(2007/11) November MTBs

ueno. Thx. i heard ppl say those traditional method give baby e si sen brown rice with yang shen n ikan bilis can increase their apetite of eating. izit true? Can i knw what brand of plain baby cereal/ rice is best for them?

Hi Crystal, I use Heinz for the rice cereal (for babies from 4 months onwards). I also got the Heinz bottle (blue color for 4 to 6 months) - parsnip, carrot, pumpkin and mix it together with the rice cereal. Tried it today on my daughter, she seems to like it. Depending on your baby, I normally give 2 teaspoon of rice cereal & mix with her milk powder or like today, with 4 teaspoons of the Heinz bottle vegetables. Can mix a bit of warm water with it & I put the remaining in refrigerator.

hi kittybride,

ya lor broke liaoz oso...
i find the u-like blender quite good...
can use to make ice-blended also, and most imptly the container is separated from the blade so easier to wash...
they provide 2 big containers and 2 small containers unlike those big blenders which they use in coffeebean..

managed to find a pic from someone's blog..but not the full pic...my fren said it can use to make very smooth puree for bb, so i bought...hehe
1298832.jpg

Hi Lang lao, The jumperoo still available? And to think i had to fight the crowd ystdy... But at least i bought a few other stuff on discount as well if not, really not worth the squeeze.

I didn't get any thermos or blender which was my initial plan cos my mum and I were carrying the jumperoo and the rest of the stuff we bought. COuldn't handle anymore so had to stop looking.
Wasted... should have gotten my hubby along ;o)

I quite stress with starting my boy on semi-solids cos his reflux is super bad.. he's been on reflux medication since 2mths old and still is on medication. Think i have to start him a bit later like 6and a half or 7mths. But v excited about all the blending and the puree stuff.

Hi Crystal,

I wil be buying the Nestle Rice cereal and add a scoop add into the FM like 1-2 feed a day. Probably the last feed in the Nite and hope so my boy can sleep thru out as maybe he feels fuller. As I am using Avent bottle, will use the variable teat when feeding.

As for spoon feeding rice cereal/brown rice, i will do so probably when my boy is like 5-6 month old.

My fren went to eu yan sang to buy the brown rice powder. Tasted bit weird initially.. but her daughter got used to it eventually. understand that some additional 'good stuff' suitable for babies were being added when the store was blending the brown rice.

hi pig07,

i'm planning to start the same routine for my gal dis wkend since she jus turne 4mos ystdy. will add 1 scoop of rice cereal into her last nite feed and *pray hard* it will last her till mrng - so i can have a good nite's rest! hee hee...

my office cleaning auntie said beta to buy individual items from the medical hall (brown rice, yang sheng, and another item that helps make bb legs stronger but can't rem the name) and get them to grind till powder form. either start dis semi-solid for bb @ 6months old or add a scoop into their milk intake.

zzz,
the blender is small type, rt?
how much was it?

Hi Crystal,

I ever seen baby drinking brown rice from bottle. So i guess is all right. But the baby was 6 month old at that time. Not sure if brown rice hard to digest or not or heaty boh. Certainly rice cereal can be heaty if added to every feed.

Hi Kittybride,
Ya.. pray hard.. really hope dont have to wake up for nite feeds once the rice cereal being introduced. But ah,what happened to my nephew was once they tasted FM with rice cereal, they refuse to drink the next time when no rice cereal being added. And if every feed to add rice cereal, kena constipation also headache.

hi pig07,

really ah?
my gal very choosy n drink lesser n lesser lately, the most like 100ml only and the rest she will refuse to drink liao...

she oredi constipation prob; last sun poo a lot then nothing until early dis morning! 5 DAYS no output leh, even the nanny oso can't make her poo poo... sigh... lucky dis mrng i very patient kept 'ngg ngg...' wif her till she finally poot!

last nite saw how my nanny feed my gal n burp her, wah liao... feel heartpain; she so rough pat so hard on my gal's back until my gal like kena abuse like dat... i usually just lightly stroke upwards but she like 'beat' downwards... super sianz!

hehe..i also bought the u-like blender.
found it amazing when see the sales lady doing the live demo.

suzanne,
isetan got free delivery for $200 and above purchases mah, you can arrange the delivery, then if got more shopping bags, juz add on...I did that yday.

hi Kittybride.

Y don u bring ur gal go c doctor n have e constipation medicine. It's not very gd to constipated too long.

N u should voice out ur opinion 2 ur nanny if u feel heart pain! If were mi, i oso sure v sim tia wan. Ask her to pat not hard la.. Haax!

hi kittybride,

ya the blender is small type and the container are like drinking glasses, can stand and keep food in there and store in fridge since the blade is separate, they provide u the cover too...
i got it at $69.90 less 10%, and it comes with the soy milk maker too...
i saw the demo, they can blend beans into powder in i tink abt 1 min or lesser..
but i haben try yet lah so dunno how good also..hehe

hi suzzanne
i'll prob go isetan tonight or tmr to get the jumperoo. with the rave abt the U-like blender, i'll prob get one too

Hi poissons,haiz... i should have read S@L and your earlier posts on the delivery on monday and the free delivery for purchase above $200... my mum and I lugged the hugh box from level 4 to level 1 then to the carpark think we looked quite cltuzy...

Could have gotten the blender and the thermal cooker as well. Now i shall have to wait for somekind of promotion.

Anybody got any experience with those handheld blender? Was thinking of getting that type initially.

Hi Kittybride,

Ya.. my nephew constipated.. and we had to use the anema to pump his backside.. even when before 1 yr old.

What FM is she on? could it be the reason that is causing the constipation. I have recently switched my boy to full FM.. so far his poo is still. But today as of now, still no poo.. cross my finger..

Ya, voice out to your nanny. If you feel bad, then just casually mention to her in a joking tone that aiyo, so hard.. the daddy see liao sure heartache.

Updating baby Xuan weight
1)plumsource- baby Luis - 6.55kg on BM (4mths)
2) grace - baby Ash - 7.2 kg on BM(4 mth 5 days)
3) rast- baby Jadon-5.6kg on FM (12wks 3days)
4) Jules - baby Natalie - 6.9 on FM (4 mths 1 wk)
5) Kaye - baby Claire - 6.58kg on FM (4mth 1 week)
6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)
7) Poissons - baby Garreth - 8.04kg (3mth 4 days)
8) baby40 - baby Nicole : 5.1kg on BM (11weeks)
9) michviv - baby Ethan: 8.85kg on BM (3 months 3 wks)
10) Plim - baby Bevis - 5.2kg on BM (11weeks)
11) Tinkabel - baby matthias - 6.385kg on BM (3 mths and 3 weeks)
12) S@L - baby Mischa - 7.6kg on BM (3mth 3wks)
13) Yami - baby Kaelyn - 6.6kg on FM (3mths)
14) Superhappymum - baby YongWei - 6.9kg on BM & FM (3 months )
15) Beloved_daughter-baby Matthias - 6.5kg on FM & BM (3months 1wks)
16) Skyeskye - baby Eliza - 6.8kg on BM (3mths)
17) Catherine - baby Jovan - 6.7kg on BM (mostly) & FM (bedtime) (2mths 2wks 4days)
18) Cindy - baby travis - 6.8kg on FM and BM (4months)
19) fanny - baby cayenne - 5.9kg on FM (12 wks 2 days)
20) Jadefeet - baby Ethan =- 7 kg on FM (10 wks 4 days)
21) Sowie - baby Jaeanne - 7.85kg on BM (3mths)
22) Joey - baby Javier - 6kg on BM (11weeks)
23) Adelinechew - baby Amber - 7.8kg on FM ( 4mths )
24) yoko - baby Jordan - 6.78kg on FM (3mths and 2 days)
25) winwin - baby carrie - 5.6kg o FM (3 months)
26) efynn - baby xuan - 8.06kg on BM & FM (4 mth 1 week)
27) nov1mom - baby tailoong - 6.35 kg on BM & FM (3mths)
28) gemini19 - baby ying ching - 6.9 kg on FM (3 mths)
29) fushiastar - baby Luke - 6.1 kg on BM (10wks)
30) dokiesim - baby brayden - 7 kg on BM (3 mths)
31) Queenaire - baby Darius - 7.1kg on FM (3 mths + 1 week)
32) Twiggy - baby Joseph - 7kg on FM (3mths)
33) langlao3 - baby Ashlee - 6.9kg on FM (3 mths 2 wks)
34) Gloomybear - baby Arielle - 5.2kg on BM (3 mths 5 days
35) annietoh1981 - baby Leroy - 9kg 65cm on FM & BM (3 mths 2wks)

long time did not post. My baby was sick with cough and running nose for the past one mth, now she is ok.

was worried for her, as she took so long to recover..

dear girls, ehe

how many days without poo then is considered constipation?

tinkabel:: no problem, just let me know if you want the contact later on.

Hi, Cindy, my pd says 4 days without poo is still not constipation unless his/ her stomach is bloated and when u lightly tap on it, u hear the airy sound.

As for the rice cereal, I wanted to start him on semi solids from 4 months. But my PD asks me why... she says so long as baby's weight has doubled when he hits 4 months, no need to start solids so soon. Best to start 5mths + to 6 months.Tis is to prevent allergies..
Then they gave me 10 packs of nestle rice cereal. And 1 small tin of NAN 2.

Also, I brought baby for shaving hair... now he's bald and my heart so pain. nyway, have to console myself that it's gonna grow out soon.

finally bought the jumperoo & U-Like blender at Isetan this evening. Brought Ashlee along, & let her try the Bright Starts Around We Go! Activity Station & she happily play in it. HB wanted 2 buy it on impulse *faint*. I find its too ex so din allow him to buy.

my girl dun poop every day and sometimes poop on the 3rd day. I think she's constipated cos the poo is hard and sometimes i see she push til a little blood come out. so heartpain

Re:Constipation
When Claire was on soy milk formula, she had difficulty in passing out her motion. So, a TCM doctor told me to give her a bit of honey water. True enough, the honey water helps. I do know that when possible not to give honey to babies unless they are 1 yr old due to dunno what in the honey...

But, i find that it helps. As long as its not excessive, i think its okay.

thank u gillian!

langlao, my boy also don't poo everyday but will on the 3rd day. but his poo and fart is superr smelly! -.-"""

Updating baby Xuan weight
3) rast- baby Jadon-5.6kg on FM (12wks 3days)
17) Catherine - baby Jovan - 6.7kg on BM (mostly) & FM (bedtime) (2mths 2wks 4days)
30) dokiesim - baby brayden - 7.5 kg on BM (4 mths 5days)

cindy, langlao3,my baby brayden only poos weekly for 2 consecutive week liao.But he farts alot during days with no poo. Super stinko! PD said ok. His explanation was growth spurt and they absorbed everything they drink.
My elder boy didnt poo for 10days after he turned 3 months old the last time.

zzz,kittybride, agreed that the U blender is good. I personally own one. U can use it to blend your brown rice when intro solid. wash your brown rice, sun it and then blend it using U blender. Thereafter store in the fridge. Is best don blend too much to prevent oxidation.

Tinkabel, very true of ang moh pd. They will say "let the body fight" rather than feed medicine straight away. :p

I believe in natural and chinese TCM too.
Jay, try TCM if the illness prolongs. Also don forget to eat well. NOt every BM is the same. There is such thing as good and bad quality BM.
If u are deficient in a nutrient, your baby woul d be too. It is only a cause for concern when it is the nutrients you are deficient and your baby needs it at this stage.

Poissons, can give me the TCM contact? I don have one that specialises in infant.

Anything to highlight is that if your can, try to let the baby have organic source of products such as cereal, juices , rice, fruits etc. It is really not so expensive. It makes alot of difference for their growing bodies.

hahaha langlao and dokie:: hahaha okokay! i was thinking if it might be the FM that caused that stinko poo and fart! hahaha!! but dokie you're on TBF so hahaha...

Hi Dokie!

Thanks for your advice. I eat very well everyday. I make sure i have fish, vege, etc n lots of soup too.

I hv symptoms of sore throat n cough now. Sigh. Dunno y. Hope it will go away.

Last night, my girl didnt sleep fm 6pm to 2am! I tried to put her to sleep. She wld sleep on my shoulder for abt 10min, suddenly woke up. So I tried nursing her then abt 15min later unlatched and smiled at me. Then I supplement with FM she drank a little and stopped. So left her in her cot to play but shortly after she cried.

Tried to carry her to sleep again, didnt work. She was crying hysterically. Then my hubby came bk and helped to carry then she quietened down but didnt sleep. 1h later, cried again. We jus kept repeating the steps but didnt work. As I wasn't feeling well, my hubby had to help 2 put her to sleep. She only slept at 215am. Woke up at 530 for feed but didnt go bk to sleep after tt.

Put her in her cot she cried again. Hubby carried her again and fm 615 to 715, she fell asleep on his shoulder but she woke up when he walked to e room!

Then at ard 8am she cried again so i nursed her. And she finally slept at 845am. So exhuasting! Dunno why she suddenly like tt.

As for her illness, her nose cleared but she still have a lotta phelgm stuck in her throat. Thinking of bringing her the the children's clinic at KKH later. Dunno whether will help.

Anyway, wat actvities do u mummies engage yr baby with while awake? Do u use flash cards and cloth story books? Do you guys know where to get them?

Ya, my son also farts very smelly farts and his poo is also super stinko... He used to poo less frequently, like once every 3 - 4 days, but now he's pooing almost on a daily basis, max, once in 2 days.
He's on Nan.

Got a question: does ur baby sleep through now?? mine still wakes up every 3 hours and sometimes, he doesnt wake up for feeds.. sometimes, its just he's fidgeting a lot.. I dunno how to make him sleep better and longer.. cos its taxing on me, who needs to work, study night class on 2 days and look after a baby.. any suggestions? Read Gina Ford, but i dun like it, cos I believe in nurturing theory.

Jay, it could be that she's not well or it's just one of those nights... hahaha.. my son did it once too, but I had my hubby, mum, dad, sis, bro and myself to take turns.. so, it's not as bad although all 6 ended up with panda eyes..

Activities: Swimming, Gym (next sat onwards), books.
I dun use flassh cards cos I dun believe in them. but there are successful cases. Depends on what ur objective is. U can get simple book for cloth books cos they are for introducing bb to books, so the story line is not as important. U can also get some board books at this stage for ur reading to baby.. these should ideally have a storyline. short, simple sentences, sometimes, a lot of repetition. When he's able to sit in the tub, i'll get some bath books... so he can play with them.
For books, I sunno where exactly to get, but what i do is i look out for good books. At this stage it's big words, manageable size so they can grab them and stricking colours.

Is the ISetan sale till tmr?? My hubby is only coming back tonight and he says we can go if it's still on tmr... so tempted to get the blender..

Jay:
Now that i go back to work, I act bought board books for my ILs to read to Matt. Also some toys for him. One of my books is called "where is bb's mummy?" Now I say tis to him, he always smile at me. My ILs also like to sing to him and bring him for walks in our condo dev (there are a lot of bbs going for "tanning" in the morning when the sun is out). Also signed up for a weekly playgrp for him (can do gym - now ok or music - 6 months onwards). Intend to bring him swimming once summer hits shanghai. Already bought him swimming trunks and bathrobe. So excited.

So Gilian & Tinkabel,

you bring yr baby to e condo swimming pool? is it warm enuf for baby? I know babies love swimming as it's a familiar and comfy environment for them, jus like the womb. =)

As for the board books, where did u buy them fm? Popular bkstore? As for the gym, which one r u going to? How much is it? =)

Gilian, the Tot Sales at Isetan is till 4th April. But I guess the stuff are while stocks last. =) So better go soon.

Jay, wear mask now to avoid passing virus to babe! Your mask must be changed constantly. Get from unity pharmacy. I think 10 for $3.05.
Take supplements to enrich your milk!

Dokie, im wearing mask now. sigh. What kinda supplements are you referring to?

My baby is knocked out now ever since she fell asleep at 845am. My hubby is also knocked out. He still have to finish an assignment by sunday as he's doing part time MBA and going for reservist for the next 2 wks...

I send my baby to the "tub" swimming... hahaha... cos he's still young and his immune system is still low so i send him to hwa xia.. there is another school called aqua ducks. u can try them too.

I buy books all over the place.. hahaha... seldom from popular though.. I buy from september21, borders mainly. also buy scholastic series cos I work in a childcare and they order so we can also order in bulk.

eric carle, leo lionni are good books... i gotta check my list of notes to see the more popular authors but think its not so impt.. just get suitabel books for babies.

I go to The Gym at Forum. I'm gg for trial on 22nd. 10 lessons cost about 440 - 450.. cant remember the exact no. each lesson is 45 mins long.

for babies learning, there is a site I read for the brain development of babies. It's a site that the teachers undergoing infant/ toddler education read. Its called zerotothree.com. u gers can read on brain development to decide what is neccessary for ur babies. For me, i think its better this way cos if not, we r reading a lot of marketing materials and not research materials. Hope it helps u to make better judgement of what's neccessary at various stages.

Thanks Gilian!

I'm a primary school tchr, now on 1 yr no pay leave. So not an expert at young age kinda education and development. Need to read up a lot more.

Thanks for the website! will explore! ;)

hi dreamer,
my bb reduced his milk intake at his 3mths and every feeds he only drink 60ml, so as advice by some of my friends, they ask me to add lesser milk powder into the water. last time i used to add 3 scoops of FM into 90ml water, but now i add 3 scoops of FM into 130ml water, so far i find it work, now he can finish all 130ml of FM, u may want to try it too. (Note: ur bb may get hungry easily cos the amount of FM added is lesser, for me i feed him every 3hourly in the morning and afternoon except evening and midnight feeds)
yesterday i brought my bb for his 4th months jab my PD asked me to start solid foods for my bb cos my bb dun like milk. my bb only drink 130ml and his weight for 4months 10days is only 5.95kg.

jay,
try not to feed ur bb too much FM cos that will cause more phelgm. last time my bb cough and got alot of phelgm i feeded him soya milk powder. but soya milk will cause constipation, if ur bb can take fully soya milk that will b better, cos the phelgm will gone faster, my bb cannot take whole day soya milk cos he got constipation problem so has to take soya milk and FM alternately in a day.

3) rast- baby Jadon-5.95kg on FM (4mths 10days)
30) dokiesim - baby brayden - 7.5 kg on BM (4 mths 5days)

these 2 days baby kaira feeding back to normal liao...and nothing changed....;p babies so funnie...su-ka su-ka change pattern...haizz stress the parents only.

now my other worry is her poo....not that she's not poo-ing, but rather like "lao-sai-ing" and increased in frequency versus when we were in hong kong. happened after we came back to sg...so thot she needs to get used to the water etc...but after 1 wk+ still the same....

now dunno what's the cause ...trying to determine...so going to change to distilled water from today and see how it goes...hope it becomes better. very sianzz having to clean up poo more than 1x a day...when the last 2 months its been only once a day...heehee. baddd mama....

gillian -- thanks for the website

No worries, i'm no pro too.. that's why also reading like crazy. I will just go tmr and see if I am lucky to get the blender.

Can someone update the list for me? My baby weighs 7.7kg at 4 months and 4 days.

Staying home with baby alone today.. hubby on plane now. Really hope it's 7pm now.
That's why i keep surfing the net..hee.

hi mummies, how many months bb starts crawling ar? my bb just flipped over 2 days ago and now she's "moving like a snake" all over my bed.

I went to Isetan Katong at Parkway today and I saw the Rainforest Jumperoo selling for $199. So its not just Isetan Scotts that has this offer. Better snap it up before they sell out. I didn't get it because I know baby will outgrow it soon, so I rather invest in another bulky item when the time comes.

gloomybear,
Babies start crawling at around 6-7mths, but it all depends on the individual. My second son started walking at 9mths and I've heard of babies who only start crawling at 9mths...so they're all different.