(2007/11) November MTBs

anyone send their child to the childcare already? Did you stay through for the 1st day?

Reason asking cos I sent on monday with the intention for the full day, but after attending the half day, seeing some unpleasant scene and some unpleasant experience (ie seeing how the so called teacher treated the kids and toddlers), and of cos i din manage to take down the video. i was shocked and withdraw my gal immediately. angry, upset & disturbed for the past few days and the childcare demanded for the registration fee of $80 plus half day fee even tho I told them it is unreasonable.

just want to share my experience here not to scare mummies here. Cos not sending her and i become the nanny this week, superb tired and no time.. and my gal got fever on and off since tues night, not sure whether it is related or not.

Mambobb, if ur fren got promoted, i m happy for him. He s one of those few who got substance one.

Kitty, perhaps G has the reflex problem. If that's the case hor, either u mix his FM with Friso comfort if not, u got to put him sleep on the bouncer to prevent him from merlion. The condition will improve as he gets older. Dun worry, only sian part is kept on having to change clothes or wipe up the vomit.

Piggy ah, i wont suggest u put ur gal full day for the 1st day leh.

I will be sending Claire to the childcare in June but it will be half day for the 1st week and subsequently fully day in the next week.

Got a question for mummies. I trying for 3TH child. When i bath i massage my breast then some milky liquid came out does it mean im pregnant? or issit e residue leftover from last pregnant? which is 1.6yrs ago. menses still got one week more then due so is early.

K@ye, some Fren suggest what u suggested some says full day no prob la. But that's not the critical things, it's the behaviour of the teacher that put me off. I stay there for half a day only.

Dining + Play area:
Mummies, is there any place in town area whereby we can dine while let our kiddo play around? I have a fren bringing her girl turning 1yr soon.. and thinking we can dine in peace while let our girls roam around safely. Town area.. TIA

dreamer,
i thk i was still drinking FM when i was in P4 leh... and it was nespray if not wrong :p

saw kaira's self-feeding milk from a cup, she's such a clever gal!!! no spills at all!

poissons, we missed the robinsons sale

mambobb, so far I hv not dine in peace with A around
It will be like that till our toddlers are more independent. I am looking forward to the day, she can enter the ikea's play area while I shop/dine in peace there, haha.

mambobb: There is a japanese marche at the basement of Raffles City. They have a play area there but most of the time its overrun with older kids so may not be totally appropriate. Maybe lunchtime is better?

missA: Great to see you & Ash at Anchorpoint last week! =) nice picture of you and Ash in the magazine.

Grace: Let me know if JG allows you to do a trial class?

ASHM: What is the schedule like for a JG class?

Playdays update: Cat, Grace and myself went down for the trial last weekend. We are considering to start a class but need more numbers to do so. Here's my feedback (Cat, Grace) - do add on your comments as well:

1) Free play - I liked that we have moved to a new area in the front where the kids are exposed to higher order toys like home made playdough, the kitchen setup, trains + toys, sit and roll along toys. E was a little apprehensive at first but he totally enjoyed the playdough once he got in the groove.

2) Circle Time - I can see that there are some similarities to the previous circle time when they were infants, knocking on the box etc. and learning about new animals in Chinese.

3) Arts & Craft - There are 2 tasks and they are more challenging than before involving some dexterity in movement (eg: painting glue, sprinkling of sequins, pasting of paper & dishing out marbles from paintbowls and rolling them around in tray). I liked the fact that teachers encouraged tods to do the task themselves without parents help.

4) Snack time - They learn the chinese names of what they are eating and learn to clear the dishes.

5) Song time - Much more action movements incorporated into songs for kids to mimic (rather than parents carrying them around). haha. I liked the fact that some songs were similar to what we had sung previously except that they are in chinese!

Overall: I'm keen to start but all of us agree that if there are more babies in the class, it would be much more fun and enhance the social interactions. From E's point of view, I can see how he has benefitted from 1 lesson. He was super apprehensive at the start and at the end of the lesson, was happy and even able to say a few words in chinese.

One other clear benefit is the teacher ratio. We have 3 teachers assigned to the class. vs JG where I heard that there are 20 kids.

Becos Grace will be trying out JG. I'm thinking of having a trial at Bibinogs at Serene Centre on the 2nd of May (Saturday). Let me know if anyone else wants to join?

Trial fee - $48
Saturday 11.15am (1.5 hour class)
http://www.bibinogs.com/program.html#power

If we start the PDS class, we should do so after Vesak Day. =) If you're interested, please let us know.

michviv: thanks for the info.. heehee.. we will be going this sat for lunch. Hopefully have more room for our our kids.

For the trial, will give it a miss again.. sigh.. same reason.. too far for me..

michviv, ya it's nice bumping into you! I am keen in PDS & Bibinogs but timing not right for me. A has SM on sat mornings

Globetrotters:
Is this place still open at United Square? Went to their website and it stated they ceased operation from 19 Jan 09 leh..

michviv - Ash is now attending english playnest in JG - twice a week, 1.5hours each time. The teacher ratio for his class is 3 teachers assigned to the class of approx 15 toddlers. As for the bilingual class which you, Grace and I are put on the waiting list, it is a 2hours class.

The problem i have with PDS and Bibinogs is the timing of the class, it is Ash's morning nap time and thats why he is attending all the afternoon classes for now.....

I went to St James kindergarten last Fri and they have 115 toddlers on the waiting list for their pre-nursery classes which will begin in Jan 2010....

missA - paiseh sorry to miss you out - i asked the lady last week and she told me we would only know sometime in late May or by mid June..

ashm, i think i register for 2pm class but I can change it later right? cos A needs her power nap after SM and 2pm she shd still be zzz.

missA, ASHM: For the Playdays class, I'm also keen to change to the afternoon as E also takes his long nap in the mornings. So don't worry, timing is not a problem. I'm thinking of starting at 2.30pm or 3pm.

I've actually registered for the JG class but I'm willing to forgo the fees if we can get a class for PDS. E is familiar with the teachers there. Oh, Ashlyn, Jovan and E kept on wanting to walk back to their old classroom. So cute! haha. As for the JG class, I think they only contact you when your little one turns 18 months. They are very sticky about age.

JG class is 1hr of english and 1hr of chinese. PDS is 1.5 hours in chinese with some english interaction during free play.

michviv - let me speak to my hubby and will get back to you by this week...

kittybride - sorry i still have not email you the stuff, was busy with Ash since last Thu for his diarrhoea episode and only get back to work today... i will do it tomorrow if you dont mind...thanks!!

michviv,
yes i spoke with JG and I will be going for the trial class this sat at 2 - 4pm.
Will update on JG Bilingual playclub.
I confirmed with them and its a max of 20 students each class. currently, this sat is around 12 students. and they have 2 classes going on concurrently... So popular man.

as for PDS, i think its quite beneficial to A as we seldom speak mandarin at home. however A was not as guei as the boys lah...she was running around exploring the classroom since this one is new and has MUCH more toys. i do like the fact that the teacher ratio is better of cos.

As for the timing, i like the morning class of 10am or afternoon 2pm. reason being A has swimclass at 12.30pm at HV. so the timing is closer and i dont have to swing home in between.
Of cos, we go for majority lah.

Ladies: Greetings from Franz Josef @ NZ. Such a spoilspot, cos we kept asking along the way if I could join the 1/2 day glacier hiking trip since I am now 21 weeks pregnant and everyone at the travel desk said it was ok. Then finally, when I reach here, they say they are only willing to take up to 3 months. Sigh... So my hubby went for the hike alone and I just did a 30 min heli scenic flight. So I still have to wait about 3 hours plus for my hubby to come back. The town here is so small that I already checked out everything. So decided to stop at the internet.

Michviv: For playdays, when are you guys intending to start the lesson? How many times and any indication of the price? I have put Matt on the waitlist for Sparkletots at Telok Blangah. Weishy and I visited last week and they are full. Sigh... I prob need to plan out cos I dun want Matt to be too overwhelmed when we come back in July - ie change of environment and weather, going to school and then little baby sister coming.

Please go to this website to apply the free membership card.
U will not need to spend a specific amount to get the card as it is a promotion period.
It is under seoul garden, breeks cafe etc.
After 31 of May, if you want this card, u will have to spend $70.

www.zingrill.com.sg/preferredmembers

ASHM
no worries, take your time!
how's A? hope he's getting much better now.
*hugz* to him!!
and you take care too ya!

re: PDS
ohh... how i wish C can join PDS too!
she's getting nottier lately. likes to throw stuffs on the floor. even after i 'sang' the PDS song to keep the toys, she will look at me for awhile but then just bo chap and continue her next activity!! argh...

K@ye,
I can't rem which Robinsons but I think shld be the Centrepoint one for the crayons. As for the marker pens which comes with a colouring book, I bought fr Tangs during X'mas sale.. at $10 only.

Mambobb,
yup, Globetrotters has ceased operations recently.. i doubt there is any toddler friendly place cos u prob still hv to watch over them. Wouldnt it be easier to hv the toddler join u for lunch (offer them fruits) than to chase them around?

Michviv,
i am keen on Bibinog trial but $48 so ex ah.. maybe if we get more people, they can consider giving some discounts, ha. I am fine with that timing, cos ZY's nap is still 1:30 ~ 3:30pm

lazykat: actually its more for my fren' girl.. she still doesnt know how to walk yet so crawling area would be nice. My girl also wont sit still for long one.

So Globetrotters really ceased operations liao.. hmm.. then I would go for the Shoduko liao..

ASHM,
for st james, did you register for nursery instead? G is also in the waiting list for pre-nursey, think no hope liao..I hope he gets a seat in the nursery class instead.

Michviv, jeff is keen on bi trial. Could u keep me in the loop? Sms or pm me in case I lose track of thread Haha. Have u gone to the neurotree trial?

kittybride - Ash still poos like 2-3 times a day and he has mild fever last night 37.2degree, i was freaking out.. today no fever...hiaz, just dont know what's wrong with him. Check his hands and feet no spots,so scared its HFMD!! Fingers crossed!! What about you? Resting well and G feeding well? Your CL good?

poissons - i took the form and left, will put him on waitlist for the nursery class...the lady was telling me there are 70 toddlers confirmed for the pre-nursery class and 115 more on waiting list. She told me some of the mothers have already put their kiddos on waitlist once they are born!! OMG no wonder all these schools are always FULL! So i ask her if i should do the same when my #2 is out in Nov, guess what, she says why not!! This has made me really think that we should put our toddlers on waitilist list for the kindgarten and even primary one now...hahahaha

michviv - i am also keen in the neurotree trial.. which one are you going? HQ is the best?

lazykat - which branch is ZY attending?

ASHM,
Yah, that's what my sis did when she had my nephew, and he's confirmed a seat in the pre-N class in 2011! I think schools shouldn't be allowing this to happen, it's making the whole process of finding schools for our kids so difficult and competitive. I juz called up another school and it's FULL too..now I'm getting desperate where to put G next yr..sigh.

ASHM,
if its not watery poo, its ok with poo-ing 2-3 times. In fact, ZY poos average 2 times per day, tho sometimes may be 1 or 0 per day. At least he sounds like he is on the way to full recovery!

ZY is attending the one @ Toa Payoh, reason why i sign her up is she seldom has exposure to the little artwork @ home so thot it might be enriching for her. She still walks around but at least not destructing enuf to get sent out the room, phew. Our class is very small, only 2 at the moment!

Got free trials again - but gotta be mumscentre member. No harm and give the trials a trial, since its FOC.

Poissons,
agree with u too! Its like our chope table then buy food mentality.. but this time these parents kiasuism is really at the extreme (even before they r born?)!

poissons - this is exactly my sentiments!! I am also now worried where to put Ash next year...poor thing they have to go through such 'competition' at this young age.. What a shame man!! I told my husband if we cannot find a suitable pre-nursery school for Ash then we will him straight to nursery / kindergarten in year 2011, and meanwhile shall send him for enrichment classes / playgroups...

Lazykat - Thanks for the heads up - ok will monitor his poo and also to look into the mumcentre membership....

tinkabel: We are thinking of starting in May/Jun but its up to us to advise. If you're coming back to Singapore later, can always join us later during the term. Its $45 a lesson. So for a term of 8 or 9 weeks (depending on schedule), it would be S$360 or $405. There is a $100 refundable deposit and $40 registration (since its your first time) - Matt will get a T-shirt and art bag (to put his artwork). If we confirm that we are starting a class, I'll try to see if we can get 10% off. (like the last time). hehe.

lazykat: Ya, its quite ex. I'll try asking if we can get a discount but no promises.

Are you ok if we have the trial class this coming weekend or next weekend? (25 Apr or 2nd May) It would depend if they have space available.

Cindy: How abt you/Jeff? Is 25 Apr or 2nd May ok? Are you guys keen on PDS if we start after your confinement?

Cindy/ASHM: I've not gone for the Neurotree trial yet cos it consists of 3 consecutive weeks and Vesak day is on the 9th of May so will lugi if we go now. hehe. So I've postponed to the 16th of May. I'm going to the Dhoby Ghaut branch cos there is a promotion now $100 for 3 lessons. But I may cancel if we are going to start a PDS class.

lazykat: There are free trials? Where ah? At Toa Payoh only? Like that, I'm really going to cancel my trial at Dhoby Ghaut. =P

ASHM,
I send u the mumscentre email that i receive sometime back. No harm calling to the nearest centre or any centre u prefer.

Michviv,
i can fwd u the same email, but can PM yr email add? If u quote that, prob can go to other branches, but if u dun mind TP branch, I think u can just ask, they r quite flexible with the rules.. ha.

Hallo ladies!

Back in office, took half day leave in the morning to send my Sis off at the airport!

My new blog address: mdmewong.blogspot.com. Decided to combine 2 blogs into one, keeping 2 very siong.

Kat, thanks for the info on crayola. I will check it out.

ASHM, just take it that its a growing up sickness. That's what the elders told me.

Also, the weather these days is getting hotter & humid. Pls pls let our little ones drink more water, give some herbal tea to help cool them down.

ZY started to spit out food a few days back, its so exasperating!! And meltdown is also more common, esp comes bathing time. So i hv to entice her to "waterplay" instead of delcaring its bathtime nowadays.. gosh, I wonder waz next?

lazykat,
my G now will boo us (with saliva) when we scold him..aiyo..so naughty...dunno where he learn that from. His daddy is already complaining that he has not even turned 2 and he's already in the terrbile 2 stage liao. I feel so old, no energy to catch up with him!

I brought G to kindermusik trial yday. Ermm..not impressive with the class, prob cos' the class not suitable for his level (cos' it's from newborn to 18mths), it's slow and not as enjoying as PDS. The teacher sang with her soprano voice, gave me goosebumps! Anyway, going to give them 2nd chance, trying out the next level class and then give verdict.

Poissons,
speaking abt boo-ing, ZY will do that when we apply ruyi oil.. and the best part, she mimics me using towel to wipe her saliva thereafter.. so dunno to be angry or wat! haha.. Still trying my best to stay calm..

Michviv, Haha confinement has ended for me! Haha. Its been 3wks lo.. Haha. We didn't go trial with u cause we went for neurotree trial at jurong east. I like it but travis just cannot sit still on the table and chair. He walks ard in the small room, touch this and that. I wonder how the other tods can do it. They look really focussed and enjoying the lessons! After 1hr, he just couldn't take it anymore and wanted out of the room so he started crying n I had to take him out. So Lazykat, zy is very good le.... Sigh, my monster is atrocious. As for pds, we thought we wanted to try something new though we love pds. Those 2 dates are Okie, 18apr is the last day for our Lnt trial. I will ask jeff n get back to u.

Kaye, so all of claire's updates be at that new blog address? I will update later. Hope I remember.

lazykat: Sent you a PM liao.

lazykat/Poissons: Such behaviour is to be expected. I was reading that at this stage, our little ones are trying to enforce their independence and their opinions in what they want to do as part of self-expression. E used to be just like that and throw food around the house and be very difficult to feed. How me and hubby have overcome it is to give E a choice in what he eats and not force him. Give you an example of his fruits - we usually mix 2 types of fruits and used to force him to eat 1 type or make a deal with him to eat 1 of each type. But now, we ask him, what does he want to eat first and he tells us (eg: Strawberry or Grape) and there is no more fighting.

Same for food. If he does not want to eat, we don't force him. For bathtime, we give him a task to do, example to help bath his rubber ducky or bear and its so much easier to coax him to bathe. Of course, adding a little variety (like new toys or food) and asking him who he wants in the bath with him (eg: bear/duck/watering can etc.) helps. haha. Bottomline - you can overcome this phase and help your child manage their emotions better. =)

Cindy,
luckily the other parent is very understanding (cos she says her child takes almost a term to focus/sit still). In my fren's case, her child takes an immed interest and can sit still for the hr even tho she is only 1 mth older than ZY. So i guess, our todds are the more active ones, hence need more sessions for them to get use to. ZY's regime is quite active that is why I wanted some activity that she can learn to focus.

Last wk she wanna pretend she is teacher and keeps going to the teacher's corner, even touching the teacher's pen and point here n there. Luckily the Chinese teacher is super patient with her..

lazykat, got your email. The offer is valid for Toa Payoh only? We have not decided if to pull out of SM yet. So far only attended 3 lessons for term 2.