(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

bbwow, tiffany,
thanks. oh, I thot playpen during offer is like $128?? or $99?

tiffany
yes, I brot my gal for Hep A jab. My kids take all the possible vaccinations. haha..

Tiffany,
U mean wipes for use @ home?
For us, we only use wipes when going out. Normally, cotton-wooled with water n clean. With signs of redness, desitin will be apply. If not, powder for the butt.
Now that the boys are older, we 'grab' them to the toilet n wash up during poopoo.

chintz,
Desitin Overnight relief - Creamy is gd. Itz avail. via pharmacy, such as guardian, KKH, polyclinic, etc.
1601202.jpg

Chintz
I always have the practice to wash my kids bum/genital area. Especially for girl, must be more careful and protective. For poo... I will always use wipes to clean up the mess then wash or at times lazy, will use wipes with water to clean off.

Glad to say that my elder boy is on his way to toilet trained. Thanks to my maid who has successfully trained him. Save me diapers and wipes.. hehe

Chintz,
The boys tend to fidget quite alot during their washup, especially they are stronger now. So have to be careful. If not really messy, then will dap cotton wool with water n clean up.

re: desitin

yah PD gave me a tube of desitin for everyday use and also another prescription cream to apply 3 times a day. she also gave a bottle of ph neutral liquid soap for washing the bum which she said can use for bathing as well, i think its soap free as well. will probably use desitin from now on.

doobom
You have very good practice. Keep this good habit. This was what we do too. WATER to wash. My MIL very steady, she never need to use wipes.. she will just bring the boys (and nephew) to the toilet to wash. For me, I will need wipes to wipe off the mess 1st before washing.

Yar, I also dont use desitin so much anymore, only when signs of redness.

Krissie
Depending on brands bah.... Some sales can go as low as $99 or $128.. sometimes, not so much.. If not wrong.. I saw taka playpen sale now going at $128 too. I think can even get $49 or $69.. but donno wat brand la... I got my Gracco during Robinson member sale at $99. Think it was good price liao.. For non-member, it was like $128.. something like tat.

thanks doobom for showing me the pic! u always never fail to supply me with pics
hehe

tiffany, my MIL also believe in using water only.. i sometimes complain when she hint to me not to use wipes that often .. hehe oops

anyway, i'll try to improve okie? :D

Mad
My boy is now 2yrs 4mths! I think it takes some luck to have good maid. Dont know how to say... I am one who is quite unlucky with maids previously until this current one joined me 4mths ago. I have gone thru lots of stressed previously regarding maids. I am so grateful to her that I increased her salary in her 3rd mth.

chintz dear, i use wipes on adri but will bring her to wash up cos i like her to be very clean.. else i can't imagine if she kena infection! keke.. my mum uses wet cotton wool on her & water though...

krissie, u can check out the esprit playpen at toys'r'us too! tink ard $100.

tiffany,
so good your boy toilet trained quite young.

nowadays i will bring her to toilet then take out the diaper while in the toilet and wash her there. but i think for my case quite ok cos she can stand well already so easy to wash her. my hb will sit her on the toilet bowl, so i thinking want to get the bjorn toilet seat for her, hehe.

Mad,
In fact not that young also. Some are already diaperless at 18mths. But I am not so ambitious la, I have to rely on others to toilet train him as I am FTWM. I am one lazy mommy you know... hahaha

Wow Mad, you are so power lei... already want to train her below 12mths. peifu peifu. I am also now sourcing for toilet seat.. heard bjorn not bad... can share why you choose bjorn over others?

Sanbebe
In fact, I am pleasantly very surprised that it was like an over-night thing. Just few weeks ago, when I saw he "gek sai" i quickly fish out the potty... he runaway and say Dont want. At times, when he good mood, I get him to try pooing or peeing on the potty, he tried but will tell me... "Mommy, cannot come out" haha.. I down there "LUN" and control. Want to laugh, but cannot mah.. As mommy, I cannot laugh at him.. But hor, very funni lei.... HAHHAHHHAHHA

Not long later....just these 2 wks ago, my maid causually asked him wana wee wee in potty.. he said OK... and from there, he know how to say liao and control very well....He is still in the beginning stage lor, he still wears diaper during nap and outing. Maybe will let him try diaperless when we go out tomorrow.. Wish me LUCK mann..

Something to share regarding nappy rash and nappy rash cream.
From 4th mth onward, I had stop using nappy rash cream for Sherry. At that time, there are rashes on the butt and then my 'Gu Ma' teach me to use Tapioca starch flour to apply on her butt. Few days later, the rashes gone. Until now I only use tapioca starch flour on Sherry's butt and no rashes appear at all. Well, you all can try it if you want because tapioca flour is v cheap(less than a dollar) and it is really effective lor.

tiffany,
want to toilet train but very hard for FTWM to train, i know what you mean, cos i never pressure my maid to toilet train also.

toilet trainer seat: i heard that sometimes when buy those cheapo one will not fit well on the toilet, and the child can feel the seat steady or not and will affect them to want to seat on the toilet or not. so get good brand lor, i like the design, looks good and solid.

re: potty training
i'm a lazy mummy, so have been using an adaptor instead of a potty. i think she's getting used to the idea of pooing in the toilet now. recently, she started saying "ungh ungh" before she poos. i put her on the toilet and she actually pooed! it's so much cleaner! just rinse her bum with water and FLUSH. :p

Mad
Thanks for the feedback.. Can get from Mothercare bjorn from Mothercare right?

Zhenzhen
Hannah is so smart.. Well done! You can save alot of MONEY.. hahahha

chintz, i think quite hard to make them sit still. i hold her thighs, so that she sits properly on the adaptor. she will still move her body and arms around though. but when she is poo-ing, she will be very focused and will stop moving. haha...

tiffany,
yah mothercare have.

chintz,
myra will sit long enough to do her buisness., if she got no poo she will start fidgeting. but sometime she move also lah then spill. opps!

i once tried let chloe to sit on potty, when she already showing sign of pooing..

but she refused to sit, and in the end, mood to poo also disrupted liao haha

chintz, adri will make a face and go "urgh" when she wants to poo too.. and i put her on the potty.. she's very happy to be on it if she reali has to poo.. ha! but while waiting for the poop to come out, she'll be swinging her legs in and out... haha...

potty train!!!

i was just thinking abt this yesterday and today u gals discussing on it!

im quite lost over this, how to get started? any good potty to recommend? any good books to read on for steps by steps to diaper free?

mad, hope u can help me on the recommendation of the book! :p

wana ask does your baby knows how to self-feed, be it food or drink? zq dun know how to feed himself food & drink, he dun wan to hold his bottle/ cup also.. always open mouth wide when he saw food & drink, wait for me to serve him! many times i just ignored him and placed the food & drink in front of him but he dun wan to feed himself, just keep shouting for me to do the job! sigh... how ah...

dodo,
i read a couple of books and i think no need to read one. all books have the same basic info. i think best is to ask the old folks how they did it last time. mostly its hard work i think, its about communication and understanding between bbs and caregivers. and its also messy, accidents, etc. but must be gentle lor. just that some books say wait until bb is 18 mths or older some books say younger is better to start. i think as caregiver whenever you feel ready can start.

just google 'diaper free' will lead you to many websites in this topic.

mad, haha!

dodo, i agree with mad.. the potty training was actuali done by my mum & grandma.. i guess they sort of "caught" her pattern and will keep telling her "must say when u want poo poo ok" etc.. of cos, it all lies with the adult being able to catch the signals anot cos the baby still dunno how to talk ma.. keke.. and if the adults can catch the signals, it makes the job easier for the kid cos they will know the cause & effect of this particular incident - which is if they wana poo, they just have to signal and they will be put on the potty.. u get wat i m trying to say? sorie ah.. very lor soh..

as for laziness, dun worie dear.. zq reali got a very good buddy - ms adrienne.... she is SUPER LAZY who expects to be treated like a QUEEN!!

dodo, chloe only self-feed herself recently too (bottle). and i somehow think she learnt the concept of self-feed thru the gerber star puff! :D

he'll do it someday, don't worry

re: self feed

dodo, you're not alone. J can't even feed himself the gerber stars let alone hold the bottle. sometimes he gets irritated why the stars just fall from his hands. hahahah He'll just open his mouth and wait for me to serve.

wow.. so fast topic jumped to potty training liao.. agreed it depends on how caregivers catch bb's 'pattern' in order to train them fm young..

tiffany.. u so lucky got good maid to train ur kids for potty training... my nanny tells me 'no need' worry when time comes they'll knw how to say wanna go toilet??? but i dun quite believe.. i didnt train my gal all the while, she until 3yrs old then no wear diaper, but until today, nite time i still let her wear cos i scare she wet our queensize mattres (i really duno how to 'wash' if got urine!!)...must really go tink about how to stop this habit liao...may b got to wake up middle of nite to bring her go pass urine... (most of the time the diaper is dry la when she awakes)...

dodo..mine also as 'lazy' duno how to hold bottle nor self-feed despite he v 'tumb-jiak'... hv to b v patient on this aspect then..

desitin,
In case you didn't notice. Local shop are selling more expensive and it's only 2oz. While those sold for BP is 4oz size.

tiffy.. jus to chk w u, the tapioca flour must add water or not? or jus apply as a powder form? can it b used for rashes on the neck/chest? recently bb lance got soooo many tiny rashes due to his 'severe' drooling bcos of teething + hot weather... one day duno change how many pcs of bibs/shirts.. *faint*..

Potty training
Hmmm....think I'll wait till Jav's bigger, when he can communicate with me

Self-feed
dodo, Jav also like zq !!! He refuses to lift up his hand to pick up food and feed himself ! If I put the gerber stars on his high chair tray, he will just pick it up and throw on the floor. If I put the stars in his hand, he will open up his fingers and let the food drop to the floor...arrrggghhhhh !!

re desitin
I have used both b4. I like the texture of creamy, coz its easier to spread and it smells nicer. The original one is good coz it lasts longer(thru the nite), but it stinks, smells like some rancid fish oil.

chintz,
I have intro-ed egg yolk to lyn. Then again, I have oso 'accidentally' intro egg whites to her thru chawanmushis and cakes and breads too. hehehe.

dodo,
lyn can self feed for some time now. Maybe what u can do is, when u are offering a treat, hold it in ur palm and encourage him to pick it himself, and when he does, slowly guide him to place it at his mouth? When you are feeding him bottle, you can hold the bottle and place his hands on the bottle too, then over time, he will wanna hold his own bottle too.
Then again, maybe why lyn can self feed so fast is becoz she very greedy. Everything that she picks up, be it edibles or non edibles, she will bring it to her mouth 1st. So very naturally, she can self feed gerber stars too. Hahahahah. Piggy

re hungry ghost festival.
Yesterday night was creepy. I was telling hb, since its the 1st day of HGF, shld we bring lyn to our bedroom and sleep with us? He said no nid la, since we 'never really believe' in it.
Then at 230am, we were still chatting in bed, lights out preparing to slp liao when suddenly, from the baby monitor, came a familiar tune of 'twinkle twinkle little star' that was playing from the FP cot aquarium. I was so freaked! Then we rushed over to her room and the cot aquarium was blinking its lights and playing its music and lyn was lying there, looking very drowsy, like she just got woken up by us.
I kept asking hb if its those things, but he said I must have played too rough with her b4 bedtime, thats why she woke up in the middle of the night, and accidentally turned on the cot aquarium.

) totoro_bb + hb + Kelly Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 25/7 Ref no: XXXXXXXXXX
2) hapi fifi + hb + Aidan Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 23/7 Ref no: 1810594129
3) junnie + hb + lance + zann (2 x $25=$50) - Paid $50 on 24/7 Ref no: 1811367619
4) ponponta + hb + anders Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 24/7 Ref no: 1811601180
5) hippo + hb + adri Total (2 x $25=$50) - Paid $20 on 24/7 Ref no: 1812788950
6) gingerleaf + hb + ning Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $50 on 25/7 Ref no: 1812809001
7)ecookie + hb + baby YZ Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 25/7 Ref no: 1813106007
8) Jacq + Hb + Clare Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 25/7 Ref no: 1813125204
9) Doobom + hb + Jerry Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 25/7 (via sms 1045hrs)
10) Dodo + hb + Ziqian Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 25/7 Ref no: 1813357448
11) Chris + Baby (1x$25=$25) - Paid $20 (via totoro)
12) Jas55 + HB + Dayan Total (2x$25=$50) -Paid $20 on 26/7 Ref no: 1814148082
13) bbwow + HB + bb j (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 26/7 Ref: 047-1-013741
14) pinky + HB + bb Jayden (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 26/7 tran: 1815058547
15) zhen_zhen + HB + hannah (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 26/7 Ref: 1815172878
16) eil ( details ?)
17) krissie + hb + clare + elder boy (2 x $25 = $50) - Paid $20 on 28/7 ref: 1816571477
18) annie + hb + kayden (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 29/7 Ref: 1818737987
19) sugar_nut + lleyton (1x$25=$25) - Paid $10 on 29/7 Ref: 1818828061
20) madlynette + hb + myra (2x$25=$50) Paid $20 on 29/7 Ref:1818872063
21) Tiffany Seah + hb + korkor + Andrea (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 29/7 Ref: 189057176
22) Cheval + hb + Basil (2x$25=$50) - Paying to totoro on sat
23) Sylvia+Shayla (1x$25) -paid 10 on 1/8 Ref:1825068724
24) zinterz - paid via internet funds tsf just now

totoro if you see this i already paid you the dep.!=)

Potty Training
Yes... I find it very interesting. Whenever I am @ home n caught Jerry in his 'gek sai' action, I will quickly undress his diaper as I call out for the potty. My helper will get potty for me. Jerry cooperates as I prompt with the 'hmmm...'. Once he finish, he will try to start fidget n try to stand up n kick the potty. OMG... So scared that the poopoo will fly everywhere, end up having to 'fight' with him to stay still n rush to bathroon to washup.
As a FTWM, itz only once in a while that I can do that. But I njoy doing it coz I find it quite fun. Haha...

bbwow,
I never succeed in training Jerry to self feed. He can feed himself when I leave the gerber stars on his highchair. But milk bottle feed, I have to hold coz if not, bottle sure fly off. Haiz...
Somehow, I dun mind. Coz for now, I njoy feeding him his milk, coz in no time, he will grow up (say maybe 5-6 years old?) n I cun get to feed him his milk. He will be really old enough to be independent with his own meals.

junnie, ya... the adaptor i'm referring to is the piece you put on top of the toilet bowl, so that baby won't end up falling through!

gingerleaf, i would have been a bit spooked by that too, even though i don't believe in such things either.

re: potty training
in my case, i noticed that hannah tends to poop in the morning, so i started by putting her on the toilet after breakfast and saying "ungh ungh" to her. if she poops, i praise her. if she doesn't, i still tell her "good job, we try again later ok?". after a while, she started to associate the sound with pooping, so she started making the sound too. if we're fast enough, we can catch her in time. but sometimes we're too slow. not sure if that's what other mummies are doing though. this is my own trial and error method.

re: self-feeding
agree with gingerleaf's method. just need to slowly show them how to feed themselves. they will pick it up in due time.

zhenzhen,
where u got ur toilet adaptor?

I got my FP toilet chair, but I think its silly. Dunno why I bought that in the 1st place.
Now Im wondering if I shld get the classic cheap old skool toilet container or the bjorn type, where u need to straddle, or the toilet seat adaptor type.

1) totoro_bb + hb + Kelly Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 25/7 Ref no: XXXXXXXXXX
2) hapi fifi + hb + Aidan Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 23/7 Ref no: 1810594129
3) junnie + hb + lance + zann (2 x $25=$50) - Paid $50 on 24/7 Ref no: 1811367619
4) ponponta + hb + anders Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 24/7 Ref no: 1811601180
5) hippo + hb + adri Total (2 x $25=$50) - Paid $20 on 24/7 Ref no: 1812788950
6) gingerleaf + hb + ning Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $50 on 25/7 Ref no: 1812809001
7)ecookie + hb + baby YZ Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 25/7 Ref no: 1813106007
8) Jacq + Hb + Clare Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 25/7 Ref no: 1813125204
9) Doobom + hb + Jerry Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 25/7 (via sms 1045hrs)
10) Dodo + hb + Ziqian Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 25/7 Ref no: 1813357448
11) Chris + Baby (1x$25=$25) - Paid $20 (via totoro)
12) Jas55 + HB + Dayan Total (2x$25=$50) -Paid $20 on 26/7 Ref no: 1814148082
13) bbwow + HB + bb j (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 26/7 Ref: 047-1-013741
14) pinky + HB + bb Jayden (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 26/7 tran: 1815058547
15) zhen_zhen + HB + hannah (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 26/7 Ref: 1815172878
16) eil + HB + Jae (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20
17) krissie + hb + clare + elder boy (2 x $25 = $50) - Paid $20 on 28/7 ref: 1816571477
18) annie + hb + kayden (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 29/7 Ref: 1818737987
19) sugar_nut + lleyton (1x$25=$25) - Paid $10 on 29/7 Ref: 1818828061
20) madlynette + hb + myra (2x$25=$50) Paid $20 on 29/7 Ref:1818872063
21) Tiffany Seah + hb + korkor + Andrea (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 29/7 Ref: 189057176
22) Cheval + hb + Basil (2x$25=$50) - Paying to totoro on sat
23) Sylvia+Shayla (1x$25) -paid 10 on 1/8 Ref:1825068724
24) zinterz - paid via internet funds tsf just now

junnie,

Don't add water. Just apply it as powder form. As for body have rashes or milk rash, you can bath lance with rice water(the remainder water that we wash the rice). This is what my confinement lady teach me when Sherry had milk rash. Everyday, i will mix the rice water into the her bathing water and bath her. So far so good, she don't have any bad rashes on body.
For the tapioca starch flour, think some of them cannot accept applying this on bb, at 1st I was wondering whether to try it out and who knows it really works lor.

doobom,
You just swipe with a almost dry cloth the part of the ear that you can see. If you suspect inside a lot of wax, better to go to a doc to get a ear cleaner that dissolve the wax. Don't dig the ears as you could push the wax further in or worst accidentally damage the drum.

Junnie,
Just remember i forgot to reply. Nowadays memory overload. Caelen is taking ospexin aka cephalexin. Dunno what is the powder colour as the bottle is dark colour. After added water, it's yellow in colour.

mummies who bank with stemcord.
Are you going to buy the stemshield insurance? Going to the launch on 16th august?

jovialz: i stored with stemcord but never heard of this insurance? they never send me any thing leh? what isit about?

zhenzhen: where did u get ur adapter? interested in getting one.

toilet-train: think quite hard to train baby YZ since i working n his pooing timing not fixed one! can be 1st thing in the morn can also be late evening! ha.

self-feeding: baby YZ can self-feed but need to be by his side, cos by the end of the milk feed, his hand will like no strength and bottle will not be upright, scared he sucks in air.
as for self-feed solids, only can do with biscuits.. gerber stars dun know how to pop "accurately" into his mouth yet and never let him try w spoon. scare mess up the place!

gingerleaf: !!! i very scared of such things one. n i think this mth baby YZ needs to be home by 8+pm! no staying out late for him! and older folks say dun call out his name at night.. hahah i think i will follow. :p