(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

oh dear.. soooo many kiddos not well? coughing/flu/bronchities/ls.. all i hate..

totoro.. u also down?? take care ya..

tiffy.. u too.. fell down? pls be more careful u got didi inside leh..

cm.. tink carlson is dehydrated le.. hope u alr on way back for doc to treat him.. keep us posted...

tiffy,
u be careful ley, u expecting wor.. dun exert to much force n strength.. rest well. hugs

lunch,
hey gals, how about tim sum for this friday lunch?? btw, what time you gals will be staying till???

Hello Mummies..

I am so tired and this week is closing too... Yawn Yawn.

Come in here to unwind for awhile.

Happififi,
Ya, I will also listen to A's chest by pressing my ears against her chest or back to hear if she is wheezing. Whenever I see sign that A is breathing harder than usual, I will listen to her chest. If its wheezing, there will be a mild nosy choky sound when she breathes. Also, when the wheezing is serious, she will not be active, then better bring to PD. I have a chamber at home that I will let her puff whenever her cough starts. Also, will give her Flumicil to dislodge her phelgm.

Re: Soup for coughing/Phelgm
Not sure if you have heard before. Recently I start to boil Crocodile + herbs soup for my kids to drink. This soup is good for cough & phelgm. Also to "bu" the lungs. The herbs include "nan" and "bei" xin (Almond) + Yuzhu + wolfberries + huaishan + dansheng. Thank God both my kids love the sweetness and drank it up!

Re: Lunch at Raffles City
Which Tim sum place are you thinking of? I am fine with any food. Will go with the majority. Usually, I should be able to stay till 2pm.

Tiffany,
Noticed that you mentioned your hb driving... Got a car already? also, will you be getting a maid since baby coming soon?

lunch,
i also dunno where is has got good tim sum in raffles city, it is just an idea from me..
i am not fussy with food n can settle for anything.. u gals decide n hope that table booking can be secure as it is during lunch hours..

When is the birthday bash? i lost track of time, sometime i dun even rememeber the day of the week.

Emilee is having nipple confusion, she refused to be breastfeed. Im trying to wean her off bottle by finger feed her. But just after one session of finger feeding, she went on milk strilke... refused to corporate even when i bottle feed her again. Usually she can finish her milk in 15mins but yesterday she took more than 1hr for all her feeds.

As she is pre-term, i need to monitor her wt closely, cannot affod that she lose wt or dun put on wt... whatmore, her mouth is so small basically she is small all over), she cant suckle well on my breast, she just treat my nipple like pacifer....

Just wondering should i exlusively pumping since its really huge effort for her to bf or even finger feed....

other than that, she is well.. she sleeps alot... I forgot how many time a day can a NB poo... the diapers r running out fast ... haha

Hapififi,

I think bronchitis is inflammation of airways so any virus or bacteria infection can cause it..depends on wat virus or infection u get.. Severe flu or mycloplasma are infectious. Think our kids get bronchitis cos their lungs/airways are more susceptible to irritants.. When our kid starts to have running nose or mild cough ... Start to treat it ...otherwise once prolong will often lead to bronchitis I feel. Ya, usu chesty cough and if you put your head on chest n listen can hear wheezing.

Happi Fifi,

Lookout for wheezing sound and if they r panting for air. If the heezing is real bad, u can start toe ventolin inhaler. Brig PD usually prescribe 4x a day and step down to 3time a day after 3 days... But there is once that he is so bas that he prescibed 4 horly too.

Try to step down on the inhaler befoe stopping.

How u managed to bf keagan? milee is just not keen...

Chris,

Think might be better to bottle feed her for the time being until she fatten up... My pd advised me not to direct feed my preterm older girl cos when bottle feeding, u know exactly how much she is taking.

Chris,

And direct feed is tough on preterm cos their mouths are so tiny and it takes more effort to suckle ... Think most of us will pump exclusively until at least the baby catch up weight as normal newborn.

Tiffany,
Ha Ha Ha Ha. My hb will never change mind so don't hope he want to own a CAR. We still rent car thru NTUC co-op lor. His philosophy is save more $$$$$ n having to feed 4mouth in a hse, he want to save even more. Till now he haven't touch on his saving which is gd lah. He v stingy on himself type.

Thanks mummies for your advices! Aidan is currently on 4-hourly ventolin puffer (even at night) & will go for review on thur. Hopefully will recover by then :)

Chris,
I pumped exclusively for Aidan as he never caught up with latching. Plus he was such a difficult drinker so I'd rather bottle feed so I would know how much he was taking. As for Keagan, he was tube-fed then bottle-fed in nicu for 2 wks. After which I also bottle-fed him in small amounts but more frequently. But i'd still latch him at least once a day so that he can get used to suckling. Like u said, preemies' mouth so tiny & it takes a lot of effort for them to suckle nipple (milk flow much slower compared to teats). When he's around 3 plus months old (and he managed to almost triple his birth weight), then I started latching directly. Now mainly latching :)

So I reckon it's a better option to pump exclusively for now. It's less stressful for u. Else u will be constantly worrying if she's drinking & gaining sufficient weight. Plus less likely to get engorgement if u pump regularly (since emilee might not be able to clear your blocked ducts unless u pump after latching - which means less rest time for u)

Mummies ... i bought the tickets liao and guess what ... our passport is with the INdo .... cos they extend the visa for us ... by right it should be FOC ok ... and they wanted undertable $$$ from hb if we want them back fast but we are not in a rush so hb dun want to give and all those are 1 mth ago liao ok ... till now we still dun get the passport back !!! &*)^$&$^#)(*#_ see la what F**K they .... i am really really in a totally non understandable stage as in why are those ppl FASTING ???? FOR F**K so now i am stuck here cannot go back wasted my ticket and all .... so so so pissssssssssssssedddddddddddddddd

they F**tIng ... and this is also the time they leave their employer ... and ask for more $$$$ and ??? i dun understand there are more interesting things that i cannot say here (*^#)*&$#!&#!(*%^(*&@$^%(*&(!_^$)^*

CM, OMG...how can they "detain" ur passports den expect u to give them $$$ in exchange? How is Carlson copin now? Able to control his condition thru meds? It's a child's life at stake here...how can they b so uncaring & tink of only $?

junnie,
may i know how it works for california calendula cream????

cm,
dun get so work up, our prorities is ourself, our children n family well beings..take care, hugs.

Maroku
There won't be any tickets at the counter as Its sold out.
Any takers for the tickets, please help to ask around as oi may not have time to log in.

Junnie
Yes, was down and went to the doc again today. Finally given something that clears all the gas inside my stomach! If not, I just feel lousy the whole day!

CM
Oh no, better get hold of your passports fast as you never know what will happen in a foreign country. Hope Calson is feeling better and you can't change the tickets?

Bronchitis
So many kiddos down with it! As mentioned, there are teo types and through blood test, the doc will be able to provide the appropriate medicine. I remembered one type need antibiodics while the other will just take days to recover. Speedy recovery to all.

Birthday Bash
Need to track back the previous posts again!! I also lost track Liao.

the passport thingy is 1 month liao ... so we are thinking maybe can use the normal passport to go back SG but check with them they say cannot ...

so far he is ok ... I think he is having gastic so he said stomch full ... ??? need to rest and need tummy oil ... just when to feel him his fever is back ... given medi ...

think we really got no choice now if he is still very sick i wil bring him to the doc here !!!???

maisymouse n happi fifi,

tks for te reply.ithink i better bottle feed her first then. Hoepfully i can latch her on at a later stage.

even when i bottle fed her, shr seldom drink at nite. wen i wake her up, she can only finish abt 35ml. hopefully her wt increases when we go for review next week.

She is in NICU for 1 week mainly cos she cannot suck effectively and need to betube fed.. After than she trnasferred to normal nursery as her wt droped below 2kg. She is discharged when her wt is 1980g.

morning mummies! hope everyone is doing fine & speedy recovery to kiddos who are unwell!

totoro, the one u confirmed thru FB on the baby disco is me, not twinkle stars. =)

btw, i dunno who's going for the baby disco, hope to see a handful of u all this Sat! =D
The timing crashes with my gal's nap time, bet she will be dead beat after the event. Was pondering whether to bring her stroller?!

Chris,
If not wrong, for premies, they need to be fed round the clock cos their intake is low ... So you need to give frequent feeds. You need to wake her up to drink even at night otherwise her weight won't increase much and there is a risk she might be having jaundice thus sleepy and lerthargic. Check with your doc... Even 35ml is gd as long as she drinks.

mroning mummies!!

totoro: thanks for organising baby disco! hope to have a blast this sat!

bbwow: thanks for the tips! ive sorta researched abit and all the attractions recommended are the same as urs hehe.
and dun worry too much abt J's height. i was avg height till i reached puberty at sec 2/3 then my height grew 10cm in 1 year!

Gd morning mummies...

chersam, me gg this sat.
see u there.

totoro, oh no more tix har? ok will ask ard if there r any takers. Btw, thanks for organising.

morning all

cm.. alamak..how come they tk so long to extend visa?? u monitor carlson if really still cant tk water & fever still hoovering, pls bring him to local doc, may b he needs some anti-biotic for the virus..

chris...i agreed w maisymouse/hapififi said, u pump out for emiliee since she still cant latch properly yet..try not to let her skip any feed if possible, drink little bit also good.. hope she'll put on more wt b4 next review...

maisymouse.. joey was also preterm? really cant tell with her height/wt now =)

chersam.. bb disco..hopefully tis is the latest attendance :

<font color="ff6000">28 Aug (Sat) - Between 2pm - 5pm</font>
<font color="ff6000">DXO, Marina ( Near the "Durian" )</font>
1. Totoro_bb - Adult -1pax, Kiddos -1pax
2. Jas ( fm FB) - cannot attend leg injured
----anyone interested to take over jas's tkt pls let totoro knw, thk q v much =)
3. ecookie - Adult 1 pax kid 1 pax
4. maruko - Adult (1pax), kiddos(1pax)
5. junnie - Adult 1 pax, kiddo 1 pax
6. chersam (fm FB)

Thanks Junnie for the updated attendance list!!! Now I know who's going. =D
So all are single parent with 1 kid, i thought i am again the odd one! hee! Do we meet up at the entrance 1st?

totoro.. managed to retrieve from archive your post 30.07.10 :

<font color="119911">========================</font>
<font color="119911">3 year old Birthday Bash</font>
<font color="119911">========================</font>

<font color="119911">18 Sept (Saturday)</font>
<font color="119911">venue/time : tbc</font>

1) Zhenzhen ?
2) Hippo ?
3) bbwow
4) totoro_bb
5) junnie (aft'work 1pm)
6) chersam
7) gingerleaf ( added since she accepted the FB invite hee)
8) chintz
9) jas

chintz, jas..i help u add hor =)

chris,maruko,jovial,ecookie,tiffy,eunice...u all indicated under 1st or 4th sept, so 18th can?? pls come arh =D esp maruko.. u come bb bash then go celebrate special day later ok *wink wink*? hahaha..

chersam.. ya ya.. better meet at entrance 1st.. if not i cant find u all later, i come straight fm work =D (i hope i can find tis DXO.. tink i 1st time go to 'durian')!!

junnie, u r not alone lor. Hahaha...I also 1st time go "durian" leh :p

========================
3 year old Birthday Bash
========================

18 Sept (Saturday)
venue/time : tbc

1) Zhenzhen ?
2) Hippo ?
3) bbwow
4) totoro_bb
5) junnie (aft'work 1pm)
6) chersam
8) chintz
9) jas
10) maruko

I accepted invite also leh. How com u no c leh? kekeke...

========================
3 year old Birthday Bash
========================

18 Sept (Saturday)
venue/time : tbc

1) Zhenzhen ?
2) Hippo ?
3) bbwow
4) totoro_bb
5) junnie (aft'work 1pm)
6) chersam
8) chintz
9) jas
10) maruko
11) ecookie

me too! i accepted!

chersam/junnie, hahaha...tink we dun hav 艺术细胞 to go durian appreciate the Arts they hav there. Build so long liao now den we go. Tink if not for the BB Disco, we won't even tink of gg also. :p

Chop chop before I disappear again..... on MC yestesday as stomach too much gas so seek another doc opinion and finally given the right medicine!!

28 Aug (Sat) - Between 2pm - 5pm ( Adult $26. Child $8)
DXO, Marina ( Near the "Durian" ) - when you cross the road from Marina Square, DXO is just at the left hand side of the Main entrance. There is a taxi drop-off point near there.

1. Totoro_bb - Adult -1pax, Kiddos -1pax
2. Jas ( fm FB) - cannot attend leg injured
----anyone interested to take over jas's tkt pls let totoro knw, thk q v much =)
3. ecookie - Adult 1 pax kid 1 pax
4. maruko - Adult 1pax, kiddos 1pax
5. junnie - Adult 1 pax, kiddo 1 pax
6. chersam - Adult 1 pax. kiddo 1 pax
7. Hippo - Adult 2 pax, kiddo 1 pax, baby 1pax

I still have 1 adult and 1 kiddo (Jas tickets) to let go, please sms or PM me.
It's full house so there won't be anymore tickets on sale at the entrance.
So far this is what I have gathered
- Finger Food buffet will be provided
- there will be a play area set up at the outdoor area
- a professional dance teacher will be there to teach some dancing steps
- balloon twisting for all kids
- Free flow of juices

Mummies who are going, can PM me your number again as I don't have the time to check yahoo list! I'll SMS you the details.

By the way, I'm not the organiser of the event. only the organiser for the OCT 2007 thread ha ha !!

maruko,chersam.. didnt knw i got 'partner'..hope we wont get lost there =D we meet abt 1.45pm can? i knock off at 1pm..

bb bash.. maruko,ecookie.. thks 4 keeping the ball rolling again =D who else coming?? pls add ur name fast fast =D

chersam - you can bring strollers as there will a place allocated for the stollers though there might be quite a number of them but if you are going to bring her alone home, I'll say just bring the stroller so that you don't have to carry her if she is too tired!! I think my girl will be like yours if she refused to nap before that which I know the chances is super super slim!!!

totoro, u got PM. Hahaha...u r the organiser for us oredi more den enuff liao. :p Thanks again!

junnie, sure...hope I wont get caught in any traffic jam.

Junnie
From the marina square - the long steps walk down. there is a traffic light and it will lead straight to the building. It's at the left of the Durian. Almost beside the hawker stall there!! The resturant besides DXO is a korean charcoal BBQ Resturant! Parking wise can either park in Durian or park at Marina Square.

mummies ... they want $$$ that's why hold the passport for so long ... but thanks god Carlso ngot no fever now ... at least the fever is gone ... hope he can eat something later
will cook soup for him

totoro.. thk q 4direction to dxo.. hv PM u my no. thks once again 4 booking the tkts 4 us =)

hippo.. so u &amp; adri coming tis saturday too.. yeah! =)

cm..u mean the embassy hold ur passport or local agt doing the visa extension for u all? thot $$ also paid once u apply for extension, wat $$ they want? unless u ask them to expedite to get pp back early then pay more $ is reasonable lah, if alr applied 1mth &amp; they still ask for $$ then not rite loh... glad carlson's fever is down, try gv him more fluid if can.. wat a week for u.. *hug*..

totoro, hope u r feeling better today!
ya, i doubt my gal will nap before the event, most likely will dong till the end. most probably i will lug my stroller along. Thanks for organising this event! muacks!

junnie, I shld be able to reach early, see u at 1.45pm. since u coming fm work, how u bring lance along? ur hb send lance to u? hee!

cherry.. u asking me abt calendula cream?? since i joined tis thread &amp; get to know of tis product..i used it as moisturiser for my face/body (i got eczema last time).. i used for my kids too esp when they hv rashes on back/neck/dry skin.. i used CB aloe vera cream too when we hv cuts/bites/redness.. so far so good. buy fm BP is cheaper, i PM u the link i sometime used to purchase fm.. u can read here for more dtls on the cream :
http://www.californiababy.com/calendula-cream-2-oz.html
http://www.californiababy.com/aloe-vera-cream-2-oz.html

chersam.. u r rite.. hb will send lance to me, send us there.. then he'll bring zann go class or jalan jalan, pick us aft the event b4 we go 'reporting' @ IL plc =D

re nap.. mine duno wat is call 'nap' esp when going out.. kekeke..

Thanks Mummies for the lovely wishes / blessing for Caelen.

He is well on Sunday's celebration and the weather was great ! We'd celebrated at his playgroup yesterday and the boy was so happy to see me there that he kept skipping around the class and even the teacher commented he looked so happy. After the class we'd brought him to Singapore Flyer which he kept looking at whenever we drove along ECP. Heng brought him a day before his 3rd birthday so he can board the flyer free of charge. Children 3 and above need to pay $20+ liao.

As for the little one inside, she is of a good 1.3kg at 28 weeks. Gynae remind me not to stroke my tummy too much as it apparently can stimulate uterus contraction. We want her to stay in until at least 35 weeks like Caelen (thou gynae keep saying 2nd birth have could be even earlier than 1st, thus minimum target is 1 more month when she'll be at least 2kg).

We'd decided on her name too. She shall be called Charlyn Jaime 林慜 (lin min). Same like Kor kor, CJ and both chinese name have 15 strokes and a heart (kor kor is 林聪).

========================
3 year old Birthday Bash
========================

18 Sept (Saturday)
venue/time : 11am to 3pm

1) Zhenzhen
2) Hippo
3) bbwow
4) totoro_bb
5) junnie (aft'work 1pm)
6) chersam
7) gingerleaf (base on facebook)
8) chintz
9) jas
10) maruko
11) ecookie
12) Jovialz
13) Eunice (base on facebook)
14) petite gal (base on facebook)
15) DooBom (base on facebook)
16)

jovial.. u must b happy too seeing caelen enjoyed his bd celebration so much! thks 4 telling us abt the flyer's fee for kiddo! charlyn is a nice name... u &amp; hb really 用心 to name both w same strokes &amp; a heart =) little CJ will b guai guai in mummy's tummy till full term..