(2007/11) November MTBs

actually for buffet hor.. i searched thru the forum liao leh...

mth of nov is a busy mth for hb.. so a lot of things if can do i try to do early.... I have shortlisted a few caterer and we hv gone thru the buffet dishes & even selected the dishes. so 1 week before full mth i just need to call them and order.. haha

maybe the next thing is to ask him abt the cakes.. haha.

Attached is the excel spreedsheet that I use to update. The delivered table may need to be adjusted further....

mime_msexcel.gif
Nov MTBs List
dates.xls (39.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hey.. if any1 of us have popped, must get a buddy to update the rest hor.. grace and I have arranged to be each other's buddy liao.. hee...

wow mandy u so fast! my hubby might be going reservist in Nov!! think he'll just leave all the decisions to me... *sigh* i'm scared tat i'll get post-natal blues... hubby not ard then got 1 crying baby & 2 elderly woman in house (CL & ma)... just pray hard tat they dun argue

catherine: haha.. for me i just pre-empt lor.. try not to think abt the blues first.

for me my hb went reservist in sept-oct.... he don't want to defer... but request for nites out everyday.. then november is also another wrong mth for my gal to arrive as early november he very busy with his studies as got a lot of assignments due... end nov (which may be the full mth) he has his exams.. so for my confinement mth, he will mostly be out of action.. haha...

he don't intend to take much leave to help me out during my confinement as he is busy with his work and studies also. just take it in yr stride and the time will pass...

initially i also worry a lot.. but see 'open' it liao.... for me my confinement could be 2 fighting aunties (my MIL and CL), 1 crying bb and 1 (either leaking or engorged mummy) haha....

sigh..talking abt confinement, my sis juz told me yday that she's gonna bring my parents to HK on the first wk of Dec, which concidentally will be my confinement period. All the while been taking for granted that my mummy will be at my side taking care of me during confinement together with the CL, but now they are going away on a trip and leave me behind
I was a little upset, but then again, didn't want to deprive my mum for the trip so I will just make do with the help available (hubby and MIL).

poissons: ya lor.. mine also similar.. mine my whole family is gg overseas maybe on the 1st week(early dec) when my CL leaves... at that time i sure kalang kabot... so that time i also hv to make do with MIL and hb... told hb after his exams he must take leave to help me liao.

Have anyone compared these 2 - desitin and calendula creams? What's the diff and which is better? Any BP for the calendula cream?

Heyhey S@L, hehehe I think i wanna buy 2 more packs of gerber milk storage bags. These got no expiry dates hor? ehhehe let me know the total to TT you okay! muacks.

Want to ask , dun laugh ah, sound quite suaku I think...anyone knows do we have to put any tablets or liquid into steriliser to sterilise bottles? Or do we 1st wash with the bottle cleaner soap, then just put into steriliser?

Mandy,
You holding the full month at home? I dread the idea of having it at home cos' it will be messy and dirty, dun think I will have the energy to clean up.

grace,
yah lor, most prob will be asking frens to help book their condo's function room..duno if can get one or not, cos' by then in Dec, festive period, sure fully booked.

grace,
forgot to ask, is your leg ok now? yday you were complaining that it was swollen..I also noticed that my legs are a little swollen recently..actually they were ok until hubby volunteered to massage them and my right leg started to cramp. Damn painful and nearly burst to tears, now still got the stinging pain on the cramped area.

hi poissons, thanks for asking..
i slept with my legs up last nite. it was werid but at least the swell was gone. today its still abit fat but not that bad now =)

cramps always hurt, rem to flex your toes inwards towards your body, that will stop the cramps..

i am going to Taka sale now hehehe...

haha..and i'm going to Robinsons centerpoint later! if got anything interesting, let me know ok? you got my mobile no? else you get it from my hubby...hee.. :p

poissons: yeap i doing the full mth at home.. will most prob do on a sat afternoon. so that the maid got the evening to help us clean up and the next day, hb and i can rest!

as SIL say will ask the maid to stay back to help me clean up. keke.... so that we need not do anything.

tinkabel, i think dokie mentioned that she prefer calendula. for me , i will be getting both. destini cream as a daily preventive cream for diaper rash. and calendula cream for cuts/dry skin /cradle cap etc... Price wise, Destini cream is cheaper than calendula cream also.

there is a BP going on and it cost 17 bucks..:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1003053.html?1191555140

copied the below from the BP re the uses of calendula cream:
Calendula Cream
Calendula Cream is excellent for use on general diaper area, cradle cap, on cuts and scrapes, and may be used on face and body for extra-dry or sensitive skin. Botanically based, our light and fluffy Calendula Cream contains the active ingredient of Calendula, which has been used to heal the skin for centuries. California Baby Calendula Cream offers deep hydration, absorbs completely, and leaves skin feeling satiny smooth. Use daily for everyday protection and especially when the air is dry and baby's skin needs relief.

I am also shortlisting the full month cakes plus buffet. cos i dun think i will have the time to do so after baby arrives.

Buffet: can consider YLS...I used them for my wedding tea ceremony and find them quite good.

tweety, looks like u r next!! jia you and keep us updated...

yami, thks for reverting. Guess I might get both as well.

The 17 bucks for CB including shipping? I thought i saw one is $7.15 x 1.59.

S@L:

I previously had ordered the 3 tubes of desitin and you mention you will add me in. But you have still left me out. Please add 3 tubes in for me. Thanks.

The $17 is from a local supplier. it may be cheaper to order online or join the sprees organised in the forum. but as i am due soon and CB Calendula cream is always out of stock, i decided to just buy from local online store 'little jet plane'. The link i posted previously is the link to the BP little jet plane is organising at the moment.

yami,

thks for the clarification. Yah, saw that it's always out of stock. Maybe just get from the local supplier for convenience sake.

Argh, so tired. Today is my last day of work in SH and supposed to be going back to Spore on MOnday. But some last min deadline, always on a Friday (wonder why!)and US time. Looks like it's going to be a late night for me again!

Hi, just went for gynae check up today. Baby weighs 2.4Kg at 34 weeks. Gynae said is big. And I also expressed to her that I want to try natural birth.

Actually I don mind trying natural birth but I am worried about the costs . This is because if try natural and later on cant deliver, I have to do emergency C section and the costs would be alot.Sigh! Hubby wants natural..

Also went JL...phew...it is really a good bargain.Cant believe it. After 20% discounts, I spent $350 but I still received another 30% voucher equivalent to $105...good deal...grinning away..
I didnt buy karmy pjam. I think I stick to my cartoon pjam - hello kitty, melody etc...
I don like karmy designs at all

Wow, the thread is moving very fast today!

Mandy, my baby was est to be 3kg at 38 weeks. Yup better check with ur HR on the maternity leave etcc....

Dokie, like u i prefer cartoon pj as compared to Karmy designs....

Talking abt full month celebration, i was just thinking of distributing cakes to relatives & frens. As for immediate family, mabbe just hold 1-2 tables at a restaurant to celebrate.

hi dokie,

i oso went JL last wk but bside the 20%, there was no mention of the 30% voucher leh... how do we get it or the cashier will auto give it to us?
and the voucher can be used for rebate on the spot or for next purchase?

sori ah, need to ask coz i oso spend over 300 leh...

Mandy,

wah, u super fast in getting ready for bb's full month!
i'm still not sure abt celebrating full month @ home (too crampy) or just distribute cakes... maybe like K@ya, for frenz & coligs, just distribute cakes, then family n close fren, can come over my pigeon hole for the celebration.

Yes kittybride, but i donno is it because the 30%only started today. It is really good. Must go!
Voucher can use immediately or use it within a year.

yea dokie, i don't like karmy designs at all. IT's so auntiee!!! hahahaha...

I went isetan today and the pajamas are really not nice. -.-

And thank you for the tippp! I will go JL tmr! muahaha... Any discounts on prams or such?

Tinkelbel, sorri...me pea brain again....will add u in...paiseh..

Cindy, ok add the 2x BM milk bags for u.

Adeline, ok will email you. thanks

Sanbebe, ok added in for u. Also PMed u.

Mummies, the Drugstore Spree #2 is closed cos we have hit another USD200!

will post payment over the weekends! Thanks

okay s@l, you email me or post here how much I should interbank you okay! Hopefully can add the shipping for the spree1 so you don't have to wait so long for the interbank transfer each time. Sorry. -.-

this thread is moving very very slowly today... suppose everyone is out on shopping sprees...

i did my JLL shopping on Thurs and was really very fruitful. They are giving 30% vouchers off the amount spent. I redeemed twice, so very worth it. Got 20% off nursery items and can have further 30% vouchers on amt spent. I also bgt the Braun thermometer, the Avent massage gel, bottom balm etc.

Went to Taka sale yesterday, but nothing much to buy in the nursery section. Ended up buying buying non-baby stuff instead. The JLL sale is much better. But i think Taka may be having Hello Kitty fair on 26 Oct so will pick up some stuff for baby.

My MIL came over to cook lunch and dinner today.
Been waiting for my lunch since 1 pm and its still COOKING... faint liao...

Went for my last checkup in SH before returning to Singapore next Mon. Me at end of 34 weeks and bb is 2.2kg. Gynae says that's a good size, but notice bb has got quite a big head. I was telling her and my hubby, that's just like mummy's family, all got big heads. haha

S@L: do you order the CB Calendula cream ? If yes, can check how much? Just want to consolidate all my orders so that I can collect the stuff from u at one go. Please let me know. Thanks a million.

Tinkabel, I went to JL (MS). I think is until tomo.

Still thinking of going but husband surely forbids. I thought of getting some toys for christmas..hee

Cassie, dokie:

Too bad. I am still in SH tomorrow and only going back to Singapore on Monday. Really a good deal though...

Now waiting for dinner... and also going to faint soon... at the speed she is cooking, think i will only get my dinner at 9 pm.... and she has been cooking in my kitchen since 1 pm!!!

Tinkabel - why dun u give ur shopping list to your family members in Spore to buy the stuff for u tomorrow at JLL? Quite a pity to miss the sale.

Regretted getting the Kiddy Palace discount card. The 10% discount pales greatly in comparison to JLL sale!

I have seen my gynae yesterday and he still recommend C-section for my 3.8kg baby delivery as my 1st baby was 2.97kg and he found that my pelvis was not big enough for bigger baby. He leaves the decision to us but I am worry of losing my baby if her head or shoulder stuck during delivery.
I am very very disappointed with this. I strong ops for natural delivery but now I have no choice.
Any of you had C-section before? Can share with me how to recover after C-section as compare to natural delivery? Many thanks!

SuperHappymum,
wow, ur bb is really big compared to ur 1st born! but no need to be sad...i think i'm worse than you...my son was only 2.89kg at birth, but i also had to go thru c-sect cos my pelvis is narrow, cervix failed to dilate. Same as u we were left to decide and gynae even asked if i wan to try and wait for cervix to dilate for another 24hrs
but he did mentioned there is a risk of stillbirth cos amnio fluid was little then. upon hearing tt, i immediately asked for c-sect the very night. Dun wan to lose bb for my stubborness (wanted very much to go thru natural).

No doubt aft tt i felt a bit 'unbalance'emotionally in a sense tt i cant go thru natural like most mummies do. But at least mummy and bb are fine, tats most impt. Whichever way the bb choose to come into this world, natural or c-sect is not very impt. I suggest u find articles in website regrd c-sect to prepare yourself mentally..then u can accept it.

As for recovery, I found it pretty ok. Not like alot of ppl commented tt c-sect mummies will recover very slowly. the most difficult part is actually the 1st 2 days when ur wound is still sore. and the 1st steps u need to make in the ward to prove tt u can ok for discharge. AFt tt at home i was fine, but need to take care of the wound.

till now is only left a faint scar that reminds me of tt. I am due for C-sect on the 7th nov for 2nd bb. But will ask for steriod as recommended by my gynae so tt my c-sect scar will 'disappear' as i m prone to keloids. However if it affects BF, then i prob will jus leave the scar alone....will have to talk to gynae abt tt.

dun worry ok, go into the ops with an open mind, focus on 'seeing' ur newborn which is more impt!

Hi mummies, i spoke to the supplier for the supershield and pumpin pal, and she said the consolidated orders are not enough for her to give any discount. Hence i think we shall place our orders individually.

I have decided to get the SS and PP since i m using a double pump. However i did mention to her that some of you who did not want the PP is because you are using single pumps. She mentioned that she will check and update us whether it is suitable for use with single pump.

There is an additional charge for postage or you can opt for self-collection.

My MIL is now teaching my SIL how to cook in my kitchen... sobs

They think my house is their playground bah...

havn't done anything today cos my MIL has parked herself here in my kitchen since noon

Hope everyone having a nice weekend, not like me :-(

Erika,

You only need a sterilizer tablets if you are using water to sterilize your bottles. If you are using a steam sterilizer or microwaveable one you don't need the tablets. The heat from the steam will kill off any germs from the bottles. I find that Steaming is far better for sterilizing. I previously used the water and tablet method and I had to ensure that all the bottles and accessories were completely immersed in the water otherwise it would be 'contaminated'. And you have to wash all the items before you sterilizes. I hope this answers your question.

JL Sales,
How do you get the 30% vouchers? Do you have to spend over a certain amount?

Cassie,

What is your MIL cooking???? Don't stress, they must want to cook you a good meal!! However, I hope its worth it having taken soo long!! Is it for a special occasion????

S@L:

Thanks. but think it's ok. Prob get through other BP. Can I check how much I need to transfer to you for the 3 desitin cream.

Cassie,

Yah agree the sale is too gd to be missed. But I guess without seeing what there are, hard to tell what to buy. Maybe i will just get my sis to get the braun ear thermometer for me.

yami: I have shortlisted YLS.. keke.. read a lot of good reviews on sporemotherhood.

k@ye: your bb is big... how i hope my bb can be as big. mine at 36 wks is 2.7kg.. i hope her weight will be at least 3.2kg when she pops!

did not know that Jl having sale.. today i very ulong.. went to taka sale and chose a lot of things then who knows!!! i did not bring my taka credit card!!! ARGH!! so angry with myself.... now feel a bit unbalanced... haha.