(2007/11) November MTBs

MORNING MUMMIES!!!

erika: for sure must wash hair one lah.. haha.. the V area itchy ha.. i tot i am the only one.. mine too!!! aiyo.. itchy like dunno what.... then i end up have to go toilet to wash and make sure it is clean clean and keep changing panty liner

plim: my MIL also don't allow me to wash hair... but she only will be coming over to my house in the morning so i intend to wash my hair in the afternoon after she leave.. keke... my CL already asked me to buy 30 packs of the da feng cao lor.. but of cos i hide them in a box now.. haha.. in case my MIL sees it. i doubt i can take it. keke.

glutinous rice wine hor.. my CL ask me to prepare 10 bottles leh.. I go WHAT!!!! MIL hv asked someone to prepare but dunno how many bottles leh.. but nonetheless i also ordered 8 bottles from another source of mine. keke.

catherine: i went to victoria st market to buy the confinement stuff leh. my sister and the aunties there ask me to buy 3KG of red dates ah!
dunno.. i was like ???.. then hubby say never mind just buy.. if too much use for cooking.. haha...

morning mandy & other Nov mummies!

my CL also told me the 1 kg of red dates & 1 kg of black dates is not enuff coz we gotta drink freshly-boiled red dates water everyday. cannot drink plain water.

Morn ladies!

My Mum came back from Msia yesterday... She bought 6 kgs of ginger back for my confinement. And she bought 2 types of ginger back. One is hotter than the other. Her advisors told her that the hotter type of ginger can use for menstrual cramps also!

Talking abt glutinous rice wine, the advisors said can use Ginger wine as a subsitute to cook. My CL told me to get 2 bottles only. She says it all depends on whether ur body can take it or not.

Mandy, i heard that the way red dates are being used for confinement is like nobody's biz like that. So, mabbe ur 3 kg is not even enough... coz we re not supposed to drink plain water during our confinement but red date water!

Mummies, I jus sent in orders for the #1 spree. Actually i can tabulate for Spree #2 already.

Plim, and the rest of the mummies who PM/emailed me do u want me to proceed with the items? Will send close the #2 spree once hit USD200 again. Once Drugstore send out my 1st orders i will proceed with the 2nd orders.

For those who have paid me, Will update by afternooon aft i checked my statement.

Re: Dry shampoo,
I personally had a bad experience with tt. I bought the powder type from pharmacy. when used on my hair, it became so dry and the white powder made me looked like with grey hair. Haha..in the end cannot tahan went to wash hair suring confinement. I used the herbal bath to rinse and so far its ok. I think for our kind of weather cannot afford not to wash hair.

k@ye: yah lor.. my sister also say 3kg may barely make it.. i just buy 3kg.. if not enof then deploy my hb to buy from neigbourhood chinese halls liao lor. haha...

for ginger, my MIL say she will help me settle as need to sun them (dunno why) she also say if i really want to bathe she will prepare lemon grass for me. dunno also.. haha... anyway i leave it to her to prepare...
just hope she won't clash with my CL.. haha.

S@L, yes, please go ahead with my items for spree#2... let me know how much and when i need to pay you...

re: dry shampoo
luckily i din buy the powder type, was contemplating between powder and spray kind... hehe...

re: glutinous rice wine
actually i dunno why they can use so many bottles in cooking... it doesn't taste nice... also, i'm always very concerned about taking 'wine' during confinement period as i'm worried that the wine content might be passed to bb when bfeeding leh... is it true?

plim,ok will get ur orders in and send u email. ACtually met u before..when stk comes u can pick up from my place

re: wine, u should try the Fuzhou rice wine. I bought from Cold storage and some other supermarkt have too. Although a bit exp but its very nice for making soups especially the Red residue rice wine soup, my Fav.

Its good to take some wine/ginger during confinement to warm ur body. I try to avoid taking before a feed. So usually will feed bb, pump out then have the soup. Actually aft boiling the soups, the alcohol content in the soup has evaporated, hence is quite safe to take. Its more of the ginger tt i m worried cos some say it will reduce BM supply and also cause jaundice, so early days aft giving birth i take a little bit then slowly increase the intake.

Ok mummies, here's update of those who have paid me. Tx

<table border=1><tr><td>Mummies</TD><TD>total</TD><TD>paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>Grace</TD><TD> $14.70 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yami</TD><TD> $14.70 </TD><TD>YES </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD> $53.55 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>SuperHapymum</TD><TD> $14.70 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juan</TD><TD> $14.70 </TD><TD>YES </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dokie</TD><TD> $82.30 </TD><TD>YES </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cactus </TD><TD> $26.20 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vivian</TD><TD> $14.70 </TD><TD>YES </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poissons</TD><TD> $47.00 </TD><TD>YES </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Ok mummies, here's update of those who have paid me. Tx

<table border=1><tr><td>Mummies</TD><TD>total</TD><TD>paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>Grace</TD><TD> $14.70 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yami</TD><TD> $14.70 </TD><TD>YES </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD> $53.55 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>SuperHapymum</TD><TD> $14.70 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juan</TD><TD> $14.70 </TD><TD>YES </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dokie</TD><TD> $82.30 </TD><TD>YES </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cactus </TD><TD> $26.20 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vivian</TD><TD> $14.70 </TD><TD>YES </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poissons</TD><TD> $47.00 </TD><TD>YES </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

sally, paiseh, I will pay by today. last nite rain heavily when i was abt to go home so didnt manage to pay at the atm machine at the building across. thanks again!

Hi gals, hope u all still rem me?

I have just given birth to a baby boy on the 3rd Oct at only gestation of 34weeks2days.. As my boy isa premature and merely 1.5kg at birth.. He is in KKH Special Care Nursery now..

Basically he is alrite.. Lungs, kidneys and all internal organs r fully developed except his weight.. He just need to put on more weight before he can discharge..

Guess I m the 1st one to deliver in Nov MTB?? Am I? Its been a long time since I last posted here.. Very long story as before I gave birth, I was warded cos of my little amt of waterbag and when I discharge reach home, my waterbag burst.. Guess my boy wana see the world faster..

What's the glutinous wine for? My CL does not ask me to prepare anything leh. I ask her, she says no need.

S@L,

Is the Fuzhou rice wine red in colour one? similar to the Hong Zhao chicken soup we eat outside?

hi s@l, yah i know u never chase for payment lah.. i ownself paiseh mah cos i say i go and pay yesterday... =)

hi alicia,
congrats!! i hope all is well..glad to hear that your baby boy is doing well. i am sure he will be able to go home soon once he hits the minimum weight that the hospital allows for discharge. in the meantime jia you... and when u have the time, do tell us your bith story. and YES! you are our very first NOV mummy =)

Harlo mummies,

I am a Nov mummy too but never participate in this thread..

S@L, may i know whether i can order the items from drugstore as well

congrats alicia
first Nov mummy to "pop"! we are so excited for u. really glad tat u & baby are both fine. do post ur birth story & pics of ur boy boy soon, ok? meanwhile pls take care & rest well

Gemini,no the rice wine is golden yellow in col (the pic i posted above) , but i cook with the Red residue so the soup is reddish like what we can find outside...but so far no other place sell nice Hongzhou chicken...still like to make my own. U can see my blog...hehehe....

http://sallyprecious.blogspot.com/2007/09/my-favourite-dish.html

Piggy, yes can still order..but will be batch #2. Join us la...i like to conduct sprees! haha... Aft we all deliver, we will do 'shopping sprees' for ourselves!

mummies, my hubby told me his colleague gave birth to a healthy boy boy last nite at 39weeks. wow i really feel v excited liao. must go pack my hospital bag tonite! must wash baby clothes this weekend! so many things not bought yet!!

take great care alicia! we're all anxiously waiting for the arrival of our bbies ehhe.

Do post pictures of your little boy!! hehhe we want to say hello to him!

and regarding dry shampoo i think it's not really useful, used it once and it's itchy. Maybe you all can buy and test it out now? hahaha...

but when i went for the prenatal class, the teacher said it's okay to shower daily and it is best to do so if we are breastfeeding. hehe...

me got bad water retention today..
when i wake up, my left hand is like very swollen..my fingers became so fat overnight..

dunno y like tat..*sob*

btw, was reading the earlier posts...
for those who felt itchy at the v-area and worry abt infection, etc..
i suggest not to use panty-liners..
i rem the last time i got yeast infection, the doc ask me to stop panty-liners for a while and wear cotton undies..

HI Alicia

Congrats on the birth of your baby and glad to know he is doing fine!

zzz, thanks, am not wearing panty liners, just cotton undies...problem is my gynae is out of town and I will only see her in 2 weeks plus time, so hopefully the itch will dissapate and is nothing serious. Mandy, like you, I also have to go wash whenever I feel itchy...but its not so often, maybe twice or three times in a day.

Hey gals,
just like to share with u that I bought a fast hair drying towel from the bulk purchase that is going on now. It claims to dry hair within 3 minutes. Am intending to use it during confinement. u may wanna try too?
Hair must wash lar, else will become very bad mood and anyhow scold people... scared later regret after scolding family memebers for nothg, ended up crying, then post natal blues.. even worst..

I also signed up for the standard hospital photo taking package for bb.$100. although it will be the little hands and feets pics only, but I have always wondered how myself looks like when I was born. so think I'll like to keep it as a memotoes for my bb, so he can compare with his own bb's 30 years later. heee

hi erika,

the doc also advised to "air" it if u can..
and ur undies shldnt be too tight...
i tink the thing is to allow fresh air to circulate, keep it clean 'n dry...u might wanna try out if its convenient at home..
also when u wash, juz wash with water not soap and dry it...and not too often...
hope it helps..

thank you zzz for the tips! i used those feminine wash with unscented pantyliners ley. okay maybe I try not to use pantyliners see how but it will feel weird I gues! hehe...

And yes erika, i usually wash when i feel itchy too.! haha usually morning and night when i bath. Ai. Hope it goes away soon!

HI zzz

Thanks for all the suggestions..will try it from today. I don't really wash with soap, more with Cetaphil. YOu may be right, my panties could be quite tight now....may need to go buy bigger sizes then..and expanding quite fast lately as into my 33rd week.

S@L,

have sent you email on the items i need, let me know ur bank acct for me to transfer k. thanks ya..

when i was at 2 months preg, i had the infection at V area also, and doctor asked me to iron every single cotton undies before i wear it. This is becos weather here very humid and by ironing, it will be ale to kill the germs better.
hope this helps

alicia: congrats! u are indeed the 1st Nov MTBs to pop.. post yr boy's photo when u are available. ;)
Nonetheless, take care and keep posting here.. ;)

erika: i cannot don't wear pantyliners leh.. the discharge will be so much that i will feel itchy.. unless i change panties every few hrs.. keke.. sometimes i try to go bottomless at home.. to air it.. haha

Dokie, not sure...but i dun think bb slowing down..i eating alot nowadays... more stretch marks now and the itchyness is prob due to tt...or i suspect the weather played a part too

dokie/s@l, my tummy is itchy too.. after all the hard work of putting on stretch mark cream/oil twice a day, i still can see stretch mark.. so sianz. from what i understand its itchy means the skin is stretching so put on more CREAM... sigh sigh..

s@l, wont be taking the baby rock slings, got some stuff from mothercare that i dont really like from mil heheh then i take and change it to the baby bjorn air carrier already. mil also bought me a mim sling too..which i think will sit in the cupboard...

Grace, ya itchy means its stretched already
...hmmm.

Wah ur mIl bought things for u from MC? I used MIM before....its really a chore. Hence want to get the Babyrock sling cos heard a lot of good comments esp since it is mesh instead of the fabric, good for our weather.

baby Bjorn and the sling is different usage.

wow, 2 days MIA and this thread has moved super fast!

alicia,
congrats to you & ur little prince! do rest well and share wif us ur labour experience and how u're coping with mommy-hood now

RE: Dry Shampoo (Spray type)
Any1 can let me know where to buy the spray type, roughly how much and brand name, if available.

RE: discharge
I thk recently the quantity has increased... need to change 2 panty liners during the day! not sure if it's some kind of sign... a bit worried. nite time still ok but i still have to use liner, can't go panty-less like Mandy, scared will stain the sofa! hahahaa...

Kitty, dun worry about going panty-less and staining the sofa!

In fact, due to the weather here.. My discharge is getting from bad to worse.. So at nite, i go bra less & panty less.. When u go panty less, there is no discharge at all... Dunno is it becoz of well ventiliation!

S@L, yah she buy things from MC.. i also fainted cos she buy so many..i look at the price i also faint. she also likes to buy things one.. so i let her buy loh. ask her dont buy, she will still buy.. so its like that loh.. of cos sometimes the things abit off standard lah but cannot complain.

yah i know baby bjorn and sling different. but since i have both now, i just leave it first lah..

kaye, dont wear will feel very funny one lei for the below. braless is still ok but i cannot do pantyless. too airy then dont know how to sleep heheh

kittybride,
the spray type shampoo i got it from Guardian, don't remember the name though, but if u check with the people there, they shld be able to tell u... it's supposed to be some herbal ingredients in there... costs ard SGD14.60.

S@L, yes, i met you before, bought the littlepods sling thru your BP also... let me know how much and when to pay you...

re: discharge
same here leh, discharge seems to be quite a lot sometimes, definitely will 'wet' the pants or panty if dun wear panty-liner...

re: sleeping at night
do you ladies find it more and more difficult to sleep at night? especially when you need to toss from your right to your left (or vice versa)? i juz find it very uncomfy just turning from side to side... sigh... affecting my sleep at night

Piggy, sent u an email

Grace, ur MIL so nice...still bother to buy stuff for u. Hiaz..my MIL....sad case

Plim, no hurry, wait for the #2 spree to hit first then i collect the $$$