(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

bbwow, i didnt take up e offer cos i walked up to my boss n tell them got pple offer me a job n then he counter-offered a decent package.. ha! so i'm still here.. anyway, tink u shd just try n talk to ur HR/ boss. i tink 10 days is not asking for too much out of 2mths notice lor..

CM, all the very best! hope u hear from them real soon.. =D

junnie, i m already calculating the damage to my pocket. .hahaha!

YL, my doc suggests to start as late as possible.. so dun tink i'm taking the risk yet. =P

ok mummies,

thanks for sharing with me. really hope I can leave earlier and out of this place!!

totoro,
no lor. it's norm for Jap co ba. my prev co needs 3 months notice. I think it's a clever HR tactic cause not many co will wait for so long.

hippo,
that's good for you! better pay package, familiar environment.

re: egg
I know egg yolk can give but it really depends on yourself. Cause the nutrients from egg yolk is not alot right?

biji,
I throw that rule out of the window long time. really difficult to manage when you're not taking care of baby and have a 'deaf ear' MIL. :p

chintz
I've not tried, but also find them pretty. I've emailed the person on the charges. can pass to u when i receive them.

Junnie
No probs.. think the cakes are usually abt $100-$150 for such cut-out or 2 tier cakes.

totoro
we invited our relatives from both sides and some friends. Intend to do the same for this time.
Usually the 1st bday can be qt a big event.. subsequent years smaller.

bbwow
I gave Egg Yolk as the nutrients in there have almost everything leh! can't remember which book I read about this liao.

Krissie
thanks for the info. hmm that will mean it shld be similar to the full month birthday list liao!! Just curious as I realized my cousin din invite relatives for his son 1st b'day. If it's going to be so many people, then really must find a location liao!

thank you mummies for the compliments

bbwow,
a lot of people kena fool by aria's hair. somehow her front portion has a lot of hair but the back, very very thin! hehe..congrats on your new job!

totoro,
we weighed her last saturday, she's 8.8kg and height around 71cm. think she's on the heavy side right? she doesn't seem to eat a lot (2 solid abt 1/2 bowl of cereal each time and 4-5 times 150ml BM) but so chubby liao! I scared she took on my MIL side cos my BIL is very very big!! Hubby and I still on the medium built.

bbwow,
my maid take care of my gal now, dun know is the rule cause her diarrhea or maid not clen enuf :-s..juz wanna check if any mum here hav the same experience...

YL, i knw emicakes got eggless cakes & most of vegetarian confectionary shops... i really cant tell w or w/o eggs in the cakes... hahaha..

biji... allergy to potatoes?? hmmm... thot tis is basic food 4 bb to try... poor gal... hope she okie fm diarrhoea liao...

totoro, krissie.. u all soooo good can plan BD for bb, envy leh. for my case, i dun hv chance to plan ideal one for both my kids, cos MIL alr 'ordered' she wan bb to go her house pray ancestors on 1st BD on his chinese BD... fm past experience, to avoid MIL invite "ppl" ( w/o my consent), i make it a simple one, jus order cake, buy food or gv some $ to MIL to prepare, usually BIL (single), both SIL (one got 3kids) + their hb, will join in. cos either FIL/MIL will feel 'buay balance' if invited tis relatives & omitted tat relatives, so to save trouble, all dun invite is best (somemore i'm not familar w them, they both fm big families, if all join together, 20 tables also not enuff!!) then also to avoid hearing nonsense remarks fm SIL saying we mess-up IL's house, no big party/buffet for us. I ever suggest hb to find a plc & cater, he refused saying if both his & my family together will be a really huge crowd & to hold on two separate dates also difficult, most impt we cant effort, so sad... i cant invite my family & my friends... so sometime on kid's english BD, we will jus hv a small gathering w my mum/bro/sis or nanny...

junnie,
dun be sad.. actually, i also have the same headache as you. not that my hubby got big family though... just feel a bit mafan to invite people, after that got to entertain them and if miss anyone also feel bad..haha..hubby want to have a special birthday for her and he asked my opinion and i say, just go buy 1 cake and go for simple dinner with close family members, he give me a funny look after that...hehe....i'm such bad mummy hor..hehe..

aria jo: u r not the only one. i prefer small gathering. preferably just me, hubby n baby only!! hah but of cos cant. so think baby YZ 1yo bday should be catering at my mum's place and invite some family members. my IL side still not sure , maybe just buy a cake n simple celebration.

but i want a day off just baby me n hubby! maybe go some baby gym place and play with him. so still planning for this..

hi-5 ecookie: me and hb oso prefer a simple affair for bb's 1st bd. preferably just immediate family with as few relatives as possible. her 1st month celebration was totally exhausting for us, too many pple. the entire celebration felt another wedding for me & hb. (there were at least 250pax dat day) datz y dun intend to repeat it again.

biji: din follow the rule too. bb looked after by nanny furing weekdays, so just let her do it her ways. i try not to interfere too much.
and i dun usually try new thgs during weekends.

ya, potato is a basic food. shldnt cause diarhoea. isit the mtd and way of preparing dat coudl hv cuase it instead?

totoro_bb: tried the beco on clare again. she doesnt seem to like it. made a lot of noises. when i do back carry, her whole head kept leaning backwards. hb was concerned abt the head support. is teh head supposed to be supported duing back carry?

oso when front carry, her head seeems to be covered by the carrier. i see from the demo dvd dat e body of the carrier is oni up till the bb neck and not the head leh... did i do it the wrong way?

jacq, "destiny" under chocolate, "strawberry cognac" under cheescake and Croquembouche is sedap!!! yummy.. *lick lick*

re: wolfberry and red date
i just bought these during lunch just now, later when cook in porridge, how many to put, how often can eat and must wash first? so many questions....

lina: red dates seedless one is less heaty and my mum suggest put once/twice a week enough.. normally i put half a red date for 1 meal portion..

for wolfberries i put ard 4-5? for 1 meal portion and also at most add 3 times a week..

ecookie,
yah i bot the seedless ones, i tot lesser work mah, no need to remove the seeds myself. do i have the strain them out before putting in the rice? or cook with the rice together?

lina: u just cook with the rice but dun feed itself to myra. red date is added just for the taste and the nutrients of it should go to the porridge after u slow-cook it..same as wolfberries, normally i dun feed him, i scoop them out before serving..cos woldberries for some small seeds which im not sure if baby know how to eat..

biji,

if you dunt really follow the 4 day rule but still should take care when giving new foods esp those that has a high allergy potential. it is still good to note what new foods are given to your bbs. if you suspect your bb has diarrhea becos you intro potatoes then stop potato for a few days until your bb has recovered, later can try potato again to see if your bb has the same reaction. if its not the potatoes then maybe something else.

can refer to this website
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/allergy.htm

Jacq
hmm ... I'll need to see and maybe u see me beco-ing Kelly then u'll have a better idea.

If you don't mind, we can meet on Wed or Thur evening near my mum's place. Maybe at the Mac and I'll show you how to do it. Msg me.

aria, ecookie, jacq..ya, best is can celebrate w bb & v closed family members/friends will do... save trouble..

hippo, wat is 'croquembouche' huh? i saw their website liao, is really X...

mummies, u knw, until last nite then i realise actually bb lance also not 'good boy'!! his temper is horrible!! usually he'll fuss oni during milk time, he really cry like face 'turn purple' & 'no voice' tat type when hear u making milk... so once u pop in the milk bottle, he'll shut-up.. ysterday hb was playing w him & my gal, then so happen hb wanna shift him to sit properly so will somehow shift his toy, straigtaway, he scream & cry like 'suffocated' throwing his feet in & out like a 'spoilt brat', hb thot he accidently hurt him or wat, then wanna carry him up (hb take away the toy), he cried again till no voice & face v v red (for almost 5-10secs)w big big tears dropping, hb stuff the toy back to him & he shut-up!! tat's where we figure out he not happy the toy being taken away!! OMG, so young the temper so bad!! i told hb 'si-liao' another 'little monster' in the house!!

junnie,
same same ah! yesterday while wiping aria she cried like mad until gaping for air. thrashing both her legs like spoilt brat and screamed. my god! dun want me to change her and once i carry her, she tone down. i hope it's because she's sick, so a bit fussy. aiyoh, dun know how next time when she's bigger..

wah. topic now on cakes. i'm getting hungry just looking at the websites.

i'm having a headache thinking about hannah's first birthday. my dad's siblings are flying in to celebrate her birthday, so we really must plan something.

junnie, croquembouche is a type of cake with many many macaroons stuck on it like dat.. haha.. i had it during xmas last year.. very nice n not too sweet like normal macaroons.. seriously speaking, we didnt know whr to start cutting from..

hippo,

I had that for J's 1st month too! ORdered the baby croquembouche so there were teddies and prams icing on those puffs!

talking about baby temper,
J is the SAME! one moment he can be laughing, the next moment, he'll scream and kick his legs in temper! GOSH! Sometimes we just leave him to cry cause no tears and we know he's just trying to get attention. Once we give him his toy, he shut up. -_-

i saw the pixs!!!! lance baby is SO CUTE!!!! esp the one with wings..smile until the eyes mimi yan..haha

now i also tempted to go to him but scared baby doesnt know how to pose, end up most photos no smile...

is it lance huh? was wondering whether is it him cos i remembered junnie mentioned sean put boxing glooves on him and wings.. but the sumo size like Lance lor.. super cute right!! haha.

tiffy, you just miss the june's promo. now, weekday should be $100+108=$208,weekend is 130+108=$238 for 6 pictures.

madlynette: DISASTER! exactly hehehe... but i still love corn lah..

my method is steam porridge, some put everything in slow cooker.. me also agak agak one haha

i have leh, aria jo. i viewed his webbie before.. hm.. now i can see the maternity gallery, but just not his baby gallery.. eeeehhhhh.. so curious!

yah, I just went in to see too! Lance is super cute!!! V bah bah hor..

The gal on the chair looks a bit like hippo's adri leh.. but can't be sure.. cos' both kelly and adri got v big eyes. If it's adri, then she can really become poster gal liao! Cos' she appeared in both Studio Loft and Seau Lau!

tiffy,
studio loft and sean lau is very diffirent style. so, really depends on what style you like. the good thing abt studio loft is you get all the pictures back but not much styling. studio loft is more journalistic style and captures bb playing while SL more of anne geddes style.

SL focuses on good pictures. he took many many shots of the same style until he gets a good picture of it and then we move on to another style. in sean lau's PS, be expected to have at least 5 or more styles depending on how cooperative your bb is. 2-3 hours of shoot can really takes a lot of pictures! for aria shoot, we counted that we have at least 8 diff styles and abt 4 diff change of backdrops. quite worth the money but i think surely burn a big hole in the end cos we will definately top up additional pix.

sugarnut,
that's not adri. that bb girl is quite big liao, think is 1 years old cos when Aria had her shoot, sean was editing that picture ..adri ps only in sep

haha.. ok ok.. I thot her face looks a bit like adri. I wonder how many of the Oct babies will appear on his website. Hope he puts group photo there after you all have taken it..

ohhhhh saw Lance's photo ... so nice esp. the last one... how he managed to captured that expression!!

Kelly not inside .... I hope it's not becos there wasn't nice one ... aiyoh suddenly I became very excited !! Sat come fast fast !!!