(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

im back!

wow... so many postings over these few days, i will take my own sweet time to read up all the posts!

the trip is great!!! tonnes of things i worried about before the trip and all of it were unfound! and i was worried he would bahave cranky during plane take off & landing, but he was fine wi it, he din wan his pacifier nd screamed excitedly! i bet ziqian knew that he was on a holiday and he was so obedient these few days, drink + eat + sleep very well, keep shouting & screaming when he get so excited, keep smiling to ppl... be it air stewardess, hotel ppl, tourists, and even tuk tuk driver! and got an angmoh tourist kept playing wi him and couldn't resist and gave him a kiss on cheek! too late for me to stop her.. bb gave her a "yuck" look after the kiss.. haa! he is really attention seeker!

as for me, i enjoyed the spa & massage so much.. hubby took care of baby while i went n relaxed myself.. he really did a good job feeding baby solid and milk, and he knows me well by recorded every feeding particulars for me and reported to me when i was back from spa... and best of all, he paid for everything... :p

for those mummies who worried abt brining baby to trip, i think it's really fine for us to go ahead, just have to play by the ear.. dun be too rigid wi schedule, just go wi baby's flow... go somewhere near 1st coz baby may not able to take long flight also, got a baby on board (ard 1 yr old), keep crying throughout the flight, his parents had a tough time to pacify him though it was just a 1hr 45mins trip... we dun know how bb will react on plane so think more advisable to choose a nearer destination just to play safe.

some photos of baby... more on my blog, coz i dun wish to expose too much of hubby and me here) haa.. :p

1412226.jpg

1412227.jpg

he was very excited & cheeky on plane.

1412228.jpg

driving a car in carrefour

1412229.jpg

swimming wi daddy

1412230.jpg

i love this photo!

1412231.jpg

looking intensely at the sea...

1412232.jpg

come on baby.. haa.. bought him this cute head band and he striked this pose for me once i put it on.. buay tahan :p

dodo... the last photo is hilarious!!! your boy is starting young. :p

glad to hear you enjoyed your trip and that zq was so well behaved. hope hannah will be guai guai when we head to australia end of the year.

hey dodo, welcome back!!

Good to hear that u enjoyed the trip and anderson behaved so well during the trip.

Which hotel did u stay? Is it good? How much u paid for it?

I'm so tempted to go for a trip but hb said no trip for Jav b4 5 yrs old. I dun think I can leave Jav now so may be gotta wait till next yr, see if Jav can stay with my mom while I go for holidays....

dodo,I wanted to buy that head band too !! I saw it at United Sq but too bad they didn't hv the size for Jav. I was so disappointed...

HAppy Mother's day in advance to all of us mummies!!!!!

Dodo!!!! u r back!!! glad all 3 of u enjoyed ur trip!

I m looking forward to my holidays in June liao!!

To all 1st time Mummies here.... Hv a Great Day tml
those with more than 1 bb, Hv double great day tml
(tink we hv to wait till bb grown up bring us out for makan then we can feel something!! now still our turn to bring our mummy out)...

gingerleaf... i cant help keep laughing whole of last nite whenever i recall u said 'barney - that gay'!!! waaaaahaaa...

dodo... glad to note u enjoy the trip so much.. is good to 'charge battery' @times... the 'father & son' pix taken @sea, v sweet...your boy can sit so steadily in the car??? so good...haiyo.. the last pix v seducive leh!! hahaha.. nice shots!! thks 4 sharing..

welcome jaclyn..

Hello to all the Mummies,

It has been a long time since I login and post. Have my hands full with looking after my boy and getting back to work. and besides i am not too savvy with the "cyberworld" so have been very paisay to join you ladies - although i very tempted to join in. :D

Recently I am trying to buy a bumper mat for my boy and I read about this small small world bumper mat. Is this good? which is better - Nano or LG? The price for each mat is so different can i ask what is a better design?

Thank you so much for helping me with this.

Happy Mother's Day mummies!!!

I think we should give ourselves a pat on the back for all the blood sweat and tears we've put in to help our lil ones grow up strong and healthy, be it SAHM or working mummies!

June holidays I'll be going off to Bali for scuba diving on my own. No hubby or bb just friends. I think I need the break, but will surely miss them loh...luckily only 4 days! heee...

Jo, alien from the BP section also sells the bumper mats i recently bought one from her and i must say it's a good investment! I bought the LG sweet bear 11mm thickness one which cost $152 and now my boy can sit there happily can play with his toys for quite a while. the cushioning is pretty adequate. Really recommend getting one.

Dodo, your pics are really enticing me to bring Matty to Bintan! Thinking of booking the Indra Maya villas with the entire extended family. BTW how to apply for baby's passport ah?

zhen zhen,

that "come on baby" pose very funny right! haa...
hannah will definately enjoy herself! u tell her must guai guai coz we are going for a holiday, they seems to understand leh...

sanbebe,

we stayed at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort... not sure about the exact pricing, think it's about S$300+ per night... Go go go gal! u are SAHM also right? i think we really need to recharge ourself from the 24/7 job, i cant bear to part wi bb so brought him along as well
but with baby hubby and me couldnt islands hop, the whole itinerary are more simple loh.. but it was really fun to see how bb react and behave when they are on holiday
i bought that head band at night market there, ard S$5. actually it's adult size, but the salesgirl just showed me how to tighten it up.. looks cool hor :p

unice,

enjoyed yourself! remember to bring a medical kit for sean (thermometer, plaster, paracetamol, nail clipper, clipper to clear nose "sai" also.. haa) just in case loh

chintz,

just managed to read back abit of previous posts.. how's thing wi u and MIL? chloe taking care arrangement settle? it must be hard on u, just give ur MIL a few days to cool down, i think she will soften her attitude since she has been taking care of chloe for long, there must be "gan qing" right... cheer up gal!

junnie,

true true... we really need to recharge ourself! i feel much fresher and look forward to have my next break
sometimes he can sit quite steadily but sometimes not, depend on his mood leh... very seductive hor, shd have taken this photo when he's naked!!! haa

karrie,

Go ahead! It's better with the entire family going, so u can relax more while others look after baby

i applied baby's passport before he turned 1 month old... let me recall... hmm, i think can be done thru ICA, u can submit a photo of baby online (must be all white background). the passport will be ready in a few weeks time, have to bring baby down personally for collection.

happy mummies day!!

Wow.. dodo, where did you all go? i was planning to bring anders to korea in sept, but scared we couldn;t manage and that his feeding time will be screwed up etc.. but seeing how much you all enjoyed yourself gives me more confidence.. heehee..

Happy mothers day !!

gingerleaf,
so sorry I'm so blur, didn't realise that u r actually wishing us all in advance...haha....

jo,

I got my yellow bear bumper mat from small small world. Think it's $119 or wat, dun quite rememeber...anyway, most of the mummies here bought yellow bear. I like it very much as it's so comfortable.

I'll leave Jav on the mat everyday to play by himself while I do my work. I would say it worth the price.

just back from BB gymboree lesson. Saw 2 oct mumies there... one is jayden mum, the other is???? haha

Didnt go around talking much... me shy leh..

Did you two enjoyed the lesson??
Hope to see 2 of you for future lesson

happy mothers day!!

dodo: glad u ve fun from ur trip! personally, i love the :intensely looking at sea look. haha i got soemthing for serious guys..hehe

jo: i got my yellow bear bumper mat from cheong choon. quite a good investment cos he can roll or fall sideway from sitting position also never mind.. thick cushion ha.

hey mummies... happy mother's day to all. :D
finally can log in to catch up on posts coz been busy taking care of my mum who's still recovering from her op.

re: barney & teletubbies
u mummies really cracked me up when i read the exchange going on abt those two characters. :D

jo,
agree with sanbebe and ecookie, the bumper mat is a worthwhile investment coz its super comfy to sit n laze on (for both bb n me!).

but now that my boy is crawling, he tends to like to crawl out of the bumper mat, so need to keep catching him and put him back onto the mat again, coz afraid that he would bang his head if he suddenly decides to roll onto his back. still contemplating if i shd tie a pillow around him!!!

dodo,
thx lots for sharing ur photos, all v.nice n yap, the last pose really v.v.steady.. so young know who to attract attention liao! love the carrefour little car too, so cute!!! :D haha, wish i can go overseas for a break but then financially not able, so next best thing would be to hear fr all the lovely experiences of mummies who r bringing their bbs on trips abroad.

happy mother's day to all.. I look forward to our babies being able to celebrate mother's day with us. My 2.5yr old son just told me he love me just now.. made my heart melt. of coz he also wished me happy mother's day earlier..

ueno

i never come across organic japanese pumpkin and i don't know what is butternut squash. The pumpkin i bought is stated as butternut pumpkin. That why I not sure is it suitable to feed my gal with this.

so many posts.. wah.. hv a hard time catching up.
Just wondering, can poll how much cereal does your bb eat now? My gal takes abt 1.5spn of cereal + 2 cubes if veg for lunch. dinner wld be abt 1 spoon cereal + 2 cubes of fruit. She's really small at only 6.7kg and 66cm during the last PD visit at 7mths.. v small hor..

Happy Mothers' Day!!!
Thank you so much for your advice mummies!

Haha tie a pillow around him?! i bet they will find a way to tear it off them.

May I know what is the difference between the Yellow Bear and LG Prime Yellow Bear? and a stupid question from me - karrie and ecookie mentioned about Alien and cheong choon, may I know who are they?

so these mats allow the baby to fall all directions without much pain? my boy like BU DAO WONG. and he like to fall hard on his face
so I am contemplating between a playpen or this mat. Playpen very space consuming. House very small lah.

Thank you so much for your help! Me feel so paisay (malu) to ask so many questions. i am very new to this method-BP of buying things. Thanks again!

ueno
Hi 5 on the pumpkin, that's exactly what I got today and my mum complained that it's so expensive!!

And yes mummies,
I finally made some puree for Kelly !!
Tried Spinach on Sat and she hates it. end up wasting the rest! Today tried Pumpkin and pear, and she likes it! Feel happy but have to convince my mum to feed her the frozen puree from tomorrow onwards !!

BTW, just did a seach and it was actually adv not to feed bb spinach !! hmm shld I stop as I just bought a new bunch of organic spinach!!

We start to give my boy 5tablespoon of cereal (specified on the nestle bottle) mixed with 150ml of breastmilk for a meal a day for a week liao. 1 month ago when we weight him, he was 9.6kg at 71cm. i think now should have 10kg? .... i know he is on the big side. :p

but mine is very dilute so that he can drink from the bottle. is this method wrong? and may i know what is cubes of veg or fruits? what does this cube means?

i have so many questions to ask. you gals really very steady. know so much. i feel i am so gong-gong.

Jo
it was advise not to feed cereal in bottle, other than the danger that bb will get choke, the intent of the cereal is to let them feel the texture of the food as we slowly introduce semi-solid food to them.

mummies here made vege/fruit puree for bbies and stored them in "ice cube" box. Hope this explain what cubes we are talking about!!

Sat I just did my first puree after all the bb jar food I fed my dd. :)

cereal:

BB taking 3 scope (using the FM spoon) of BR with 2 cube of veg/fruit with some tofu for lunch daily. Sometime i will give him 2 scope gounded barely during eveining time.

He will have 4 serving of fruit/vege daily. Tomorrow will be avocado, potatoes, pumpkin and apple.

So far started on:

sweet pototoes
Pumpkin
Apple
Manago
avocado
Banana (which he hate)
Tofu (Which he hate too)
pototoes
carrots
pear
asparagus
wolfberry
red dates
barely
rolled oat
BR
millet

going to start on :

Brocoli
Kiwi
Grape
Brewer Yeast
Tahini
Wheat germ
sun flower and pumpin seed
when he is 8th mth

Spinach;

Due to the high nitate content, is reco to start at 9th mth.

wow Chris
that's a lot of food tt u have introduced to Brigton who is only 8 days older than my gal !!

so far she only tried
- Sweet potato (Geber)
- Applesauce (Geber)
- Pear (Geber)
- Prune (Geber)

fresh ones as follows:
- spinach (fresh) but will stopped since she don't like and not advisable!!!
- avocado (she hates it!)
- papaya
- pumpkin
- pear
- very small amt of white porridge since she can't take cereal :-(

bought sweet potato and green peas which I might be preparing mid of this week.

Krissie: im only feeding 1 solids per day (dinner) to baby YZ now. will intro 2 solids meals only when he nearer to 8m i guess.
he eat ard 3.5 scoops (FM Scoop) with ard 70-80ml of milk + 1 cube of veg + 1 cube of fruits.

jo: cubes mean ice cubes and diff ice cube trays mean diff cube sizes! and wat totoro said is true, should not make it till so dilute and let baby drink from bottle. not v safe and should let him try out diff texture of solids..

im running out of idea what food to intro!!
so far introduced: pumpkin/apricot/plum/apple/pear/mango/avocado/ green pea/spinach/carrot/sweet potato/white potato/

going to let him try french bean/banana/papaya/brocolli soon.

any more ideas?

chris: can share how to prepare asparagus puree??

Wow wow wow, thats a long list of food!!!
I have never done so many kinds of purees before...plus i never freeze them b4, cos my mum n godmum insisted tt no frozen food should be given to Sean....sigh

Sean only had sweet potato, pumpkin, potato, carrot, avocado, pear, apple puree...

now he is taking porridge cooked wif pork/chicken meat/ikan bilis powder
for the taste)
plus either one of these:
Shredded carrot
Chopped spinach
small pieces of threadfin fish

have not thot of what to give next lei...

ecookie
it still take time loh and it happens to be mother's day so I spent half the afternoon at my mum's place so have some time to make it. But have to sort of argue with her as suddenly she say we should'nt be feeding bb with jar food and that those things pple give bb like fish etc, I say cannot give and she not very happy. Then she say porridge are meant to cook for long hours by putting everything in and I say the nutrients will all be gone by then .. she also not happy. Then I say made puree and keep them in ice cube .. then she like cold cold overnight will cause stomach ache.... aiyoh ... finally she gave in and hence able to do what I want in the end ... lucky is my mother. If not, I don't know what will happened !!

My MIL heard that bb constipated and suggested Honey !! lucky she's not here ... I better watch out when they come and visit in July !!!

What an eventful mother's day !!

unice
who prepared the fresh puree everyday ? The qty so small for 1 helping, a bit difficult right ?

porridge,
what kind of texture ?
shredded carrot ? ur bb can chew liao ?
spinach? I have second thought after reading the information on it now .. nitrate high and not recommended for below 10mths ...

oh one more question
what kind of blender are u using?
Is it the one that pple make juice ? I thought that is a bit too big !! But the other one I used, the juice will flow out ... it looks like that ...

1415018.jpg

totoro_bb: i just use normal blender which we bought to make fruit juice previously..

and honey is a nono for babies under 1 so try to avoid that!

I just bot a blender over the weekend.
what other types of fruits to introduce?
so far my boy tried papaya, banana and apples only.

Hi Chris
for wolfberry and red dates, u added to the porridge?

totoro, enough for lunch and dinner. If extra, will go into mummy or daddy's tummy....
sometimes got extra porridge, also end up in my stomach

hello ppl.. sighz, am on mc at home today. got muscule strain on my legs after playing the paint ball game on friday. hurts like hell, now like hopping all ard the house cos cant walk properly...

Hello...today not working...so lesser time on the computer...

How is everyone enjoying their mother's day? Very busy day for me...have to eat outside in afternoon with MIL and dinner with my parents. Afternoon lunch is a hard time for me as my MIL said she is off on sunday..so I eat with my eyes fixing on raphael in case he knock himself on the high chair..dinner was relaxing as my father carry raph most of the time....

Dodo, it is so encouraging about ur trip...Hope that my trip will be as good as yours if raphael cooperate with us....

Right now..I need to buy a light stroller and small one for the trip...Is combi reasonable? Pls advise.

Freezing cubes is also a no no in my situation....the oldies really prefer to chop the food and cook them leh....of course, then there is limitation to what to introduce....eg: how can chop asparagus right..must blend one what.