(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

hippo,
thanks! very far from my pl also..
just saw the photos on their webste, the classroom furniture & kitchen seems abit old..

chintz, u let ur maid watch tv ah? I only allow her to watch after my son fell asleep. She used to watch while ironin clothes den I scolded her for tinkin she is the employer. Tink nowadays maid get cocky due to SG rules dat favours them more den us.

reading all the maid stories scares me. Think I cannot have a maid. I prob be another employer to make the news by sticking the iron onto their breasts.
haaaaa.

chintz, maruko,
I dun allow my maid to watch tv. This is one of my rules. They will get lax after watching tv.

gingerleaf,
Yes, LW is at the slip road near AYE. It's deep inside the road, quite ulu. That place is full of colonial houses, lots of angmo stay there. I find the sch not bad. They have the usual outdoor play, sand play, water play, art and craft and cooking. Besides story time at sch, they will bring back 1 chinese and 1 english book every week for parents to read to the child. One thing I like best is they dun have tv in sch. So the children will either play or read books while waiting for parents to fetch them.

My hubby will send Jav there when he goes to work as his office is just nearby, and fetch jav back during lunch time.

sanbebe,

The sch sounds so interesting. Maybe I shld check it out too.

Could you share the course fees with me via PM if you are not comfy disclosing it here?

My maid only gets to watch if we are in the living room watching and she is around to take care of kids.. once we go into our rooms, then we will switch off TV.

sometimes i think she may be v bored.. she has a small receiver to listen to radio i thk. Then whenever we go Juniors' League, while my boy is cutting hair, she will quickly sit at the magazine corners and starting flipping magazines.

I have some magazines which she can read at home too but most of the time, she will flip the newspapers.

sanbebe, does ur maid have off day and hp?

we were too kind, thinking that tv is her only entertainment after a long day at work. it's a small tv at her room. my mil asked us to keep the tv, don't let the new maid watch. what do u think?

tiffy,*hug hug*.i tink we too stress by the little ones going to school liao. hopefully they adapt to it faster.sigh,so scare i get post natal depression from the ashley instead of my small baby.
like wat sanbebe said,the more we go in,the longer they take to adapt. i dun dare to peep on her cos i know i will go in and comfort her..

Gingerleaf
I think the price is about the same as it's only 3hrs!!!

Really can see a North and South pole comparison when we look at pre-school pricing. Wonder if I use the same analogy, does it means that the content will still be the same as they are still very cold!!

haha ignore me .. going home now and PLAY with my girl liao

hope to be here again tomorrow!!

wow... thread really racing along today! nice to see thread so active again, but also means i have a lot of "homework" to do at the end of the day when i turn on the comp. haha...

chintz, tink better to heed ur mil's suggestion to keep the tv. If let her watch in livin room still acceptable but in the room? I tink not a gd idea. If she watch thru the nite den daytime will b hard to concentrate on doing her chores.

indeed stress out by little one going to sch. Sherry cry on off on off whole day at cc. now she have slight cough due to her crying. tomolo her sleeping time i try not to go down n peep. Hope i can do it

Ariajo, naia is almost sleeping through the night. Good for you! Deborah has her moods. Some days can sleep for a 6-hr stretch (11pm to 5am). Some days will still wake up in between. I’m so looking forward to the day she can sleep through!!

Hippo, do take care of yourself. Ask your gynae whether there’s anything that you can do about your leg pain.

Ecookie, good that things are quite relaxed for you at work now. Then just wait till you pop to take your maternity leave, so can spend more time with your kiddos.

Dodo, i can hi*5 with you. My boobs also starting to sag. Breastfeeding really takes a toll on your boobs. Sob! But heng my hubby not as honest as your hubby. I confirm will slap him. Wahahaha...

Totoro, even if my girls fuss, i will still put them into the car seat. I rather have them scream throughout the trip (although it’s very tiring), then have anything happen to them. Fortunately our older ones can be reasoned with now. If all else fails, try bribery.

Gingerleaf, lyn so young already likes shoe shopping huh? Follow mummy ya... *wink*

Cherie bear, until now, i haven’t tried expressing yet. So i really dunno how much i’m producing. My logic is if baby seems satisfied, then it must be enough. But i think i better start introducing bottle to her soon. Don’t want her to get too attached to my boobs. Haha. And i think if you want to feed FM, should feed separately, and not mix into your BM.

Jas, poor dear. Hope dayan recovers quickly. Stay strong!

Maruko, cheer up gal. I’m sure you’re hubby said all that in the heat of the moment. I’m sure he doesn’t mean it.

Perlicia, you’re a very understanding wife. I tend to be quite quick to scold my hubby if something happens too. But today, he hit deborah’s head on the cot railing, and i didn’t tell him off cos my new year resolution is to be more zen about things. Although inside, i wanted so badly to nag at him.

Gingerleaf, newton kindergarten also has 1 english teacher and 1 chinese teacher. They also have another assistant. So the ratio for my girl’s class is 3:7. Am quite impressed with the level of attention that each child is getting. Not sure if it’s the same for the rest of the classes though.

Tiffy, give sherry some time to settle down. She’s doing very well already. Hannah is also having separation anxiety. Today, she didn’t want to go to school. Kept saying that she wants to be with me. And when i brought her into the classroom, she clung onto my leg and didn’t want to let go. The teacher came over and carried her away, trying to distract her. Then i quickly left the class. But she looked very happy when i came back to pick her up. The teachers also told me that after the initial crying, she was ok the rest of the day. but just before sleeping, she told me she doesn’t want to go to school tmr. Sigh... i really hope that she’ll settle down soon. I really feel so heart pain to see her this way.

Doobom, glad to hear from you. Wah... your hubby’s fall so serious ah? Hope he recovers quickly!

Bbwow, so how do you describe me to your hubby??? I’m so curious now...

zhen zhen, wow...u can "ren" not scoldin ur hb for knockin Deborah's head ah? tink I won't b able to tahan at all. I was screamin away at him when Travis hurt his head while playin hide & seek wif him. Yes another hide & seek accident. Tink all mummies shld really BAN this game until kiddos r older. :p
hb didnt mention a single word abt the fall since we met up after work.

bbwow, tink u made most mummies here very curious abt how u described us to ur hb...kekeke...

maruko, i also was very impressed with myself! haha... but i find that since i've been nicer to my hubby, he's also nicer to me. so i also benefit from my newfound zen-ness...

zhen zhen, WAT? so u meant to say Mr Chen Hao has been bad to u? :p *juz kiddin* am sure he adores u very much...

actually im quite impressed wif myself at times on how I can tahan my hb, or rather vice versa. Coz my temper can get really bad at times, especially lately when Travis tries to tackle my patience. So instead of ventin at my boy, I chose to aim my hb who has got nowhere to "hide". Mmm...im bad, really BAD. sigh...

zhen zhen,
Is zhen zhen clingy to your hubby? If she's very clingy to you, perhaps you may want to let your hubby to send her to sch instead then her separation anxiety will not be so bad.

gingerleaf,
Oh I don't mind sharing LW school fees here. It's almost 1k per month after subsidy, $980 to be exact.

chintz,
I agree with your mil. Keep the tv. Don't let your maid watch tv. Just like what maruko has said, she won't be able to concentrate on her work the next day as she'll not be getting enough sleep. If the maid doesn't get enough sleep, she won't be able to take good care of your kids. Accidents might happen, which I believe you won't want to take the risk.

sugarnut,
My maid dun watch tv even if we're watching as she'll stay in the kitchen. She doesn't have any radio as well. I bought her a english-malay dictionary, borrow simple english books for her to read. Recently, I borrowed 2 cookbooks for her to read and then asked her to follow the recipes and cook for us. So far so good, taste very yummy. You know what, when she 1st came, she didn't even know how to cook as she had never cook before. But I trained her and now she's cooking for us.

You can be nice to maid by giving her sufficient sleep and food. The rest is considered luxury. Don't spoil your maid. You'll regret after that. Maid needs discipline, just like kids. Till now, I've never scolded my maid and though she doesn't have tv to watch or radio to listen, I'm sure she's quite happy working for us.

i must say he's actually very patient with me and can put up with a lot of my nonssense. but can see when i scold him too much, he gets very defensive and a bit more quick to retaliate. i guess it's understandable, cos we don't like being scolded right?

sanbebe, glad to see you coming back online again! my hubby can't send her leh... cos she goes for the 2nd session, which starts at 11.45am. so no choice, i have to send her to school.

maruko, i will discuss with hb about this matter again. i think need to keep the tv liao

zhen zhen, i like ur new year resolution! keep it up gal

chintz, thanks! i hope i can too. i also want to set a good example for my girls. don't want them to think it's ok to throw temper etc.

zhen zhen,
Hahaha...you made it! Your zen-ness ! Please keep it up.

maruko,
My hubby and I won't scold each other if one of us mishandled Jav as both us have the same thinking. What's the use of scolding each other as it can 't be undone. The most important thing is to check if Jav is ok. And, we both know none of us want such incident to happen. So when such thing happen, we'll keep quiet but check on Jav and get treatment for him. It's important to remain calm and cool.

maruko,
if it is their napping, Sherry still didn't want to drink her milk, do u think i shld step in to the cc? Cos today i peep, the teacher is trying to make her drink but she just refuse. And teacher also try to make her sleep but she still cry lor

Tiffy,
I suggest you let Sherry skip the milk if she doesn't want to drink. She will drink or eat more after the class if she's hungry. Please try not to step in, let sherry get used to the way the teacher handle her. Sherry need time to adapt to the new environment and routine. Give her more time bah....

tiffy, i agree with sanbebe. think the more we hang on, the longer it will take for our kids to adapt. sherry is already doing well. just give her more time and STOP PEEPING! :p

sanbebe, gd for u dat ur maid is quite disciplined. Mine keeps takin advantage knowin dat we r gd to her.
I like the way ur hb & u deals wif accidents. Like u said, no one wans it to happen but words juz spurt out our mouth when we r anxious.

Tiffy, I tink u gotta let the teacher handle sherry b it makin her sleep or drink milk. The 1st time I brought Travis to the cc, their feedback was to juz let the kids cry. Once they r tired of cryin, they will doze off to sleep. So no need to worry abt them sleepin. But the thing is when they return home, they might get rather cranky for the 1st few days. Once settled, everything will b fine liaoz.
So "jia you"...im sure u will b able to handle this situation after our encouragement. Juz dun peep anymore :p

chintz, still need to discuss? straight away keep liao lah :p like wat sanbebe said, maids need to b disciplined like our kiddos. Cannot b too soft hearted wif them. If not, u will end up being the maid of ur maid. :p

Tiffy, tink her nitemare will persist for a few days while she tries to settle in. Do bear wif it. Remember the more u cave in to her while she at cc, its gonna take longer heartaches for both of u. "chang tong bu ru duan tong" im sure u can do it
brave it wif a smile & sherry will b able to sense ur happiness.

Morning Mummies...

Maruko & Tiffany,
I have cravings for the Thai lunch we had... Hee...

Tiffy,
Dun be sad. I felt the same way. Jerry cried till his lips turned blue and screamed 'Mummy' on top of his voice, but I just force myself to quickly leave the skool. When I picked him in the evening, he ran and hugged me so tightly. He teared and called me. I almost teared. So silly hor...
Very ke-lian, but somehow I keep telling myself that it's just a passing phase. Kids are very adaptive, it's a matter if they want to do it. I have been trying to remind myself about it whenever I feel the heartache.
Hugsss to you. Hope Tiffy gets over this phase soon and enjoy her schooling.

tiffy,

be strong mummy!
i remembered zq's teacher told me that it's normal that they have nightmares on the first few days/ weeks of school.. they are trying to adjust to the new lifestyle also..

zq had nightmares for the 1st 3 days of school, kept crying wi hs eyes closed..
and on the 3rd & 4th day morning when i fed him breakfast, he told me he didn't wan to go to school, but i kept telling him "stories" of how fun the school is and many many frens waiting for him there and they love him so much also.. blah blah blah..

all these will be over soon gal, be positive! and agree wi the rest, no peeping!!! zq's sch dun allow parents to step into the class even on his 1st day of sch. dun think abt it, leave the sch after u drop off sherry, dun hang around there.. i believe the teachers are doing their best to let her adapt to sch life, if the situation become out of control, they will definately call u, and u are so near! no worries k gal, try to let go even she dun wana drink milk before nap, this wun be long, everything will back to normal when she get use to the sch.. cheer up!!

zhen zhen,

i have the same resolution as u!
im trying hard to control my bad temper, dun wan to set bad example for the boys.. my hubby is very good in tolerate my nonsense but i cant take all these for granted, and i know i will regret if i continue like this.. so i learn to take deep breathe when i saw him do things not the way i want.. coz i know deep in my heart that he is doing lots for us and a very hands-on daddy.. i cant keep expecting the "perfect-ness" in all the little things he does without doing any self-reflection.. so let's JIA YOU together!

dodo/zhen zhen, gd resolution for both of u. Makes me wanna work towards it also. Realised I hav been settin a bad example for Travis whenever I nag at hb. I gotta stop doing dat too.

dodo, i m like u in terms of temper lor. but funny thing is we are perfectly fine and sweet when itz just the 2 of us. but factor in adri and our thinking changes. so weekdays we are loving, and weekends might take a turn for worse. hahaha! but i m trying to turn a blind eye to his little weird actions when ard adri la. and he's trying to ignore my craziness too.. keke.. ultimately, he reali takes care of me and also adri for me cos my movements are limited and plus my temper recently, he's worried i scream until adri becomes deaf. haha.. gambate!!! yeah..

zhen zhen, thanks for ur concern! will check with doc next week.. (yeah! 3rd tri next week!)
i wana reach ur level of zen-ness too gal.. haha..

morning mummies!!

hippo: dun be too harsh on urself. for this pregnancy, my temper also took for a worse. will start scolding hb for no reason just cos i feel grouchy. so any small actions from him if happen to meet me on a wrong day will kena scolding. and ive so many sudden outbursts (aka shoutings) at yz till hb sometimes also step in and said dun do that.. been trying to be more zen and let go cos really not good to do that to yz. cos the shoutings are more from my unbalanced hormones than yz's nottiness. :p

tiffy: be strong. dun peep anymore and trust the teachers on taking care of sherry. like wat sanbebe said, sherry will eat/drink more after class if she refuse to drink/eat in school..
if u pop in everytime she refuse to eat/bath etc, she will keep expecting that to happen and a routine is very hard to be established for her at school..

setting bad example: haah yz also knows i "scold" hb one... so sometimes when he notti, i will ask him "u want mummy to scold you?" and he will say, "no, go n scold papa." :p
oops.

doobom: hope ur hb recover fast!!

maids: seem like no matter how good the maids are, sure have little conflicts along the way. think im too particular to engage in a maid liao.. hopefully can survive on childcare and help from grandparents for the next few years...