(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Since it's such a slow day here ...
Let me perks it up abit
1590422.jpg

i like the warhol style pics.. must get adri warhol-fied.. hahaha..

totoro, kelly looks so happy! hahaha... is tis from SL PS?

haiz.. accidents... i tink all are dangerous.. carry also dangerous, car seats also dangerous cos i can imagine the impact on myself days ago, i can imagine the impact on a young baby.. centre dangerous cos no seats in front to "catch", side dangerous cos scared of side impact.. if only every1 can be more cautious and careful on the road.. hmm.. dat'll be the best..

gingerleaf,

My FIL had the same stupid logic to put the car seat in the center because it's more convenient for others to sit on both sides. How can he consider for himself and not for the kid first!
chris, no offense on your comment.

forum is awfully quiet today. I thought my email notification something wrong. haha

re: birthday place
Anyone been to Kids Explorer or Fidgets before? Any comments?

Yap! SL PS without edit yet.
Just realized all her photos would have the eyeshit at the corner !! Aiyoh !
Should have checked her face that day!!

annie..phiew!!! wat a narrow escape... tink the driver must b 'crazy'! glad no one gets hurt..

totoro..kelly' looks so happy & sweet with the pink background & dress ... is tat ur own outfit? u got ur photo + cd fm sl alr?

blouse from fox and skirt from mothercare

I have yet to get the pic form SL yet. Just the raw ones as I have yet to finish my selection for the 18 pics! Got it fast as need to show to my PIL when they were here last week

bbow, dun worry.. acutally is more troublesome to put him in the centre of the back seats. Cos need to drag him out all the time

There is a seat belt at the centre seat to secure the seat.. been in this position since he for awhile, so far is v secure. Is more convinent for me too especially if im drving alone with brig.. Can turn over to see and chat with him whenever there a red light

THe only worry i have is that there is a impacr from the front (eg centre of the windscreen), but the probability is lower compared with the sides of the car ba

any mummies doing front facing?
mine still rear facing cos i tot i read that its safer to do this and can do this for up to 2 years + even if ur child is okie w it.

I got set of instructions when I got the BB car seat. Itz regards to the DOs and DONs. Do check out the instructions to ensure fullest SAFETY of our little precious.

Chris,
Pardon for my ignorance... All along to my knowledge, I tot BB car seats are supposed to be fixed @ the side seats. Way dangerous to fix @ the centre. My 'set' of instructions from BB car seat states that too. Erhmm...

Annie,
Glad that everything is alrite.
Fully support to your reporting of that lunatic bus driver to the relevant authorities. He ought to be taught a lesson and be off the road.

totoro_bb, ecookie,

Yippi, Im doing front facing. The guideline is that front facing is suitable when BB reached 9kg..

I find it easier to coommunicate with front in his current position. He can see more things too.. No more whinning like before when he is facing rear. He alway cry when he is alone, facing rear at night... think is v scary to them.

ecookie,
Yes, mine is still rear facing too. Whatz the age for BB car seats to be fixed @ rear facing positn till? Think I have to go 'study' that set of instructions to learn what age best to do away with that rear facing positn.

doodom,

for one thing, i didnt read the instruction manual.. is my HB when did it.

It is advise by my nurse friend in australia when we are there. Is a common practice there..

so far is ok, is v secured

but is up to individual ba... It suit me as im alway driving alone with him..

Im still doing backfacing for carseat too. Its much safer.

I think its really dangerous to place carseat in the center, with the child front facing somemore! Imagine the impact of the crash from the back. Adult suffering from whiplash is bad enough oreadi, imagine the baby!
Then again, there is no win win situation, coz if placed at the side, oso jialat, but I personally feel that with no additional thing infront to block the carseat in place, is v dangerous.
Ultimately, decision is urs.

re: car seat
think side and center positions are both ok. cos my instruction manual mention that you can place seat in either position.

as for front facing, it can be done from 9kg, but if baby doesn't mind, keep them rear facing till they are older (ard 12mths). this is a safer position, as their heads won't be thrown forward in a crash.

hmm in this case i think i will put rear face for as long as i can. think its safer. since i ve no licence i will always be sitting at the back with baby, shouldnt have the prob of him being unhappy with being alone etc.

re: car seat

I thought rear face is only for the infant car seat? Jayden kinda outgrown that seat so we bought the front facing one. It's on the sides and since my hubby is driving so I'm with J behind all the time. but how come must be 9kg then can face front? Any reason?

bbwow, 9kg is the min. but the best is to wait till baby is 12mths. cos before then, their neck muscles are not strong enough to withstand the impact from a collision.

<font size="+2">Oct Birthday Bash</font> Updates
<font color="ff0000">Deadline to be included in this once in a life time event (hee hee) = 4th Aug 2008</font>

Venue = $214
Buffet = $650 (including GST ?) - using 60 pax @ $10 each
Cake = ard $250 (using the highest amt)
Theme Decorations including Party hats, cups, plate, ballons etc = $300 - using 30 babies
Total expenditure = $1414
Estimated about $23.50 - $25 per head (Adults)
Deposit - $10

(transfer $$ to totoro's DBS Saving Plus account = 047-1-013741, please use your nick for tracking)

<font color="0000ff">1) totoro_bb + hb + Kelly Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 25/7 Ref no: XXXXXXXXXX
2) hapi fifi + hb + Aidan Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 23/7 Ref no: 1810594129
3) junnie + hb + lance + zann (2 x $25=$50) - Paid $50 on 24/7 Ref no: 1811367619
4) ponponta + hb + anders Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 24/7 Ref no: 1811601180
5) hippo + hb + adri Total (2 x $25=$50) - Paid $20 on 24/7 Ref no: 1812788950
6) gingerleaf + hb + ning Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $50 on 25/7 Ref no: 1812809001
7)ecookie + hb + baby YZ Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 25/7 Ref no: 1813106007
8) Jacq + Hb + Clare Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 25/7 Ref no: 1813125204
9) Doobom + hb + Jerry Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 25/7 (via sms 1045hrs)
10) Dodo + hb + Ziqian Total (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 25/7 Ref no: 1813357448
11) Chris + Baby (1x$25=$25) - Paid $20 (via totoro)</font>
12) Jas55 + HB + Dayan Total (2x$25=$50) -Paid $20 on 26/7 Ref no: 1814148082
13) bbwow + HB + bb j (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 26/7 Ref: 047-1-013741
14) pinky + HB + bb Jayden (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 26/7 tran: 1815058547
15) zhen_zhen + HB + hannah (2x$25=$50) - Paid $20 on 26/7 Ref: 1815172878
16) eil ( details ?)
17) krissie + hb + clare + elder boy (2 x $25 = $50) - Paid $20 on 28/7 ref: 1816571477

thanks mummies for the sharing for the car seat. always tot they can front face after 6 mths cos datz wat many car seat salesman told us. hb proposed to front face a few times but i resisted cos still do not feel comfortable in her front facing. luckily, cos she's still quite far away from 9kg.

actually, prefer her to face me when we are seated behind oso

btw,

any mummies hv any good recommendations of photo studio to take pictures? apart from sean? pls recommend to me..

totoro_bb: kelly is sooo adorable in the picture!

clare's pictures were not well taken. am bit disappointed though kinda expected it. cos she was cranky thru'out. SHe was tired right from the beginning. scanned thru the 500+ pictures and could hardly find much with her smiling. her eyes were red and stoned faced for most

feel sad dat her smiling face was not captured.

re:car seats
I have 2 car seats. I'm driving the Mitsubishi i which is a 4 seater car (behind only 2 seats - 2 seat belt) thus no need to say the car seat is at the side. My hubby is driving the volvo XC90. We got an ISOFIX Maxi Cosi. The ISO fix allows the car seat to be firmly fix to an attachment built into the car's seat thus it's more secured compare to seat belt attachment. So far all manufacturer that we come across built the ISOFIX attachment only at the 2 sides and front passenger (for forward facing only). Thus there must be a reason why their's don't have it in the center seat.

I also drive alone with the baby in the rear side seat. he also started front facing as he had spoilt the rear facing car seat's safety belt. Most good front facing car seat can recline, just don't sit too upright when baby is young.

By the way, personally I think the probability of front impact in an high speed car accident is HIGHER than side impact (look at most expressway's chain accidents) and all good car seat have side impact protection (that why you see the side of the seat is always like protruding.

Re: Bottle Jar food saved the day

Just to share, Caelen is much better now. The nappy rash is almost gone. No fever recurring today. Still a bit LS (PD says expect to last 3 - 4 days) but is much less frequent and not as watery.

Not sure if this helped, I'd switch him to soy milk for the time being and stop porridge , revert back to cereal food cos i think it would be easier for him to digest.

yesterday, I had to fight with him to force him to take his medication. He cried so much and the moment my hand goes near his mouth, he struggle. Even when I want to give him gerber stars after he finished the medication, he refuse to open his mouth until he sees myself and my hubby pop the stars into our mouth.

Today I try a new method. I feed him cereal mix with a bottle a fruit base jar food. Then i syringe a bit of the medication onto a spoonful of the cereal every now and then. He taste the difference and 'shiver' (hokkien call 'ka lun soon') but still managed to finish everything in a peaceful manner.

krissie,
Haha...I miss u mah....
Hv u pick the cake design and the cake designer? Wonder if u hv read the post that I posted on Kellie's (aimummy) cake? Heard it's nice and good. Just wanna recommend to u

Jacq,
I'm using Hart from Tomato for Jav's pic. Find him really nice and the pics turned out good. Perhaps you can take a look at his pic and see if you like

Jovial,
Good to hear that Caelen is recovering well. Same as Caelen, Jav also hates medicine. I hv to fight with him whenever I have to feed him. Haha...your description on Caelen taking medicine made him laughed. I can imagine him 'ka lun soon'

Jacq
Hey! how's your trip?
I might be bringing Kelly to KL on Friday instead if everything fall in place nicely.
Sorry to hear that the photos din turn up well. Let's look forward to the group photos!!

Jovialz
I think it depends on the medicine also. Some medicine I think taste good cos it's sweet. I normally spoon feed those with water slowly. For others, I'll add into the milk if possible.

sanbebe,
thanks for sharing on the rental thing! v v useful for me! and i will keep a lookout of javier's photo later!

zhen zhen,
i got the maclaren volo! really very good and easy to maneuvour compare to that "lorry" of mine! urs is 2008 or 2007 series? what colour? mine is 2008 coffee stripe colour...

1591790.jpg

another pic of zq's photoshoot at studio loft yest..

he was super cooperative during the photoshoot so he gave us lots of variety of poses &amp; funny expressions... maryann said that he's so cheeky! :p

morning totoro!

i will be at forum from 11-1pm... u convenient to pop by? hubby will join bb for class later so i will shop ard, can meet u any timing within...

Morning mummies. wah got so many early birds today!

Dodo, how much u got ur new maclaren?

zq is super duper yummy loh! hehee

dodo: zq look really happy!
where did u get him the army banana? v cute!

bbwow: u ve to check with your distributor or refer to the product specs? cos some car seat can do both way while some only can front-face.

mine is britax safe n sound range and it can be position either way. sam as jacQ , i prefer the baby facing me when i sit with him at the back of the car..

hubby has wanted him to face front cos he wanted to see him at traffic lights but i guess that had to wait! baby safety comes 1st! even though baby YZ has passes the 9kg mark.

chintz,
john little selling at $268, bought there coz i have some vouchers...

hippo,
i saw adri's photo there! and i told maryann that adri &amp; zq are already frens for abt 10 months liao.. haa! zq's photos nice nice, but i look super ugly in the photos loh... sigh~

ecookie,
i got it at phuket! cheap cheap ah.. if YZ wan it for photoshoot i can pass to u

dodo, so happy to get ur menses? hee

thanks for the info girl! i wonder if chloe can sleep in sitting position? and i checked the colour u bought! nice colour! :D good taste!

chintz,
yup, happy to reunion wi my menses leh.. :p
i hope it will be regular from now onwards, reporting every months, coz i had super irregular menses during my pre-preggy days...

u can observe whether chloe can sleep when sit or not, if yes i really think this is a good buy leh.. for the colour i cant decide over lime green and this, hubby made the choice then and i think it's nice loh

been so busy and so many post to catch up to!
shayla is having a viral fever the last 3 days.
her fever was 39.8 degrees when brought her to KK last night. haiz...she was so traumatized by the whole process! kept crying and crying...heartpain... giving medicine is also a challenge and so is drinking milk..
any mummies have any ideas how to increase food intake during fever?

sanbebe,
ya lor.ka lun soon every mouth that has the medication. At least with the medication added to the food, no need to fight with him.

Totoro_bb,
I agree, he loves the medication for the UTI. But this antibotic and paracetamol smells horrible (even i find it so). I dare not add to milk for fear he totally reject the milk. Thus choose the food method since only add a bit to a spoonful. The most waste a spoonful of food

p.s.: I want to order some 18' foil balloons for my party, how to order ?

sanbebe
yes, so far, her cakes are the ones I like the most. I've gone through all the ones which someone posted, think was dodo (is it?). I shortlisted 3 from cherylshuen, aimummy and Glad. But, if you all tried Aimummy cakes and think that it's nice, I'll just ask her to quote. Coz I've nvr tried all the 3 cakes before, so also don't want to risk. Any recommendation on flavours? I was thinking of a 3kg cake. I like this design. A 2 tier cake on Pooh with Pooh cupcakes to go along. I've emailed to Kellie, waiting for her reply.

http://s120.photobucket.com/albums/o183/kellietham/?action=view&amp;current=pooh-honeypot3.jpg