(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

As for the cradle cap, I bought this cradle cap shampoo from pharmacy (white bottle wif green wordings) to treat Kester's cradle cap when he was ard 2 mths old. Continue to used it until now even though he has no more cradle cap cos dun wan to waste it ma... used it everyday like a normal shampoo.. finally going to finish the whole bottle liao. hehe.

aria
great to hear that the PS went well. cant wait for my turn.. heehee.. the brand of the shampoo which serene describe is detinox cradle cap shampoo.

Finally able to log in and post after the lunch on Friday!!! nice meeting Tiff, doobom, ecookie and Perlicia! I think when mummies sit down and talk about their babies, the time just flies...

Aria
What animal costume u rent? got pic to show??

Doobom
Hope your boy fever had gone down already! Regarding barley, i thot the chinese barley is the one that supposed to be liang? I was told it's the duration of cooking that played an impt part. Cannot cook too long!

Cradle cap
Use those shampoo as mentioned but if you rub baby oil on them before shampooing, I think it helps better. Last time, Kelly used to have that for a while and I tried to wash her hair with the shampoo but they drops off bit by bit. then one day, they disappeared all of a sudden and my mom told me she apply the oil on her scalp, then use a soft brush to back comb her hair and the cradle cap just fall off with the brushing!! U might want to try but don't go and peel it as adv by doc!!

regarding barley: was told by my nanny that barley cant be cooked too long. otherwise not "cooling". ie when water is boiled, turn off the gas after 3 min.

glad to hear so many good comments abt SL. really make me look forward to the session.

mummies who have taken the pictures...does SL provide any costumes?

It's been days since I last log in...
Am feeling much better now after taking the medicine given by my gynae.

re: cradle cap
Jav had it when he's 2 mths old. As advised by PD, I applied olive oil on it before bathing. When bathing I used a handky to gently rub on the surface, it just dropped off bits by bits till all was gone. Don't have to buy special shampoo or cream.

jacq,
how's clare? hope she recovers well.. hugs

sanbebe,
what happened to u gal? take care...

re solid & milk intake:
thanks mummies for sharing!
chintz, chloe really drinks lots siah! ziqian has 3.5 milk feed a day.. abt 700-800ml...

re hubby's oversea posting to KL:
we sort of decided that bb and me will stay put at spore first. hubby will be able to come back every weekend, and bb and me will also go over and stay wi papa for a few days

i must learn to be more independent now! it's a great challenge for me but i will try my best to make it!

re bb's 1st birthday cake:

anyone engage ecreative's service before? love their 2-tiers cake but not sure how's their service and whether the cake delicious or not...

dodo, you definitely will be able to handle.. nothing to worry!

When is your HB gg over? You will be so looking forward for each weekend that he is coming back. And you can take KL as a holiday destination when you go over..

thanks sugar nut!

most likely end of july... ya, i will miss him badly...

really regret not getting a driving licence earlier on, now got car but duno how to drive!!! sigh~ gonna depend on cab, waste $...

and i think i have to order tingkat already, no time to cook and no one to tabao for me... must learn to take care of myself now!

dodo: clare's fever finally gone today. however she has developed has rashes. prob due to the antibiotics. will bring her to doc tmr morning.

Ecreative cakes : my fren's ordered them for her gal's bd. their cakes reallee lovely looking. service wise, not sure. but remembered them delivering to her plc. let me know wat u wanna ask, can check for u.

dun worry, gal. am sure u will cope well! like wat u say, take tis as an opportunity to toughten urself. u have us as ur moral supporters!

ecookie and chintz,

the pigeon bowl u al talking about is a double bowl w yeollow col cap is it? if it is, OMG, i think i overfeed brig leh, he eat aobt 4-5x e bigger bowl each meal.

mummies mummies ...

HELP!!!

brig still rejecting ceral, dun like BR, millet, oat, barely. Now he want to eat white rice with soup. And must be hard white rice like what im eating, not those like proridge. I got no idea what soup to cook. Only know winter melon soup... sign

Canot be eating white RICE everyday right.
He even rejected his favourite avocado.

dun know what to do..

chris
just wondering whether is he teething and that's why he want to eat something harder??
Might be something to do with the testure. What abt potato. Have you tried?

Re: Soup
Have not given her any soup yet!

Dodo
I have the same problem with you. Have car but don't know how to drive. So if hb not around, it as good as useless!!
Jia You!! I'm sure you can cope and get more independent when hb not around! He will be back every weekend so the weekdays will pass very fast one. Esp. when u r bring bb to classes!! I think sometimes we will just react naturally to situation just like the past 9 mths, phew .. how did we actually manage to take care of baby and go thru pregnacy & delviery!!

sanbebe
Great that you are feeling better now! Take care yah!!

jacq
I remembered I saw in the thread that there is this illness , can't remember the name but it will result in fever and then followed by rashes! I think it will meant that ur bb has recovered liao but do consult PD for more info!

totoro_BB: now dat u mention, it sounds familiar. anyway, will bring her to see PD first thg in the morning. wana avoid the long queue. the long queue in the popular pd reallee scary leh. eg the kids clinic at rivervale mall usually takes 3 hours.

btw: decided dat i shld get a beco. so sorry din pay attention to e beco discussion last time,need to ask again. which one is beta? butterfly or 4th generation? which one r u using now? where to buy?

mummies who hv made passport for the bb, how long does it take? am thinking of bring clare to msia in jul. hope the passport will come on time.
procrastinated for the longest time.. finally managed to snap some pictures for her.

forfeitted a few short & last min trips cos she din hv passport. finally going to make one for her.

jacq
clare's passport took abt 5days.. very fast. btw, yes, if it's rashes after fever, then it's called fake measles, "rosella" hope i rem the spelling correctly.

dodo
I'm sure you can do it.. enjoy this period. am sure you'll be closer to bb.

chris
I think it's alright tt bb reject cereal. coz they dun need to really eat cereal to get nutrients when they grow up, cereal is more of a weaning food. in fact, i wld be so happy if my gal eats rice and soup. save time, no need to cook porridge. for soups, you can make old cucumber, hairy gourd, sharksfin melon soup, fish soup, vegg soup, corn soup, ABC soup, apple soup.. heehhee.. lots of soups.. let me know if u need more ideas.

Morning all!!!

chris: yes, that's the bowl i'm talking about! i think boy has a better appetite?

jacq: yes it's v fast, til i dun remember how many days to be exact hehe.. just remember to book online to collect, if u have missed the actual collection date.. if not, v v long qeueu at ICA

dodo: glad u have make a decision.. we're to support.

good morning mummies!

bbwow,
when u change water everyday, there will not be any sour smell. i am using unicurd organic tofu.

dodo,
im giving L healthy times original teddy bear puff bisuits, no sodium. butter- i use unsalted ones from president

Ueno & Sanbebe

Got this from another thread and I think someone here have the book right? What do you think as both of you have read up quite a bit right before being SAHM?

hi all...
I was recommended by a friend to read this book.
Einstein Never Used Flashcards: How Our Children Really Learn--and Why They Need to Play More and Memorize Less [BARGAIN PRICE] (Paperback)

http://www.amazon.com/Einstein-Never-Used-Flashcards-Learn/dp/B00196UBTO/ref=sr_1_7?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1214752870&sr=1-7

Authors and child psychologists Hirsh-Pasek, Golinkoff and Eyer join together to prove that training preschoolers with flash cards and attempting to hurry intellectual development doesn't pay off. In fact, the authors claim, kids who are pressured early on to join the academic rat race don't fair any better than children who are allowed to take their time. Alarmed by the current trend toward creating baby Einsteins, Hirsh-Pasek and Golinkoff urge parents to step back and practice the "Three R's: Reflect, Resist, and Recenter." ....

chris: wow brig has a healthy appetitie! i using the same pigeon feeding bowl too. mayb just started 2 days ago.. i feed him just 1 portion (the bigger bowl) and by the end he will give the sianz look and no longer open his mouth when i attempted to feed. i take it as a cue of fullness...

wonder if the porridge of mummies' here are watery or very pasty? mine very pasty, does this make the meal fuller?

dodo: im sure you can cope! as totoro_bb said, we'll get by somehow so dun worry!
and yah i got no licence too! n now hubby away for business trip for the next 4 days and the car just sleeping in the car park. ha.

ecookie. my porridge rather pasty, i think chloe loves it that way.. and it's easier to feed too.. not sure if it means fuller or not though...

chriz, my boy also eats as much porridge. The yellow pigeon bowl portion definitely not enuff for him. He takes nearly 3/4 of a rice bowl.. I thk their appetites are just good. Anyway, I feel that he gets hungrier faster when eating porridge as compared to rice cereal.

chintz, your porridge looks good leh!

My mum added green veg in it, and sometimes the porridge looks green but still smells v nice. But when I taste it, it's really quite bland.. unlike our own porridge that we eat. hehe..

sugarnut: yah i think they get hungrier too. the 1st time i fed him. i think i fed 1.5 times of the pigeon feeding bowl till he gave a want to puke look so i think hes really full and i cut down his night feed cos i heard from pple that porridge more full than rice cereal.. how WRONG!
that night he woke up at 4+am crying for milk.. he never woke up crying for milk since he 3 mths+ old. so he must be hungry.. ha

morning mummies...

dodo, glad u hv made up ur mind! all e best gal n i'm sure u'll be fine! hugz

i didnt have time to read thru all posts but to all mummies n babies who are sick, speedy recovery and lotsa love..

bbwow, ya, cancerians ROX! haha.. and to all cancerian mummies out there, HAPPIE BIRTHDAY!

okie now, back to my girl. she's been having fever since Fri nite. one of her upper tooth sprout out liao, so we tot could be the other one giving her problem. refuse to take any food at all. woke up every hour at night, crying. which is very rare cos she's very hardy one. n she always wants to be carried this weekend. been to the doc twice but said she's having running nose & teething. yday, little spots appeared on her body. my mum brought her to the doc this morning and guess wat, adri got CHICKEN POX!!! haiyo.. none of us in the family got chicken pox recently leh.. must be one of those idiots who have chicken pox and yet still ventured out of the house. she must be in real pain cos i've never seen her so miserable and grouchy before. sob..

oh no poor adri, sayang her.. must b itchy for her.. can she take any medicine for the itchiness..? try to stop her from scratching too much, if not got scars

Oh no, hope Adrienne go thru the few days with lesser pain. Did the doc prescribed anything for chicken pox? Take care and hope she gets thru this quickly and have a speedy recovery!

sugar_nut, thanks for the compliments hehe

but it really does taste nice hehe
it's good to let her try different kinda porridge hehe

Babies using Nepia
today is the last day of their delivery promotion. $14 each pack ( min. 4 packs)
Yesterday, I saw NTUC increased their price liao!! :-(

I just called for my order but the L & XL are out of stock currently. Stock shld arrived this weekend as mentioned by the lady.

hippo, poor adri. she must be feeling miserable. sayang sayang!

re: porridge amount
hannah eats about 1 - 2 servings of the pigeon feeding bowl (big section).

re: ginger
is it ok to cook porridge with ginger? or is it better to steam the fish with ginger, and then mix the fish with the porridge later. any advise??

zhen zhen i think its better to stem the fish with ginger to remove the fishy smell then mix w porridge. if not porridge will have ginger smell maybe too strong for babies..

thanks mummies for the kind concern.. ya, i hope she recovers soon..

the worst thing is she fell from her bed again on saturday. ended up with one big bump on her head. she was sleeping and i checked on her less than 5 mins before the fall. she was flipping in her sleep as usual. n she flipped over those barriers we put around her! n landed on the floor with one loud thud and she started wailing. OMG.. heart broke man... but she's okie now.. haiz..

mummies, i recommend this cream which u can get from the doc. itz called BNP. itz really good for bruises and cuts. her bump was gone the next day. when i fall or knock against stuff, i apply it on myself too and the bruise will show very fast and recovers very fast as well.

Mummies who are interested in Birthday Direct.
Can send the links and items that you want to my email or PM and I try to see whether I can order online.

hippo,

oh dear! is adri feeling better now? did doc prescribe any anti-itch cream so she will not scratch herself? poor thing.. aunty hug hug... hope she get well real soon!

totoro,

yes, the enfapro thing still available. but can u collect at my place - cck? will it be rather far for u? hope u dun mind..
any mummy interested as well?

gal, i got the Einstein never used flashcard book! hubby bought me this as Mother's day present, what a gift! as i told mad that this book is real hard to digest, like reading thesis so i passed it back to hubby already, wana he to read himself and summarise for me :p

re solid amount:
ziqian eats abt 3/4 bowl of the combi's deep bowl, any mummy using that bowl as well? i think he has small appetite :p
last night let him have ABC pasta, he keep looking into the bowl and cant concentrate eating!

totoro,
im interested in the birthday direct items! wait for me k... i will email u later, going to cook lunch for my boy now.. thanks!

oh dear hippo,

adri got chickie pox!!! *hugz* must be very painful for her.

re: porridge
I think J really eats alot now. he can take 1 full chinese rice bowl. Is that too much?

his feeding is like this
730am - 5oz milk
930am - 4 scoops cereal, 1 cube fruit puree
1230pm - 1 bowl of porridge
3/4pm - 6oz milk
730pm - 1 bowl of porridge
10/11pm - 6oz milk

But these past few days, he has been dropping the 11pm feed! REFUSE to drink at all and only wake up at 7 for milk. So it's almost 12 hours! It's that ok?

re: sleep
can I know how long can your baby stays awake? J will get cranky and sleepy if he's awake for 3-4 hours and then for sure he needs to take his nap liao.