(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

junnie
I am still very busy at work!Yes, running around headless and have to keep coming up with new things due to the different direction given! hiaz
Now, the most I can do is to update my FB status and view updates on my phone during my toilet breaks, journey to work/meeting etc ha ha

totoro_bb: hope its nothing serious for you. keep us posted.
yah mine is ard 750 so after 300 subsidy ard 450. think diff centres charges differ slightly. the one at my workplace is slightly higher mainly due to its air con and rental higher since at bugis i presume.

chintz, cherie_bear.. ya ya, hv to b kiasu abit, everywhere u tink within ur criteria, must chop plc 1st then see wat outcome then decide...

totoro.. ur routine sounds v rushing.... do hv some rest as when possible... dun worry...go along w ur gynae's advice & keep praying.. everyting will b ok... hope to hear good news fm u too.... take care...

ai yo, miss one day post then got so much to catch up

Junnie,
I didn't miss her lah. She 'popped' liao mah. I didn't remove YL cos I don't how is she leh.

Chris, ECookie
I'm looking around east area also lor. Went to see Savannah condo before, but the price is still high then. Now wait 1 or 2 months more. Hubby in charge of looking at classified ads for good deals.

Chersam,
Why not consider bringing Cherie along ? Japan quite children friendly. some more can cut queue during immigration custom
I'd went to japan / osaka with Caelen last October. One thing for sure, Japan's Merries diaper is very good

Gingerleaf,
I also realise your pet get dirty very easily. While you were away, I'd to bath her twice in a day. Guess your pet can't be like you, bath once in 5 fays . kekeke.

Ariajo,
Ai yo how come so last minute ? But then, it is very tiring for old folks lor. In any case, think getting maid also need sometime to train.

Hi Mummies, any one heard of Zoo Phonics? there is one at Bt Timah and Jurong i think ... HB wanted to put Carlson in for hte 18-30 mth Zoo Toddlers

Cherie Hearts my gal is in there be4 ... i paid like 800.00++ ... per mth yes ... their is more ex la ... and hmm its a new centre at that time so they always change the teacher ...

Totoro hope you are better ... take care ok .. :")

Junnie i cannot book the 19/2 cos he is not around ...i got another date on 26/2 hmm @ 12pm cos after that he is gone again for con meeting keke mine and yrs is differ Prof Quek

Maid ... hmm i changed 3 times ok ...

MIL Maid & CC ...
Will if 1 kid den CC if 2 kids Den Maid for me ...
even with Maid chose one that can be indepenance ok ... can stay at home with kids only not with IL ...
what if they are gone .. ha waiting to see what will happen if this day come man ... (oh i sound so bad ... but i am too HOT liao when come to this topis)

NO MIL ... I DUN HAVE ONE ever since my BIL got his SON ha ha last yr i nearly D my HB with MIL issue too ... but did not post here but now ok liao in a way cos after talking to my HB i den knew that he was in the DARK all these while when i am angry with his family ... well in my fault too as in i nvr tell him cos of his work ... all those gather all the way from my pregy time with C >*<

ya, mummies,
If u intend to put ur tod @ cc or playgroup, can start looking around n put on waiting list prefabably dont need to put deposit...... Sometimes can wait up to 1/2 year or so. For my case, i was too late to enrol my older girl for a popular kindergarten... Apparently need to do so 1 year ahead, ie @ 2 yrs old. Our oct toddlers going to b 1 1/2 yrs old soon.

No offense to anybody k, Im just sharing my view. pls dun be angry with me!!

Re grandparents looking after grandkids.

I always feel that its NOT their responsibilities nor obligation to look after the small ones. They have lived a long and hard life, I think its time they relax also. However, somehow in our chinese culture or maybe just singapore's, we kinda expect our parents to look after our kids coz of the cost &amp; trouble to hire outside help. But I think we shld let our parents have a relaxing time too.

Aria,
cheer up, go find a maid to look after aria. I have many frds who had no choice but went down that route coz both needa work. So they leave maid n baby at home, and most are very happy with their decision. You also get more rest at home w/o needing to do hsework too!

Aria .. keke agreed with G ... go get a maid ...
dun need to look at IL face too

I am living happily with maid and kids

cm... oh.. so cant see u &amp; carlson 19/2 =( tink most of the prof v busy... prof quek was being interviewed by 'zao an ni hao' ysterday morning! nvr heard abt zoo phonics, u tell us more if carlson enrolled there... glad to hear u &amp; hb 'boh dai ji' over mil issues... phiew! really hard on u, last yr so happening 4u, working in mad company, maid prblm, carlson not well, hb away.. aiyo... heng everything is over... really envy u to overcome tis yourself...

gingerleaf.. wat u said is not wrong. 4 my case is opp, my mum duno how to 'xiang sou' always 'ai pai mia' &amp; stubborn like a boo gving me hardtimes. as for mil, mine so far so good may b bcos i oni sees her once a wk, heng arr..

aria,
cheer up. go find a maid since ur fil will be ard to monitor.

cm,
i am living happily too but no maid. i am the maid lor

junnie,
i better than u. i do not have to see that stupid mil of mine forever.hehehe

junniez,

heh. For my case is, my mum dun even bother la. Since my dad pass on till now, I also never see her. CNY I oso nvr go back. Anyway my inlaws said canot go back eat reunion, so I took it as an excuse not to go back anyway! Hehe. Lucky I got supportive inlaws, but sometimes when it comes to baby matters, they gets on my nerves too. Hehe.

jovial.. orh.. ur table is for current preggie mummies... i thot for those hving #2 aft oct bb...hehe..

tiffy, gingerleaf.. looks like being ren jia nu er or xi2 fu4 also chiam.... overall... sheng bu you ji!! hiaz.... so conclusion = as long we happy - who cares rite? dun let our cells die for nothing... kekeke..

re: grandparents taking care of grandkids,
i absolutely agree wi gingerleaf... and to think that they are so old already, it's double tiring on them... actually not only sporean, many of my msian cousins also like that, and some are even worse, just dump the kids at my aunties place and can MIA the whole week.. very irresponsible parents... i just voice out my view also, no offend to anyone!

im troubled now.....

hubby just told me he needs to go 武汉 重庆 for work whole of next week. his boss told him to bring along zq and me but i dun really feel like going, coz he will be there for work, so only can be wi us after he knock off, what for zq and me tag along..
but i scared to stay home the whole week wi zq myself, coz all my cooking pots not arrive yet, hubby packs all my meals, so if only left zq and me, i really duno how to settle my meals and also i will be tired till death.. nowadays i just yearn for hubby back from work and "hand-over" to him...

sigh~ how???

Dodo,
I would think you should go with your hubby taking into consideration of your worries. At least, anything he is within reach.

jovialz,
but i rather concerned to bring zq along, coz worried he will catch any germs and fall sick.. and also i cant cook his meals over there, but also rather unsure abt the hygiene over there, though hubby said can have hotel room service, but again im not sure whether is there anythg that suits him or not, and also we have to fly from BJ to chong qing, then stay a few days then fly to wuhan again, i just feel it's too hectic for zq and me.. sigh..

but i know this assignment very impt to him also... and he bu fang xin to let us stay at home the whole week also.. aiya, really very troubled leh..

Can fly someone (i.e. Mum) up to help you ? Guess your hubby might be more 'fan xin' this way.

Or do like what you'll do on travel, bring the slow cooker ?

re: grandparents talking care of grand children,

My MIL is the oppsite! She want to talke care of Brig, even when she has to take care of a 3.5 yr old, 3 mth at the same time. How to take care of 3kids, do all the housework, cook 4 everyone... ??

When we told her brig is going to childcare, she v unhappy.. till now. Kept on saying that the cc will strave brig.. cos brig is a big eater. Unless my hb also affected. Tell me to tell the CC to feed brig more if he is hungry and we will pay extra for the extra food he consume... sign

jas,

is too far for you!! Although can take bus 28 from bedok to somewhere near there..

Location is v impt. No use stressing yourself up with the transportation..

Chris,
I agree that location very important. But then , Bedok areanot much childcare lor. I guess, the CC think bedok community old liao, not many kids.

morning mummies...

was on leave ytd taking care of anders. he fell sick again.. got fever in IC..aiyo, this is like the 6 times he been to PD since he started IC in Dec...hope he can build his immunity real soon.. everytime when he is about to adapt, he will be sick and out of action again...

any recommendations for vitamins for kids of their age? upset to see him always ill.... =(

jovialz,
pre-nursery is it similar as playgroup? me abit blur on this.

dodo,
think best is ask ur mum to go beijing to stay with u while u hb away for that 1 week.

ponponta,
oh dear, hope he gets well soon. Not sure about giving vitamin supplement for toddler. How about more fruits and vegetables ? For me, I'll feed him a few spoonful of the cordycep soup when I "dun" for my hubby and I once a month.

Tiffy,
I also a bit blur. I guess is similar, both also 2 - 3 hours a day and goes there can learn something ? Pre-nursery is for 3 and above i guess.

Dodo,
I agree with Tiffy. I'll also be bu fan xin to let you stay alone in unfamilar place for a week given you are in 3rd trimester and have a toddler with you.

ponponta: oh no, poor anders. hope he ll build up his immunity soon! i guess more vegs + fruits will help as jovialz said.

dodo: i think its better not to follow? cos like v hectic got lil' zq n you too. for meals, can u tabao ur dinner from the club hse below? then buy a small saucepot to cook zq porridge for the time being. think for zq, can buy meat n veg to stock up for 1 week, shld not b a prob?

dodo, I agree with ecookie. I thought it may be better not to follow since it's one week. You can buy a few essential pots for cooking ZQ meals first, and get the food stuff ready.

It's a bit of a hassle if you have to bring everything along, and end up stuck in the hotel room until your HB comes back fr work.

Unless you want to take this as a chance to tour the place too? Then maybe you all can go along.. more enjoyable.

Ponponta, hope Anders will get well soon!

So it's true that once go IC or CC, they tend to fall sick v easily?? I heard about it too.. even the in-charge there told me to standby my leave to look after them if they fall ill.

poponta,

oh, poor thing.

How about cod liver oil? Brig is also taking cordycep with some other herbs that prescibe by his chinese physician once a week. Other than that, he is on multi vit, cant remember the exact number, Samucol or something like that.

Im trying to booast up his immunity before sending him to cc next month. Im nt sure if it help cos he still get sick but now at least his lung s are not affected.

Try soup like white fugus/lily/lotus seed w red dates (good for lungs), 4-sheng etc

If he alway get flu, running nose etc, try ABC soup... carrot, oanion, potatoes

thanks! i tink he also seldom eat fruits and veg.. will have to introduce him more...

chris, it may be a good idea to let brig booast his immunity.. i never thought so earlier.. was prepare to take leave but so many leave to this extend..moreover economy is not doing well...

dodo, it is very tiring.. if you up to it. i guess this is a good opportunity.. but it is a week with 2 destinations? any helper to help you in BJ? if not, like what other mummies suggest, getting small pots to cook for yourself and ZQ...

ponponta,

i starts to get worry abt brig. He sick so often before cc... dun dare to think what will happen aft he goes to one... sign

dodo, think asking ur mum to fly over there to help out is really a good plan..
also a good bonding time with for u and her
- i always like to ask my mum to come over when hb's not around.. we can gossip about so many things

ponponta, hope anders will recover soon!

gingerleaf,
no offence.. yeah, if grandparents really dun wish to take care, cannot force lah. but just felt disappointed..but yeah, my MIL slogged for most of her life, should really let her rest...

karrie
thanks for the maid agency recommendation. will check it out tomorrow. may i know what is the agency rate? I'll be checking another maid agency in bukit timah too (everest maid) and my collegue told me the agent fee is $299. Is it expensive? but so far, she engage 4 maids from them, all work for sometime with her. not much problem.

thanks for all the concern and all the advice. yeah, we more or less stick with having a maid. in laws are all pro maid. actually sooner or later we got to invite one if we're planning for no.2.. so, i guess we just get one and pray that luck is on our side.

of course, feel strange hvaing a stranger around but no choice lor. i never have a maid in my life and i think really got to use to the idea.

infant care is a no no from hubby. else i already sent aria before asking MIL to take care lor.. haiz..hubby dun even want to consider nanny...so,maid under in laws supervision is the only choice..

junnie,
yeah, was on half day morning yesterday to take care of aria and come back office, wow, overwhelm with work. no time to come in. i just came to work today. special arrangement with my boss. today got to work late because i came in late..

dodo,
ya.ya..can ask mother to visit you in BJ!!

aria_jo: good that you have come to a decision, just go ahead w the maid bah. though personally its a nono for me n my hb for maid, but we do agree that there are really some cases of good maids who are great help to families.
hope u will find one too!

ariajo.. lucky ur boss so understanding... mine also same, he'll gv me time off or take urgent leave if something crop-up w cc or nanny. u also 1st time in ur life engaging maid ar? me too.. but u faster than me employing one... keke...so u taking filipino or indo? do share ur experience once ur maid arrives..

ponponta... v soon anders will get use to it le... everytime they sick also boost up immune system (my GP told me &amp; i hope is true)... ya, gv more veg &amp; fruits, the milk powder they take alr got many vitamins, unless 4/5 years old, i nt quite fancy gving oral vitamins, u may try brew some chinese soup to help build up immune system like wat chris suggested, or u go medical hall/chinese doc to find out more.

surgarnut... is unlikely they wont get affected if jus join cc..is like 'norm' leh...ur cc so good still ask u to prepare leave 1st.. last time i duno, end up haiyo... running up &amp; down fm office to cc pick her then tk urgent leave.. then later part i try arrange w my nanny to help look after cos nt enuff leave le.. once sick can last 2-4days esp fever... but i can see after 2nd yr @ cc, not so often fall sick like every mth got to see doc.

jovial.. i'm yet to try everymth brew cordycep for them.. may b i shd start doing it... caelen likes to drink? i heard is good. i frequently cook lotus, winter or sharkfin melon, xi-yang cai soup for them to 'qing re4', occasionally i cook shi-sheng soup also.

dodo... any food caterer there so u no need to go out &amp; buy yourself? or like other mummies suggested, get simple utensils to cook simple meal 1st, jus 1 wk nia. if u feel got 'energy' to travel within the 1wk &amp; 'nua-ing' in hotel w zq (hahaha)..then of cos can tag along w ur hb. ask ur mama go bj for 1wk holiday also good idea =) hey..so many options to choose, no need headache le!

tiffy, jovial.. fm wat i knw most cc hv pre-nursery (18mth abv), N1 (3yrs), N2 (4yrs), K1 (5yrs), K2(6yrs), can choose half or full day programme. enrichment ctrs usually called pre-nursery as playgroup (18mths abv)- few hours programme. for PCF (ex PAP), they hv N1, N2, K1, K2 - ranging 2 to 4 hours programme nia. mummies, pls correct if i'm wrong.

dodo: if i were u, i will choose to stay in BJ as already in 3rd trimester, better dun move so much. Like some of the mummies suggested, stock up food for a week &amp; get some basic cooking utensils.

ponponta: hope Anders gets well soon. Give him some fruits everyday. Need not be big portion, for eg. 1/4 of a banana, 2-3 slices of orange.

Mummies, i would like to announce tat cherie wun get to go Japan le! *BIG SIGH*

Hb strongly disagree bringin her along. Initially his main concerns were climate &amp; cherie's unpredictable "patterns". Then i told him it's Spring season in Apr, not consider tat cold. As for her "patterns", so many of us, sure can handle her. But he kept his stand, die die dun let her go, end up our discussion become argument. In the end, he so fed-up &amp; said if we insisted to bring cherie along, then we 3 women bring her along, leave him out for this trip!

Then the next day which was last nite, I told him abt my decision. I told him ok lor, in tat case we 3 women go on our own. Tink he buay song tat we really leave him out for the trip, he then came up with his reasoning like cherie still young, might fall sick blar blar blar. I quoted tat u ladies also brot toddlers for holiday, also dun seem anythin wrong. Then he said we cannot compare with others mah. Again, we entered into an arguement again. Then he said anyway, he's cherie's father, he has the right not to let cherie go. If we wan to go, leave cherie with him!

At times i really dun understand this hb of mine. So angry with him!

jovialz: Japan's Merrier diaper sound good but cherie will not get to wear le! :-(

thanks all for the advices!
ya, had discussed wi hubby and decided to stay put at BJ. all for the goodness of zq.

here no catering and veyr limited delivery leh (or maybe i duno yet :p) but i can call for delivery from the clubhouse like what ecookie suggested.. just that pricing rather steep loh, but no choice leh..

hubby said he will engage those part-time ah yi (maid) to come from 9-7pm next week, so she can cook and do housechores..

as for my mama flying over, think it's rather tedious for her coz she's a msian and need to do tourist visa for coming over, quite troublesome..

so hopefully i can "survive" the coming week! and hubby said i can go the clubhouse massage when he back from his biz trip! yeah.. must make sure i go for the most superior package to compensate myself! hee..

chersam, don't be too upset about ur hb's decision too. no choice, just gotta bring cherie when she's bigger okie?

btw, ur hb's frens also married with kids or not? sometimes hor, men will kena brainwashed by his frens also.. im not suggesting anything, but who knows his frens (with kids) can help brainwash him a bit hehe

dodo, well done!

aria,
glad that u have come to a decision! had PM u yesterday. dun worry much, things will get better ya

chersam,
so sad that cherie cant tag along.. that means ur mama also not able to go?

chintz: among my hb's circle of frens, he's the few 1st married with kid! Most of his frens still single! At times i find his thinkin "childish", he still dare to rebuke tat it's I who's thinkin childish. Often drive me so mad!

dodo: My sis said if mama not goin, she also not goin, so only left me &amp; hb lor. My sis planned &amp; applied leave last yr. Due to her job nature, she can't be like us, suka suka when go holiday then apply leave. Her leave must apply long ago! If sis not goin, feel sorry for her too.

if oni left hb &amp; I, tink i will change holiday destination liao. Join gingerleaf &amp; ecookie go EUROPE!!! haha. I always wanted to visit Switzerland. Actually for Japan, i prefer to go in July, to see the beautiful lavender farm rather than cherry blossom.