(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

petit gars,
yah seem like also can train their attention span leh.

aria jo,
it's depend on individual. on 1st try, Sherry can fix the easy animal but some part she didn't fix it right cos of opposite side, then have to guide n tell her to turn the pieces to fix it in. think aft 3-4 times, she can fix most of it. now she know sometime she have to turn the pieces to the correct position to fix it in.

chersam: u touch sugurnut baby bump!? heheh sprinkle babydust on you! mayb will have good news soon !:p

aria_jo: ur hb really dotes on aria SOOO MUCH! wah clothes abit worn will throw away one.. i think he will dotes on naia too... can imagine him buying lotsa new clothes for naia all over again!

dodo: yah been sometimes since u last update ur blog! ive been diligently visiting it only to be disappointed.. so pls update so i can see hows ZQ, YA and yourself are doing recently!

yeah, the puzzles are really good! because the images are big and it's only 3-4 pieces and there's a frame that makes it easy for the kids to fit them.

the one i bought for aria got no frame and it's tough for her to gauge where to start. and the moment she finish putting the puzzle together the pieces got seperated again..

so, i've been looking high and low for sherry's type of puzzles. Hope i can get them tonight!

notti acts: yz has been really really notti these 2 weeks. not sure if he suddenly decides its time to be in his terrible 2's or as my mum said, he s just more difficult now that im preggy.
he will deliberately do things to make us angry like refusing to drink water and spit out any water/food when he feels like it.
walk ard n touch electrical circuits/forbidden stuff when he has stop doing so for sometimes after we taught him not to previously.
fake cry loud and long when i just merely slap his palm. n shut eyes tight n make noise , refusing to listen to wat we are trying to say.
wah lau, really testing my patience to the MAX!

i tried beating him n making him sit at the notti corner but the stubborne boy just cried all the more and make his own coughing worse.. so we tried the softer method (distraction, praising) but also no use, he just up to his tricks awhile shortly after. ARGH.
i really hope this is just a passing phase!

ecookie, thx for the advice on the cough. gd dat yz is better wif the medication control.
re: mil comments
Usually I juz 1 ear in the other out. But when realli BTH den my hb will get it from me. kekeke...he noes I need to vent out b4 I go haywire. :p

maruko> good that ur hb is there to listen hehe.
i think i rant too much to hb last time and we actually will have quarrels over mil one. then we decide that lesser contact b/w mil and me is the best arrangement. :p

ecookie, how com wat u hav described sound so familiar? haha...travis also like dat nowadays. When he dun get things his way den he will juz shut his eyes tight n start to scream, cry loudly. If dun bother abt him, my mil will SAY me. So, sometimes I juz bring him into the room n shut the door. Den my mil noe i wanna discipline him liao... :p there r times when she will open the door den I will ask her to go out. Coz her being ard will only make matters worse. Den she will say "hai zi yao man man jiao, bu ke yi zhe yang de" -_-
I wont wan my son to follow my hb's footsteps lor. So no way am I heedin in this matter.

ecookie, at least u not stayin wif ur mil. I gotta face her everyday so bo pian. She can b quite nice at times but there r alot of matters which we both dun see eye to eye one. She also noe so we try not to step onto each other's tails. kekeke...so far me tink me quite gd liao lah...always givin into her requests most of the time.

re: hb listen
actualli he not listenin, he juz bo chap. I complain left ear den his right ear will com out wat I complain. -_- but he will try to cheer me up lah...

I let Elvis try puzzle before, but he's not keen to do. But Elbib doing the puzzle, he sure to come. kekeke... come and disturb and got hit by his bro.

Elvis tat time was not yet walking so many times kena hit :p

He so naughty. will take Elbib puzzle and run away :p

ecookie,
up till now, aria also spit out food when i told her so many times cannot do that..as long as she can taste something she doesn't like she will spit everything out! my maid told me one day, she threw tantrum and flip her bowl of porridge! end up she go nothing to eat but milk only!

recently she started deliberately spitting out water after learning how to gargle water ok? i told her you only spit out the water when you brush your teeth and not when you're drinking water! so when she drink her water and refuse to swallow them, i will have to remind her, darling, please swallow your water and quickly get a piece of tissue standby in case she still decide to spit it out. no choice leh.. just got to be like broken recorder and be patient with them.

she still once in a while switch on and off the electric point and likes to go behind the standing fan! headache lah..

ecookie,
yeah, i also think he will buy new clothes for Naia too..cham lah..i'm gonna be downgraded to baobei no.3 liao!

ariajo, aria noe how to gargle oredi ah? travis still cant BUT he noe how to hold water in his mouth den "blow" out... -_- so sometimes I got water all over my face.

eunice, u might wanna distract elvis while elbib playin wif the puzzle den he wont snatch & run away.

Tiffy / Maruko,

I let Elbib try early this year. He now master 20 -40 (but 40 is super super slow)

Elvis I tink I let him try in June this yr too. But he seems not keen. before that when gor gor do it, he will come along. I can't distract Elvis cos he simply playful. hahaha....

Then you can see both my boys shouting at each other again.

Puzzle : actually u all can try the wooden puzzle (those with a knob) selling at Toy r us

maruko,
hahah, travis so cute ^-^ .. yeah, i also dun know who exactly taught her how to gargle water. i taught her a few times and gave up.. then she only suck the water and throw it out immediately. then sometime later, i noticed she can gargle water leh.. was quite pleasantly suprise.. may be my MIL taught her cos she brushes her teeth when she bath aria.

eunice.... regarding the wooden puzzles... Marcus is also hooked on them.... but seems like the animal puzzles are his fave now... I remember getting them at 2 + 1 free... good deal at Toysrus.

ariajo,
what works for me is J hates to have his shirt wet. so training him to drink from a cup was quite a breeze. I just have to tell him, if you wet yourself, I have no clothes for you to change. and he will diligently hold the cup and drink properly. not sure if it'll work.

btw, re: brush teeth
I have taught J to spit out the toothpaste but he always end up swallowing them. is it ok to consume the toothpaste huh?

Petit_gars : yup tat's the one.

bbwow : wat brand is yr paste? usually those fluoride free are quite safe. For 1st teeth confirm safe cos they indicated safe to swallow :p

bbwow,
mm...let me try that on aria..haha..what kind of toothpaste you're using? i still using the firstteeth toothpaste.. think it's edible.

ariajo, cute??? It can get on my nerves whenever he do dat. :p I'm always in a rush in the mornings so cant realli guide him to gargle water.

bbwow, tink if its 1st teeth den shld b safe to swallow.

Tiffy : yup Elbib is able to do 20 to 40 pcs liao. those cheapo puzzle u can find at pasalam. when he do puzzle, he's a good boy :p

Elvis still can't really do yet. will try the wooden puzzle again this week :p

aria_jo: im so glad to read ur post. i tot yz is really notti!!! maybe cos he has been an easy baby to take care all this while so this sudden change in him really render me impatient n helpless at times. last time what ever i said, he will listen cos he s scared of me. now everything i said falls on deaf ears. argh!
i guess i just have to be more patient with him sigh..

eunice,
wah... Elbib is gd, can do those puzzle.

ecookie,
cool down. maybe it is toward terrible 2. maybe it is just a passing phrase. or maybe he is jealous cos going to have a didi soon..

ecookie, tink most of our kids r turnin 2 n more prone to show the "terrible 2" syndrome. :p so WE the mummies will hav to b alot alot more patient wif them. I feel bad at times when I gotta b stern wif him n see him cryin in front of me. But if I give in on the spot, he will tend to cry even harder. So, gotta weigh the pros & cons lor.

ok thanks mummies. I'm stll using 1st toothpaste. so what I do to miminize intake is I put very lil toothpaste. heheh

ecookie,
I think yz behaviour is normal. they're at a stage where they can 'think' liao. imagine now they can tell us "no". really have to be like broken recorder and keep enforcing to them lor. sometimes I explain to J the cause and effect of doing something and he'll stop doing it. I treat it that he understood. kekeke

Tiffy : yup I tink Elbib quite good at it. but stop playing liao.

I tink I very bad. Always compare Elvis with others and feel sad whenever he lose out. Mummies here got same feeling? My hb also "scold" me

eunice,
i won't compare but i will jealous lor when some of the kids here are better than Sherry in some ways.

gingerleaf,
think it is because of the colours and 5-6 pieces in a puzzle. u get all the sets available in case some outlet run out of certain set.

eunice, try not to compare especially the 2 bros together
might influence the "weaker" one to feel inferior. for me, I believe each individual has their own strengths & weaknesses. So, it takes time for them to find out themselves. Tink it this way & u wont compare liao

eunice/tiffy,
no need jealous or feel bad..i think it's normal.. we just need to recognize that sooner or later our kids will master what the other kids are doing.. they have their own set of threashold and ability and timeline mah..we cannot push them lah..just expose them will do. aria last time don't know how to play with the shape sorter but suddenly she can play it so well! then she cannot walk properly but now, OMG she's running so fast that sometimes she can give me heartattack ok?? and once she suprised me with her strong arms! she lifted her whole body by pressing against the table!! see, my slow motor skill darling somehow will catch up lah..hehe..the only thing now i'm worried is she still have 10 teeth..wahaha..

Maruko/ Tiffy/ Aria_jo : I really feel very very bad.... I often tell myself not to compare cos Elvis is still young. Exposure and my attention on may not be as much as Elbib. I tried to get close to Elvis, but sometimes really can't be any much help. Sigh... dun koe if you all understand wat I talking abt. me so long winded.

I also blame myself for Elvis closer to maid

If you all seen me at the bash, you will see Elvis sticky to maid than me

Tiffy,

Is the one that you bought comes in a box with around 8 sets of different pics? I have a set which is fruit and one which is animals.. only recently then lleyton start to know how to arrange a bit.

I gave the animals one to my sis long time back, so he only plays with the fruits puzzle. But cos' the fruits for each puzzle is all the same colour, so not that easy to put.. I thk the animals one may be easier for their age.

Do you offer Sherry each picture separately or the pieces all mixed up? Then she sort first before arranging?

Everytime the puzzles end up in a mess I have to sort them out.. i thk he still doesn't get the idea.

eunice, no need blame myself for Elvis being closer to maid coz she is the caregiver. Perhaps u can try to spend more time wif him when u can? I noe to a certain extent u cant help comparin coz deep down u wan both of them to exceed ur expectations. stay cool each time u tempted to compare lor :p

sugar nut,
yah, 8 different puzzles in 1 box.
at 1st i offer 1 by 1, aft she finish with 1 puzzle, i take another out. aft 2 times playing with her, she will took out 2nd puzzle aft finish the 1st puzzle. The moment all the pieces in 1 puzzle is on the floor, she will pick up piece by piece to fix it. she know which piece to fix 1st so that the next piece is easy to connect it.
huh, yah fruits is slightly harder to fix cos of same colour.

Tiffy,

I see.. I think sherry is v good at puzzles. I can't see the youtube video cos' company now block some sites.

Thk both me and lleyton no patience kind.. haha..will try your method to see if he can do the puzzles better.

eunice,
i'm sure it's just for now elvis is sticky to her cos she's the main caregiver but when he's like 4-5 years old, he'll be sticky to you..my headache now is aria is quite sticky to me.. haiz..

i have 1 major problem .. aria cannot sleep without me! so, we're booking the single room so that she and hubby can camp at the hospital with me. hubby has no confident to bring her back to sleep with her in case she will cry for me in the middle of the night! aria habit is she has to stroke my arm! sometimes when my back is facing her, she will make noise and ask me to hug her..aiyoh.. so, now my headache is even if she sleep with me at the hospital, she can't sleep with me on the bed right? hubby said he's going to bring a mattress or something.. aiyoh.. so leceh.. really headache ah..wonder if she can squeeze with me on the single bed??haiz..

wah! so many posts while i slept.. oops! keke..

dodo, i tink the brand doobom has is triumph. i didnt see anything i like when i was there so i got from wacoal instead. i got the whole vest kind dat ends just below the boobs and the fasteners are in front. shiok leh! finally i had a solution for my saggy boobs and fat tummy. but guess wat? wear less than a month and i got pregnant. tsk tsk.. i have already sworn to wear dat again once i pop. hope it helps!

re: puzzles..
so hot ar?? whoa! must go populsr later.. gingerleaf, dun take all on the shelf hor!! hahahaha

eunice,
yaloh.. i think very squeezy leh.. really very jialat.. dunnow what to do.. can't convince my hubby to bring my girl home.. he said he will have to argue his way out till the hospital let aria sleep with me..haiz..

mm..i think i found my solution. i will have to book the studio room.. the bed is queen size.. no choice, i will have to sleep with her there and not my single bedroom..alamak..

Thank you to all the Mummies for the well wishes.. xiexie ni men... I am so happy to see all the wishes....

Junnie....
Alamak.. you display the big and ugly number on the thread... cannot hide liao.... I enjoy seeing all the young young description.. when the mummmies see the BIG number.. they sure shock.. hahahhaa
Anyway.. you sama sama.. we all dont look our age la.... you are also young looking wor.....

Have to go... today quite busy.. come back here to report when I have time tonight.... Chao....

Dodo,
Aiyo... you very humble lei....You can do it... run after your 2 monsters more and you sure can lose it. I think its also part of our genes that I dont really retain the pregnancy fats...No secret to share... dont Abish me hor... in fact.. I snack alot one....

eunice, JIA YOU
im also tryin to b a gd mummy. :p

ariajo, wow...dat is realli a headache...I have decided to let Travis sleep alone after he turns 2 next mth. Muz let him learn to b independant liao. perhaps u can slowly let aria sleep alone?