(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

mummies...T got 2 more new insect bites on his leg yesterday. Juz now when I went to pick him up, his rite ankle was all swollen up. Sigh...I brought him to c doc again. Another dose of anti-biotics to b teken after finishin last wk's dosage. My poor baby

CM, dat time I didnt take the pic of his bites coz oredi healin so can't really see. I took it this time rd. U can take a look from my FB pics. I hope no other kids had the same condition as him coz it's really heart-aching.

Gd morning mummies...

CM, thanks...yup really hope the bites heal soon. His leg still look like "di ka" this morning.

chintz, *wave wave* U R MISSED!!! :p

Chris,
Can try 1st few years at paragon. I remember they have clothes for premature baby. Alternate you can buy those belly button protector to wrap around the waist for bigger top and wear shorts as pants if don't want to spend too much.

Junnie,
Yap heavy cos tummy big. I'd people who thought I'm about to due anytime when I'm just 27 weeks pregnant of which one of them is a mother of 4kids.

Cherry,
Can try http://www.street-directory.com/moh/index2.htm to search for clinic near your place, the only problem is it does not split GP and PD.

No.2 is girl. My hubby say my tummy big cos I'd all the while got 3 months headstart. Anyway, even gynae commented during my 20 weeks check that I look Ike 30+ weeks

Maruko,
Caelen same like Travis. Insect bite grow unto the size of fifty cents coin. Last time it took 1 week plus to heal and got watery pus. Nowadays slightly better after I apply this ointment from Australia "Lucas papaw ointment", it heals in less than a week and hardly got the watery pus.

Jovialz, oh ya...tink ur #2 is our only tiger gal rite? The rest all havin boys for tiger. :p
Er...correct me if im wrong.
Even ur gynae commented ur tummy big ah? LOL...3mths headstart. Den I better get my tummy reduced b4 I start any planning. kekeke...coz I also got a few mths headstart now.

My hb super siao ON lately. Been gg joggin after work these few days since last wk. Mayb I shld join him 1 of these days to get back in shape. :p

hippo, hows ur power AB thing har? My Ogawa is collectin some micro cob webs at a corner now. hahaha...gotta b more diligent in using it in case bcom white elephant. Last use was 2 nites ago.

thanks for the comforting words. was on leave yesterday and went to spend some time with hb. had lunch and caught a movie with hb and collected the car from workshop as well. things are good once again.

maruko: poor T's ankle. saw from fb and its really swollen. did his cc does anything abt the mozzie problems?? its really heartpain for him to kena bites every now n then.

junnie/kelly/cheriebear: so many kiddos having diahorrea. hope all will clear up soon. keep them hydrated!

cherry: thanks for the tip! my family all fans of lego! yz will play the duplo set while hb and i like to buy the adult sets and spend time building them!

ecookie, I did speak wif the principal abt it. Actually they did ask the town council to arrange fogging last sat. I'm aware of it also. But alas, T is still bitten so i'm guessin it might not b mozzie bite. More like another kinda insect. Tiffany did mention it could b bed bug since T was the onli kiddo dat was bitten. I will check wif the cc how often they clean their mattress since the covers I put in T's bag r washed everyday.
Indeed very heart-aching lor. Last nite when I applyin ointment on his swollen leg, he kinda "shrink" his leg which he normally wont. Den he tell me "pain pain". Awww...I nearly dropped tears den.

morning all

maruko.. ouch!! really heartpain to see T's swollen leg... if u said town council fumigate the cc compound then still hv tis problem, then it cud b mozzie/insects inside the cc?? shd chk w the cc how often they sanitaised the plc and clean the bed cot? the teacher shd be aware by now of tis problm & seeing T's condition, they shd 'auto' b more frequent in applying insect repellent on all the kids in cc le...

cherry.. u can chk out tis link for cc around ur plc : https://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/ChdCccSrch.jsp

ecookie.. glad to hear u r feeling sooo much better aft a day of 'battery charged' w hb + collecting the car back =)

jovial... so mei mei is heavier than gor gor compared to previous 27wk?? nvm.. as long both yourself & bb is growing well is ok de... enjoy the rest of the terms to the fullest =)

Good Morning Mummies!!

ecookie, so nice to hear things are well again and best, get to enjoy a good movie and nice lunch with hb...

Maruko,
Sometimes changing bedsheets doesnt help. The mattress already infected with bed bugs. From some experience, I know changing bedsheet also doesnt help cos my niece camped over at my mum's place, slept on a old mattress but with brand new and clean bedsheet, she also kena bitten. She shared with me her experience cos she was asking me about my rainbow vaccum. Perhaps you might want to try asking if they can change new mattress or swope mattress with other kids to see if such problem still occur. Hope my experience helps.

junnie, ya will check wif the cc how often they sanitise the place. From my knowledge, they will clean everyday b4 the kids com in den whole place sanitise every sat.

Jovialz, thanks...will check it out.

morning mummies

maruko: how's ur diarrhea? Anymore today? poor T. Is there construction near T's cc? Mayb u can call up NEA to inform them abt it. I rem my friend ever called up NEA to complain abt the mossie near Shanice's cc when there was a lot last yr. Mayb it helps that the NEA do fogging more often at that area.

Maruko ... T said pain pain ... aiyo
hope he recover soon ...

hope all of us recover soon

Jovialz ... i remember when U have yr #1 also yr tummy big big as a 1st time mummy ... its ok as long as U and bb are both well
U headstart with only 3 months ... I headstart with 8months

tiffany, thanks for sharing. Actually there is no "fixed" mattress dat they used on each kid everyday during nap. So it might b "suay suay" dat T kena the one wif bed bugs (if there is any). I do noticed dat he is always bitten after his nap instead of any other timings. Mmm...tink I call to speak wif the principal now instead of waitin till tonite.

cherie bear, thx for askin abt my diarrhoea. I'm ok liao after "complainin" in here. My stomach totally empty & was super hungry during dinner time. hahaha...totally cant resist eatin 咸鱼炒饭 which T cant finish. :p
re: NEA fogging
It was juz done last sat. I was informed by them dat they hav a schedule for arranging fogging. Cannot suka suka juz fog as & when they wan.

Maruko,
if suspect bed bug, must change the mattress and check how often they SUN the mattresses (should be at least once a week under blazing hot sun). But then hor, not that I try to defend the CC, nowadays with the rainy weather, Caelen also got bites more often at my mum's place (3rd storey HDB) and my dad sun his stuffs often and very mindful to clean and disinfect / spray insecticides as they also heartpain to see the bites.

Actually planned to go Parkway isetan to get Goo.n diapers today. But last night received newletter that Isetan giving storewide 10% rebate this weekend (fri to sun) to card members. Decide to hold my purchase till then. Heng ah, it just started to rain cats and dogs outside.

jovialz hahahahaha ... i am so fat please la ... kekekekkee

Maruko ... maybe T's body temp is higher den others ??? its could be the reason too ...

maruko: yah better talk w the cc on the possibility of bed bugs in their mattresses. ask them to sun more often just to be on the safe side.

junnie: haha the way u said it is so funny. my batteries are indeed charged and feeling better liao!

Maruko,
R u sure no fixed mattress for the kids? Usually they will write the kid's name on the mattress so that the kids will sleep on their own mattress. This is what sherry's cc do leh.

Jovialz, yup...I noe wif current weather sure inviting to alot of mozzies along wif other insects. Not dat me wanna 怪罪 to the cc, juz wanna find out wat could b the possible cause for T being the victim most of the time.

CM, LOL...8mths headstart. Not so 夸张 lah... :p
I do agree dat T's body temp is always warm to the touch though he not running fever.

Maruko,
Same like Sherry's CC, The CC that I'd registered for Caelen at the end of the year also use fixed mattress for each child. As a matter of fact, we pay for the mattress and they'll write the child's name on it.

Tiffy, yup confirm no fixed mattress coz we got bring own mattress cover everyday in the bag. So the name of the kid is written on the cover & not the mattress itself. Den the teacher will juz take any mattress & put on the cover for the kid to lie down.

ecookie, wah so shiok for u yesterday. Still catch a movie wif hb b4 collectin car. Sweeeet! I'm green wif envy liao. :p
Wif current weather, tink not likely dat they able to sun mattress often. Even my mil was complainin to me dat she gotta bring in & out the clothes umpteen times in a day dependin on the weather.

maruko: haha yest almost didnt happen. we planned the leave n activities last week but when i knocked my car, i was thinking cham liao, this hb surely pissed and dont want to go ahead liao. n feeling so guilty after the incident, i told him maybe he should cancel the leave since he took urgent time off to help me send the car to workshop..but luckily he smsed me after sending the car to workshop saying lets go ahead...

hi mummies!!!

eunice,
actually i have nothing in particular from overseas spree.. was merely looking around n thought it would be cheaper to buy on my own or join some organiser... you have anything to share?? I dont mind to join in the fun,,,

cherie,
Thanks you for sharing the lego sales!!!my gal is recovering well, now is my boy turn to caught the virus!!! faint!!

maruko,
whoa, T insect bites is really bad, so heart-aching. Do you think by using the p.p. wash from pharmacy will speed up healing n disinfect the wound??

jovialz,
thanks for sharing e clinic n ointment link!!! u mummies r really resourceful!! I also wanna get the ointment as standby.. Congrats babe, when's bb due?? I also expecting bb girl.

ecookie,
Whoa, lunch + movie without kiddos is "heavenly" lol.. btw, it's cherie bear who shared the lego link lar, not me.. :p

junnie,
thank you for sharing e cc link, u mummies r really resourceful!! hugs.

how's everyone?

been rather busy as i'm keeping hannah at home. got 2 HFMD cases in her school, and i don't want to take the risk as we're travelling to australia next week.

maruko, bed bug bites are terrible. takes super duper long to subside, and they are very very very itchy. i kena before, so i know. i suspect what T has is not bed bugs, as he will have a lot more bites if it's bed bugs. but it doesn't look like mosquito bites either. what does the doctor say?

tiffy: same as sherry's, we can bring back the matteress by end of K2. But but,they dun put name on the matteress itself. So I reckon that it's fixed matteress for shanice.

zhenzhen: enjoy ur holiday next wk

ecookie, ok lah...at least ur hb not a 木头 lor... :p

cherry, doc did prescribe a type of ointment which helps wif the healing. Thanks.

zhen zhen, doc said cant really confirm wat bite him unless we see wif our own eyes. Only can say it's an insect bite. So it's not possible to b bed bugs? Mmm...

Tiffy, I tot all the other cc also similar not using same mattress. Now I noe got fix mattress one. But even wif fixed mattress den the bugs will b "changin" mattress when it's packed together rite? :p

maruko, does travis only get bitten on his legs? or all over? last time i kena bed bugs, wah.... the bites were all over! they really had a feast with me. stupid backpacker hostel!!! grrr....

btw... after bed bugs bite you, they will swell up in size (can be ard 10 cent coin size) and they are dark red/black colour (take on the colour of our blood). so they are pretty obvious to spot on the mattress.

zhen zhen, eww...from wat u describe on the bed bugs, it shld b easily noticeable if T was bitten by it. T was bitten on his arms 2 wks ago, den on his legs last wk & few days ago.

Yap. I agree with Tiffy. Not easy to kill the bugs and they multiply very fast. Best to throw away. For prevention, sun all beddings at least once a week.

maruko.. i tink not likely bed bugs, like wat zhenzhen said it wud be whole body bitten i/o one or two bites nia.. last time zann's cc used bedcot, they'll write the kids name at the side so is fixed per child, but at the end of k2, didnt get to take back leh (sort of rent fm them).. i tink they erase the name & recycle again. u tell teacher must apply insect repellent on T aft every shower at cc. sometimes i jus apply ru yi oil or any medicated oil all over my kids when we r out esp void deck/park/gardens to prevent mozzie/insects bites.

zhenzhen.. nxt wk going australia le?? wow.. ENJOY & hv good time w ur uncle!! ya, hfmd now back again.. so scare.. i also didnt let zann go student care today (thurs,fri P6 oral so let her go nanny house join her brother) her ctr got 3cases for toddler class...

cm.. nvm..sama sama..we r wat we eat =D

Chris,
did you get the rainbow vacuum ? I wonder if worth the investment or better to call those cleaning company to come and sanitize the bedding. They charge $60 per session for 2 beds.

junnie, ya hor...after hearin from zhen zhen I also tink might not b bed bugs coz onli 2 bites max. Oredi told teacher to apply the mozzie repellant after shower liao, plus put the mozzie patch.
re: HFMD
hav been hearin so many cases from frens n news lately.

Jovialz, I juz ordered the Lucas Papaw Ointment. Thx for sharin.

Junnie,

Ya, Tom n fri no sch for joey... I actually forgot n made an appointment Tom ... So I leaving her home alone for about 2 hrs and while I go fetch Chloe from sch... She is supposed to be doing e- learning at home. Hope she won't get into trouble alone.. She has eng CA today .. Maths n Chinese next week.. How abt zann?

Maruko,
Maybe not bedbug, could be fleas or ticks.. Does T come in contact with dogs or cats?

There was once I met a mum at playground and she show
me some insect bites on her kid.. Very interesting... She told
me doc says it's some kind of ant bites... Cos the bites are
almost equidistant .. Apparently the ant crawl and stop n bite and crawl n bite ... Keke
Once, I also kena some horrible bites while playing at siloso beach... I thot could be dog fleas cos a lot pp walk their dogs there... Or maybe sandflies? Anyway, the itch was so bad I want to kill somebody .. And the bites started multiplying and took more than a month to heal aft seeing doc