(2007/11) November MTBs

cassie: have you eaten yr dinner already or not?
why yr MIL taking so long to cook dinner ah??
have u eaten anything already?

heehee... she is a real "slow cooker"...

she cooked throughout today... one dish at a time... she took 2 hours to cook pork liver mee sua for my lunch... and for dinner, its like having dinner at a wedding, each dish take 30 mins to arrive... so by the time she finished cooking the last dish at 10.30 p.m., i peng san liao... now, my SIL and her bf washing up and mopping floor...luckily nobody mentioned that i have to clean up... esle i really will lock her out of my house the next time!

My whole stomach system feel messed up by all the wrong eating timing today...

Hi tinkabel, the braun thermometer itself is a good buy.

Hi Mandy, mabbe its a blessing that you didn't bring taka credit card cos JLL sale is really much cheaper!

Good luck with the rest of your shopping tomorrow! :)

ADeline, thanks I got ur payment
Also replied ur mail.

HEllo S@L, please please let me know how much to pay you okays? hehehe. Muacks.

And dear everyone! I'm gg to shop to my fill at JL today hahaha. Hope i can be harvestful!

Muacks. Take care.

Alamak, didnt know Taka having sale. I was there yesterday! But then again, nothing much else to get already.

Cindy, same here, I didnt like the Karmy designs at all. Do you see any other pyjamas that are nicer?

Cassie,
ur MIL cooked pork liver meesua so long? Bt its best tat u dun eat liver coz of e high levels of the retinol form of Vitamin A, which can be harmful to your developing baby. Bt i guess small quantity shd be fine. i ate alot of pork liver durin my 1st trimester w/o noeing.

Cassie: Yr MIL sure took a long time to prepare a bowl of mee sua for u. Hope she is not the one doing yr confinement, else u'll have to get ready lotsa food to standby. Kee kee...

Aiya, too bad i've some wk to rush today. No time to go to the JL sale. Think have finished buying all the bulk items, else the sale will be a gd saver.

Hey, for those EDD in end Nov, there's an upcoming talk on 10th Nov covering topics like how to max bb's sleep, managing BF, how to bath for bb, etc. Details can be found on yest Straits Time, last page of Life section.

Hi cactusnah,

my MIL suggested yesterday that she will cook during my confinement and i order tinkat for hubby and confinement nanny... **faint twice**
**see stars** ... she was against my idea of hiring the confinement nanny earlier but i have already paid deposit so she no choice.

mabbe she cook too long for the whole day and i may have heard her wrongly... anyway, just pretend never hear...

she even ask my hubby to teach her how to use teletext on my TV so that she can monitor the stock market at my place during my confinement period...

am now worried that she and confinement nanny may become good frens and gang up against me... then i "cham" liao...

suddenly, feel like locking my doors and keeping everyone out!

Karmy actually have some nice designs but very "rare" to come by... the ones i saw at JLL last Thurs very aunty... Thomson Plaza got 2 shops with nice PJs... or if tats out of the way, why not try Marks & Spencer... they got nice spearates...very sweet and girly. I have stocked up on the chocs and biscuits from M&S... have to buy somemore cos i realised i am starting to open them one by one before my confinement period...

Cassie: Guess u must be starved and could have heard her wrongly yest. Yr confinement nanny shld be the one cooking for u. They're the ones who knows best what to cook. Else 2 women in a kitchen will become chaotic.

Mummies, regrd payment for Drugstore Spree #2, I will post update/ email individually. No hurry to TT the $$ to me now K?

Cassie,

My sis bought the thermometer with the 8 memory for S$131.80. But she says got no 20% discount, just got the 30% voucher. The one with 1 memory is S$121.80. Just a difference of S$10. Is this what you saw also?

i went JL dis aftnoon and managed to get the 30% vouchers wif my receipts from last wk! finally can njoy more savings coz i end up buying more BB stuffs and use the vouchers for payment; wat a savings!
thk dis is the best savings compared to the rest of 20% sales happening in Taka, Metro & BHG!!

hi Tinkabel,

the braun thermometer does not belong to the nursery section. But can still get 30% voucher which is the best discount so far for this thermometer, cos the last time they had storewide sale, electrical items were excluded.

Only the nursery section has the 20% discount. And can further redeem 30% vouchers on amt spent.

I also mangage to go to JL sales. Really happy cos I manage to get good deals. I brought my Medela electric breast pump, my stroller and other items. I spent total over $600. But I got over $200 back in vouchers. So far that is the best savings I've made in the sales. I'll be keeping a look out for the next sales!!!

Wow tweety, that's def alot of saving and well worth it! I got the Braun thermometer at 20% discount then and i was a happy woman liao, to think u can still get $200 bk, u must be grinning ear to ear.

Let's keep one another update on sale and offer and save the extra $ to buy diapers. Kee kee..

hee...everyone here is happy with their JL Purchases. In fact, I asked my SIL to help me to buy some more today and guessed what all items were sold out..sigh!
everyone must be a happy buyer.

Hallo ladies!

Been experiencing more of the braxton hicks contractions and getting more intense each time and my feet really swelled! No wonder, my gynae says I m due anytime!

Mandy, big babies not necessarily good! My younger SIL commented that her tummy is not as big as mine when she is pregnant with her 3 kids.. That smart aleck elder SIL of mine told me to control my weight when she heard that i put on 17 kg!

Today, so happy, went to Taka sale and managed to get some stuff for the home!

Now just keeping my fingers crossed that the stuff i bought in US gets delivered to my Sis (who is in US) and my Sis can lug home for me!

Cassie, ur MIL champion for cooking so long! I can imagine how sianz u re at home!

Have a good week ahead!

Wow seems like i missed JL sales big time! The sale is over? Been so busy with my son over the weekends and hubby also busy with work....now big and clumsy me also dun feel like walking ard too much, hence missed the great sale.

Hopefully yr end sale will be better by the time confinement over then can shop with 'less burden'

Hope everyone had a good weekend, I guessed so from the looks of the JL sale. I also bought a baby cot where I got back almost $80 in voucher, so am a happy gal

Tweety, thanks very much for the very clear explanation. I will be using the steam sterilizer so shouldnt need any tablets. Sorry didnt see your question till now on the JL sales, but guessed you had a good deal from the looks of it.
Have a good week ahead all MTBs!!

I feel so miserable. I couldnt sleep the whole night after drinking yin yang drink from Hong Kong Street...argh...
I am wide awake as an owl...very miserable...

Helooo mommies! went to cheong for the JL sale yesterday. Wow, really GREAT deals! haha i got my cot and pram finallly!!!

and dokie:: the dimensions should be 28 * 52? That's the normal standard. You can get the bedsheet from those display beds. They do throw in some bedsheets here and there. haha i got a classic pooh (bedsheet only) from one of the beds. But if you want those fitted sets, like 9pc set or anything, sometimes it's inside the beds too, sometimes, it's placed together with the bb pillow section.

and twiggy:: yes. the karmy is really yucky. HAHAHA i see already i also don't feel like go see one by one for a rare nice design. hahaha. I bought one set at women's secret. IT's button front too but not all the way button down, say like those henley tops, 3/4 down.
but still suitable for BF i guess. hehe.

Yes Cactusnah, I was grinning from ear to ear. Even hubby was happy about shopping which is very rare!! Haha
But I would have spent more if I had the energy, I forgot to get the baby monitor and car seat in my haste!

Dokie,
I think there are different sizes. Mine is also 28*52, I got my fitted cot sheet from Cheeky Bon Bon. They supply to Isetan, JL and Robinson . So I'm sure you will find what you looking for at any department stores.
Although, styles are very limited. So be prepared to hunt high and low if you are looking for a 'nicer' design.

hi tweety, thanks...I have to go shopping again..arghh!
I thought my last final stop would be JL Sales and final final stop would be kiddy palace for bedsheet.
Actually I need two dimen. My mum house would 28*48. My house is 28*52.
have u heard of 28*48.

today is company holiday and I feel so sianz to work...Hope more posting today so that can chit chat and work at the same time before I head for Kiddy palace...

HAHaha dokie, i think the 28*48 is actually 26*48

cause when i went kiddy palace, that's the only 2 standard sizes they said the beds come in.
one is 26*48 and the other is 28*52. ^^

I also have to go shopping again, forgot to buy nappy liners! grrrr. hahaha. How come you're working on a company holiday dokie?

Morn ladies!

Had a lousy nite yesterday coz i can't sleep well. Its the phobia of due for delivery at any time while at the same time, i have not really packed my hospital bag!

My 2 feet are swollen till like a pig trotters and the toes also are swollen! My movements are really slow.. Walk a bit like a lot of effort and 10 mins walk becomes like 20 mins walk....

i also did a fair bit of shopping on friday and saturday..hehe went taka sale, my frens got cosmetics at extra 10% off. Was also at the JL sale. it was really the best sale ever. we bought stuff at $110 and rebate $34 in vouchers. we used the vouchers to get free vitamins cos vits were on 20% too..

today i bo liao..my office colleague just gave birth and she is malay but baby is very fair. cos her hubby also very fair and look more chinese. then i suddenly got 'worried' hahah.. cos my hubby is very dark and tanned. then my baby is girl mah rite, for girl the fairer the better hehe..must be like mummy. then i called hubby and ask him was he originally fair or borned tanned. he thinks i am mad hahah.. he says he was born fair.. phew phew...

kaye,
put the feet up. last time mine was pig trotters, i followed the advise to put the feet up and it was ook later..

faster pack bag, if not later have to rush.
i had a bad nite too. turn and twist the whole nite...

Mummies, i also had a bad night....was chatting with hubby till he fell asleep and my eyes were still as wide as an owl! I even got up to do my knitting instead of tossing and turning in bed. and that was already 1.30am! jus couldn fall asleep and kept making toilet trips like 6 times a night! and the urgency is like a stabbing pain below at the V area...sianz...still have 3 more weeks to bear with it and its gonna get worse.

Then yday was so emotional and worried of my scheduled c-sect. i asked hubbby what he will do without me should anything bad happen during the ops.
. i m getting the blues....

yes kaye! faster pack bag! hahaha..

s@l:: don't think of the bad things. aiyoz. you worry too much le. ^^

Yes these days i also have trouble falling asleep when i wake up to pee. why is this so ah! and each time have to remind myself to sleep on the sides, sometimes it's really, neck-aching!

Cindy, dunno la, mustbe the anxiety and the hormones making me feel this way. Furthermore earlier this yr there was a traumatising story of a woman who died aft giving birth...poor husband...hiaz....my mind abit 'xiao' liao....

R u sleeping on a normal pillow? I bought a contour pillow, similar to the Tempur one, but not so exp la. Its very good for neck support esp for us who needs to sleep sideways. Luckily before pregg i m already used to sleeping sideways, so not much diff to me now.

so glad many of u got good deal at JL. blur me forgot to get Braun ear thermometer
where is the next best place to get? Harvey Norman?

last nite when i was lying down & abt to fall asleep, i felt baby moving & felt a sharp pain at V area. It was so painful i cried out in pain. I felt the pain at V area a few times b4 when i'm walking but never this painful b4. Is this normal?

been having more & more Braxton Hicks contractions lately. HB v anxious & asked me wat if they were the real contractions. coz we are so unprepared. altho we bought almost all the baby stuff, we still haven got wardrobe, pack hospital bag, wash baby clothes & clean/wash the hand-me-downs (stroller, car seat & rocker). our baby room is still in a big mess with all the purchases & hand-me-downs in plastic bags lying all over the room! =P

Catherine,
must hurry liao...i also have not packed my bags, but finished washing the clothes already....

u better get the things ready soon otherwise bb decides to 'pop' earlier then u will be very lost!

BTW, the supplier told me the Pumpin pal is for single pump too. If u need extra info, can give this lady a call/sms, she is quite helpful.

98004598- Hwei (Mumsfairy)

s@l :: hahaa i bought a support pillow too but still have neck ache ley. Funny cause i used to Love sleeping sideways. hahaha now that i'm preggie, i want to sleep front up. you don't worry too much le. Baby will know de. Just keep your spirits high! hehehe. ^^ Oh yes, for your first bb, did you exclusively BF? Aiya. now a bit headache cause i don't really want to go to work and still expressing, so i was thinking if can BF for first month, then combine with FM for second month onwards. mahahhaa.

S@L

Like Cindy says, don't think so much, I understand what you mean as I myself also have such thoughts from time to time, but remember always to be positive, cos worrying doesnt help anyway

Like many of your ladies, I also have problems sleeping nowadays, even if I sleep on my sides, will have rib pains, leg pains, and neck aches..wake up at least 2-3 times every night for the past weeks..so quite tiring.
I also haven't pack my hospital bag, maybe should start throwing some stuff in already this week.

Catherine, I also have pain in the V area, sometimes v painful, think its normal, but you better check w gynae if its very consistent and they is like blood or anything.

Cindy, no lo..sad to say i nvr succeeded in TBF for my son.
tats why for this girl, i hope to do TBF since i m working from home.

Ya i understand the 'trouble' of having to lug a pump to and fro work place cos i went thru tt period too. but alot of mummies managed and even did TBF for 1yr or more! If u are determined and blessed with milk, should not give up ya?

remember if u really determined to BF, pls keep formula out of reach cos it'll only tempt u to start supplementiing esp for the initial period when ur BM have not come in.

Erika, ya thanks i know tt.,.hb also said i think too much...but cant help la cos i have a 4yrs old toddler to think of too...

i also have sharp pain and frequently have leg cramps. 2 days ago had a very bad cramp tt i shouted on top of my voice for my hb and he rushed into the room and saw a 'twisted' ankle! LoLZzz...so weird to have leg cramps! And also the part betwn my tighs and V area also get cramps easily...haiz...when i had my son 4yrs ago, i dun have such problems...is age catchin up?

S@L,
ya i must really buck up. tonight must be determined to pack my hospital bag. tmr wash baby clothes. weekend wash the hand-me-down items. JIA YOU!!!

thanks Erika,
this sat seeing my gynae. will ask him abt this pain also.

k@ye & mandy,
how does it feel like when baby is engaged? does it feel like something is stuck at the V area? some mothers in the Oct thread felt tat way when baby is engaged.

s@l:: ya! the lugging of pump is really a turnoff. imagine come home so tired le still have to sterilise all the parts and so on. Sigh. But yes, I must persevere if i can. HEHE. I will keep the FM out of my sight! hahaha. and don't worry. AGE is not catching up! don't think negative thoughtS! haha

and what's the sharp pain in the V area like? So far i only have pain in the bone area near the V part, is that the pelvic part? Do you girls have piles?

Cindy, just came back from kiddy palace . they have leh...I bought my 27.5*48 cotbed mattress to put at my mum house a a bedsheet for my cotbed mattress at home. I want to try the size first before buying more bedsheet..so I have to shop again..argh..bomian!
working at home...to clear work...I have been on leave since last wed so need to catch up work. besides i have presentation tomo afternoon.

Tweety, I bought the cheeky bon bon bedsheet. Thanks for the recommendation. Save me time to decide which brand.

Cindy, hhaa...cant lie abt age la...4yrs ago and now really a lot of diff! Luckily this is my 2nd last one...

Talking abt piles, for both my preg surprisingly my bowels movement are better than normal times. i used to have constipation, but once pregg i dun suffer from tt.

However aft my 1st born, i do have piles once a while but i think could be due to the lack of fibre in my diet.

Dun over-exert urself cos piles really painful!

Wah! Seems like most of you really made the best of the JL sale. Can I ask which JL did most of you go? I only know the Plaza Sing one, is that the biggest one? Still have to get my pyjamas and bedsheets.

Just spent an hour on Amazon buying lullaby CDs. Haha! Coz I don't know any lullabies and I want to sing to baby but dunno what to sing!

Hee hee, today no need to work (off in lieu for Hari Raya), so lazing around at home. My hospital bag is already 90% packed, only left with Hubby's stuff, dunno what he wants to bring to the hospital, so will leave him to pack tonight.

Cactusnah,
I saw the ad on the talk on 10 Nov too, been calling the number this morning to register but no one pick up the phone!! Are you attending? I'm interested in session 2.

It seems that most of us couldnt sleep well last night..:p

Cindy, u must go and do research on the benefits of BM to your baby then u will be convinced. It is worth it despite the inconvenience and effort.I bf my elder child for more than a year. Regretted not doing it longer. FM is never a temptation for me. I don want to deprive my baby of BM and will bf as long as I can.
Of cos, don compromise on your diet and health.
there is a different on quality of bm.
Not all bm are the same.
There are some mothers who bf yet, their children fall sick easily