(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

mummies!!
have some questions to ask u all...

do ur babies stick to u all the time at home? its like I cant even be out of Sean's sight for more than 5 seconds!! He will turn ard and smile at me or touch my hand once a while to make sure I m beside him when playing etc. If i leave him for more than 5 seconds at most, he will CRY n WAIL!!! helppppp, is this normal?
my mum kept telling me tt he has been frightened by mb the dogs barking etc and ask me to buy some medicine from Eu Yan San tt will make Sean not so timid....
got such medicine meh? I dun really trust giving unncessary Chinese medicine to babies

Another question: Do u feed more than 2 solid meals to ur babies?
sean will have cereal+milk at 10am, then porridge at 1pm, milk at 3plus and then cereal+milk again at 6pm, will latch on after 7pm when i reach home...

Perlicia, enjoy ur holiday

we are leaving for msia on monday and I already started packing luggage for sean...so many things to bring for him...

unice: not sure if there is true. somehow i felt dat breastfed bb tend to stick to mummies more. datz wat i heard from my frens. (mine is not)

heard many giving those medicine for bb from eu yan san. it's called "jin feng san" or sthg like dat. hb and me oso not comfortable in giving so we din.

thanks jacq!! yesterday we also surfing ard amazon after u mentioned. 3.5inch screen good enuff is it? thk the one totoro posted has a bigger screen..

unice, i guess it is called 惊风散. whether it is really helpful or not,not too sure.
maybe sean showing sign of separation anxiety.
Raphael no need 5sec, as he see me walking away, he start his music already.

I haven't start packing, see the list already sianz by half...How can I afford to buy things.

jacq
u mentioned that u order ur GPS from overseas, then how did u manage to download the singapore map into it, if it comes preinstalled with USA maps?

bbwow
my boy still depend on mood leh... morning he still blur, so ok with cereal. then will give him some porridge in late afternoon or evening which he usually won't take v.much but better than nothing. dun wanna rush him also n as he's still taking in about 3 bottles/ 700ml of milk per day, so think he's having enough. in between, will also give him fruits - apple/pear/avocado/banana/papaya,etc or whatever i've at home, just for fun!

unice,
I think it's separation anxiety,In my case, Caelen also wants someone to be with him at all time 1 to 2 months back. Now he is slightly better. At least he don't mind my dogs to accompany him (he stay in his playpen while the dogs lie around). They will grow out of it after while although he would still look for people during afternoon nap, guess he feel more secure having someone around watching hi m while he sleeps.

unice, i am having the same problem too. I think the medicine is in a green ball and its powder form...supposedly for babies who got scared or something...haha doesnt work la..my MIL tried before..my gal is also needing me 24/7 nowadays. so tired~

oh ya mummies who went for kindermuzik.how was it? want to send my gal for it but heard mix reviews...so not too sure.
have a class just downstairs my place

went for the aquaducks trial today. hannah had fun. thinking of signing up for 1 term. only drawback is that it is quite tough to clean up after that if you're on your own. really take my hats off to eil. she handled jae like a pro!

go go bambini was also nice. had a padded area + ball pit for the little ones to play around in. and good coffee for the parents!

here's a photo of jae and hannah in the ball pit.

1482797.jpg

unice, i think it's normal for babies to be sticky at this age. as long as she doesn't see me, she can happily play by herself. but if she sees me, then she will want me to play with her. so like gingerleaf, i sneak around the house too.

i also try and bring her out more, and let different people take care of her. think she's less sticky now. although mummy is still her #1 choice.

wow thanks mummies for ur feedback!!
at least i should feel happy tt i have a clingy koala at home haha
makes me feel important

jovialz, thanks for the link, so useful...i forwarded the link to my godmum and mum liao...to tell them tt my baby is no different from other babies...he just loves n misses mummy thats all HHAHA.... i really cant stand it when they come n tell me that once upon a time, all their children (eg my cousins, me etc) are different from Sean blah blah blah....they just love to compare abt last time this, last time that........
i wanted to tell them tt last time police wear shorts ah......\

sylvia, we didnt go for kindermusil in the end...cos many babies were not feeling too good .....

thanks for the info abt jin feng san too... i told my mum tt sean doesnt have nightmares at night or whatsoever, no green shit too!! haha....
so no need to eat such stuffs....

jovialz, does caelen shout at ur dogs?
sean loves to look at them and screams at Snoopy (my male dog)...mb sean is screaming at him, scolding him for barking unnecessarily and disturbing his sleep..haha...
then snoopy will go hide under the table...
i even have a video on sean shouting at snoopy n snoopy hid under the table, dare not walk out or walk past sean!!! haha

unice,
Ya, it's separation anxiety. Every baby will go through this phase. I also have to sneak around in the house but if Jav sees me and cry, I'll just let him cry for a while. But most of the time, I'll put him in rocker or stroller and push him around with me. He enjoys sitting there watching me.

totoro,
Thanks for the suggestion. Will go to these stores to check out the pot. Hubby said this time no more expensive pots, must get something cheaper.

zhen zhen,
I just ordered a thermos shuttle chef from bp. May be I should get a slow cooker,eh?

Mummies, hv you all gone for the kindermusik trial? Didn't hear any feedback from you all....

Unice,
No leh. as a matter of fact, he loves them (I think) since he wants to touch them and he laughs happily when he see them

jovialz, haha, sean loves to touch their white coat too and then he will close his eyes n laugh..i think he feels ticklish...
but he still loves to look at snoopy n shout at him haha...poor snoopy..

we had a photoshoot wif sean n the dogs too..by kopimei

sanbebe, the shuttle chef is the small one right? think that should work just as well too!

the big thermal pot doesn't really work though. think the amount of porridge we cook is too little liao. so doesn't generate enuf heat to self-cook.

re: kindermusik trial
was just about to ask about it. so will you gals be arranging another session in the future?

unice
kelly is like that at home as well, it lasted for a few weeks. just 2 days ago she started to be able to play on her own for a while and I can disapear for a while. guess it's again a stage that bb will go through.

talking abt koala bear ... it just melts my heart whenever kelly did that! i know it's not good habit but i like the way she cuddle infront of me and fall asleep!

totoro, haha, we have koala bears at home...
i love it when sean hugs my neck so tight and rub his whole head against mine. oso when tell him to sayang mummy, he will use his head to touch my head, then his both hands will grab the side of my face/head...so heartwarming..

really hope this seperation anxiety phase will be over soon...thanks mummies for sharing...scares me when just hearing from the older folks sometimes..

Unice,
lyn's been clingy for v long oreadi. So long till I dun remember when it started. I like it in a way I feel impt la, but sometimes so frustating coz cannot get things done
Even when hb around her, and I walk off, she will cry.
Luckily when outside she dun behave lidat. guess distracted ba.

gingerleaf
I think they only behave like that at home!! smart bbies
I started to ask my hb to bath her, change her and make milk for her and just for 2 days, her behaviour change a bit. don need to SEE me for every sec liao!! But initially she will cried when daddy tried to do the above.
Today, she only look for me for her last feed which she refuse to drink when hb tried feeding her but at least I managed to wash/sterilize her bottles for tomorrow liao. phew!

gingerleaf, ya when outside he is better...
but when my godmum or mum looks after him, he will wan them to carry all the while too. thats y they say its so tiring...
but of cos if i m at home whf them, he only wans me..
cos i got neh neh hahaha

unice,
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH.

That day she cried n dowanna sleep, then I latch to let her suckle for comfort, and she immediately fell asleep.
Then hb said. " the power of Nehneh."
hahahaah

Doobom,
Can share with me where you can the 6panels of play yard? I need to get too. Went to KP, they ask me to buy two sets lor! Faintz.

sugarnut: personally i tot the 3.5 inch one is good enuff for me. can see clear enuff.

garden dreams: u can download diff maps. it all depends on the size on the SD card u hv. so mine has US and spore maps since i bought from amazon (the default maps inside is US). just key in the road name u wanna go, the GPS will detect and direct u to the plc u wanna go (US too far).
in fact,my GPS now is in europe. lent it to our fren whos is currently touring there.

totoro_bb:the website to download the map http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/

Jacq
was thinking the bigger screen better for Car usage. Only worry when ordering from overseas for such gadget is when it's not working. From here, at least I can still exchange if it's not working. thanks for the link, was told to get it from the same site as well.

re: aquaducks trial
session includes songs and activities. the main aim is to get babies to be comfortable in the water, but in a gradual way.

for today, the instructor did not get any water on their faces. just poured some water on the back of their heads, and got the sides of their faces wet. think as the weeks progress, each activity will probably increase in "intensity", until baby is comfortable holding breath under water, etc.

each session lasts for 30min.

any bb has no weight gain? BB weight has not been incresing for the past 1 mth plus. always ard 9plus kg... kind of worry

chris
i never weight her since she is 6mth leh!
Did not bring her to PD due to high HFMD rate, so till now still have not got her pheumo jab!
Am thinking of bring her maybe next week as she coming to 9mths liao!

zhen zhen, jacq and garden_dreamz, yeah that's why I'm really not too keen on taking up the part time scheme. next year my dept is gonna be super short-handed, that's why the school management is trying quite hard to keep me working. but i think i will do like what jacq suggested, resign and give tuition or something...not much point taking no pay leave also, because i would have missed out on so much after 2 years. there'd be such a huge inertia to go back to teaching again.

zhen zhen, that aquaducks trial seems interesting. is the class conducted in the baby wading pool? which pool do they use? if it's near enough, i might bug my hubby to bring matty :p

matty also has separation anxiety...if he doesn't see me at all he's pretty happy doing whatever he's doing. but once he sees my face, i have to be beside him oredi...cannot even wash hands...but i kinda like the feeling of him missing me leh, coz the maid is the main caregiver and i rarely get to spend time with him...

gingerleaf, hahahah yah the power of the nehneh indeed. suckling always helps to calm matty down when he's inconsolable. hope i will still have milk for the phuket trip during the airplane takeoffs and landings.

btw im bringing matty's sterilizer to phuket...my hubby LAUGHED at me for wanting to bring it along! it really saves me the trouble of using sterilising tablets then having to wash off the chemicals with boiled water yada yada loh. so i convinced my mil to support me in bringing it along hiak hiak hiak.

talking abt power of neh nehs hor, i m a little worried tt sean is over reliant on the nehs...
he needs the nehs to fall asleep.
then mid night, if he ever got awoken by the dogs or by himself, he will automatically turn over and reach out for the nehs. u can practically see his head turning with eyes closed,n mouth opened, searching for the nehs...
i wanna train him to sleep alone liao but becos of his fever 2 weeks ago, i decided to wait a little longer..
and worse still, everyday at ard 6-7pm,when i m still not home, he will start his music liao...he will make noise, gets super grumpy...allt he way till he sees me..even though he has just ate his dinner at 6pm, he still wanna neh neh when he sees me...

my colleague breastfeed her child till 3yrs old lei....i dun wan to drag so long woah....

aquaduck,
we went to the one at demsey beside St James Kindergarden. It was a small little heated pool (maybe abt 10m long). Water level about chest height. I like that place, very quiet and cosy. Shower area is big and is heated too and free parking :p

The session is 30mins and need mummy hands on, instructor will guide you along, and give you tips here and there. So far so good for the trial and might sign up for 1 term (1term = 3mths = 12weeks).

GPS
totoro...so how? Are both of you ordering from Amazon then?

Jacq... can i ask you, does your have voice direction? If not, then how do it prompt you to make the next turn?

eil,
my hb is using his hp as a gps, and it will prompt you to turn sometime b4 the actual turn.
When he drives too fast, it will keep saying 'pls slow down'.

gingerleaf.. tks! I abit "suai ku". And I finally understand... haha.. I'm actually looking at 2 diff model. One got voice over ROAD NAME instead of just voice direction.

Totoro
I'm very interested in getting one. If we get from Amazon, i think it will cost about S$350(w shipping) or less if we share the shipping.

morning mummies, bad news yesterday. one of my husband's nephew (which is the sister's son) passed away in brunei during army training. and he is just 22 or 23.. poor thing... my poor SIL, dunno how she is going to handle when they fly the body back today...

frosty
My condolences to your family. You would have to be strong for them as well.

eil
I think it's quite a big investment and somemore electronic product and I'm a bit worried to just buy off the net from overseas. If suai suai got problem, don no who to look for and worst if more shipping charges have to be incurred. Furthermore, it's just $30 different and they have stock immediately so it will be in time as a Father's day present for hb on behalf of Kelly leh. Now just waiting to see can get 5 or not, if not I'll just have to pay a bit more to get one set.