(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

annie
thx lots for passing me those samples. appreciate it lots lots! could u pls PM or sms me the name of the PD you go to?

karrie
agree its hard to quantify what is half-load esp if u teach certain subjects, it would b more than half load. but on the other hand, u r excused from contact time,meetings,CCA. not too bad if u r willing to sacrifice career advancements, lower pay/bonus,etc, in return for more time with your child.

chris
thx lots for your suggestion. tried giving water to my water but sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. no choice, i just try to be patient n feed him, coz really no idea how to stop him from keeping food in his mouth.

i'm not giving him his paci in the day but at nite, i give it to him if he wakes up screaming. i just hope that this gradual withdrawal is not as painful n stressful as total withdrawal.

re: play yard
mummies who r keen on this, actually 4 panels is enough coz 6 panels take up alot of space and the 4 panels are adjustable so can actually play around with the configuration to maximise floor area. however, once child can stand or learning to stand/walk, they may not wanna be left inside the play yard too long, esp. when separation anxiety kicks in at around this time. still, its gd as a short time measure n also train them to play independently.

oh yes, exersaucer is also a life saver! its a gd option to consider other than play yard.

anyone got good lobang to get playpen? am looking for one to contain clare when she is awake.

or is play yard a better option?

Jacq,
I juz bought a play yard today! Chinatown store sells it at 120 which is only 9 cheaper than what I got at KP. But the waiting list is extremely long.

I got a playpen too, but for lyn case, she keeps jumping n standing in it and her feet seems 'curved' coz they are sinked into the mattress. However, she enjoys standing up n falling back, so the playpen is safer, but I dun think its good for her feet in the long run. So have left that playpen in the office for her to sleep in. Hope she wun do that falling backward stunt in her play yard.

She is using Gentriderm, but its given by the PD. It worked reaaaalllly well on her and her ezcema cleared up 70% in 2-3 days. Im well aware abt the steroid thingy, but I feel its better to clear them up 1st than to let her itch and suffer. I believe as long as it isnt abused in the long run, it shld be okie.
You might wanna consult a PD too, coz the 1st time I see my reg PD, he gaved me zaricort which didnt seem to help much.

thanks gingerleaf.

mine is ELOMET. my gynae prescribed dat to me when i had eczema during pregnancy.

and when i asked the pd for some cream to clear milk/ heat rash when she was younger, she gave exactly the SAME cream, ELOMET.

maybe i shld check with ano PD.

btw, u put mostuiser on lyn ?

I admit I'm not a good cook. I only have 2 pots in my kitchen and guess wat, I burnt the 2 pots !!

Just 2 wks ago, I burnt my expensive tefal pot when I tried to heat up carrot puree. And today, I burnt the one and only pot left when I was cooking millet ! Sigh....my hb said I'm hopeless.....

Going to shop for new pots this weekends.

jacq,
yeah yeah, Im the super kiasu type. I use moisturizers on her since born till now. Last time was using California baby botanical calming cream. Now am using Topicream given by Pd. Quite like that cream compare to CB. Long term dunno on par to CB or not, but so far I think its pretty decent.

Just to share some good news....

My SIL and my friend both gave birth to a baby boy this morning ...heh heh...wat a coincidence !

sanbebe,
if you have avent cups and warmer, u can actually use that method to heat up purees. Thats what I have been doing. Very convienent.
Hb even worse, he heats up puree in the avent cup in hot water at work. Then have to change hot water a few times. hehehe

gingerleaf,
Wow! U got the play yard for Lyn. She muz luv it ya? Jerry luv spending time in his playyard too.

sanbebe,
Yes, I am using same method of warming up food jars as gingerleaf. Purees in the AVENT cups n warm up in hot water from airpot.
Gingerleaf,
I m not so hardworking. Din change hot water few times. Let it for abt 10mins, then serve. =)

re: playyard
Itz a gd investment. With the playyard, itz more of a baby-safe place with bumpermat in it. Besides the bumpermat, we have 2 layers of ABC mat underneath. *Kiasu...* Hee...
Here's about the 6-panels we have @ home for the 2 boys.
http://juniorjerrychew.blogspot.com/2008/06/fun-in-new-playground.html

doobom,
no, im not the hardworking one, I use the food warmer! =p
Its hb who gotta be hardworking to heat up that way in the office coz no warmer there. =p

mummies/bb who r sick - get well soon...

me had been busy didnt login tis two days.. our block here govt is starting to re-paint soon, so helping my mum to clear the corridor, etc during the weekends... & ysterday got to on leave as childcare close for spring cleaning since last friday, then got to bring my gal to polyclinic for her fllw-up eyes check-up (cos she didnt co-operate during the last chk up 6mths ago @her 4th years assessment, she purposely says the words 'too tiny' she cant see & dun pay attention to instruction when the nurse doing assessment!!), then tis round i told her she better 'behave' if she dun stay still & say cant read again, got to see doc & will hv to send her to make her glasses & tell her all the bad points of wearing glasses - end up she got 6/6 for the test, phiew..(cos she like to b a 'princess' watch too much disney princess cartoons, & princess dun wear glasses ;) tis mummy v 'bad' always 'lying' to her & 'threaten' her) haha..

sylvia.. u hv a cheeky gal, her tongue soooo 'sharp' arrrr but cant touch the nose yet..haha.. her double eyelids v nice too..

hippo.. my colleague (edd 10/10) went MH fair last sunday, today she show me some brochures she collected & one of them fm studioloft, she told me the gal on 'sunflower' looks cute!! i told her i knw her & her mummy, she was like 'huh"?? u sure??? hahaha... your adri v 'famous' liao!!

cm..glad carlson is recovering & he's alright fm the fall...u tk care.. me also, will bring extra clothings 4 bb & my gal everywhere I go, tat's y always 'da bao xiao bao' keke..

doobom.. J got 'ba-lu-ku' arrr... *sayang sayang*, we must get ready 'extra' eggs nowsaday!! hahah..

gingerleaf..try apply some teething gel 4 lyn may b will help... soo good u going HK shopping liao, bring empty luggages arrrr & eat lotsa dimsum & goodies - the must try is 'xu liu san' - desserts - i like the mango 'bing' & many other 'tong shui' (tang sui)!!

dodo..dun worry, stay positive & b there 4 your hb & IL sides, your FIL knws your 'xiao xin'..hope he has a speedy recovery..

annie.. nvrmind.. nxt time got chance to bring Kayden for modelling when he's not so shy... @least a good try now...

chris, jovial.. thks 4 the millet advice again.. i got mine fm ntuc organic section, should b no husk cos all small small in yellow colour.. last sunday i tried, still failed
cos if dun blend, its soft yet 'yi li li'..after blend too watery, got to add porridge again, hiaz.. tink i really duno how to cook tis... may b will ask my mum to finish eating 4me.. cos she always say i wasting time in cooking tis..

sanbebe..wow... so nice rite hving to see newborn again somemore 2 @ a time fm your family/friends
re the pot, no worries, now GSS, u got many choices ;)

garden_dream, totoro, re pacificer, hmmm.. i tink no need worry much, bb can wean off as they grow. like wat zhen zhen said, cant 'throw away fingers'!! keke.. may b i'm a lucky one, i hope same for bb lance too, my gal wean off pacifier in abt 3 days when she abt 3yrs b4 entering childcare. nanny & us keep telling her the bad pts of pacifier & gradually 'forget' to bring out during outings & @night told her 'forget' to bring home then she slowly 'forget' & tat's it!! of cos she toss here & there during bed time, but she didnt cry, we were quite surprised.

jacq.. me too used Elomet! but my skin doc prescribed clear lotion instead of cream. i'm running out of it soon, if u going to your doc can buy 4 me? or any mummy going to BKK can long-bang buy 4 me? i can PM the dtls. cos here if i buy, need see doctor for consultation every 6mths - at least $80 w/o medication (which in my case is not necessary as i had 'regular' eczema, i jus need medication to control only) if buy fm spore pharmarcy need doctor's prescribtion. the last round my colleague went BKK 6mths bk i asked them help me buy @local pharmarcy, no need prescribtion & much cheaper than spore. too bad lately they not going up there. as for your bb case, pls treat the ecezma fm early stage, cos once it gets spread, v troublesome..

haiyo.. so late liao, i wanna go zzzzzzzz good nite all... sweet dreams...

thanks all for the info on CNG. looks like dun really worth it hor? although i heard some of them actually spend only $200 a month on CNG nia. haiz.

anyway, i am still thinking to bring my little xavier for the photoshoot at studio loft or not leh. Is the price $290 for the whole CD and photos worth it? anyone took the pics there b4?

hey junnie! haha.. the way u "con" ur girl is so cute lor.. anyway, itz gd for her not to wear glasses. nowadays kids are wearing glasses at such young age!!

adri 'famous'? hmm.. grrr.. should have collected some royalty fees!! haha.. maybe i shd ask for big discounts the next time i go to them again.. =D

forsty, studioloft.. my 5 cents worth.. hmm.. u can dun take the CD offer if u dun wan.. as for the $90 package, if u go thru other studio's promos, itz around the same. they may give u back CDs with untouched pics and no print-outs also. but do check around and do ur research cos i'm sure i have missed out great promos too! and i m too biased cos i love their pics la.. haha.. so not a gd person to give opinions.. keke =P

frostyfiona
foto u have a $258 package (not a promo package, available at any time, subject to schedule of photographer). all photos returned, 2 hr session, make-up/hairdo, printed photos,etc. however, they have a different interpretation of photos fr studio loft. each have their own feel, so go with the one which u like.

jacq, welcome back! glad too hear you had a good trip. and ya, hannah is a good eater. and quite neat too. i am blessed.

junnie, the way you treat your girl very cute le. haha...

frostyfiona, my fren also uses CNG. save a lot of money on fuel. am half thinking of switching when we get a new car. but have to sacrifice our car boot space.

Helloooo

3 more days...hahaha

Yesterday was writing down the things-to-bring for Raphael. Wow, the list is long. All must bring extra...Rompers,PJ,tibits etc etc

Dodo,
I thought 3G Video call deducts at normal air time ?

Re:SAHM,
Had a talk with Hubby, decide to stay put at work. In the mean time will take turn to go and visit baby in the evening. We both know that baby is in good hands (looking at my mum's track record with my 2 niece and a nephew
) and Partly due we thinking of relocating down south NZ which I would have to be a SAHM then, thus want to save up as much as we can now.

zhen_zhen,

thanks for sharing on the feeding. Maybe I'd try out on J as well since cereal alone doesn't seem to fill him up when he can finish ONE big bowl now.

garden_dreamz,
your boy started to take well with solids already?

sanbebe,
thanks for the reminder! I already ordered thru another BP but this one ordered for my MIL and then she change her mind! GRRR

sugar_nut,
Still no luck. Didn't want to risk on weekdays. How's Lleyton so far?

frosty & karrie,
I signed up with Foto-U at $120 BP. 1 hour session with all photos returned (untouched-up) Going for it next Fri!!! :D My friend took at Studio Loft. It was nice too. Depends on the style you like.

bbwow,

so far so good.. but he still alarm clock every morning between 6.45am to 7am. More accurate than my own alarm clock, except cannot put to snooze..

sugar_nut,

hahah...so funny! But what time does Lleyton sleeps? Mine also auto alarm at 730 nowadays. And 5am also auto alarm for some milk. haizz...

CNG Car:
Points to note ... courtesy of my hubby
:

1) Only for brand new car (not registered yet) you get 40% ARF (additional registration fee) rebate. But not all car manufactor / agent is willing to do the conversion.

2) Better check if your current car warranty will be void if you modify your car to fit CNG

3) If not wrong, can only top up the gas at Jurong Island and Mandai currently.

4)expect upto 5% loss in power and the range is limited (ave about 150km - 200km for a 1.5 - 2 litre car per tank)

5) Lost of boot space

5) www.cng.com.sg has more details including the price list (range from $4173 - $7383 )

morning mummies !

gingerleaf, doobom,
I have a food warmer at home and I heat up purees in it. It's so convenience and I love it. But it can only heat up one type of food. I dun mix fruit and veg together. So that day I tot of giving Jav 1 veg, 1 fruit and cereal for lunch. I put apple in the food warmer then carrot in the pot. Who knows I completely forgot about it, till there's the 'chao da' smell so strong then everything gone case.

Junnie,
yeah! I love love love xu liu san. Always slurp alot of their mango ice when Im there.
Yum yum

perlicia,
enjoy ur trip! Cant wait for my turn!

mummies who are interested in taking photo shoots for your little ones, why don't you visit the business thread? There're a few (4-5)studios having promotion. You can view their photos or visit their websites and choose the one that you like.

I've already signed up with Tomato as I like the photos so much. Jav will be taking his photos next mth

bbwow, j can finish 1 big bowl and still hungry? wah! guess you can try topping up with milk before or after his feed too. depending on his preference.

YL, eil and i are going to check out go go bambini today. will let you know whether it's worth going. if any mummies wanna join us, we'll be there around 3.30pm.

sanbebe, you're so funny. i almost burnt hannah's porridge the other day, cos i didn't watch the pot. i think i am going to buy a slow cooker soon. it's much safer!

sanbebe (sanbebe) thanks .. not dun thnk he cannot take in Cow's milk ...

Hi All thanks again ... Carlson is better now ... but still he vomit out solid this time instate of both milk and solid ... so i think i will STOP all solid for this week ... just give hime milk will do ... yesterday he did throw up his cereal again ... pengz buti can tell that he wants to eat ... i guess his tummy need a long rest ...

Sanbebe
thanks for the upz!! :)
Enjoy your shopping for pots! It's GSS and JL/Robinson or even carrefour/Giant normally have good deal - I think I have too many at home and no time to burnt it !!

Perlicia
Enjoy your holidays! I can't imagaine the packing if I'm bring my girl for a 14 -16 days road trip! Are you brining the sterilizer??

CM
Glad that Carlson is getting better. Poor thing with all the vomiting that he has to go through.

YL
You can bring to Gymboree during their "actitivy" time if u signed up for the membership. Just have to pay $8 or $10 I think.

Jacq
Where did u get the maps? so many questions on map till I peng sang liao! Don no much abt it. which model did u get? also from garmin?

Totoro,

I am not bring one. I will use the conventional method to sterilise the bottle. But i did bring a warmer just in case i need to warm up some jar food.

Everytime I went nearby market with my boy, i need to bring his beanie pillow, diaper,pacificer, water, tibits etc. and my mum so steady, just bring water will do.

oh i see...

I thought it is the fruit name in hokkien.
oh, it is so popular there? everyone knows it?

ginger, my MIL just came back from HK last week.She said very very heavy rain until cannot take cab to airport. So u remember to check the weather forecast and bring an umbrella if necessary. Hope when you go, it is cool and fine weather.

CM, poor Carlson! hope he'll recover real soon so mummy dun have to worry abt him so much..

perlicia, ya.. the shop is very popular with many branches =D

gingerleaf, i tink the weather wun be so bad.. cos wat perlicia's mil encountered was the "black rain".. which caused a massive flood there.. but like wat perlicia suggested, do look out for the weather forecast! very impt to do so in HK..

there is one shop selling the "mango ice" in singapore also, is this what u all I toking abt in taiwan?
they have a branch at Plaza Sing now too.

totoro, different gal.. cos xu liu shan used to have one at international bldg in orchard. but closed down cos they were too ex.. then never open again already. think the one u r toking abt is the famous one in taiwan.. =D

totoro_bb: let me check with my hb and let u know u know. he downloaded free from this website. ours is from garmin as well

sugarnut: our model no is 200 from garmin. too many models. me oso dunno the difference. but e free map downloaded to this model has served me well so far.

hippo....Hi-5, i was abt to tell totoro the 'xu liu san' @ int'l bldg. tat time me & hb brought my gal to HK (same yr when HK disney jus opened, tink she was abt 3yrs old - same ting - nanny 'apply leave' so we also 'on leave' tk the chance to go 4 short trip). we stay @temple street, opp jus a 'xu liu san' dessert shop, everyday will go & eat, if not, hb will pop over to buy bk hotel, hmmmmmm...yummy yummy & v cheap. then co-incidentally, we brought our gal to see xmas lighting @orchard then saw their 1st branch in spore, went in to eat... taste not as fantastic but the price is fantastic!!haha.. after sometime we go again, it 'dao bi liao'!!!!!! wonder anymore branches in town?

totoro..u so cute leh... then i suggest u go start a link @WTS for your extra pots & earn some $$, hahaha...

perlicia... sooooo good, u no need 'kan lao ban lian se' anymore & going cruise - enjoy!!! tink for short trip, no need bring too much tings ba.. if not bring there then bring back v leh-chay.... but anyway, to bring bb holiday sure 'da bao xiao bao' one =) likewise for totoro.. cant imagine how big will be kelly's luggage if u all going 14-15 days!! hahaha..

my nanny recently applied leave fm me as she going HK w her mum & family 16-19/07, ie, i'll also need to b on leave, v chiam, i no more leave got to tk upaid leave again.. hb was suggesting we go malacca for short trip..... i was quite reluctantly cos my gal will hv to skip K1 lesson few days if we go & actually i was co-ordinating w hospital to arrange bb's MCU test during same period to save my leave. today the hospital called said tat period fully booked, so they arrange for bb's admission for the test on 23/07, hiaz... may b is fated to go holiday???? the last round we went malaysia was almost a year ago, cos usually if hb goes malaysia for short assignments & if he drives, me & my gal will tag along, we will 'nua' in the hotel & wait for him to off-work & bring us go makan/shopping.. with #2 since mid/last trimester till now, we nvr go anywhere... everytime i tink of going holiday i'm not v excited cos i tink of the packing, unpacking & washing to do aftertat + pocket 'big hole', my head will 'spin'!!! my hb always said i'm 'odd' species!!

jovial.. u considering relocating??? agreed NZ is a v nice place, i hv been there w my mum & late father many years back..... good plc 4 retirement!! dun 4get abt us if u do shift there, may b we can go visit u there =) talking abt tis, wonder if u all mummies ever thot of tis Q, eg. when & how long our Oct'07 thread will carry on?? cos i find it v 'amazing' lor... some of us nvr meet b4 & we can chat so heartily??? & for those met b4 will carry on to mingle...may b when our bb grow up get married will we still be talking here??? hahahaa... oooops...my imagination is running wild... pai-say pai-say...hahah..

cm..i tink no harm let carlson's rest his stomache fm solid for time being, but if u find his milk intake insufficient to fill his stomache, still hv to gv semi-solid (not junk food) cos he big boy soon...if young kids 'sang dao chang wei' v mafan one...better ask PD for more advice if need b... little carlson - jia you arrrr!!

Junnie,
Yah, cos the work here is stressful. But go there, might mean a initial pay cut (due to the high income taxation) thou much shorter working hours and less driving stress ... imagine on NZ guy actually say 'it a traffic jam' when there is only 6 cars ahead of him at the junction .......hahaha ... but still 'thinking about it'. Definately welcome anyone who wants to come and visit us should we really go there ...

Re: Aquaduck and KinderMusik
How is it ? Good ? Any feedback ......

FiFi,
I might try the tumbletotGymbabes at punggol plaza. I'm considering taking the sunday 9.30am slot since it's very near my place. Saturday 4.45pm one not here not there ... Anyone wants to join me ? Think it's $23 for the trial.