(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

My baby is also about 7+ months and on semi-solids. Can i ask if any mummies out there use butter or olive oil to cook food for their babies?
I was reading some baby recipes for 7-9months (e.g. Annabel Karmel's recipes) and they introduce butter/olive oil in sauteing! Is it OK for baby?

Thanks for the kind advice in advance.

Good morning all!

gingerleaf: ok, i think im gonna let chloe try on ice cream this weekend hee..

junniez: we're going to stay at bayview hotel. i have no idea about it, looks ok from the website. it's the forum organiser who made all the arrangement.

everyone that has IL initials, are just not in my good books right now :p

gingerleaf! aiyoh, this mummy pampers lynn with all sorts of goodies..haha...so cute, the 1st picture, is she drooling??haha....

so many mummies give ice-cream too BB huh? i'm still holding back cos i dun want to spoilt aria's taste bud. later, she doesn't want my milk! i still haven't feed her banana, apple, or sweet potato. the only sweet food i feed her is pumpkin. she loves it! she doesn't like avocado though... make faces when i fed her..

Morning Mummies...

I m back... though @ home. On MC till Wed coz of my silly fall. Swollen toes, cun walk properly. >.<

Ponponta,
Wow... Thanks for remembering! =) Yes, I watch Tom &amp; Jerry cartoons almost every nite during preggie days. Gd laugh b4 going 2 bed. =) Both hb &amp; my names start with J, so bb oso J.

Erhmm... Gingerleaf, how u noe my hb is J oso?

CM,
Saw u again... So hapie! =) My sis was commenting that Carlson looks more advance in terms of social skills. He can play &amp; interacts with his sister hor... So gd. Like our two boys, fighting ya? Haha...

clio,
you can only use unsalted butter in baby food. its available in supermarkets. i think better to avoid all oil, include olive oil.

gingerleaf,
actually my 3 day food rule also like never use already, but still dunt dare to give salt and sugar.

Yes, mad. I got severe bruises on both legs n a swollen toe. Haiz... So bored. Cun move/run around freely as I used to. Hopefully I get well soon. =)

Oh doobom,
your fall was really bad. Do rest more....

gingerleaf,
haha...lyn was definitely enjoying the ice-cream. She looked so contented after tasting it

clio,
I think it's alright to intro unsalted butter and olive oil in cooking cuz other books on weaning also mentioned that we can start to use them in cooking. But you dun hv to follow lah..dun use if u're uncomfortable with it. I also don't use and I dun lose out anything.

so cute photos!! i still dun dare to let bb try new food, esp since she's coughing a little recently

sure, will update u on hk weather when i'm back on 24th.. heard its still rainy there &amp; flooding in guangzhou, not going sz in the end cos got prob, sigh.. not bringing bb along &amp; was tearing over the wk end, tink i'll miss bb..

quite upset over the wk end, cos mil stretched her hands out &amp; bb inclined towards her. then she said " bb wants ah-ma, dun want mummy" i was like?! i din even say such things whenever i go home &amp; bb was so happy to see me &amp; want me to carry instead of mil!! i know she doesnt mean it but ... so insensitive of her....

jovial, ps add me!! thanks
bb called Rene born on 7 oct, same as perlicia's ;p

oh zinterz, dun be sad. Such things do happen cuz some old folks are really insensitive. If she keeps saying it in future, just ask your hubby to tell her nicely not to say such things as it hurts u. Think your mil will understand if she doesn't mean it.

zinterz, dun take it to heart ya? i'm sure she dun mean it.. could be just said in jest.. we always joke abt such things at home too.. ha! like how my baby is stuck to my mum n grandma etc etc.. but babies know ultimately who the parents are.. cheer up gal! =D

doobom, take care ah.. 4 inch power heels! make sure u go for ur follow up appts if any, to avoid rheumatism problems in future wor..

gingerleaf, ha! ice-cream.. i want also can? keke...

zinterz, take it easy.. though i know it's hard :p

i'm facing same probs as u.

many many many unsolved problems.

ask u mummies, are u particular about how ur baby is being called? what nickname u'd prefer and what u'd ban?

i'm really annoyed when the ILs addressed chloe with other names, like 'Ah B', 'Ah Mei', 'Ah Hui"

wah i can really faint!!

then me and hb keep on highlighting, pls call her real name.. then MIL can still replied, "chloe will reply when i call her ah Mei!!'

*vomit blood*

gingerleaf, wah! you are really adventurous in feeding lyn! i tried giving ice-cream to hannah the other day and guess what? she doesn't like it! my strange girl doesn't like sweet food. fruit also don't really like.

doobom, do take care. your fall must have been really bad!

zinterz, don't take it to heart. i know it can be really hurtful, but i'm sure she doesn't mean it.

chintz, we try to call hannah by her name. but we still end up calling her all kinds of pet names, like baby, darling, sweetie. i just can't help myself. :p

zinterz,

sometime ILs are like that... my MIL keeping telling my boy no one want u, put u alone here..so sianz ritez..

Chintz,

my MIL too.. keep calling Jayden "Zhu".....n sometime he did reply..Fainted man
My SIL n MIL keep saying Jayden is too skinny..hv to eat more cereal..somemore my MIL call up my mum and told her Jayden is small size due to this n that...u can imagine my mum really feel offensive..I was so angry when my mum told me..

thanks mummies, i'm ok now after sleep ;p
just tat at that pt in time, quite upset..

chintz, i call rene "bb", "darling" tho my mil sometimes calls her "ah ger", my hubby wld call her by chinese name.. initially i mind but now, i tink its ok cos its all our ways of showing our affections..

btw, couldnt join u all in the gym trial session.
does anyone have contact no &amp; address? thinking of bringing my bb there to try

So many post today!!! =D

Doboom,
Heheheh, read from ur blog la, that ur hb name is J too.
Ur toe swollen? It made me laf while reading, coz juz last week, my hb go n kiap his finger in the door and it swelled up abit oso. Then I told him to stick that Hansaplast, and the swelling will go down, juz like the advert. U know, the logo is the boy with a big swelling thumb?
Heheh.

Chintz,
My MIL started calling lyn 'meimei', coz she is the youngest and the only gal. Both hb's bro's kids are sons. Then everyone stared calling her meimei too, and she responses. My good frd calls her 'bun', coz she looks like bun when she was younger with the puffy cheeks. Im pretty okay with the nick names coz I find it really affectionate. I was given a nickname when I was young oso, n all my relatives call me that, even till now.

Mad,
glad you got the pics!!

Aria,
I used to think like u oso! I was being very particular abt her diet. Follow the 3 day rule strictly. I actually follwed the 4 day rule. This and that cannot eat, blah blah, dowanna feed sugar coz scare she will develop sweet tooth. But I figure out she is old enough to start experimenting now, so I just let her try things la. I am worried I might raise a picky eater oso, if I want to continue resticting her diet.

Clio,
U can use unsalted butter. Olive oil also can use. But do make sure everything is in moderation.
Last time I used Olive oil to make beef stew for my dog, coz they are oso like babies, alot of things oso cannot eat.
I will use Olive oil to sauteed babies' food too, shld the recipe calls for it.

chintz, so far i hvnt banned any nicks leh.. and i m guilty of some myself. my family calls her "sweetheart", my frens call her "zhumeimei", i call her "naughty girl" and "meimei" etc etc.. but when we want to get her attention, we try to go by her name la... cool down okie? big hugz for u.. dun faint dun faint..

zinterz, glad u r better! which gym r u referring to?

mummies who wanna let their baby eat ice cream,

Must be mentally prepare, coz once they tried, they wun stop! They will literally climb all over you juz to get that lick! And u will be happy to see their reactions too! And there will def be a 2nd time! heheheh

I have also started feeding her yogurt. At first she dun like, coz the taste abit tart. Then I told her its ice cream, and plus the fact the yogurt is cold, she believes, and relishes it after that. hahahah

Gingerleaf,
I salute you
Think i'm super Kia si .. this dare not try, that dare not try ...
Think I should start to change my mentality.

Doobom,
Aiyo, your fall seems bad. Take care ... remember to 'sayang' your bruises.

Chintz,
My family had been calling Caelen ' Chou chou' Chinese for smelly even before he is born .. hehehhe
... but we make it a habit to call him by his name in public places.....imagine calling him by his pet name in public when he is older .... hahahhaa...

Re: MIL
but i undertnad that old folk's thinking is cannot say good things like ' handsome, pretty, popular etc' in front of baby ... something like baby will be 'pantang' and turn out the bad way. Personally I don't believe it lah, but I accept that that how they think.

Re: BabyMallOnline,
According to online tracking, Item is with the speedpost delivery courier liao. Will be able to mail out before I go for my oversea meeting
Yeah !!

i also call myra 'notti' all the time, aiyoh, nowadays she very demanding.

any mommies here want NAN. i have 2x400gm tins, but the other can is the new NAN formula. anyone? can meet and pass to you. i'll let go for $10 each.

re: nicknames,

sweet names like baby, darling, sweetie pie, all i dun mind..

i just mind all those irrelevant, ugly names for my chloe >.<

and, up til now, my MIL sometimes will still call wrongly, call her fave grandchild name instead!!

maybe i'm too hostile towards the ILs liao :p

re:MIL

I understand u all feel. MIL issue is a night mare to me. But now no longer have to bother it. I won't teach my girl to call granny at all. I will only teach my girl to acknowledge my side and my relatives.

Re:nickname

well, my girl only respond when we call her 'sherry' but if we call her chinese name 'xueli' she no respond. Think we always call her 'sherry', that why she only respond to this lor. My mother don't know how to speak english so only call my girl 'baby' till now.

gingerleaf &amp; mad, ha! name suits them doesnt it? dat girl.. when i call her "notti", she'll grin lo! *pengz*..

gingerleaf, u ah.. lyn so sweet yet u cheat her... haha! but she like yoghurt so far? adri hates it.. keke.. but like lyn, loves ice-cream n ice kachang!! omg.. she dun mind toppling over just for the ice! anyway, being exposed to diff food is also good for their stomach! will train the stomach to be stronger n not easily succumb to diarrhoea etc.. so gambate &amp; let's continue ba! hahaha

chintz, itz okie.. i have BIG ILs issues too.. keke..

Chintz,
My grandma also call baby 'ugly' name. She say that way, baby will turn out handsome. If call him handsome now, baby will turn out ugly due 'pantang'

jacq,
isnt it good tt bb sleeps more. I wld prefer my bb to slp. She sleeps v little, ard 9plus pm to 7am (in between she'll wake up). so, ard 10hrs nite, plus 1-3hrs nap in the day. so little....

chintz
we call my gal "meimei", coz it's easier for my son to call her that rather than her name clare. we also call her clare.. of course, this excludes, the usual darling, sweety pie, etc. haha..

gingerleaf, haha! good for u cos easy to intro food to her in future! =D

krissie, u call ur gal meimei for the sake of ur son.. i call my bb meimei cos i was telling my mum, i dun feel like a mummy.. i still feel young so i shall be my bb's "jiejie"!! hahahah

hippo... u r a mummy &amp; yet 'dun len lao'??? hahaha.. well, u look young indeed!!

ponponta..ya, we driving up.. enjoy your trip too!

gingerleaf.. so fast try new food overnight? haha.. cheese is good.. keep it up... my gal now taking at least a pc or 2 of the kraft cheese daily... nanny also said she let bb lance tried cheese, honeydew,kiwi,bread alr, he practically luv everythings except grip water! we hvnt tried ice-cream yet, may b tonite i try!! (but cant let my mum see, if not she will nag nag nag)...haha..

chintz.. oic, u staying @bayview hotel, tink shdnt b tat bad cos as u said booked by some leader, do share your experience after u rtn ya.. dun bother over IL issue la, not worth... we can nvr stop their mouth one... as long they dun 'step' our tail can alr... my MIL lately call bb 'tee kiang' (piglet in hokkien) cos she said he 'v difficult to bring up - cos of the hospital issue'.. i let it b lor.. like wat jovial said, old folks thinks bad name 4 bb means will b opposite way out... we call him bb lance or lancy, my mum call him didi cos she cant pronounce english/chinese name, she call my gal 'ah tian' (which is totally different fm 'ah zann')!!

doobom.. ooops..tat time i still 'laughing' @ yr fall, soooo sorri didnt knw is tat bad arrrrr... hope the bruises go off soon &amp; yr leg will b 'mei mei' &amp; not painful, tink u shd let the 'power heels' rest for time being!! hahaha..

My girl finally managed to poooooooo after the stubborn hard one came out with our help. This morning, reward her by bringing her to East Coast Part to walk walk and have breadfast! Now back to work!!

Doobom
Wah, your fall become so serious huh. Please take care ya! But enjoy the stay at home.

Gingerleaf &amp; Madlynette
Me also throw away the 3 day rule liao. Now she have to eat when we are eating, drink when we are drinking so would like her have plain rice, some vege etc. Today she finally eat the cod fish in the afternoon. phew ...
But I don't dare to let her try ice cream cos I know this girl, if she wants, it will means that there is no ending. Now she will purposely cries for the star biscuit if I keep the container. Went to supermarket, she will shout at the row of biscuits !!! Ask her drink water, she don want but must try my cold drink or daddy's coffee. So have to let her feel/touch before she is a bit satisfied!

nick
I also called her noti girl sometimes other than the princess, ger ger, baobei etc Sometimes will alternative her chinese name to get her familiar with it.

Aria
Thanks for the arrangement. Am still thinking should we joined in the shots or not.

junnie dear, u made my day *blush blush* haha! of cos dun "ren lao"... must be young at heart then can keep up with my girl wor.. =P and hor, thanks to me so thick-skin dat my hubby is kept "young" also! oops.. keke

totoro, glad kelly pooped! all's fine now.. i can imagine the pain.. eeks..

totoro,
I oso think that way leh. But since the shoot is abit long, juz take abit loh, nv know, maybe a few pieces might come out really nice. Then got nice nice quan jia fu. I was oso hesitant abt paying extra for parent shoot, coz I jus sign up with foto-u b4 SL.

How abt next time u drink plain water, so she will wanan drink from ur cup too? Out of the junks Im giving, Im really stopping at coffee/tea. Caffeine too high oreadi!

I can imagine kelly shouting at the biscuits in the supermarket oreadi. Hahhaah.

bb can try cheese at this time?
tot i read somewhere dairy products better try after 1 yr old?

anywya, if i recall correctly, u all went to the gym @ harbourfront issit? *still suffering fr pregnesia sorry*

actually, any gym is ok, just wanna call for trial session to let bb try n see if she likes it ;p

see my girl got the 'mature' look as some other mommies claim when they meet her, please tell her to stop growing so fast. sob!sob! im glad she looks like she got put on some weight now! i'm weaning her off BM already, i cannot tahan already so tiring! but at night she cry and cry want to latch. weaning her is the most tiring process of all.

1494477.jpg

madlynette
I'm one of them who have mentioned long time ago that myra has a "toddler" face liao. She can be easily mistaken for someone over 1 year old I guess with her sweet face! Look at the way she sit, aiyoh look so steady and like posing for the photo somemore.

mad,
she is so cute. And her pose is so nice. She might be a model when she grows up!

zinterz,
everything is fed to baby at ur own comfort level.

gingerleaf, the cheese and yoghurt you give issit normal type or specifically for babies?

totoro, good for your gal. so poor thing, constipate until like that. i think you are now the constipation expert liao.

zinterz, ya... we went to gymboree at harbourfront in May.

mad, myra really looks very mature. and her hair is so long. wonder when hannah's hair will grow??

zinterz
I think you are referring to Gymboree at Harbourfront. so far, it seems to be a better one so you might want to go for the trial to try it out.

mad, myra is so pretty.. pardon me for being very straight here.. but myra looks better without her coconut hair! she's very pretty.. 1st time i seriously look at her cos dun have the hair to distract me! sorie dear.. just my thoughts.. =D

she's so adorable!! wanna hug n carry her

yup, that's the one u pp went to!! does anyone have the contact no for me to call n check out?

thanks thanks

mad,

she's really bigger for her age.. like 12 - 18mths girl.. i can't use the word mature cos she's just a sweet little baby! mature until wat age? aiyo..

yoplait baby yogurt ? Where to get this, has been looking ard when I went supermarket but so far no luck or I blur blur can't see.
Got photo to show.. hee sorry for the trouble as picture speaks a thousand words

zinterz
I only have the tanglin branch number with me now. You can try to call and ask them.
6735 5290