(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

zhen zhen
that's what the book says..i think kids do not understand the meaning of good and bad, right and wrong. they are curious abt everything and want to try. i guess hannah just know that she's not suppose to touch base on our reaction previously, not because she understand why she cannot touch? mmm..my explanation make sense or not huh??hahaha...

so when there are time we try to them that you cannot do this because it's bad for you and if no matter what they just don't get it, dun start to get fustrated and scold/beat/punish them so that they will get it. Rather use another methods like distraction method or just carry them away or avoid method.

for example, aria can't resist mineral water bottle and will want it when she see us drinking it. soemtimes the cap is very sharp, so we don't want to let her have it and she will make a huge fuss and cry. so what we do is we will avoid letting her see any water bottles..haha..

we do the samething for nail clipper, etc.. rather than tell it's sharp, it's no good, we just keep it (avoid method) away from her sight.

Jas, thanks...i really eat like a pig these days. bfing this time really makes me very very very hungry. even more than when i was preggy both times! or mebbe i just greedy haha.

doobom, haven't seen your blog but i must imagine that u'd looking absolutely smashing in your bikini! i've thrown away all my bikinis already. last time i wore one was when preggy with matty. hahahaa...i think all the guys at the swimming pool were really horrified to see this whale wearing bikini. but i was too cheapo to buy maternity swim wear heehee.

bbwow yah i agree u should go n check with gynae to see if all is ok..

gingerleaf i couldn't resist laughing out loud when i read ur story abt lyn. hahahahah she's so cute lah i wanna squeeze her!

zhen_zhen, i think it should be max 600ml of milk a day for our kiddos at this stage...minimum is 350ml if i am not wrong. if they refuse to drink milk, try to incorporate cheese or yoghurt into their daily diet..

aria jo, thanks for the info. sometimes it's as simple as putting our tots in a conducive environment for them to play rite? having a 'yes' environment is way better than having a 'no' environment...

ariajo, bbwow, zhenzhen,
My flow still no change, as heavy as 1-2hours 'full' in night size pads. Like a tap, scary ya? I dun have these killing headaches prior to being preggie. Check with gynae two weeks ago, he mentioned that it's about slight imbalance in hormone levels. Ask if I wan to take medi, but I reject coz my cycle is really accurate. Like an alarm clock of 28days cycle. Haiz... Dun noe what to do about it.

karrie,
I oso wore biki during preggie days coz I dun wan to spend on maternity swimwear. Biki not covering tummy, so still ok. I got to go into XXL for the norm biki size then. Haha... I swam till my gyane told me to stop, say around 34 weeks.

phew.. finally can come in for a breather.. keke..

doobom, i have such experiences too! though it doesnt occur every month. so i hv been eating painkiller.. do u wana see a gynae and see wat he suggests?

bbwow, heehee.. dun worie la gal.. rem i told u adri is the direct opp of me? i refused to drink milk way b4 i turned 1yr old. so milk intake shd be zilch or definitely much lesser than wat J is having now ba? 1 qns though.. is J feeding well on solids? if he is, dun worie too much okie? though i know how irritating it is when u hv found a method to feed but itz not adhered to..
and pls see a doc for ur condition (menses).. =)

zhen zhen, glad everything's normal!

oops doobom, just read that u have seen a gynae abt it already.. wat about TCM? at least dat doesnt affect ur cycle..

karrie, you sure it's max 600ml???? i must have read an article written by a milk company!

doobom, did your gynae mention anything you can do besides taking hormones? maybe those natural herbs like what some menopausal women take?

Chersam,
I think you saw my eldest sister..she is the only one in the family who does housework. The rest are maggots at home. Oops!

Doobom & bbwow,
Try TCM or some other natural therapy. Last time i used to carry some TCM massage oil series. and there is this particular oil that is very very effective for women who has PMS problems. Alot of testimonials incl me. BUT now no more in production liao. oops!

Zhen,
Glad everything turns out well. U MUST take care ah!!!

Dreamz,Totoro/zhenZhen/Sugarnut/Aria
I was shopping @ spring maternity & they are having a promo which you can trade in any old milk bottles & get a new milk bottle which is a non-glass BPA free @ abt. S$ 9.00.
Normal Price is abt S$18.oo.I'm intending to get some this wkend.

chersam
Cherie's Twin Garina always very prone to rashes , also always kenna neck.
I saw yr blog the other day & noticed that they got the same long sleeve oshkosh multi color strip rompers.
I planning to do a blog soon , had been delayg , lazy me.

Hippo
Wanted to go cruise with HB too but he back out due to the H1N1 virus.I love cruise , wow especially the balcony class so shiok.
I like the kind of carefree feeling , really "er ren si jie" , HP no reception , cut off from the outside world for a few days.

ZhenZhen
nice clips , you are so creative.

Dreamz/tiffany
guess what? I'm SIL's MIL is paying the maid S$ 900.00 / month but she is super good la , had been with then for 10 over yrs liao.
They even brought her along to Europe for holiday .
The maid can cook really well , i love to eat her chicken rice.

Karrie
aiyo so heartpain for you , luckily nobody is injured.

junnie
you so notti disturb lance lol.
dodo
if i'm not wrong, can only keep the ebm for 1 hr only even it's heated.

Aria
Aria is so cute ,xiao ke ai.

Patty
Welcome to the thread , you got twins , must me be very cute.
Come join in our gatherings.

Gingerleaf
Lyn so funny haha .
Garina is very afraid of one of my uncle , everytime she see him she will either cling to us like a koala bear & keep shaking her head ,sometimes even cry .
Dun know why but she seldom sees him , but my uncle dotes on her very much.

It's late now , gtg to bed , gd nite.

hi all today's topic so differ from one another ... kekeke so funny and sorry to hear abt chis' friend ... hope she can enjoy all she can now and not so much in pain ...

Doobom,

Ya, it's was durian season during our 3rd trim last time.. Your durian episode q scary.. Mine is opposite.. I lost 3-4 kg during 1st trim cos keep throwing up.. By 3rd trim... Didn't put on enough weight so my gynae advised me to eat more durian... So every week buy durian ... My hb doesn't eat so I eat until coming
out of my nose...

Cm,

Hormonal imbalance does affect weight gain .. hypothyroid.. hyperthyroid ... NO i dun have them ... said by the Western doc ... hmmm !!!! got to check it out with TMC but me going to indo soon ...

gathering ... can go in JULY ??? cos leaving on 1st Aug liao ... or mid sept???

ok bye gals ... me going to airpoet now to fetch BIL & New SIL
... a little sleepy >8<

hmmm bbwow why not you change the milk powder ... maybe he dun like the taste liao ??? call and ask for sample !!! ??? \

weekday's lunch when where???? let me know ok DD can sms me if i dun come in thanks

twinkle wow 900/mth .... hmmm i was just thinking of this if my maid work for me foe long long long den her pay must be high high high too ... hmmm

twinkle star, oh... i think i saw it. it's for the b-free bottle right? must you include the teat? i have 2 bottles i want to trade in, but no teat liao.

wow zhen zhen, you're up early!

thanks aria, hippo, jas, cm, karrie for the advise. I know I outta to be spanked for dragging to see gynae. and now with the H1N1, lagi even better excuse to siam the hospital. kakaka

hippo,
J does not eat alot of solids also. that's the headache thing. I think he look at his daddy and worry if he eat/drink too much will end up like him! :p haizz

doobom,
my cycle also very zhun like yours. that's why I try to avoid medication. but hor if your bleeding gets too heavy causing you to feel unwell, may want to consult gynae again.

morning ladies!!!

zhen zhen! haha.. early bird! u are always early ma.. ydy was totoro right? keke

twinklestars, 900+? woah!!
adri's neck also quite prone to rashes.. dun worie. they will grow out of this stage if itz not eczema. itz more of heat rash.. doesnt help dat adri is scared of the heat!! hee..

bbwow, whahahaha! u are so funny! if tis is the case, then i tink i know y adri is on a milk diet.. see the daddy also scared la.. hahaha
eh.. and u stop dragging on seeing the doc okie? maybe try TCM too.. at least their meds wun affect ur cycle.. =)

morning mummies! TGIF!

zhen zhen,
ya, u r early today. keke

doobom,
i hate headache! imagine u gettin it every mth, so poor thing. i think TCM able to help u improve in some ways. go try it!

bbwow,
yes, mai tu liao, go see a gynae.

jas,
when i reached ur sis' plc, the door was ajar &amp; a lady was busy vacuuming the floor. As the doorbell is not workin, I knocked on the door. Sound fm the vacuum cleaner too loud liao &amp; the lady couldn't hear my knocks. 1st look at the lady i thot its ur mum! so i kept calling "Auntie". finally the lady noticed me, i then realised she's not tat old, luckily she can't hear me calling her "Auntie" with the buzzing vacuum sound. :p

twinkle stars,
is it? so qiao! tat romper bot by my SIL.
its never too late to start up a blog, go go set up one! =D

Mummies, good news to share! my <font size="+2">tortoise princess finally walking!!!</font>
aiyo, i hv been waiting neck long long liao. she topped on the tread being the last to walk or rather i shld say she #2, no one #1. heh heh

bbwow, sorry to disappoint J yesterday. hope the jie jie and mei mei opposite made up for it. :p

bbwow, hippo, you're very funny lah. but maybe it's true. my hubby eats a lot, but is still trim. so maybe that's why hannah thinks eating a lot is fine! wahahaha

chersam, congrats! before you know it, cherie will be running circles ard you.

chersam congrats! yah.. once she starts walking, u get lotsa pattern coming out from her. Now my boy practicing walking backwards. Headache.. keep bumping into things.

For sure, she will keep requesting to go gai-gai since she can walk ard in the shopping mall.

thanks hippo, zhen zhen &amp; sugar nut! =)

sugar nut,
she oredi everyday pester us bring her go gai gai lo. *headache*

My friend just delivered at TMC, anyone knows whether do they allow visitors now??

chersam
Yippee, now you can start chasing her liao!!
My girl yesterday say bye bye for the 1st time when we leave my mum's place to buy Milk Powder @ Guardian!! but I hope it's not a one time thingy again!

Re: Gathering
I'm ok with both dates. If there is one more in July also can ha ha .

Re: Milk
My girl also drinking less than 600ml per day leh. Her 1 feed is only 3 scoop GainIQ now. Will still left about 50ml sometimes. She eat a lot of solid at my mum's place, one big bowl of porridge!!

Chris
Sorry to hear about your friend illness. Life is really unpredictable. Got to treasure whatever we have now.

sugarnut, haha. i'm sure lleyton will grow out of it soon. hannah used to do it as well. now, she likes to go "jogging".

totoro, not sure about TMC. but when i went Mt A for my check-up, they stated that each patient can only have 2 visitors at a time. guess if you go at off-peak period, should be ok bah.

chersam: congrats!!! cherie will soon be running ard!! time to slim down for u hahehehehe..

zhenzhen: i tot most of the baby books i read recommended at least 600ml per day. but of cos every babies different, so some babies mayb drink less but get the required vits,calcium intake from other solids like cheese?

doobom: i think u should seek a 2nd opinion? i think severe headaches related to menses is quite unusual. i do experience some headaches sometimes before or during menses, but not as severe as you mentioned...

zhen zhen,
can i get 1 pair of snap clip fr u? btw, tomolo ard 12pm are u at hm? if u at hm, can i get it fr u tomolo?
plain t-shirt kiddy palace might have. i ever bought it. romper not so sure. u want to sew felt design on it?

zhen zhen,
it's ok. although J kept asking me "jie jie where?" when we reached the car. I told him she's sleeping and you should go home sleep too! and true enough he fell asleep in the car seat! keke

re: cheap plain t-shirts
you can try the shop at Waterloo St. half a dozen of tops only $10. Alternatively, there's quite a few shops at TPY central that sells 3 for $10 cotton tops better material.

chersam,
congrats on cherie walking! and more chasing around the house for you.

ecookie, that's what i thot, that the guide is ard 600ml. but karrie mentioned 340ml, that's why i thot i read wrongly.

totoro, tiffy, thanks for suggestions.

tiffy, so 1 pair of snap clips, one pair of alligator clips without teeth. correct? btw, the snap clips that i have are the small ones. about 3cm. is that ok? let me chk what my hubby wants to do tmr first. i confirm with you later?

bbwow, the shop at waterloo st sells kids tops too?

tiffy, i found a new project to do. stencilling! gonna try it out later.

zhen_zhen, yupp it's 350-600ml of milk in total a day for our babies. anythign more than that and it takes away their appetite for solid foods. that's according to Gina Ford in the Contented Little Baby Book.

re cheap plain t shirts...i know there are some markets with children wear shops...they have really cheap singlets like 3 for $10 and we got those for Matty and Mea. I think www.babymallonline.com has some really cheap rompers like here http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/28/products_id/1171/osCsid/a29027b6cf9a654f7e8ae2ac67f6da6c. Can join one of the sprees.

Twinklestars, thanks..yah glad no one was hurt. btw, ur sil can keep the glass bottles...dun rush her or anything ok...so paiseh...cos my mil's fridge and freezer no space liao altho i would prefer to store the milk in glass bottles...

Chintz, I collected the milkbags yesterday
I must say I prefer them to the Lansinoh ones which I was using previously. Cos it's more compact for storage and it's self-standing. Will find a time to send them to u...or mebbe we can meet for weekend breakfast cum playdate :D

and Chersam, CONGRATS!!!! HEHEHE now u lagi 'bo eng' running after cherie liao haha. we always say matty is the only reason we ever exercise...esp for my hb!

Chris, so sad to hear of your friend's cancer coming back. life is indeed unpredictable and we should learn to count our blessings huh.

hippo,
I have yet tried seeking advice from TCM. Maybe when the pain becomes intolerable, then I will go. Hehe...
I used to see TCM for my health. Was kinda weak, and went to seek TCM. By viewing/observing my tongue, was told that slight gastric problems only, so started course of TCM medi for half a year. 'Tongue' appears better right after one two weeks of medi. Later on... Due to some overseas commitment, I stop for a period of time and the problem came back again. 'Tongue' started appearing not so healthy. It seems that the TCM medi is not helping, except solving it temporarily. So I am kinda reluctant whether to seek TCM advice. Haiz...

ecookie,
Yup, the pain was with me since yesterday early noon. Till this morning, I cun take it and pop Panadol Actifast. I forget to bring my painkillers (Naproxen) for my menses. Haiz... Dun noe whether to further rely on the painkillers or to seek 2nd opinion. Kinda lazy to go source for 2nd opinion.
The painkillers were taken even during pre-preggie days coz my menses all along was quite bad. Just that headache comes after delivery, so I suffered more becoz of the headaches than the cramps.
I can at least 'think' even with the cramps, but just simply cun 'think' when the headache strikes.

chersam, haha! enjoy ur running after her at the malls.. kekeke..

zhen zhen, ha! so good.. new art &amp; craft project? can try this shop @ Bugis (shd be waterloo la.. hee) blk 269 (corner, near toilet, next to medicinal hall) opp Guan Yin Temple.

doobom, oic.. hmm.. u monitor ur situation okie? no good to keep having intense headaches! i m speaking for myself too.. haha.. hv been procrastinating on seeing the doc.. argh!

karrie, so as long as they're eating well, then dun need to reduce milk intake? and no worries, babymallonline also have plain rompers and tees. but more for babies. maybe i buy some and make for my #2.

hippo, thanks for being so detailed! so they sell plain kids t-shirts?

thanks totoro, ecookie, bbwow &amp; karrie! =)
Yay, looking fwd to slim down. hiak hiak hiak!

zhen zhen,
wah, found new art &amp; craft ah! show us once done okie?

doobom,
u got cramps for menses? do u often take cold drinks? if yes, advisable to cut down.

zhen zhen, yes! they shd have.. haha.. i hv this add cos i remembered dat bbwow &amp; myself were looking for babies' home clothes when we were preggers.. keke..

I'm in SINGAPORE, buried under ton's of document
Read and review under my eyes blur liao.

Looking forward to 9th July. Anyway my supervisor is in BKK now and he say ' life is very much 'as usual' no diff to Singapore.

Chersam,
Congrats !!

Karrie,
Only 600ml a day huh ? oh dear, Caelen been drinking 720ml min a day :p

Re:Gathering,
very likely I'll be in Melbourne from 8th August for 2 weeks.
Just to let all know, east coast parks is VERY pack on weekend (can see small tents everywhere and no car park lot) and for outdoor activity, need back-up plan in case of bad weather.

Doobom,
What happen ? Couldn't find your post on the cause of your pain. I used to have very bad menses cramp on day 1 of menses (which can even irritate my bowel) and break into cold sweat. My gynae gave me 'arcoxia' which is very effective (1 can last a day) and does not irritate the stomach (gastric friendly). But it's a drug that need to be prescribe by doctor.

zhen zhen,
the plain tops are button tops so not sure if that helps. I have 2 plain sleepsuits never worn before cause J sweats too much. if you're interested, I'll pass it to you in our next gathering ya.

hippo,
wahh...you still remember ah. next time dunno when we'll talk about our #2! hhaha

jovial, poor thing! gambatte!!!

bbwow, button tops are in buttons down the front? i dun mind getting the plain sleepsuits from you. it's the footed-kind? what size huh? how much??

thanks jovialz! u still in SG ah, thot u fly off liao. kekeke. no worries, after these hardworks, u can relax &amp; enjoy ur holiday next week liao ya. :p

zhen zhen,
yes, button front. sleepsuits are those footed kinds. aiyo. FOC la. I don't need it anymore since J can't wear them. you can keep for #2. think it's for 6 months and above depending on height. :p

did a search on milk intake. most indicate upto 24oz (heng ah), too much affect only the desire to take solid food but also cow's milk reduce Iron absorption. Think better make sure Caelen don't drink so much milk liao.

bbwow, thanks!

jovial, so dun need to feed so much milk huh. chay! i thot must, that's why added another milk feed to hannah's feeding schedule. maybe can go back to 3 milk feeds again then.

hello mummies!

Sorry I was busy planting at Happy Farm (facebook game) and planning for my taiwan trip in October.

Didn't have time to read through the archives, but browse through today's posts saw that mummies are unclear of the milk intake that our child should take at this age.

This is what I got from Babycentre website:

Milk, cheese and yogurt
Offer your child these foods about three times a day. Dairy products provide plenty of calcium for growing bones, but are extremely low in iron. Toddlers need less milk than babies and should not be given large bottles of milk. Offer about 120ml (4fl oz) of milk in a cup as a drink. In total, your toddler should have no more than 350ml (12fl oz) a day. Large drinks of milk will reduce your toddler's appetite for other foods, especially those higher in iron.
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/toddler/nutrition/howtofeed/

dooboom,
I have migrane when I'm having menses. I always take panadol to stop the pain. Sometimes the pain is so severe that it makes me vomit. But I'm having this problem for many years already. It's not just after birth.

sanbebe
hmm, 120ml x 3 = 360ml
hmm, then my girl will be drinking slightly more or just enough.

Wow! Planning a birthday trip for Jav in Oct. So nice! He's back at the half day childcare?