear that all is alright. Am sure baby will be home with you soon.

alicia, good to hear that your baby is doing well, i'm sure he will put on enough weight soon to be discharged

re: taking ML
I'm only planning to start working from home 2 wks before my EDD (this is in case i go into labor earlier than my EDD)... and possibly to start my ML on the day i deliver... hv not decided if to take the full 3 months or leave some days for later leh... juz feel that if it's juz 2 months, it's very short...

i went for my checkup last friday, bb at average weight, 2.6kg at wk 35 going 36... did CTG, and gynae said no signs of contraction or anything yet... and he said cos my 1st one was due on wk 40 (plus a few days), he said most likely this one will be the same... good and bad lah...

i juz feel so tired and lazy nowadays, sleep is never enough... hvn't pack hospital bag, haven't finish washing bb clothes (only washed the clothes, the booties/mittens and all others hvn't wash yet) *boo hoo* hope i gear myself up to do it soon!

Regarding maternity pads, any recommendations? I mainly seen Kotex selling in supermarts and pharmacy. Think I also saw Pureen. Have you ladies bought yet?

S@L, yes. I always like TMC because they really pro bf unlike other hosp. Unfortunately my gynae only delivers in M ELIZ.
Call her if u encounter any difficulty. She always tell me babies can go without milk or anything for 3-4 days...:p

Thks for the welcome! Bought most of my bb clothes from SH. But can't buy too much, cos when we go back after CNY, it will be winter there, so clothes worn here can't be worn in SH. The bb clothes are much cheaper in SH.

Went to see Dr Chan today...BB not very cooperative again, covered face with hands and legs. But was funny cos Dr Chan show me bb's vital part and said it is 300% boy. haha. Nurse gave me the admission form already, just in case, from now on, anything happens, they will admit me immediately. Also popped by the children's clinic to take a look. My god, it was so crowded. Wonder whether I shd stick with the PD there or try to look for another one. I chose Dr william yip as PD and Dr Dicky tay to do my epidural.

erika,
for maternity pads, i would prefer to juz use the whisper heavy and overnight pads, those are quite good and long and should serve it's purpose well... don't like those loop types...

tinkabel,
din know that can choose PD or anaethetician one? mine is assigned, apparently by my gynae, the PD that he always 'work' with...

plim,

Yah usually they will assign the ones the gynae always work with, but I think if you have a preference, you can choose and let the nurse know.

I happen to have a few friends using the same gynae and they recommended a few names.

I am also bringing along my pump to the hospital. Was trying to figure how to use it yesterday. My breast feels "massaged" when putting it on... hehe

the weather outside my window is so lovely with the light rain and cloudy greenery... so glad i am home today...

has anyone bought any perenium sprays, vaginal wash or wipes for episotomy wounds? Any recommendations?

Hi alien,

ur bumper playmat looks sooooo CUTE!!!

I dunno which design to choose, they are all so lovely :)

U mentioned free delivery as well?

Will let u have my order soon.

Hello everyone! wow, super busys at work today! just 1 more wk left! i must bear with it. hehe.

erika:: i bought the maternity pads from mothercare when they had the 20% off. muahahhaa.

s@l and all:: really? must bring pump? OMG, then have so many so many things to bring! Hmmmz. MY bag is already full. hahaha! But in a way, it's also good for someone to teach you how to do it. if not later get stressed and lost at home. Oh means i have to go sterilise the stuffs soon! hehe.

hi cindy, i also bgt the mothercare pads. dunno if need to bring for hospital stay or if they provide...

any idea how many maternity panties we need to pack for hospital stay? I packed 9 pieces but dunno if enuff...

i am bringing along a luggage bag so no worries about putting more stuff inside... hubby's jkt n clothes already take up some space. I am also thinking of bringing a whole lot of other stuff... can "ban jia" liao... hehe

<font color="0000ff">Hi Cassie, i can understand wat you mean.. i bought Mickey Mouse (largest size) fr my first BP, but one of the mummy emailed me saying that she wants Mickey Mouse too (after my BP closed)... after a "long" consideration, i gave up my own purchased for her cos i had fall for CARS.. aiya, i also "sum si si" for some designs.. jialat!

All order comes with free local delivery!</font>

Hi all mummies
May I know what u pack for baby's bag, mummy's bag and daddy's bagpack??? I am so blur. I have been reading but haven participate cos when i logged in is already at nite. Hee hee...
I am due 2nd Nov at TMC c section....

Cassie, I packed 10 pieces of maternity panties and a couple of cloth ones. If really not enuff, can ask ur hubby to buy (or bring from home if u already have some extra at home)

am feeling so tired at work lately... aching everywhere.

yoko,
nothing much to pack for bb if delivering at TMC (other hospital i m nt too sure) cos they provide going home clothes for bb. Unless u wan bb to wear the clothes u bought la...but from my last experience, the clothes i brought along were too big for a newborn..so this time dun intend to pack anything.
As for hb, guess only if he staying over and i think u can leave it to ur hb to pack what he needs ... dun worry urself over it...

As for mummy's bag...its a long list....

1) night dresses 2-3
2) sanitary pads
3) disposable panties
4) nursing bra 2-3
5) toiletries
6) breast pump (optional)
7) slippers

other mummies can add to the list? i can only think of these.

Cindy, if have a pump, better to bring, but if bb willing to latch then no need to attempt to use it.

AS for steriliser..i think u can use hospital's one...but i lazy to bother the nurses so might bring my own. U dun need to sterilise beforehand cos anyway it wont stay sterile for long if u do it at home before u admit to hospital. So jus bring along and see what u can do.

Baby's Stuff

1) Welcome home wrap plus hat n booties n mittens

Daddy Stuff

1) Jkt to keep warm
2) Sleeping clothes if staying over nite

Mummy Stuff (to add on)

socks, wet wipes, comb, light makeup, eye drops, specs & cloth, moisturiser, list of names to call, fav light snacks e.g. chocolates, hp charger, a spare bag to put all the presents, sweater to keep warm... sigh! i hav a lot of other things to bring which i won't mention here... hehe

Last week i play MJ and when i got home i realise my feet swollen i tin due to water retention. I got a pre natal massage and it becomes better. But i guess my fingers still water retention and swollen.

Yami, I get tired easily too. I am at my 34 weeks. But i stil got my insomnia. I can't sleep at nite till 4am.

I bought pads from KOTEX. Not too sure if it is gd.

Regret didn't buy enough during the JL sales cos I am alone and no one carry for me. I purpusely went yesterday and brought my maid along but no more sales. Even Isetan oso no sales liao.

Get titred easily

after reading so much realise i really din buy a lot of stuff le...

Haven buy pump yet as told that only after birth then will know whether need to buy and which type to buy.. and for car seat also din realise it is compulsory in singapore... oh man.. i am so blur

I wil be delivering in TMC also, EDD 17 Nov but worrying a lot nowadays as placenta low... and everyday so sianz to wake up in the morning -my fingers stiff and painful..

i went for JL sales also but very tired, grab some stuffs then go home... regret now.. haiz...

tinkabel and piggy:: my fingers also stiff and painful ah! and somemore get cramp quite easily even on the hands.! haha. I don't know why but maybe it's due to water retention or relaxin loosening the joints? Hmmmz.

s@l:: yups! thankies dear! I will pack the pump in! hehe Must not find excuses for not BF! hehe ^^ But my steriliser is too huge to lug around la. maybe closer to the date then i sterilise and then if want to use then see how. hah.

cassie:: hahaa i am super KS: I took 2.5 packs of disposable undies (got about 14 pc i think)and 3 cotton undies. I thinking if can change then change to keep clean hahaha.

Gals, for those who deliver at TMC, don bring pump. The lactation consultants are there to support u if u have any difficulty.Just give them a buzz.
Besides our milk don come in so fast too.
Also don bring steriliser to hosp. Really no need...

Another recommendation for PD would be Dr Ong Eng Keow from Singapore Baby and Child Clinic. I have been using him for 2.5 years for my child. He is also my company panel of doctors.