(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

ecookie,
ya yah ... definately. although I'm surprised it came so on time (28 days) normally it's almost 1 week late ..and I'd expected to smack right on during holiday.

Come to think I'm lucky. The last time it's came late, only started after Caelen's birthday and end before my melbourne training. This time came early before the holiday ... soooooo heng
... hm ...i should go and buy 4D ... hahahaha

hippo,
ya ya ...should have taken and sell ....hahahahaha...alamak ...now your boss wonder if he'd employ a gong girl or generous girl ...

p.s.: better don't let your hubby know...

junnie,

do you think in your opinion that bb will get to use XL diapers? I dunno whether to stock up or not cause worry by then, he's already toilet trained. And I still have 3 packs of XL huggies at home stocked up long ago!!

bbwow,
even toilet train, you might still want to let him wear diaper when you go out to prevent 'accident'. As for to stock up or not, depends how long you think you can continue on L size. There is alway a next diaper sale.

ecookie, thanks for the feedback..

this morning changed chloe's huggies ultra. after 2 times of use, i come to this conclusion that it's PONGPONG, yet without the soaking wet effect. as for pampers will somehow see thru the urine from the outer part like it's going to explode ... hehe

so in my opinion, huggies would be more comfy.. cos dry hehee

oh oh i just remember something funny, my stupid hb has been teaching baby yz to point out correctly a black mole on hb right shoulder. so he ll go "where is papa's "orh ki"? and yz will point to the mole. v bo liao but soooo funny! lol

chintz: yah personally i feel huggies ultra to be really good. cos once i was changing the diapers and notice he just finish peeing then i touch the diapers inner surface and its dry! absorb fast so should be comfy for babies.

so many posts to catch up!

chris,
so sorry to know what brig going thru now... i will pray for his speedy recovery...
i think his rejection of food & milk is due to his sore throat, is he on drip now? if so then u dun worry abt dehydration... let him drink lotsa water, sip some milk or water in on n off better than none.. u must take care too, dun fall sick!

any babies here got egg allergy?
i think zq has. coz i fed him egg yolk twice (a month ago and yesterday), he vomitted like merlion after 2 hours of taking it! he never vomit after his meal so i seriously think it's related to the eggyolk... not sure if he really allergy to egg, can he still take the MMR injection? gonna visit my PD again when back to spore...

bbwow.. XL depend on individual bb size leh... like mine 2 also bah bah, so v fast upgrade to XL fm 6mths onwards. if yours 'slim' type, & after wearing L no sign of elastic marks cut on thigh & the tape no need fasten to the outer end, then can continue, no need upgrade. the v last resort is look at the size on the packing (but tis usually buay choon). like wat jovial said, always got diaper sales going on, no need stock-up so much. hope it helps.

jovialz, ya.. me gong gong... but if like wat bbwow says.. 32nd floor also can hear, i sure cannot go.. cos ears super sensitive!

dodo, i m gg to intro egg on itz own to adri only after she turns 2... right now, she does take egg pdts like cakes etc but so far so good.. oh no! zq must have given u a scare.. do consult ur PD on this!

chintz, i understand wat u r talking abt.. hahaa.. all the contests are so confusing! haha.. no la.. actuali cos i m too lazy.. keke.. go go submit for this also la!

ecookie, aiyo! yz is so funny! ur hb ar.. notti leh..

hi mummies, thanks for taking the time answer me abt yr child's development on his/her tooth. I feel much better as i was worried that my baby was the minority for being toothless. Ppl ard me kept assuring me that its fine tat she does not have tooth yet. I feel it was only to console me *smile*. Thanks again.

hi jovialz and cherie bear, voted for both babies.. jia you!

ecookie and bbwow, so lucky can get to watch F1 from your office.. i can only watch from tv.. haha...

pampers active is stil more ex compared to pampers baby dry.. both also made in japan, but i heard pampers active is more absorbent.. but anders change like 6-8 pampers a day, so dun wan to spend so much $$... but pampers baby dry like OOS everywhere.. been to so many supermarket still cannot find.. =(

Hi mummies! Hope everyone is doing fine.

Jovialz,
hehehe, I submitted mine on monday too! Anyway, voted for urs.

Cherie, cannot vote for urs, coz one day once. Vote for u tml.

hippo,
ya... i highly suspect it's related to the egg yolk... but will adri have her MMR injection on 15th mth? we gonna test it out on them b4 the injection right? so worry leh...

mummies giving Gain IQ,
do u find that the milk has lotsa bubbles? i din shake, just swirl as usual... so wonder is it normal.. enfapro hardly had any bubbles...

dodo,

the MMR jab has egg white and now egg yolk. But if ZQ is allergic to egg yolk (which is the lesser possibility), then he may be allergic to egg white too. When I went for the assessment, they told me to intro egg yolk first to see if any allergy. then gradually intro egg white before the MMR jab.

I saw that the baby bites got taken off the shelves. is it confirm that is affected ah?? How about Friso? Now kinda worried cause it's part of Dutch Lady! And Nestle cereals leh?

how come the link to the voting is not working?? funny.

Hippo,
Aiyo! silly lor you. ya la..u too nice girl liao. they say must wear headphone to cover when watching the live race. My niece super heng! Her BF rich friend pass them 2 tickets worth more than 3k to let them watch leh! wau lau! hahaha

Dodo,
Aiyo! I haven let Dayan try the egg yolk yet. But he eat the cakes & bread..so far no allergies. Better check with PD.

gingerleaf,
u mean do not mix the egg yolk wi other food is it? ok, will try that maybe after his 1st birthday... very frightening to see him vomit like that!

bbwow,
yup, that's why i started egg yolk 1st and the reaction was so drastic, cant imagine if i give him egg white! actually i let him have small bites of bread on n off and nothing wrong... so kinda worry if he really allergy to it..i think there's a test to confirm this allergy, will visit his PD when we back to spore...

jas,
i think MMR injection is anytime from 12mth-15mth...

Today been a bz bz day for me.
Anyway lyn fell today.

My back was facing her as I was puting down her lunch on the table. Then, I asking her to come to me, coz Im gg to feed her, then suddenly, she cry out so loud. I thot she was throwing a tantrum and want me to carry her over instead. So i went to pick her up, and realised she slip on her own saliva n fell. Dunno how she fell oso, could be crawl n slip or walk and slip, and her right cheek got big bruise.
Felt so bad that I didnt look after her properly.
She is so active now, really cannot take my eyes off her at all.

dodo,

I started her with egg yolk 1st. Always very tiny bits from our own food. Sometimes hb tabao duck rice back, inside will have egg, so I will pick out the egg yolk and let her try.
I started out in small portions, then slowly give her half yolk, then slowly gave whole yolk.

I have actually tried chawanmushi on her b4 I started the egg yolk test. On a few occasion I oso gave her some fried egg from our plates. All this b4 I intro yolk. So I assume since she can take this, shld be okie with whites ba.
So today, I beat up an egg and pour it into her porridge n cook. So far okie and she loves it.

Will allergy cause one to puke? i thot its more of lausai n rashes?

Dodo,
I found this,

Symptoms
If your child has a reaction, you may see these symptoms within minutes of her eating even a trace amount of the offending food.

Rashes
Hives
Stomach pain with vomiting
Diarrhea
Difficulty breathing
Swelling of the mouth and throat

He got stomach pains?

gingerleaf,
don't blame yourself gal... i understand the feeling, i felt the same when zq fall from bed last time round also...
they are really v v active and move non-stop now, we need to be super attentive to them, it's definately not easy... esp nowadays u have to take care of her 24/7, it's v tiring on u... accidents do happen on n off, we cant prevent each of them right...
hope lyn is alright, the bruise will heal v fast one, dun worry... hugs..

ya, i only gave him 1/4 of the egg yolk.. alreafy make sure it was fully cooked and organic one some more leh..

Found this on web:

Egg allergy is like most food allergy reactions: It usually happens within minutes to hours after eating eggs. Most reactions last less than a day and may affect these three body systems:

the skin: in the form of red, bumpy rashes (hives), eczema, or redness and swelling around the mouth
the gastrointestinal tract: in the form of belly cramps, diarrhea, nausea, or vomiting
the respiratory tract: symptoms can range from a runny nose, itchy, watery eyes, and sneezing to the triggering of asthma with coughing and wheezing

gingerleaf!

i think i can confrim he got allergy liao!!!
coz just now at dinner, we noticed he got some rashes on his arms and faces, we still thought it was mosquitoe bites coz they are small bumpy rashes... and just now on the way home, i heard his slightest wheezing when he rest in his carseat, quickly put him on nebuliser when we reached home...

then now i read this article, im more convinced he allergy to egg yolk liao...

gingerleaf,
sigh~ ben and my fav are eggs too...
gonna seek pd advice and if need be go for the test to confirm... hope he will outgrow it...

dodo,
dun worry, he will!
Last time lyn was allergic to pumpkin. Her rashes was bad manz. Every her genitals also have! Lausai somemore. So I stopped that for a v long time, and I tried again when I started her on dinners solid. She juzt outgrew it.

dodo,

tks. His not on dip. He reject milk but drink tons of water. I cooked shark fin melon soup for him yesterday, he drank a big bowl with all the melon.

Dodo,

MMR is on 15th mth. But i intendto postphone as worried it may be related to ASD although not proven..

Just to play safe..

Dodo,

Dun worry la,, bbies r seldom allergy to egg yolk. Maybe you try buying another batch of eggs?? Try organic egg.. i think is safter...

Brig has been rejecting milk.. but he can take rice, soup, water, barely, biscuit, cheese.. everything but MILK.

I just switch to Gain IQ to SIMILAC... he dun seems to like it v much before he is sick and can still manage to drink abt 150ml per feed. But now is only 50ML per feed.

Sohuld i switch brand??

Presentation
Croup affects 5% of children in the second year of life; the peak incidence is between 7 and 36 months. The group of respiratory diseases consists of spasmotic croup, acute laryngotracheitis, laryngotracheobronchitis (LTB), laryngotracheobronchopneumitis (LTBP), and laryngeal diphtheria. LTB and LTBP, which usually involve a bacterial infection, are usually severe.[2]

The first step in diagnosis is to exclude other acute obstructive illnesses in the region of the larynx, such as epiglottitis, a foreign body, or angioneurotic edema of the epiglottis. Misdiagnosing an obstructive airway disease can be fatal.[2]

[edit] Signs and symptoms
Croup is characterized by a harsh "barking" cough and sneeze, inspiratory stridor (a high-pitched sound heard on inhalation), nausea/vomiting, and fever. Hoarseness is usually present. More severe cases will have respiratory distress.

The "barking" cough (often described as a "seal like bark")[3] of croup is diagnostic. Stridor will be provoked or worsened by agitation or crying. If stridor is also heard when the child is calm, critical narrowing of the airway may be imminent.

In diagnosing croup, it is important for the physician to consider and exclude other causes of shortness of breath and stridor, such as foreign body aspiration and epiglottitis.

On a frontal X-ray of the C-spine, the steeple sign suggests the diagnosis of croup.

[edit] Causes
Croup is most often caused by parainfluenza virus, primarily types 1 and 2 (some definitions limit the term "croup" to this pathogen).[4] However, other viral and possibly bacterial infections can also cause it. It is most common in the fall and winter but can occur year-round, with a slight predilection for males.

The respiratory distress is caused by the inflammatory response to the infection, rather than by the infection itself. It usually occurs in young children as their airways are smaller and differently shaped than adults', making them more susceptible. There is some element of genetic predisposition as children in some families are more susceptible than others.

An entity known as spasmodic croup also occurs, distinct from the infectious variety, due to laryngeal spasms.

[edit] Treatment
The Alberta Clinical Practice Guideline Working Group has developed guidelines for diagnosing and treating croup, including a scoring system for classifying severity.[5] The severe form (which affected less than 1% of children seen in the emergency department) involves breathing difficulties, indicated by stridor, chest retractions, agitation and distress. Lethargy or decreased level of consciousness is a sign of impending respiratory failure, and requires emergency medical treatment. LTB and LTBP are usually severe, and require treatment in the intensive care unit, with a endotracheal (ET) tube to assist breathing, and antibiotics.[2]

The routinely recommended treatment is with corticosteroids, although corticosteroids suppress the immune system and can predispose the child towards infection. There is a debate over how many doses to give, but Cherry in the New England Journal of Medicine recommends one dose, and has observed that children with viral, bacterial and fungal complications have had multiple doses. Epinephrine produces a significant reduction in the croup severity score but the benefit only lasts for 2 hours. Children who have moderate or severe croup with blood oxygen saturation under 92% should receive oxygen.[2]

Since laryngotracheitis is a viral disease (most commonly parainfluenza virus 1) antibiotics have no value.

Croup can be prevented by immunization for influenza and diphtheria. At one time, croup referred to a diphtherial disease, but with vaccination diphtheria is rare.[2]

The treatment of croup depends on the severity of symptoms.

One of the traditional ways to treat croup is to inhale hot steam. However, studies have found that this is not effective.[2] This was the sole treatment for croup throughout the nineteenth and most of the twentieth century.[citation needed] Hospitals today use a "blowby" apparatus for this purpose. Simpler remedies include taking the child outside in moist night air, or alternatively exposing the child to steam from a hot bath or a humidifier. There is little or no evidence to support their efficacy.

Mild croup with no stridor, or stridor only on agitation, and just a cough may simply be observed, or a dose of inhaled, oral, or injected steroids may be given. When steroids are given, dexamethasone is often used, due to its prolonged physiologic effects.

Moderate to severe croup may require nebulized adrenaline in addition to steroids. Oxygen may be needed if hypoxia develops. Children with moderate or severe croup are typically hospitalized for observation, usually for less than a day. Intubation is rarely needed (less than 1% of hospitalized patients).

[edit] Prognosis
Viral croup is a self-limited disease, but can very rarely result in death from complete airway obstruction. Symptoms may last up to 7 days, but typically peak around the second day of illness. Rarely, croup can be complicated by (or confused with) an acute bacterial tracheitis, which is more dangerous.

morning all

chris..thks 4 abv info, hope brig is better today, may b he not well so drink lesser milk, tink u shd monitor 1st b4 switching brand.

dodo...did u call ur pd to chk wat u shd do to bring down the allegy since u in kl now? zq still taking EYS medication? usually chinese doctor will advise to avoid egg/chicken/heaty & oily stuff if patient has cough/flu/skin prblm...

gingerleaf..lyn fell again arr...go apply zambark or roll egg on her cheek ba, poor gal *sayang sayang*

have a great weekend mummies!

chris: thanks for the info. so did brig really have the "barking" like cough sounds? hope he is feeling much better now. and wow shark fin soup! brig is a lucky boy.

re diapers sale: junnie, i went to bukit merah ntuc yest n nepia all sold out! only left pull ups! even pampers active which i want to buy to try no more L size and no pampers dry too! in the end only stock up huggies ultra. but i need to get daytime diapers soon. cos baby yz got habit of pooing few times a day by batches, so daytime diapers deleting fast.

mamy poko: anyone using this? wats the diff between speedy dry n extra soft? realise extra soft is much exp and speedy dry not v cheap also. are they comfy n absorbent?

gingerleaf: oh no poor lyn. bruise on her face. u go n try put BNP as recommened by hippo? or rub a warm hard boiled egg on it.. so the blood can disperse and the bruise will fade away soon.

dodo: poor zq, i think he really got allergy from egg from wat u described. think better check with PD if he can take MMR at 15th mth. i've yet to let yz try egg yolk think better start soon to see how. but i also on off will feed him bread. but think the egg component in it not alot...

anyway i remember some mummies mentioning that similac has alot of bubbles so maybe its the same for gain IQ since its similac follow on?

cherie_bear: voted for shanice too!

i think we should let baby not only egg yolk but egg white too because most people who are allergic react to the proteins in egg whites, but some can't tolerate proteins in the yolk also.