(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Thks mummies,i juz hope that she recover soon.

chris:
shanice oso dun like the nebuliser. Nd the nurse & myself to hold her & another nurse to hold the mask for her & she cry her lungs out

chersam:
her fever started tis morn. So hv to stay home for the rest of the wk. I'll be on leave tmr & fri to look after her.

junnie,
i am not sure whether is per vote per IP address or everyday per vote. cos i click twice, it show 2 votes leh.

Hope all kids recover fast so that can join the gathering. Perhap mummies wants to let our kids take honey. cos in long term run, they won't catch flu, fever n cough so easily.
Jovialz n me had been giving our kid honey, hor.

Tiffy,
yah ... I think it's saved me from bad throat too. Throat feel itchy, I straightaway took 1 tablespoon and go to sleep. Next morning ok liao.

oh no.. I read that many babies here are sick!

Lleyton can't escape too.. he was down with fever last night so this morning we brought him to the walk-in clinic at KKH. Then they took X-ray for him to check on his cough as well.

Gave him medicine for running nose, cough, phelgm, fever, anti-biotics, nose drop.. 6 types of medicine. I took annual leave today and tmrw, wanted to rest a bit.. now burn..haha.. cos' hv to take care of him at home.

Cherie_bear, shanice also din go Creative today? Must be some virus spreading within the PG.. but inevitable lah. Lleyton hasn't really been recovering since he started in May.

Hippo, sorry for the late reply. Yah, I am interested in your warmer. I arrange and get it from you another time? Not sure when is the next gathering though.. but hope there is one more before I deliver. Otherwise, sure can find sometime to meet up.

me drowning in work for these 2 weeks! very tiring period for me. my paternal grandmother passed away last thursday. so had been busy with work, going to the wake and taking care of yz who has been down with fever on monday but luckily seems to be recovering already.

this year like not very good for me. my maternal grandma passed away just barely 1 mth back then now paternal grandma's turn.

and seems like alot of babies sick ! hope all will get well and can see most of you at the gathering!

sugar nut:
yah,shanice din go today & will be staying home for the rest of this wk. Yah,it's unavoidable for them to fall sick. But i shld say it's much better than she was in infant care (aircon env).

thanks bbwow!

sugarnut, sure! will keep it aside for u... which area do u stay? see if i shd leave it at my mum's place or my own place.. keke =)
aiyo.. lleyton still sick ar? i tink not so much of virus in the air. more like virus is being "recycled".. cos the kids get it one by one and "pass" back to those who have recovered one by one.. hmm.. do feed him multi-vits and like they suggested, honey to boost his immune system? big hugs to lleyton..

cheriebear, r u giving shanice any mutli-vits etc? poor girl..

ecookie, my deepest condolences to u & ur family..

hippo:
i start to give shanice cod liver oil every day since last wk but sometimes forget. Actually i suspect her cough was due to biscuits but teachers there told me they dun give. Y suspect cos last mth,i saw them gave biscuits to the children & the next day shanice was down wif fever,cough & ulcer. So tis time,i juz hv to trust that the teachers really nv give biscuits lor though i alrdy instruct them not to give.

ecookie:
u take care. It's very sad to see our grandparents leaving us. I rem my maternal grandma & paternal grandma oso left us within 4 mths after each other.

Karrie, actually I’m hoping for another girl. My hubby is of course hoping for a boy, but he has a feeling #2 is a girl too. But whatever the case, we’re just praying for a healthy baby. That’s the most important!

Chris, Brig is sick again! Oh no! Hope he recovers quickly, so we’ll get to see the both of you on Saturday. Hannah is like Brig, doesn’t like to watch TV. She will look at the program for 5 seconds, and then start running around again.

CM, Chersam, Cherie Bear, Sugar nut, Ecookie, hope your little ones recover quickly!

Chris,
poor Brig, hope he recover soon. Must be heartpain to see him feeling sick frequently. You might want to consider TCM to 'tio' his body ?

Caelen don't really watch TV except for POCOYO and Leapfrog's learning factory. He like LP is because as they introduce each letter, they sings. He loves music and would dance whenever he hears music.

Ariajo,
GAMBATE !!! Probably by the time you free to read post, you'd completed your assignment. Take photo for us to view ok ?

hippo:
voted for Adri !

Jovialz,
I have a superrrr itchy throat for the past 2 weeks... wat did you take? Hb and Tiffany is down with the same condition too. I have almost tried everything...but nothing works :p

cheriebear, i tink u dun hv a choice except to trust them. let shanice have loads of water when she's home.. =)

zhen zhen, if i have a 2nd one, i'd love to have a girl too.. keke..

petit_gars, thanks! hmm.. itchy throat.. have u tried drinking warm water?

Been busy and having a headache. Feel like I am gonna fall sick. Having slight sorethroat and stiff neck. Hate this kind of feeling.

Feel sorry for those kids who are sick and unwell. Hope all recovers fast and get well soon. Andrea also had cough and phelgm, but she is still active. Have been giving her medicine to clear up her phelgm.

Zhen Zhen,
I was at Robinson earlier to check out the Avent Steriliser price, wow... dint know its so expensive now. Selling at $214. Goodness! Things are pricer and pricer. The current model selling is IQ Express, while mine is IQ24. Both also take 6mins to complete sterilising.

I love girl girl too... Find them so sweet and cute. Boys really gets to your nerves!

Re: DVD
I think at this age, the toddler will enjoy music/singing/action program better, those story based kind, I feel it bores them.

ecookie,
Sorry to hear about your Grannies demise. My maternal uncle also just passed away last sat.

Jovialz,
ok ok... will def try it. din know this is work? I bought it mainly for the kids and it's still resting in my cabinet.

Hippo,
I tried drinking warm water after I took all sorts of english and chinese medicine... but it recurs pretty fast... so was looking for alternative.

hippo, tiffany, high-5! love dressing hannah up. can't wait to do the same if #2 is a girl too. woohoo!

tiffany, i think the prices keep going up every year le. the price you saw seems more ex compared to when i was scouting around the first time. they really know how to make money from us. how come our pay don't go up as quickly??

Zhen Zhen

Ya. Precisely. I also noticed goods are getting more and more expensive. Even kuey or bun/bread, last time 50cts each, now minimum 80cts each... hahaha
I got my Avent steriliser for $159 only..

Agree lei, salary also dont go up so fast!

ecookie, sorry to hear about your loss. hope you and your family are coping well.

tiffany, better take something for your sore throat quick, before you get full blown illness!

petit gars, don't sleep in air-con and try to sleep propped up. no spicy, fried and citrus foods. that's what doc recommended i do. hope it helps!

re:DVD
Sherry likes Hi5. she always like to dance like those characters in Hi5. Always like to do the same action like them.
Barney DVD she also like. especially Barney in Zoo episode, sometime she roar like the lion.

jovialz,
Honey is a gd buy hor. kids n us also can take for maintaining gd health. i tried mix with water to let sherry drink but she drink abit don't want so i mix into her cereal she finish up everything.hahaha

zhen_zhen,
I have been staying away from fried, spicy and cold food and drinks.... but really can't stand nights without aircon..keke :p I will try if tonight isn't that warm

Re DVD,
Marcus was hooked on Barney, Hi-5 and Mickeymouse Clubhouse.... He will dance and pretend to be the superheros in the Hi-5 series, and he loves almost every song in the Barney series.

This mummy must try her best to cut down on TV... however Marc will not eat without TV...Toys dun help...haiz.

Interesting topic today!!

Jovial,

Whats the diff betwn Manuka n normal honey? What is umf 20+?

That time i bot a jar of Really Raw Honey with the cappings inside, the cappings are supposed to be good la, but it taste so weird, so waxy! Now the honey is sitting ard somewhere...

Ecookie,
Sorry to hear about the demise of both your grandma.

Tiffy,
Yap ! Same here, Caelen don't like to drink. But he can finish when I mix with cereal.

Gingerleaf,
Manuka honey is unique to NZ. I'd bought 1 bottle from the Honey World BP the last time round and 1 bottle of Organic one. Didn't like the taste of the organic one. So now I buy only the non-organic manuka honey. I buy direct from the distributor, can get 30% off but must buy 6 of the same type (1kg) or 12 of the same for 500g. BP max is 25% off. We can finish at least 1 bottle in 3 weeks +.

Brand is not important as it could be locally brands like Honeyworld. What is important it the source / packing company. Better get those with license from Active Manuka Honey Association http://www.umf.org.nz/Active-Manuka-Honey-Association.cfm. Honeyworld's supplier is Honey Valley New Zealand Limited License number 1037.

<u>What is UMF®?</u>
UMF® is an antibacterial property which is naturally present in some strains of manuka honey, but it is not in all manuka honey UMF® Manuka Honey, the type of manuka honey which has the special UMF® antibacterial property, is highly sought-after for its health-giving qualities.

<u>What is special about UMF® Manuka Honey?</u>
Laboratory studies have shown that UMF® Manuka Honey is effective against a wide range of very resistant bacteria including the major wound-infecting bacteria and the stomach ulcer causing bacteria helicobacter pylori.

<u>UMF® is Totally Natural</u>
The UMF® property is a floral property naturally in the nectar of some manuka flowers. UMF® Manuka Honey is totally natural and safe and has been enjoyed for its own unique flavour for many years.

<u>The UMF® Standard</u>
The UMF® activity is additional to the usual active properties of honey. But not all manuka honeys have the UMF® activity and among those that do, the strength varies.

The UMF® standard was established to identify and set apart the type of manuka honey which has the UMF® healing property. The small proportion of manuka honey that has the special UMF® property is identified by the name UMF®.

The UMF® standard is the only standard worldwide identifying and measuring the antibacterial strength of honey.

<u>Testing honey for antibacterial activity</u>
The presence of the UMF® property can be detected only by special scientific testing using criteria laid down by the Honey Research Unit at The University of Waikato. Gribbles Analytical Laboratories in Hamilton, New Zealand, is the only laboratory approved to carry out UMF® testing.

<u>The UMF® Rating</u>
The name UMF® is followed by a number that indicates the strength of the UMF® antibacterial property in a batch of UMF® Manuka Honey tested in the licensed laboratory after the honey has been packed.

A UMF® 5 rating is the minimum to qualify to use the name UMF® and be suitable for treating infections.

<u>History</u>
For thousands of years honey of all kinds has been known to have healing properties. It has also been traditionally recognized that honey from some plants in some areas is more effective than other honeys.

Most honeys have antibacterial activity due to the enzyme, glucose oxidase, which gives rise to hydrogen peroxide, a proven antiseptic with antibacterial properties.

Since 1981 Dr Peter Molan, MBE, Associate Professor in Biochemistry has researched the ancient healing properties of honey. He discovered that the honey from some strains of the New Zealand manuka Bush (Leptospermum Scoparium) has an antibacterial activity not present in any other honey. This activity is known as UMF®.

gingerleaf,
jovialz is right. Manuku Honey is gd, natural sweetness unlike some other brand selling outside they have sugar added in it to make it sweet.

jovialz,
for start, i give organic manuku honey to sherry.

Good morning all!

read that some kids fell sick, speedy recovery to everyone!

the weather is melting me! take care mummies!

jovialz,

brough him to see a TCM le. He is on cong cao plus 10 others herbs togehter weekly. I will buy in bulk and packed into individual pack myself.

But this time round he is not that bad, still active...

Sometime i also feel so helpless. My BIL is those type who dun bring kid to see doc when sick.. only when they get serious. They dun bring them to see PD, only GP. Not that im against GPs, im just against the GP they r seeing, cos he is very into antibiotic.. So when Brig is there, he bound to get the virus from his cousin. They dun 'educate' his cousin to stay away from brig when he is sick.. they just ignore. The cosuin will alway kiss his younger sis even when he is sick... so is the envirnment.

Brig has been to CC for close to 3 mths, he dun get sick more often when compared with taking care by my MIL. In fact he is only sick when ever his cousing is sick and they have contact.. so i also dun know what to do. Now, i refused to bring brig over untill all recover...

I may consider bringing him to see another TMC, any recomandation???

zhen zhen,

right... health is most impt, regardless of gender.

HOpe that we can join in on saturday.. really miss all the kids.

Hannah also dun like to watch TV... haha.. sometime im just so lazy, hope to have a 10mins break.. so i play a DVD for him... but well... no use... hee hee

today im so touched by brig...

I sent him to the childcare ealy as they have a outing today to Hort Garden.

He insist of sending me off.. He opened the gate, said bye bye before he went back to the teacher....

he brightened up my day...

chersam,

so cheire not going for her jab this saturday? If we are going for the gathering (if our kids are well...) want to go togehter? But i dun have a car, my HB is officialating a competition... so he is using the care.. `

cherie_bear,

same as brig... it took me one hr to finish one rose of the drug and end up is not effective... I try not to force him cos he will get phobia...

Now with the puffer, is more like a game to him.. He set up his own puffer, cover his mouth and nose with it, and start counting 1-8...

Chris,
you may consider seeing this TCM, which my sisters have been seeing since 20 years ago. He is the one who really cure my sister's asthma when she was a child. A real nice and chatty man... in fact I just brought Marcus to see 2 days ago. I like him cos he's not that kind who will offer strong herbs to young kids... not a pushy kind too... hope he can help

Tanjong Pagar Medical Hall

7 Tg Pagar Plaza #01-101, 081007, Singapore

p: 62235687

Name of Physician: Qing Liang

Morning Mummies...

As I google search for the 7 wonders of the world, it seems that the list is so long. There are even different categories, e.g. Ancient, Natural, modern, etc.
OMG, I was just trying to recall the 1st set of 7 wonders that I was taught during my early school days.
Any mummies can recall?
From what I remembered, the '1st set' of 7 wonders consist of Great Wall, Pyramid, Mt. Fuji, Pisa Tower, etc.
I cun remember the rest.

Any idea?

morning all

chris.. my heart will melt too if my kids can do wat ah brig did to u tis morning... so sweet of him =) haha.. he &amp; his puffer!

chersam, cherie_bear, surgarnut,ecookie, tiffany, YL... hope ur kids recover soon.

tiffany, petit_gar... hope u both wont fall sick, wanna meet u all tis sat!

ecookie....... can understand how tire u r... *hug hug*... sorry to hear the loss of ur another granny, hope all @ home has overcome it.

tiffany, u too, sorry to hear bt ur uncle... is sad to part w our family member...

tiffy.. oic, so tat means can keep clicking to vote!! ok ok, later go &amp; try again, ysterday i tried once.

chersam.. i got replied fm maryann said vote ok.... huh, she asked u izzit me?? funny hor..

zhenzhen.. now still 50/50 until ur detailed scan... u r rite, a healthy bb is more impt =) hahaha.. where on earth the boss will increase our pay tis period..they'll sure quote the term 'economy no good'!

jovial, thks 4 updating on CM.... wonder how's carlson now... thks 4 the honey info too, so wat grade shd our kids take? u knw any BP going on now?

Yes, Junnie. Remember Taj Mahal &amp; Nigara Fall were in the list of the set that I was taught during my early school days.

hippo,
Yes, I included pyramid. Cun really remember if hanging gardens of babylon was in the list.

hmm....

With the new list that comes in different categories, its really long list of these 7 different cat of wonders if one aims to conquer...

Hihi... back from lunch.

bbwow, Eiffel tower is one of those that I remembered taught in the early schooling days.

I am feeling the after lunch effect... So sleepy.

seem that it's quiet here today.

Shopaholic mummies,
Any idea if there is upcoming Mango/Zara sale?

my son recovered fr cough, now my daughter down with very bad cough. very worried that will come down with bronchitis again.
tired.

any mom knows where to get the custom fit plastic cover for health booklet?

hope all sick kids will get well soon!

re: gathering
i can only reach around 1plus on sat. everyone eats &amp; chat slowly ok? :)

YL,
I bought mine from Popular last time. Just bring the health booklet along &amp; ask the staff to help you find the correct size :)

Busy at work today. Now taking a breather to come in.

Feeling better today. Yesterday night was feeling so fatigue that I asked hubby to take over my nite duty, while I rested earlier. Taking lots of Vit C drink to help recover. Am so looking forward to meeting all on Sat, so, cannot fall sick mann.

doobom,
You seemed to be more free at work now? Got time to feel sleepy after lunch and think about Zara/Mango sale.. haha... good good... work also need some relaxation time. Thats why I am now here typing to relax my eyes and brain.

Re:Gathering
I will be there abt 1245pm to 1pm. Please reserve seats for me arh.....

Petit gars
It seems like you are the only one that your maid is eating the buffet. My kiddos are so handful that I will normally feed my maid before-hand, if not, she can never eat in peace. Even me, I can hardly eat properly or in peace. You will see for yourself mann... she has no time to sit down and eat one. Cos, both my kids will have to run-around after few bites of their lunch. Backside got needles.

Regarding Marcus has to watch TV during meal time. Andrea is also like that. If no TV, then she will need some toys in her hands.

My kids will watch TV when drinking milk. This will keep them in one position. Haiz.. bad bad habit.

Yes, Tiffany. I need to do something about my clothes collection, especially my office wear.
I am so looking forward to the gathering this sat to meetup with all the mummies &amp; babies.

Speedy recovery to all mummies/babies who are sick.

Tomorrow will be a busy day for me. In case no chance to come in, enjoy your weekends.

Mummies &amp; Babies going for the gathering,
See ya soon.