(2007/11) November MTBs

grace, MissA,
same here.. on the contrary, she used to let us brush her teeth after her own attempt but after watching Elmo's world on "How do you brush your teeth" its gone case liao.. she simply refuse to let us brush for her - cos she thinks she can do it on her own like the big boys and gals. Pengz!

Think i will also hv to teach her gargling too.. Dreamer's K is already doing that now.

Weishy,
we always brush togther, but the problem is, she wants to do it herself! Think i need to think of a new trick.. sing song no use now.. she simply wont open her mouth!

lazykat, luckily after finishing the toothpaste, she'll say "mama,help" so I get to brush for her but also not very clean cos she doesn't open her mouth wide enough.

missA:gargle ~ya we did le.....pui pui pui many times some more heheheh afterwards drink water :p

lazykat:usually after she brush we will use those finger brush to brush again wakakkakak kiasu :p

dun open mouth:sometimes we force n hold her mouth lor...no choice

every morning when hanns saw us brushing teeth, he will want to brush with us, we let him, even though he is not brushing properly, just wanted to cultivate the habit of brushing teeth and yes, he refused to let us brush his teeth too. so i can only brush along with him and demonstrate it to him and let him follow, even when i shower him, he also want to wash his hair and rinse himself, even want me to wash my hair along with him, pengz....today my sis wanted to help him cut his nails, he refused and come to me and said: mummy cut fingernails, everyone thought he want me to cut for him instead but actually he pull me to my sister and left me there to my sister and ran off, see, my son so nice to me, ask my sis to cut my nails instead of his... sigh.... food that he dun like, also veyr nice to me: mummy eat.... sigh...

i dun dare to use any toothpaste for him, kinda of worry he will just swallow everything in.

today his school teacher told me that hanns can gargle well now and i also told her that he is spitting and playing with his saliva now, guess he is practising lor, have to bear with this phrase cos worry if i stop him, might kill his interest in doing proper gargling. sigh.....

his dad was quite upset with him today cos hanns dun listen to instruction and we are kind of worry that it might leads to problem, very difficult to teach him anything cos he dun follow, listen or simply dun understand our instruction ( kind of worry on this point) so easily distracted, when i said: look at mummy, he did not look at me but just simply parrot after me, and repeat look at mummy... or when i asked him, the motorbike is bigger or the car is bigger, he also just repeat my sentence... is that normal ??? i tried not to compare but simply no idea whether he is normal for his age to behave like this, he seems to be okay for speech but understanding instruction quite poor, just repeat my instruction rather than giving me answers lor, are your kids his age like this too???

HAppy, totally normal for Hanns to behave in this way!

Claire also like that one... As she is attending a buddhist childcare centre now. Sometimes, i give her lecture or scold her, she will say, "Mama, ambitaha" Piang! Its as if telling me, i know n u dun hv to be too angry abt it!

Brushing teeth: I think using the first teeth toothpaste really helps cos its safe to swallow. But that said, E likes to watch us gargling and washing our mouths after meals so I let him practice and he is very good at it now. For brushing teeth, he will let us brush first then its his turn to have a go. haha. Can try to negotiate with them.

Happy: Sometimes, they just don't feel like answering cos perhaps they feel that its a silly question or is something they already know. E will even create another question for me or answer with some absurd answer. So we just have to move on and try to ask some more challenging questions. But of course, if its too difficult, they give up quite easily too, that's why we need to explain the answer.

Now I'm trying to teach E how to dress himself. But its rather challenging cos he would rather not wear anything if he had the choice. haha.

Michviv,
E is so cute, didn't know he likes to go nude

Brushing teeth:
G loves to brush teeth, twice a day, once during the morning bath and once at night after he finishes his bedtime milk. Usually I will help him brush, he doesn't know how to gargle yet, so most of the time he will juz suck and swallow the toothpaste (Oralgel,so it's safe)..yucks. When I finish, he will ask for the toothbrush to brush himself and that's where I will teach him to brush up and down, left and right, some simple instructions which he will understand. So far so good. There were times where he refused to brush, I will scare him and said that if he doesn't brush, monster will come and attack his teeth at night and he will have no teeth to eat his favourite food and he will kwai kwai sit there and let me brush him.

Dressing up:
G now chooses what he wants to wear. When I told him to wear brief, he said he wants diaper, when I asked him to wear diaper, he wants to wear brief. Sigh..he knows how to remove his pants and brief/diaper, but not the tops yet. Sometimes he can wear his own pants, but there was once he put his 2 legs into the same hole and was so proud of it and asked me to clap hands. hahaha..this boy ah..

haha... kaye, so funny lah u...

catcusnah: take good care of urself n ur mum. Sorry to hear about the loss.

Jave is acting up a bit these days. Gotta be mummy say then he will listen more... think he's feeling the impacts of baby bro.. A lot more to come i guess!

J also dun allow me to help him with toothbrushing, but he seems to be doing a better job at brushing these days and he's gargling and spitting very well.. too well, in fact. Ha...

Happy: chn this age tend to repeat after adults. If u really require him to listen to u, get eye contact first before u speak. It should work. Chn are chn and they tend to behave this way at this age.

need help on the contact of one chinese sensei in Jurong area that treats children's cough, etc.
chloe's been down with bad cough/phlegm and fever for the past few nites and these past 3 days/nites she coughed till the face turned red!

and worst is she dun know how to spit out the phlegm - told her to pui pui pui oredi yet she will scream n cry and swallow it back. sigh...

i remember the clinci si called san tong or san dong...

kitty,
Shan Dong TCM
blk 134 #04-309F Jurong East st 13
tel: 65646335
tues-fri : 1pm-8.30pm
sat: 9am-5pm
close on sun,mon and ph

I know i am kiasu, but anyone knows any good confinement lady who is super pro-breasfeeding??
I must succeed this time!!!

Ladies, something funny to share...

The cc teacher told my Mum that Claire is extremely notti and tt she is a ringleader for acts of mischief.... she even has 2 followers!! Faints!

kittybride:it bb/children massage ( chinese physician) n after massage they give medication or herbal patches ( those patches works really well lor,esp if bb hv wind...hayley also use it at times when she's bloated......dunno why she gets a lot of wind

jadefeet:eek:ki la i aslo ask around liao :p

K@Ye;wow "da jie da" ar she hehehheheh so funny :p.which cc is she at har????around bedok right???think ia sked b4....too far liao
...when u send n pick claire can bring hayley along wakakkakak

kittybride, missA,

i stay in jurong, dun even know there is a TCM for children cough, is it good? kokomi is 6 mth now, has been coughing with lots of phelgm, occassionally running nose for 2 months, yes, 2 mths, seen 3 doctors, x-ray done, nothing, no fever, lung clear, drank bottles of medicine, still the same so PD also said maybe it is allegy that causes nose sensitive and that's why running nose at times and causes phelgm that leads to coughing, if no fever and medicine also dun help then leave it, that's what i do now, leave it but really too long and though the doctors said clear lung, still active, still gaining weight, shd not be problem but i still have this worry that dunno when the phelgm will go into the lung leh and really puzzled why dun stop or even show signs of improvement leh :-( worse thing is she got no chance of recovery too, got infected by one family member after another too, every month sure got someone in my family down with flu etc.. hanns just came up with fever tonight, wonder tmr can go school or not, his school got 1 case of influenza sigh.... really endless issues with kids....

k@ye: I really can't believe that Claire can be a CC gangleader. hahaha.

Poissons: No la, but he does not mind just wearing diapers and running around pantless. haha. Good job in teaching him to wear pants. How is he adapting to St James?

Assertiveness: This past week, E has started crying (alot!) to get his way. Only mummy can bathe, daddy cannot. He usually has a hearty appetite and now he can't finish his food. Aiyo...very drama. Hubby and I are wondering if he has picked this up from school. Hai...1 good thing about school though is the marked improvement in his Chinese. Hopefully this trend continues or else my boy will really become a "
angmoh" kid in the making.

happy: take care and make sure it doesnt lead to ear infection. Shannon also has allergy and has runny nose. Which could be inherited from my side of the family and made worse by the winter now and the bad air in Shanghai. She has just been diagnoised with a chronic ear infection. Started in Dec when she was down with flu (had bronchitis then). The antibiotics prob treated her partially and when her runny nose came back when we return to Shanghai, her ear infection prob recurred. Now I am doing all I can to help her ear recover. Put in humidifier, air filter, nasal spray her nose and sunction of mucus out. Have to change ur bedding more frequently. No furry soft toys or carpet etc. We have been to 2 ear specialists in SH this week, after I read on the net about the long terms effects of fluid in ears. One of her ears are not doing as well as the hearing is muffled by the fluid. Hopefully the fluid will drain out soon. When I saw the test results yesterday, I was so about to jump onto the 1st flight back to Singapore. But I guess after rationalising, even come back also no use, cos the fluid still need to take time to drain unless we do a procedure which is not recommended until the last step. Sigh... She's barely 6 months and already had issues of bronchitis, UTI and chronic ear infection. All the doctors told us cos she had these in the 1st year of her life, she is more susceptible to recurring episodes. This girl of mine gives me big time heart aches...

tinkabel -- so sim tia for shannon. u take care of yourself ya. hope she overcomes this ear infection and be healed completely. *hugs*

cactus -- hugs to u 2. pls take care.

weishy, ashm, kat -- great to hv met up the other day!!
)))

Michviv & Weishy, ya.. I also dun believe it myself.. I know she can be mischievous but to hv 2 followers? Unbelievable n she is like so quiet on the front... sometimes i m also stunned by her words.

Talking abt diapers, Claire is really testing us... She is potty trained but in the cc, she has to wear diapers... now she refused to tell us tt she needs to pee and we hv to be careful at home in case we stand on her puddle of water.

My Mum cant take it yesterday and whacked... So now, she has wised up!

Tinkabel, not only that u hv to avoid air con for her too... MAbbe u can brew winter melon water for her to drink, it helps to clear the muscus.

Try TCM, it definitely helps much more than western medicine. I also got a serious sinus problem, i went for TCM treatment n the sinus actually went away.

k@ye: Yah will prob try TCM for her but prob is, I dont trust TCM here in China. Will prob have to wait until the next trip back to Singapore end July.

Matt is likewise. I hate to say but he is still not potty trained. Worse, he denies when we ask him. Esp when he pooed. Asked if he chou chou. He always say no. Then we catch him and bring him go change, then he admits. Haiz, so hard to potty train him, esp in winter. Let's hope after winter, we can.

K@ye and Weishy,

Sorry to miss the lunch. Miserable me stuck here in office with auditor..
Hopefully I can join you all soon...
If there is any other gathering, I must try to make it. Cos hub has been posted overseas liao... I am moving along with E in end Mar...

JAdefeet, Weishy & I are meeting tomorrow for lunch at Maxwell leh!! U wanna join us tmr!!

Haha, both of us forgotten to pass each other stuff today! :p

Dreamer, ASHM, Weishy,
it was really a dinner for us.. see how ZY and me managed to finish all the food and in addition yr macaroni and carrot cake. We only grab dessert (strawberry puff fr beard papa) and i brought along some grapes and we are done! We shopped till 8pm, gosh i am so tired, cos no peak hour charge mah.. hee

K@ye,
how come CC makes her wear diaper if she is already toilet trained? I am waiting for ZY's turn to be trained in CC cos seems like most of her "frenz" there are also diaperless.

Mine is no ring leader but got potential to be disciplinary mistress cos go playground will instruct the kids not to do this, can't climb this.. etc... ha

Michviv,
ZY is also like this, so i am resigned to bathing her whilst daddy gets to watch TV even tho daddy wants to do it.. sigh. Now there's another battle, which is shoes cos she will insist which shoe she wanna wear even tho we think its a mismatch! So now i will go hide the other shoes to avoid the battle (luckily she din hv that many shoes!)

Oh, and I juz ordered a Sesame St new balance "track shoe" for her cos with Citibank card, its only $15.. but no Elmo left. I got her Abby the fairy one instead.. offer till end of Feb if anyone is interested.

Michviv,
G is adapting well, no more crying in the school van, only whines at time but the van auntie has a way to pacify him (phew!). School is ok, I find that he learns more things there as he will go home and "tell" us about it. Like last night, he suddenly blurted "Good Afternoon Teacher Choo Lin and Fei Ying Lao Shi" (his two class teachers), and then he also sang some parts of Grace which they have to do everyday before eating their afternoon snacks...so cute. Now his favourite words are "I DUNNO"...can be quite irritating at times.

Kat, Claire is potty trained n she is reluctant to sit on the cc's toilet. So the cc told me to let her wear the diaper first, till she is more adaptable.. then will train her... In fact, i was thinking to get them to toilet train her after the CNY hols!

Kat, what Citibank promotion for the new balance shoes?

Poissons: So your mom takes care of G in the morning then? Great to hear that he is adapting well. Think all our boys jus need a little time. =)I'm still in a fix whether to send E to kindergarten next year or stick with CC. It would be difficult to handle 2 at home leh.

lazykat: Oooh, I'm interested but are there any other designs besides Abby? E likes Abby but I keep telling him she's only for girls! haha.

Potty training: We tried going diaperless at home and E can be trained but he is so unhappy to sit down on the potty so for now, I want to spare him the tears and I'm too heavy to go cleaning up after him now. E even has the cheek to tell me: "Mummy, wear diaper is good! Going potty is no good!". *faints*

Weishy,
I think she is just imitating the adults lah.. so will say be careful, etc.. to all the other kids, regardless of their age. After our meet up, we went to Novena cos wanted to buy the shoes since J8 many OOS liao. Anyway Novena also OOS but at least they can measure her shoe size and order.

RE: New Balance infant shoes
Actually, i like their new range but this one at $15 too cheap not to grab 1.. ha

I dun hv the pics leh.. but if u happen to be near J8, Novena velocity or Tampines 1, can pop in to see. But not all on display cos apparently snapped up very fast. It's really like our track shoes w shoelaces type but u hv the Sesame St character pic on the side lor.. for gals, mainly Abby (white n purple) or Zoe (white n pink) and for boys there are Grover and Ernie that are on display @ Velocity. I quite like the Grover cos its black colour, in fact ZY tried that shoe and thot we r buying her that.. and i hv to keep telling her its Abby we are getting..

michviv:E is so funny!!!!!!

Hayley wears diapers now for night sleep .nap time sometimes she also dun pee.or morning at times we chk also no pee pee.....usually will ask her to pee b4 she sleeps.

but many many accidents even till now
.....sometimes she follows sometimes no loooo.

lazykat;oki le the designs.... can see la n its cheap
too bad me dun wanna get more for hayley cos she goes to school now n seldom go out......lucas ma...tks to ASHM hehehheheh i hv alot of pass downs

potty training: J is quite successful at potty training. He doesn't like his diapers at home anymore and will go to his potty, pull his pants down and sit on it, get the job done and put on his pants again. He takes it as a hobby... hahaha... if we offer to help, he will say, "Mummy, sit there and wait for me, ok?"
so funny....
I never really taught him or force him though... just let him go school, expose him, but i did tell the teachers to expose him to what toileting is. Then one day he just decided to do it.

But not at night, night time is still diapers, diapers and more diapers! haha...

My new helper's here and I think she's performing well for the 1st day.. at least her face is smiley, not like the black bao... so easier to accept bah..
Sigh... dunno how long it will take me to train her to be as helpful as my ex-helper...

Read thru the posts and realised Weishy yr no.3 is in the 'pipeline', wow! Congrats and take care!

Jadefeet: Congrats and dun worry too much.

tinkebel,

does your gal got fever or any symptons? mine so far only running nose on and off, phelgm cough leh, no fever at all. so i dunno if got ear infection or not, so far still active and smiley all the times, i also worry about bronchitis so went down to see 3 doctors but all 3 said clear lung so nothing i can do, today phelgm seems to be more and more, so took out clear phelgm medicine again to feed.

supposed to go for 6 mths vaccin but hanns down with viral fever so changed appt for her to tmr and was hoping that dr can check on her for her persistent phelgm cough again too. unlike hanns, she is more vunerable too, even when she cry, always those very very pitiful cries with lots of tears dropping. "lin dai yu" type. my sis so wicked, told me that she loves my gal crying cause very "kor lian" type and ppl love to sayang these type of bb... siao

happy: mine no fever. Only acute ear infections have fever, mine's already chronic (ie meaning symptoms are milder and thus, harder to detect). Running nose due to allergy may make the ears worse. I hope when winter is over, things will get better. Sigh...

So having thought all these, I decided to move Matt out of my room. I can't have Matt bringing back all these virus from school and spreading it to Shannon. With my hubby travelling 50% of the time, it was just easier for them both to sleep with me. And also, it's prob me, bu she de let Matt let on his own. Anyways, so I bought Matt this Thomas bed with a few pieces of matching furniture (like toy box/shelf, table/car and side table), he loves it, and he slept in it himself all night and was alright until 5 plus this morning and came to me. He usually dun like to cover blanket, but yesterday, he even agreed. Hope this will be like this today also.

happy, I've not tried the TMC at Jurong but Poissons has. I'm not sure if it is good. The one in Jurong is for adults too so not specialise in kids only.

weishy, I tried Yu Guo a few times, the yi shi also prescribe the patches but A's tummy still very big leh. We stopped going cos the q is long and the med last only 2 days and got to go back every 2 days.

lazykat, A has a pair of elmo but it is getting impossible to squeezse her broad feet in. The cutting is for kids with "slim" feet. I dun mind getting a bigger size abby but the location too far for me, if only they are avail at Raffles City:-(

potty training: A will do her biz in the potty only if she is diaperless & pantless. With traning pants she will forget to sit in the potty:-(

michviv, A still speak mandarin like an ang mo leh:-( one thing good is she can sing 2 songs in mandarin which she learnt fr cc:)

tinkabel, so envy that Matt will sleep on his own. My A just simply refused to sleep in her own bed. I even tried putting her in the bed after she fell sleep but she seem to know and woke up crying within half an hr.

Tinkabel, jiayou!! Thumbs up for Matt!

MissA, Claire also very sticky to me n must insist on having me besides her before she is willing to sleep!

tinkabel:got princess or dora ones???? heheh from taobao ma????will meet up with ur mil tml morning

missA:eek:rhhhhh normal days oki le the Q....depends...actua;;y afternn lesser ppl.usually they go morning.

MissA,
just nice ZY's feet r the long n narrow ones.. i hv collected mine fr Tampines but they call to inform me they hv left Zoe only for the shoe size i want.. so another white/pink shoes for ZY!

Now I am the jukebox for CNY songs.. sing until i sianz also. Serves me right for introducing her the CD/VCD!

lazykat, what size did you buy for ZY? My cousin managed to get a size 10 Abby for A, it was transferred from Tampines to velocity. I have not seen it so dunno will fit or not. She outgrew her size 8 Elmo in just 3 mths

Something wrong with SMH yesterday? I cldnt log in to the thead yesterday.

Lazykat: E also loves CNY songs and lion dance. My MIL bght him a set of 4pc VCD and he's been watching and practising at home all the time.

Tinkabel: Matt is doing well in the transition to his own room. He really adores Thomas. Keep it up!

Weishy: Hw are u doing? Besides Kat, i think u're the only mummy here experiencing the 3rd pregnancy. Hw izzit? Sama sama as the first 2? Gotta take care of H&L, so will be more tired. Take care huh.

Grace: Hw's yr check up? Is A getting a didi or mei mei?

Kat, its like that... I also regretted letting Claire watched Barney!

A qn to ask u ladies, how do differentiate between bronchoittis & serious cough? Claire's fever has gone n now she is hvg running nose... The thing that worries me most is her phelgmy cough, she can sleep/nap n then awoken up by her cough... I see her like that also heart pain....

Okie, the funny thing is last nite, she woke up & demand to take off her pampers... which i did... Then later on, i was awoken by her cough n guess what... She was bottomless!!! She took off her pants!!! Piang eh!!! I was so amused n worried abt the same time! Worried tt she will catch a chill coz her butt was cold to touch~

k@ye: check this out

http://www.askdrsears.com/html/8/T081001.asp

My Singapore PD always tell me if the kid's sleep is disturbed by the coughing, then we need to pay more attention. You might want to bring her to check, cos if bronchitis and dun treat, might develop into pneumonia which is then really bad. After Shannon's incident, now at the 1st instance she shows sign of unwell, I am not hesitating to bring her to the doc. Better safe then sorry.

Btw, Shannon did a follow up yesterday. Still fail hearing test cos of the fluid in the middle ear not cleared yet. My Singapore ear specialist says a lot of kids in western countries have chronic ear problems due to the cold weather. So he thinks bringing her back to Singapore and letting her recuperate and ears have chance to drain fluid and return to Shanghai is a good option. Else here, due to the cold weather, she constantly has a runny nose, which gives the ears no chance to clear. The weather was nice with temp in the teens for 3 days and Shannon's runny nose seems to have improved. Then today, temp dipped 10 degrees. Hopefully the runny nose dun come back. Damn sianz...

Cactus: Yes, Matt loves thomas to death. That's the only way to entice him to sleep on his own. I am glad he is transitioning so well into his own room and bed. He's been on his own since Sunday night and no issue till now. Although he does sometimes wake up in the middle of the night and wanders into our room, but that's fine. We just bring him back into his bed and leave when he falls asleep. It's my baby girl that is giving me a lot of heartache. Sigh...