(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

karrie, ya i know i'm in for trouble liao.. SOBZ..
matty is so cute! wow!

zhen zhen, if she's anything like her father in maths.. i m HOPELESS! godknows y i m in finance.. hohoho!

just back fr PD. Brig is down w gastritis. (hope i got the spelling correct)

He had croup... viral infecion... now gastrities one aft the other.. i really dun know what will come next.

He lost 1.3 kg since his las pd visit less than 1 mth ago.

Sometime i worry is it something wrong w me tt he seems to get sick so so so easily. Never see other bbies/toddlers getting sick as freq as him..

mummies, im really v sad... am i not doing enough fo him??

hippo, zhen zhen,

yes, the in-laws have already started to teach him to put back his toys. like yesterday after we changed him, we'll ask him to dispose his own diaper. and surprisingly, he took his soiled pampers, and walked to the kitchen and dump into the dustbin! so cute lor!

karrie,
matty is so clever! can say so many words now. am sure he'll be a very smart kor kor.

chris,
oh dear gal. could it be his stomach discomfort that is causing him to be choosy with food? did doc suggest anything?

hippo.. i'm fine with 6/7th, the prob is i haven't get confirmation on whether will be in singapore or not on that weekend. i'll let u know asap.

location wise, i'm ok with those that were suggested too! thanks hippo for making all the arrangements.

chris, don't blame it on urself. you're doing a great job for brig. he will recover soon. take care!

can share how u all teach bb to drink from straw?
im very frustrated liao leh.. taught zq for months and yet he still reluctant to drink from a straw cup. tried 3 different pattern/ designs of cup all he not interested

he either plays the straw wi his fingers or snatch the cup from me and throw it away! sigh...

i also used the method bbwow tried, use vitagen but he also dun wan!

im at my wit end.. can anyone share how to teach him drink from straw? coz it's troublesome to feed him water everytime, gonna spoonfeed him then he drinks...

re: keep toys back
zq knows how to put them back also but depned on his mood also! sometimes when he's nasty, he will purposely throw the toys further away when u ask him to keep! shang nao jing

chris,
dun blame urself gal... what did the PD say or suggested? anyway to boost his immunity? how abt the environment that he play and sleep? i can see that u put in lots of effort for brig, u have been doing well, so dun be guilty k... maybe it's just a passing phase, he will grow stronger...

dodo,
don't feel frustrated la. every baby has their own momentum. so take it slowly.

does he drink water from bottle or sippy cup? As long as drink water still ok right?

When I taught J, I will mimic the sucking sound then he follows. maybe that might help? Anyway, now J also play with the straw. He will suck then let the watter dribble down cause he thinks it's fun!

chris, poor dear.. pls dun blame urself ya? some babies are just more vulnerable to falling sick just like adults.. i m sure itz not ur fault..brig taking any multi-vits etc to boost immunity? dodo is right... he will grow stronger!

bbwow, J is so smart.. keke.. must be very heartwarming to see all his little acts... =)

chintz, noted dear! =)

dodo, ms notti also hvnt started drinking from straws.. she also didnt wana try even when i pick up the straw to feed her drinks.. does ZQ drink from the mag mag cup stage 2 spout?

morning mummies:

dodo: dun get too stressed. baby yz still cant drink from a straw yet too. but i also lazy to taach. tried 2 weeks ago but he just hold the straw in his mouth even though i making the sucking motion next to him. now still spoon feeding him water now n then. but he can take quite alot of water from big spoon heh. think mayb will try again this weekend. seems like alot of baby knows how to suck straws liao.

jas: yah its very nice!
i did it slowly over the months so not v tedious. 1 mth ard 2-4 pages. if you want the website, i can PM u!

bbwow: J is so cute! throwing his own soiled diapers! so CUTE!

chris: hope brig will get well soon. dun blame on urself, baby immunity needs to be strengthen thru falling sick no matter how hard we try to avoid.

bbwow & hippo,
zq dun drink from bottle and spout teat too!
he only wan SPOON FEED! that's why i so headache loh.. he okay wi normal cup but super messy when he drinks water outside, all wet and i gonna change him coz scared he catch cold...
coz if spoonfeed, i have to make him sit in his highchair everytime i wana feed him water, then spoonfeed him, v troublesome leh esp nowadays he will "fight" wi me if i put him in his highchair...

oh btw, any mummies face their babies will get very sticky to you when they are with strangers/crowd? J doesn't like to be in a place where he's unfamiliar with. and he'll refuse to let anyone carry except my hubby's family, daddy & mummy. any other ppl he won't let and will cry. and he'll just koala you the whole day liao!

How to make him socialize huh?

ecookie,
ya, im stressed loh. at least yz still hold the straw in his mouth, zq will not let the straw near his mouth at all leh... same like yz, he's okay to drink from spoon, but if go out quite challenging to feed them water right? coz zq dun wan to drink water from bottle also..
ya, lots of bb knows how to suck straw liao, zq only knows how to suck pacifier! :p

bbwow,
zq is a social butterfly... he's okay wi anyone to carry leh.. he always very excited when go out, maybe he sick of me liao :p
maybe bring him out more and let ur frens carry more? then the more they carry, he will scared less maybe?

ecookie, great efforts on the book! itz nice.. =D gimme the contact too k?

dodo, hmm.. quite tricky here orh.. sorie dear, dunno wat adv to give..

bbwow, erm.. bring J out more often! my grandma & mummy brings her out for bfast everyday without fail & we bring her out for shopping & family activities over the weekend.. lotsa pple @ home and @ the market always play with her.. she definitely dun mind! haha.. she may be atas cos she dun smile @ strangers but she wun be sticky.. & she loves kids! (dunno y but i m not too thrilled by this though. cos some parents are so ATAS i feel like slapping their face & tell them "hey! my girl is just being nice smiling at ur kid lor" ~~ p.s sorie i attitude problem.. keke)
are u bringing J for any classes? i tink it helps babies to open up & work on their social skills cos they see other babies too! and babies learn by mimicking... keke =D

bbwow: yah same as zq, yz normally ok with anyone hugging him. but after awhile he 'll stretch his hands towards those he familiar with one. then pple will carry again n the cycle continues. he wont cry but can see he still prefer us carrying him.
mayb cos my parents brought him downstair to walk walk n chat with uncles/aunties for the 2 days he stays over everytime.

dodo: wear a bib and feed zq water? nowadays i feed yz water very little spill out so still not so messy hence im fine with spoon feeding but think will let him try straw soon lah. then easier on all his caretakers!

hippo,
shang nao jing right... :p

ecookie,
zq also little spill out if spoonfeed, but everytime i gonna open his water bottle, clean the spoon then feed him, v troublesome and i worried the water will get dirtied leh..
yes, straw definately easier! i think he gonna skip this stage to normal cup feeding liao! this stubborn boy...

hippo,
the book is nice! i also approached ecookie coz tempted by it liao :p

ecookie,
how long u took to finish the album? u choose the landscape or portrait setting?

dodo: i started when he is ard 6m+ so slowly do over the mths not so tedious. if u are doing a 1 year old, think will spend at most a few days to collate n arrange the photos. but must devote few hours min a day. heh. i choose landscape setting

ecookie, thanks!! =D
and ya, i tink itz also to our benefit if babies are not so sticky cos if we are tired, others can help take over & relieve for awhile! hiaks hiaks..

dodo, ya.. i tink he just prefers to be "man" abt it and drink from a cup like adults do.. keke..
hoho.. i dunno if i have the patience to go thru the layout & design of the book though.. i always do things halfway one leh.. keke.. paiseh..

hippo: over the few mths easier. normally i do it at the start of the mth, just see wat photos taken over the past mth then choose n arrange take ard 1-2 hr max only. heh.

ecookie, YOu album is nice! The hardcover ones looks v sturdy. We also did one using our MacBook.. but a smaller soft cover one.. costs about $20 including delivery.

Anyone using MacBook? Got a software inside and can send direct to Apple.. quite simple.

I also keep falling sick recently.. but too busy to take MC. Flu then cough, got well.. then now block nose and sore throat again.. sianz..

wow.. I see all your babies development are v fast! Can talk, walk, do so many things.. impressive leh.. I am still waiting.. haha..

I am fine with 6th or 7th acutally, just that 6th will hv to go myself cos' HB not free.

sugar_nut: That's cheap! I heard about it, but too bad i don't have a mac

my photobook stopped halfway dunno how many months back. talk about procrastinating.. :p think only done til chloe was around 3/4mths.. long way to go!!
hippo, hi-5!! hehe

ecookie,
isit from Photobook? I got the url from sept mums, but kept procrastinating abt it. I also wanted to start ard 6mths, but drag n drag till now.

dodo,
I also mimick the sucking sounds n I also sip from the straw to show her. She took quite a while to get use to.. till one day, I got fed up and juz leave it on her tray. Just like that, she picks it up n sip.
Hey gal, hope you are moving along smoothly with the 1st tri with no much discomfort!

Totoro,
hope everythin will be fine for you, and hope ur leg gets better.

Hippo,
hope ur mummy's calf will be alright soon too.
Adri so smarty! Can choose her entire attire. Lyn anything also dunno, She juz wear whatever we put on her. I guess partly becoz I never bring her to the mirror after the change, so she prob dunno what is meimei.
By the way, if adri chooses a really disastrious outfit, mismatch untill cannot make it one, would you still let her wear out? Heheheh.

Lyn is getting very demanding now also. Really defiant leh. Is this the terrible 13mths? Hehe.
She can climb up the sofa now, then stand on it, with one hand holding the backrest, one hand in the air n 'dance dance'. Very worried abt that. Scold she also wun listen. Yesterday she did that n hb smack her butt, she cried v pitifully. Immed after she stop crying, she went to her FP ride n stride 'scooter', sat on it, and slowly bring up both leg to squat, and eventually stand up, holding the handle bar. Very scared she will fall n hurt herself.

Any mummies with babies knocking their head on things nonstop? Lyn keeps doing that too! If she sees me nua-ing in bed, she will come up n kok her head on mine. Not gently koks but hard ones! Kok once still not enuff, she will keep doing it, like those head nodding dolls, keep up down up down n kok my head. Sometimes she go n kok walls.

Lyn also cannot talk yet! She always 'er er er er' or 'dat dat dat dat dat'. However she understand what we meant and can point to correct objects when asked.

Lyn became a koala of late too! Dunno why so. She used to roam around n hates it when we try to pick her up. Now, if I just walk away 3 steps in another direction, she will start wailing n sit down there n throw her tantrums. Sometimes she juz hold on to our legs really tight, like v scare we are gg to leave her. Even when she is playing on the mat, hb stand up, take a step to open the windows or what, she'll panic n start scrambling up also. Go where also must carry, go toilet also must carry her n let her sit outside the door. Bottomline, cannot move out of her sight n cannot walk away from her. I thot this is getting abit extreme. So ultra clingy now, its making me crazy.

chintz, hi-5! hahaha

gingerleaf, thanks for ur concern! am nagging her to see the doc regularly now..
haha! i actually just take out a few outfits which i have chosen for her and then let her choose... if reali let her choose herself direct from her drawer, i tink she'll end up going out with 2 underwears & topless.. hahaha!

adri can hi-5 with lyn le... she keeps kok-ing her head on me and itz super painful lor! and OMG!! lyn's stunt on the sofa and FP ride very scary!.. i tink she doesnt know the consequences of her actions la, datz y kept doing it...

dodo,

the way you say zq so cute. social butterfly. hehe. I like that!

ecookie,
yea I forgot to tell you that your photobook looks nice! shall get the contact from you and try too.

hippo,
We always bring J out leh. Every Sun sure go market. he like to go Bishan Park. But we have to be around him. Like on his birthday, he doesn't allow anyone to carry and wouldn't even wanna sit down! until everyone left, then he happily play with the balloons himself. He's ok when we carry him and ppl sociliaze with him. but he'll start to cry when the person tries to carry him away from us.

gingerleaf,
I have the EXACT same problem as you! Imagine I'm bathing J will walk to the toilet and bang my door and ask me to open! I cannot leave his sight! So end up have to bathe naked in front of him.

And yes, imagine we went studioloft for photoshoot and he actually stand up on the chair and start waving his hands! so dangerous!!

and bang head, J will come over my bed and give me a smack on my face if he sees me nua on bed. -_-

bbwow,
Hahahahahahha! Lyn likes to smack our face too!

Another trick of hers is, she likes to climb up on our stomach or back n sit 'horse ride'
Then she will "wah wah wah wah wah' bouncing up n down on us n squeal in delight. At 1st we still thot its funny and play along, now we v scare of her doing that coz its pretty painful. Sometimes if I lie on the bed, she will come up and wanna sit 'horse' again. Instead of bouncing on my stomach, she comes right up to my face, put one leg over me, n sit rite on my face n bounce away.
So no big no small.

bbwow, i guess itz just separation anxiety then? tink he's scared u wun come back for him... tink he will grow out of this stage gal! dun worie too much ya?

annie, oh u r terrible too... sob.. i tink since so many wana kiss me or talk to me after the hi-tea, i guess we are very keen on merchant court ba? hahahahah!

gingerleaf, hahaha! the way u say lyn sit on ur face made me laugh out loud.. i can imagine the scene... paiseh.. no big no small but very funny la..
i always do "aeroplane rides" with adri where i will pull my legs close to me while lying down and plonk her on my shins and rock her front/ back & lift up my legs so she's facing down.. she likes it but recently she will "jump" or "fall" from dat position onto the bed b4 i have time to react even though i m holding on to her.. pengz man.. tot she does dat cos dun like the "ride" but yet she will keep asking for more leh.. crazy one leh

gingerleaf: the way u describe lyn is cute but can imagine taking care of her can be a handful. that time yz roll n roll on his mattress with abandunce till he came to the wall and knocked his head on it. got abit pissed and like wanna cry so i just pretend its no big deal n say "not pain lah, dun cry ok." then suddenly he thought abit and want to try knocking the wall with his head again! siao one. lucky we stopped him and he moved on and never attempt anymore.

and he loves to knock his head against our face when hes angry. so sometimes i lie on bed he'll cheong n knock his head on my face and ended up knocked my mouth against my teeth, causing ulcers! i've ulcers like every other week!, now got 2 in my mouth cos he knocked twice against my mouth last week!

hippo: haha i tried that with yz, ended up my lower back like kena strained so stop doing liao. but my dad still does that n yz loves it!

gingerleaf: yah its the photobook recommended by the sept mummies! really easy to use.

sugarnut: wow $20+ is really cheap. too bad i dun have mac.

bbwow: haha so J always see u naked..
anyway, yz recently like discover his "birdie" when we change diapers and want to attempt to touch!! i very paranoid and quickly distract him. lucky bath time, he stil more attracted by his belly buttong than that!

ahg,

yes they still do sell and now it comes in blue too! so tempted to buy the blue one!

thanks ecookie!
J always do that also and we have to distract him.

alo mommies

Wow! *claps* to all babies dat can walk n do many other stuffs.. yeah!

Dodo
Try using a coloured liquid and let ZQ see the up n down liquid motion in the cup itself. I tried dat on Danny n I'm surprise he picks up the trick fast! N within 2 tries, he can sip
using the straw!

Ginger
U funny la..but yr Lynn cute!... hehe..
Danny likes to knock his head on my face tat I ends up getting lips ulcer so regularly aft his hard knock!

Issue abt being sticky
Oh no... i'm facing the same prob now. He refusing everybody even my mom n his daddy. I'm seriously stucked.. cannot leave him for 2 mins .. faint...

Talking
I'm still waiting for Danny to say the magic word.."Mommy".. all this while he just pronounced it as "Ma." n tried to tease me by clenching his lips but didnt eventually prounounce the balance "my".. haiya.. But he can say the word "Teh-ty" = Daddy.. how come the Daddy ends up getting the priority..sad lei! hehehe

me no time to sneak in ysterday.... so many post to catch-up =(

hi triniti & lka... long time no 'see'...

wow.. so many bb can do 'wonders' (talk, walk, climbing, packing toys, throwing diapers, )...... mine still blah blah blah duno wat he's talking...

sanbebe, karrie... ur boys really can 'talk'!! v smart la!

annie.... hope k is ok now, no more nightmare of the big sea.... lucky is jus a few days trip....

dodo... i showed bb lance how to suck fm packet drink's straw many mths back (by mimicking too).... then i gv up, then one day when i try again, he can suck liao! tink they 'purposely' one... when u want them to do it, they dun, when u dun wan them to do it, they'll keep doing it! so no need get fed-up.... spoon feed though troublesome, but at least they drink water - which is v impt! now i also spoon feed him cos he sometime wanna suck fm straw sometime dun wan.... (last time he use to suck fm bottle can drink alot, lately dun wan to suck fm bottle!!). my nanny also hv same prblm, so she prefers to spoon feed him as he takes more water tat way. looks like u still hv to get 'troublesome' for awhile... v fast he'll outgrown... be patient ya...

chris.. no worry, is jus tat his immune system not tat strong, nothing of your fault.. for time being, try not to gv him too much 'solid' like fried rice.... gv more soupy & easy digest stuff...

ecookie... tink yz shd b walking in no time since he tried to stand w/o support.... u b ready to get 'boh eng' le.. keke.. nice photobook, eml me the link can?. really hope to make-up one for them...

ecookie, lka..got ulcers fm ur boy's knocking??? poor u... better standby jelly to apply...its v painful esp if eat hot stuff...sssss....

jas..... hope ur 'running tap' ((nose) is better le.... lucky dayan no 'bah-lu-gu' fm his fall... really phiew....

sugarnut.... take care ya.. weather is not v good... drink more 'liang cha'...

totoro... dun worry abt your cyst..... go for further review & see how's outcome 1st.... better go 'tui' your leg if still hurts..

gingerleaf, hippo, bbwow.... they like to practice 'tie3 tou gong'' & 'tie3 sha zhang' ??? hahhaa...mine like to bite & slap ppl now!! me & my mummy kanna everytime, he'll bite your arm, tummy, shoulder, everywhere w/o u notice!! bite & pull-off, sooooo painful & slap our face too!!! beat him he cry, scold him he thot u playing w him... *pengz*... he's really 'teething' tis time cos his 2nd molar (left & right - upper) jus cut thru, everynite, erk 'bua teng' & like to bite lotsa tings!!

ecookie, hippo.. 'aeroplane rides'.... cant imagine if i tried tat w bb lance, my leg sure 'break' man!!! keke... anyway my leg not as long as both of u...... waaaaaaahhaha...

hippo,

It's lunch buffet which i ask.. abit X!! $38++ they having HSBC 15% promotion.

During Lunch Buffet they serve the popular durian puree!! High tea serve only durian cake.

I ask they say can accommodate 200 pax. 7 Dec (eve of Hari Raya), so must book in advance.

Junnie

Ya lor..no time to log in. Since my mom starting to work soon, I've been so bz trying to source out alternative for Danny day care.. So stressful !!! Like how we need to entrust another outsider other than yr mom or MIL..I ended up crying for so many nites, the tot of being a SAHM pops by many times! Lucky thing we found a solution tat is to hold him up at my hubby's aunt's plc which is nearby our crib. So very soon I'll change my status frm weekend mommy to a daily mommy liao! hehehe

Another thing to worry now is whether Danny can adapt or not..haiyooo..headache!!

Hehehe...yeah! now i standby Bonjela cream at all times now. His head is as hard like a rock! N he can bang anytime w/o signals one... *sigh*

ecookie,
please PM me the URL...thanks!

Hippo,
I dun think i need any bb clothes. I manage to dig a few more pieces from my home and my friend is passing me some too..so add together should be enough! Thanks!

Gingerleaf,
Haha! lyn so notti but cute lor! Just ytd, dayan also knock his forehead against my cheek HARD lor! Now i got bruises! Super pain man..

Sugar_nut,
Do take care of yourself. Me also keep falling sick! Guess must drink lots of water and take more fruits & vegetables.

Annie,
I went to Merchant court many times..but never try their high tea before. Should be nice though! think its $28++ per person. Hope they can give us an enclosed area. All of us shall eat durian FIRST then KISS Hippo! keke! "evil smile"

Dodo,
I also dun know what to do..guess the more we want them to learn, they will resist even more! Maybe just one fine day, ZQ just pick up the straw and drink??!

Ask you ah..my little grandnephew at 4months plus weigh the same with Dayan. 10kg! is it too much?? how ah? btw, he can drink up to 240ml of milk sometimes! Junnie, did little Lance weigh that much at his age?

jas,

High tea only have durian cake... think shd be cheaper!!

Kiss hippo all mummies after eating the durian!!!

ha ha.

OK bye.. knocking off soon!!! enjoy your work...

Saw that some kiddos cannot drink from draw and suggested advice.

My gal can suck from straw, but she will spit out the water? Any suggestion for this? Isit too much water come out when she suck? Haiz... always so messy!

tiffany, we share the same prob. they like to suck and let the water dribble out. it's just playing.

jas, 10kg at 4 months is alot leh! J until now only 8kg nia.

Hippo,
lyn oso like 'fly high high" Last time her daddy still can use hands only to fly her, now she getting too heavy liao, have to do ur method too.

Last week lyn oso had a fall, i was in bed, lying on my sides(left) watching her play with her dad. Then behind me, is the edge of the bed.
Suddenly, she lean over me n started to lean further out(like balancing a piece of board on a log position), so naturally, i turned alittle so I can mobilize my right hand to prevent her from falling. But she kept pushing n jerking and she did a 360 degree turn n fell to the floor.
She didnt cry but her eyes & mouth opened so big. Must be in shock. Hahhaah.

sugarnut, datz cheap! =D

ecookie, keke... careful ar! dun sprain ur back cos of the aeroplane ride ah... now i minimize this "ride" with her liao cos i'm afraid she hurt herself...

ecookie, ika & junnie, OUCH!! our babies are so violent! keke...

annie, thanks for asking!! muacks.. erm.. but dun wana muacks u after durian.. ha!

jas, u sure? u tink of anything u need just let me know again ba... =D and i shdnt be so nice to you, evil being!! keke..
i like merchant court's lunch excl the puree! keke...

<font color="ff0000">will lunch ($38++ 15% off for HSBC cardmembers) at merchant court or hi-tea (ard $28++??) be better for all mummies? do let me have ur vote!</font>

<font color="119911">also, most likely the date will be on 7th december (sunday) instead of 6th cos more pple prefer 7th. so sorie for mummies who opted for the 6th! please please try to make it okie? so that we can have a joyous gathering!</font>