(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Good morning mummies!!!

finally browsed thru the archives and so glad to see everyone is back in action

also happy to read all the interesting 1st day school experience of the kiddos.

chloe is very eager to go school, i think i will bring forward the plan and send her to school this june/july

morning ladies!

dodo, no worries la. .i m sure u've made a good decision! moreover ZQ can give u commentaries.. keke

chersam, with the snacks u prepared, i m sure UR 1st day went well too! gambate gal!

jas, keke.. tink so la.. heng she has always been surrounded with loads of pple. guess it helps her alot.. =) yah! i tink the teachers there are very nice and attentive.. so phew!
dayan's sch bus no seat belts? not a must yet meh? but dun worrie too much okie? is there an assistant on the bus to take care of them?
ur DIL ar.. though only 2 days of school hor but we just find her so Grown-Up! she's calmer and more attentive leh.. hurhurhur.. i hope it just gets better!

chintz!! recce the places already? i m sure chloe will enjoy herself very much..

Gd morning mummies...

zhen zhen, how r ur 2 darlings now? hope they hav recovered from the flu. Hannah is fast to pickup new words juz on 1st day.

chintz, is Chloe in the waitin list for your preferred choice of school? if not, better hurry. :p

today is my ranting day...last nite when I reached home, I tried to brush aside my unhappy moods and treat everything as per normal. End up my mil show me black face. I talked to her & asked what she wanna hav for dinner BUT SHE IGNORED ME. Damn fed up. Actin like a 3yr old throwin tantrum. I knew something not rite den I went to ask hb wats wrong wif her AGAIN. He said she not happy abt how I treat Travis the nite b4.

In case u all r now wondering wat happened, this is the scenario the nite b4: I was tryin to make Travis sleep from 9.30pm on Tue. Till 10plus, he still refused to sleep though he is tired. There r times when his eyes gonna shut but he forced it open. Den he got out of the room & went to bang my mil's room door. Tinkin she sleepin liao, I quickly bring Travis back to his room & lock the door. Den he started cryin and shoutin "I wan mah mah". I refused to open door coz I noe he wanna make some noise b4 sleepin. Den he cried louder & louder. I told him I will carry him if he kept quiet. While "debating", I heard a few knocks on the door. I ignored. Den as he kept cryin, the knocks bcom consistent. I got so fed up & shouted "stop knocking on the door". Whoever is outside shld noe I won't open the door no matter how they knock coz I'm disciplining Travis. After awhile, he stopped cryin but still not willin to sleep till midnite.

From this incident, my mil told my hb dat I shld not force Travis to sleep if he dun wan to. Dat I shld juz let him go over to look for her. The issue here is once I open the door ONCE, he will expect me to open it the next time. How am I gg to discipline him? WTH!!! Now I can't even discipline my own son??? I really hate it whenever she carries him away when im teachin him manners. Can't she dun interfere in my affairs? Everything also wan a say. I oredi got no say in the house liao den now I can't even teach my son the way I wan. GGGGRRRRRR....DAMN FED UP.

Maruko,
Cool down cool down. Take a deep breathe. Of cos you have all the rights to discipline Travis, you are his mummy! But to a granny's point of view, she is just 心痛 to hear her grandson's cries. You are right about not giving in. Just stand firm...yet dun be angry k? its not worth it. will have wrinkles leh. SMILE!

zhenzhen: hannah is smarty pants. picked up chinese words already! how are deborah and her flu? hope they are recovering already!

maruko: cool down... u have the right to discipline ur kid! but granparents are like that, easily xin tong when they hear the grandkid cry... u may want to explain to ur hb where u coming from n let him do the "talking" to ur MIL?

Jas, she herself also noe dat Travis has been rude to her nowadays liao. When she says NO to him den he will shout at her or juz walk away. Does she expect such manners from him in future? If yes den its her call. I dun hav to bother abt teachin him to show respect for her or other ppl. The thing is can't she see for herself dat she is givin in too much to him oredi? I hav been tellin her not to bother abt him when he cries. There r occasions when she can juz ignore him. So why can't she make it consistent to ignore when im disciplinin? I'm sure she had been complainin to her sisters abt me.

maruko,
cool down gal... i can understand ur frustration, i also hate others to interfere when i discipline my kids.. but dun take it to heart gal, like what jas & ecookie said, ah mah just xintong over her grandson.. try to talk to her and buy somethg she likes to eat and slowly strike a conversation wi her? and explain to her ur point of view.. hope she will understand.. cheer up!

zhen zhen,
oh dear! deborah got flu at such young age.. is she okay? hope she recover fast!

chintz,
u gonna let chloe attend childcare or school? actually im still confused over the both, cant really distinguish the difference.. am thinking to start looking for sch for zq if we back next year..

ecookie, my hb only told me to ignore her...sayin dat its her "pattern"...its ez for my hb to turn a deaf ear to her BUT if im the one, den I will b labelled the BAD DIL. Den she will complain to her sisters den her sisters will say me when they c me.

dodo, dun tink my current mentality will allow me to go n pacify her. I tink the BEST way to deal wif her is to let her handle Travis herself when he is notti. See how she can discipline him into listenin to her.

maruko: u need to talk more to ur hb. cannot just ignore ur mil like that. the probs may be gone for now but will accumulate over time i feel. i always threaten my hb to step in n talk to his mum if there are conflicts.. cos if he chose to ignore, then dun blame me if 1 day i really dislike his mum or vice versa. with that, he will be more pro-active in resolving the conflicts.. cos im sure he doesnt want to see that day come too...

hi mummies!!

happy new year!!

congrats to all mummies with kiddos in school. glad that all is adapting well. and those kiddos sick, get well soon!

maruko,
it's really tough staying with in-laws. you really need a big heart to tolerate. I really think that one needs to respect the other personal space sometimes, furthermore, you're the mother. J will also cry for "ah ma", "ah gong", "gugu", whole family name can call out. and we'll just ignore him. after a while, he fusses then doze off to sleep. hang in there gal.

re: new school
unice just feedback to me that the 1st 3 days of school was lousy.
sean cry until today sick and down with flu. poor boy. the teachers are not attentive and left sean wandering around, even to the extend of dragging the schoolbag to the toilet! really worry about J attending sch after cny.

bbwow: oh dear, which kindy is this?
need to feedback to the teachers as this kind of attention level to the tods is too low!

ecookie, my mil is a stubborn & conservative old lady. There was totally no communication btwn her & my hb even b4 I got married. So its hard to tell my hb to b pro-active in this coz he will only make things worse. Thus, his solution is to ignore her. As for me, if she opens up to me den I will say but she might not like the tone I say. There r a couple of times when she SAY me over things at home but I juz let it b. My philosophy is its juz a minor issue, why make it big? Kids sure cry at their current age so wats the big fuss to show me her black face over it? Frankly my hb noes its not ez to get along wif his mum & im really tryin hard to go along wif wat she wans. But she seems to b takin it for granted.

Maruko
cool down and don't let that affect your day!! It's a good cool day today!! When things are cool down, maybe find a chance to talk to her and explained why you are doing that etc etc
Guess by now, Travis would know who the discipline master is and kiddos can really sense atmosphere so try not to "cold war" with MIL but work with her instead and I think Travis will sense that you are all united and he may change his attitude. That's what I feel lah ...

Actually, all grandma are sure to xin tong the little ones. Even me also kana by my mother yesterday!! haha. My little monkey was jumping on the bed and I was busy trying to put the safty boundary on the other side when she jumped and knocked face down on the floor. Cried so hard and I saw blood on her front teeth ... me got worried and called my sis! Guess what, the whole "village" came down and my mum told me off on why never pay attention to her etc etc ... see MIL or Mother all the same one lah!! Lucky the monkey is ok and this morning continue to jump on the bed !!!!!!

Morning!!!!

So many kiddos going to school leh. Must be v happening. Brig is starting Toddler 2 this year, so far so good, although he get abit affected by the crying in the morning. He can tell me what he has for lunch everyday. During the 1st 2 days, he cried abit (after having a holiday for 2 weeks), he told me "i cried for mummy, i cried for daddy in the school"

Maruko,

Dun ignore, talking is better. If not as Travis grows older, he will be affected by the negative environment at home. He will elarn from adult to ignore situation and 'black face' too.

Zhen Zhen

Oh, that the main purpose of putting on pullup? The teacher mentioned, saying pull up is easier for them, but didnt know is for toilet training. Cos brig in full day cc, using pull up all the time will burn my pocket leh... hee hee

Jas,

Hi Five. Dun think brig can recog A-Z 123 although never test him on it. He is more interested in singing and reading story books.

eccokie,

Wow, popping soon leh!!! I havent train Brigton yet.. GOing to let the school do it... Hee HEe

Jas
Am just wondering which rules in LTA mentioned that no seat belt is required as I thought all school bus need to have them.
Are there a lot of small kids like Dayan on the bus or it's just him alone that the bus attendant or helper can take special care of him.
Not to make you worry but at this age, I still feel they are too young and get easily distracted so it's important to be fasten and trained to stay still on the bus!!

totoro, oh my...how is Kelly now? gosh...it muz b painful for her to fall from the bed.

chris, its not like I didnt initiate a conversation wif her. She is the petty one dat ignored me. Sigh...some more in front of Travis & my fil. Tink my fil also BTH her lah. Such a minor thing also wanna make all unhappy at home.
U noe all at home is always givin in to her. Once she is unhappy, den she will show in her face den make it so obvious. Sigh...

bbwow, I agree wif u on wat u said. Need a BIG heart to tolerate stayin wif in-laws. BUT I really dunno how BIG my heart can go. Might b reachin max liao...

Maruko,

Cool.... looking at the brighter side, she sacrifice to take care of yr boi too. If not, she will have more free time fore herself.

ecookie, maruko,

school is thomson kindy. according to unice, teacher ratio is 3:10 so still not so bad? I think we're more racist cause both teachers are indians (no offence to other indians huh) and from unice feedback, they only tend to their own race. unice wrote a letter already. waiting for feedback. I can't do anything now since J hasn't start sch.

maruko, aiyo!! must hv been so frustrating. i hear liao also bth. i guess from the way u describe her, she is VERY used to pple giving in. thus the BIG fuss everytime some1 goes against her wishes. cool down dear. no point fighting with such a person then. she will only QI si ni and drain up ur energy which shd be concentrated on Travis. hugs..

totoro, ouch! hope kelly is ok? not swollen or anything?

bbwow, omg! dat sounds bad leh. how can the teachers do dat.. are they very shorthanded? how many kiddos in the class and teacher to child ratio? have a talk with unice again and maybe u might both wana address ur concerns to the kindy. if they can't give a good explanation, then maybe itz time to source for alternatives since J is only starting after CNY!

tiffy, how is sherry these few days? hope u both are coping well!

zhen zhen, hope the kiddos recover soon!

chris, u r right in a way too. Guess I gotta keep tinkin abt dat to widen my heart. :p

bbwow, oic...3:10? forget wats the ratio for Travis cc liao. His cc also hav indian & malay teachers but they seem quite ok wif handlin all races of the kids.

hippo, u got a point there. I shld focus my energy on Travis instead of gettin fed up wif her.
hahaha...and YES, she is always livin in her own world which she is the person who is always right. Whoever dun agree will hav to get into a heated argument wif her, which in this case is normally my FIL. kekeke...

hello mummies! how are all of you.. I MIA for awhile cos' went malacca for short hols.

Gg back to work in 1.5 wks time.. low morale.. I am so not looking forward to the hectic life. Some more I can't fit into most of my working clothes, need to go buy new ones. Double sian.

But got good news lah, 2 of my colleagues gave birth on the same day yesterday! Double happiness..

Saw the pics and read abt your kids attending school! All our kids have grown!!

Maruko.. so sian right? Discipline own kid also need to hear pple nag..dun let it affect u too much, it's gg to be Friday tmrw!

bbow,

the ratio is good. I though for Toddler class the requirement is 1:6 or 1:8 only.

U have to check if the teacher r the 'teacher' or 'teacher assistant'. There is a different. A TA is just like a caregiver.

How open is the school to feedback? Brig last cc is not open to feedback at all, things got so bad after we feedback that end up brig has to change a school.

bbwow: the ratio seems very good for a kindy! but how come still cant give the appropriate attention to the tods?? yah better consider alternatives now...

hello mummies! how are all of you.. I MIA for awhile cos' went malacca for short hols.

Gg back to work in 1.5 wks time.. low morale.. I am so not looking forward to the hectic life. Some more I can't fit into most of my working clothes, need to go buy new ones. Double sian.

But got good news lah, 2 of my colleagues gave birth on the same day yesterday! Double happiness..

Saw the pics and read abt your kids attending school! All our kids have grown!!

Maruko.. so sian right? Discipline own kid also need to hear pple nag..dun let it affect u too much, it's gg to be Friday tmrw!

Brif has attended 3 cc (yes.. this is his third... ), somehow, i discover that the fee the cc charged is not equate to the service level. Brig current cc fee is real low, initally im really skeptical about the school, just let brig try out half heartenly. But i turn out to be the best among the 3. The supervisor is real devoted to her works and most of the teachers are there for about 7 to 10 years. When we feedbacked on a new teacher, the supervisor took it positively and the teacher really changed for better.

He is really more too.... At last can converse to me in Mandarin!

maruko, keke! yep! no point have a tug-of-war with her. she strikes me as dat type who will tear the house down.. haha

bbwow, hahaha.. ratio of 3:10 sounds ok leh. but if tis is the case hor, then maybe wat u & unice tot may not be impossible after all! it could be a case of the teachers playing favouritism..hmpf!

sugarnut, so fast u are gg back already! all the best to ur work in the new work year!

sugar nut, ya indeed very sianz when some1 who is supposed to support end up naggin at how we discipline our kid. Am tryin to look forward to the wkend.
So shiok of u to b able to go malacca for short hols.

chris, Travis also changed cc previously when the 1st one wanna charge us more. Lucky at dat time the current one got vacancy. The price cut was more den half and service is definitely better than 1st one. Coz I realised when things happened, they tend to shirk responsibility instead of informin us wat happened. Anyway its gd dat brig is enjoyin himself in his current cc.
u can hav peace of mind at work also.

chris
I think it's the teacher that plays the most important part no matter how good or famous the CC is. If the teacher do not have passion! Think can forget about it!
I was surprised when my temp girl told me that her friend are working as a teacher in CC and another as a helper. I think they are barely 21 ??? or around that age!! Am just doubtful on whether they have the patient to handle those "Terrible" " Noti" period of a child!! cos as a mother, now then I realized how much patience you really need to cope with them!! It's not easy.

jas, found this article for your reading..

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Education/Story/A1Story20091125-182189.html

quote: <font color="119911">"A new rule to improve bus safety was implemented in April, requiring new small buses to have seat belts, while existing small school buses must do so by 2011.

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) said that out of the 1,200 small buses that ferry children, seat belts have been fitted in 955 vehicles."

chris, no need car seats la.. haha! i cnt imagine having to carry so many things to go down in order to board the sch bus.. =)
glad to hear brig is doing well in his new CC! yippie!

I think searching for a good CC/pre-school is like researching for a PHD !!!! So much hard work and it's really not easy!! Don't know whether I will ever graduate on this topic!!! ha ha

Have a question after reading the school bus article

Small bus - refer to the size of the bus or the children they are carrying are small ( below certain age maybe primary 2??)

As it does not make sense if a Big school bus carrying small (aka younger children) do not need to have seat beat fitted as the driver might be more "aggresive"!!!

hippo, gd for u dat u dun hav to face her everyday. Sigh...why didn't I insist on havin my own roof?

totoro, no need to stress...slowly find a suitable one.

ecookie, chris, hippo,

I can't comment much but hearing from unice is bad enough le. kkeek. we're both keeping our fingers crossed now. imagine keep changing school and uniform! but we both agree that the child's learning is the most impt. I read in some feedbacks that some kids have problems learning to read! that really freaked me out.

cc: yes i agree that the teachers make up the most impt aspect. and not the fees or anything. for me, #1 priority is yz must click/like the teachers there. #2 is the cleanliness of the childcare and of cos the teacher to kids ratio.. so far, im quite happy w yz at his current LV branch. he really likes some of the teachers there and fetching him can be such a chore nowadays cos he insists on saying bye bye and hg hug all his fav teachers - can be 4-5 of them!. and keep asking me where they are when he cant find them (cos some left earlier or busy with other chores).. haha

Totoro &amp; hippo,
I seriously also dun know why this 19-seater bus dun need seat belts. But this bus uncle is very careful with his driving. He dun speed like the previous school driver who drives those van type bus. And the auntie also quite good too...hopefully everything is smooth..

Maruko,
I CAN FULLY UNDERSTAND YOUR SITUATION. as i am staying with such a MIL too. hahaha! but now i am in upper hands ever since i bark her back fiercely since 2 years ago. Ever since then, she NEVER dare to act as queen anymore. I prefer our current dun talk relationship now.

jas: u still staying w ur MIL? tot she moved out alreadY?
for schoolbus, there is still a bus driver auntie to "jaga" the kids while the driver is driving right?

BTW, my monkey is ok after the knocked!! But she is not feeling well since yesterday - caught a flu i think ... hiaz without even the need to attend school

ecookie, wah YZ so "gum" wif his teachers ah? Travis will only insist in sayin bye bye to his frenz &amp; teachers.

Jas, U also stayin wif ur in laws? Salute u for being able to stand up for urself &amp; bark at her. Tink there will b loads of drama if I blow up at mine.
re: schoolbus
No matter how safe the bus driver is, tink it is more assuring to noe dat there is a seat belt for the kiddos on board coz u can't foresee other rd users to b safe drivers too.

totoro, Kelly caught a flu ah? shoo shoo the virus.

maruko: yah he really likes some of the teachers.. ahha thats the good thing i like abt his current childcare..

totoro: hope kelly wil recover soon!!

ecookie,
Of cos she is still staying with us. Her daughters also BTH her pattern. Quickly throw her back to us. and shift all responsibilities to my poor HB. All medical fees, her livelihood has always being my HB sole duty. Now the sisters just keep quiet whenever there is any havoc happen at our home. Last time, they volunteer to bring their mum to stay with them during the weekdays. Now all keep MUM. Like zombie...no news from them at all.

Maruko,
I have suffered under her hands for many years. My tolerance level is up to my neck..oh no! its up to my hair tip. That's why i have to stand for myself. Cannot depend on my HB who always ignore problems. Of cos alot of dramas happen after that. She cry la, say want to find a job la, want to move out la...bla bla bla. None is done. Can u imagine all her life is depend on men to provide for her? she seldom work. thus no savings...

dodo, u asked me what's the difference of school and cc? hahaha u bet! i so bo chap i know nuts!

we signed her up for 2011 enrollment at eagerbeaver (yishun safra) but haven't paid anything yet. but my inlaws are all 'hinting' to send her to the school my niece attended. and as the obedient DIL (ahem! no choice oki?), i guess we will also send her to the same school. thankfully chloe is now toilet trained too. good to go school

i think if it's half day, it's called a school? *scratch head*

chintz: wow chloe is toilet trained already! clap clap!

jas: i see. ur tolerance level must be trained out one.. cant imagine the same thing happening to me. think i will go crazy!