(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

so far i still try ing my best not to mix puree + cereal together though im very sure baby will like it more! but trying to let him accustome to bland taste as well as savoury/sweet taste..but i think by the time cook porridge, everything got dumps in anyway... ha

i mix together. i tried the combo before feeding her. even i find it nice. haha...

btw...hannah doesn't like pure banana. think she finds it too sweet. she will only take it if mixed with something. she likes her food bland. funny girl.

i just use any banana. not sure what's the best type to use. :p

good afternoon... soo many posts arrrrrr.. read until eyes blur blur... my boss jus went out, if not, sure kanna 'scold' cos everyday 'addicted' to drop by & catch up w all of u (no time to do tat @home)!!!! ahahhaa..

bwow.. yalor, like wat aria_jo saids, one ear in & one ear out, treat like they 'sing song' cos we cant stop kpo big mouth!! kekeke..

ueno, thks 4 the veg recipe & ntd not introducing tomato till 1yrs (my MIL 2 wks ago jus told me 'so&so relative' gv bb tomato, v nice v good, i was tinking, tomato w porridge oni wont it b sour sour??? i jus entertain her say 'oorrr.. ok, will try nxt time, really cant tahan, everywk when i feed bb during meal time, she'll sure come & see &give comment, last time lagi worst, ask me hv to gv my gal liver, or add 'chong tou you' to gv more tasty!!! i dun like cos is too young @6/7mths to introduce such 'spare parts' & oily stuff - lucky i insist bb under nanny's care, if under her sure die, cos all her method which i cant compromise, at least my nanny will discuss w me wat to feed my gal/bb)...btw, cant remember who asking whether stock can b frozen, i tink can ba, since the method for chicken/veg stock also sama sama... but of cos, not to keep too long in freezer cos not fresh..

re stock to cook porridge - to add taste or nutrition? i tink both applies cos the stock which i used to cook porridge is 'natural' dun add salt/msg/chicken cube, etc. eg. i brew sweetcorn or old cucumber or sharkfin meleon soup, lotus soup, etc, b4 add salt, will use the soup to cook porridge (as i dun cook barley for bb daily & they taking FM daily (heaty), so i jus use mild 'cooling' soup to cook porridge), tis will gv porridge a little flavour rather than plain plain. cos i find if add fish to plain porridge oni i scare got 'fishy smell', so usually will steam fish w ginger then smash thoroughly (scare got bones) b4 add in porrdige. my niece method is chop all veg/fish, etc till v fine then add in porridge, she seldom use stock. the meat for porridge is only to add taste for the porridge, now bb still young (not much teeth) of cos cant eat meat (even blend).. my colleague told me is good to cook beef porridge, ie, blend the beef & porridge after cook, he said his kids like it sooo much & v nutrituous (too bad we dun eat beef @home, may b can try pork/chicken when bb over 1yr ba).. now can oni give 'soft soft' diet.

ecookie, if u want cook faster, can use pot but hv to 'look after fire', if u want cook slower, then use slow cooker (mine super slow, will cook till soft at least 3hrs & above, mine is cornell brand), think if u go shopping or even ntuc/giant/sheng song, they do sell those common type abt $25-30, i tink is good enuff..

jus noted hv to steam apple to make puree!! i still using old method, ie, rubbing the apple with the grinder!!!!! i tink i shd 'upgrade' using steamer also!!! but i tink my mum will 'nag' @me if i buy cos no space in her kitchen to put steamer!! hahaha... may b will use the old traditional method, add water in wok & steam...

annie, hope u & bb get well soon so can meet u both on 19th!!

doobom, glad to knw u finalising gathering so soon!! tinks tis 1st time organising sooo 'smoothly'!!! i finally get hubby to chk his work schedule & he said tentatively 19th is fine, yeah!!!!!! so ttl is how many adults & bb??? haiyo, cant imagine the big crowd!!! who shd we 'report' to once rch HRC??? ahahaha... so excited!!! (i can still remember during 1/5, few of mummies need to 'take turn' walk in & out white dog cafe cos bb 'cranky' when wanna sleep, tat including myself, hahaha)...

btw, i duno if i miss out any posts previously, where is 'jovial' & 'joyce'?? last time they use to help updating our delivery table here, remember?? or they change nick also??? suddenly i miss them...

oh is lunch time??? soooo fast... zhen zhen, your mix combo makes me feel hungry!! haha... enjoy lunch time all mummies, chat later ya!!

re: which type of banana to feed bb
Should use those short short type. cannot feed those long type like del monte becos it is too cooling for bb.

ecookie, so bad. u laugh at me! haha.. i m very temperamental so maybe i shdnt be trying to discipline else i might go crazy n whack her until jialat jialat when she's older.. keke.. okie, i shall continue being her toy then!

zhenzhen, ya i know. just like the old saying goes, hit e child n it hurts e mum lor.. but i also believe in spare e rod n spoil the child. keke.. =D

junnie, ya hor.. i also miss jovial n joyce. .tink i hv "seen" jovial posting on other threads but cnt remember whr..

paging for gingerleaf... r u ok gal? i hope u r not sick!

bbwow, rem in future u will have to help take care of ur grandkids cos u know how it feels lo.. lotsa hugs gal... i know i'm reali lucky my mum sacrifices her time n sleep to take care of my naughty girl..

Joyce is in the facebook...dunno where is jovial.
They are the one that updates our delivery.....Maybe we can start a thread to call out for them...haha

junnie, I am one of them walking in and out of White dog cafe.

At last tell my boss I am resigning....can drop down the big rock already....haaaa

tiffy, didn't know delmonte banana is cooling. thanks for info.

hippo, ya, i also believe in spare the rod n spoil the child. that's why i see the need for discipline. but when disciplining, must be careful. if you're angry, dun discipline. wait anyhow punish the child. will not be good.

wow perlicia! good move!
are u changing job or quitting to be a SAHM?

hehe

i tink jovial is also in my facebook list!

banana,
remember of use spoon to scrape the outside flesh lengthwise only, the seeds in the center of banana dont give bb, can give the mommy. hehe.
i think it will cause the puree to be lumpy if include the center part.

zhen zhen, datz definitely useful in my case cos i already said am very temperamental! hahaha.. later anyhow whack bb until she blur.. so must ren.. cannot be disciplinarian.. but tinking abt it, my hubby also can be crazy one leh.. oh no.. keke.. kidding!

perlicia! or u r e sole winner of last nite's toto??? hahahaha.. i also wana quit... show me how!!

perlicia, wow, if b SAHM soo goood!!

re joyce/jovial, oic, so some mummies still 'talking' to them, i thot they MIA liao.. hahaha.. then u all can ask them wanna join gathering lor..

Hi hi!!! What a morning!
Hippo,
the gals oreadi answer for me liao. Hehe.
I normally peel the apple(some books advised not to peel, peel onli after cook, but I wanna minimize contamination, so I peel 1st), cut into even slices then put in a plate n put in the auto steamer(this thing is so darn useful loh. Heng someone gave it to me 5 yrs ago.) Then steam 10mins or so. Take out the fruits n blend. I never keep the water, coz its too sweet.

ecookie
It does looks easy to do the puree .. problem is I don't stay at home long enough to do that. During weekdays, by the time I fetch her home, bath her, feed her milk, put her to bed and have to stay there until she fall alseep then maybe have chance for me to take a bath and maken the tabo food! Then in the middle of the night or early in the morning, I'll have to wash her bottles and prepare FM powder / bottle for the day for my mum and also wash laundry !! During weekends, normally will be out for the whole day !! So where to find time to make puree .... sob sob

madlynette/ bbwow,
I wanna ask, when u meant ur babies are signing twinkle stars, do u mean that they open n clench their fist repeatedly? Lyn does that when I taught her how to sign for 'milk', but she does it so often, *open close open close*, i tot thats a naturally reflex that baby practise, coz even when she is drinking milk oreadi, she still *open close open close*. Hehe

Help! My baby is getting on my nerves!
She been "ba ba ba ba ba ba ba ba ba ba ba ba ba" all the time for 2 days oreadi!!!!
Cant she call 'ma ma ma ma" instead!!
Urgh

totoro,
u shld find time(weekend nights? I normally do my puree at 11pm-12am after she sleeps) to make a big batch of fruits, eg apple or pear n give it to kelly daily. Might improve her constipation. =D
The other day, I mix some prune juice(adult one) + water n feed lyn. She screw up her face n spits it out. Then I add a few spoonful into her cereal n fed her. Next morning, hb told me she pooed alot, and its softer than usual.

chintz,
got miss me or not. Jus now I was watching barney while feeding her, SHE LIKES BARNEY THE GAY!! OMG. Her 1st time watch barney n her eyes was fixed to it!
Then came the last part, he sang 'i love u, u love me' Then I immediately tot of u!!!! HAHAHAH

totoro_bb: no excuse!! haha try to do during sat/sun morning.. normally i takes me ard 1 hr at most to puree n blend n freeze. i ll try to buy ingredients when going to market for brekkie or during weekdays when i pop by NTUC.

u realise its fun and get hooked one. guaranteed!

perlicia: r u quitting to become SAHM! *salute*

aiyo ... so much to read ... my eyes blur liao **** see ** only ... stock is for taste and for nutritional value when adding to porridge. cos all the veg etc we add in good are nutritional.

annie hugzzzzzzz take care ok ... you 2 will recover soon ...

dodo wowowo so bbZQ going to be a brother soon kekeke

jovial she is busy busy busy ... working
Joyce hmmm MIA

FIL & MIL problem ... hmm i got more of FIL prob cos he this also cannot that also cannot ... bb cry or fall down all my MIL's fault pengz .... very the super duper cannot stand him ...

FOOD ... haha again i got all the say in the HOUSE .. MIL got no say cos i know it all ... but she sometime will give some comments if only i ask her ... if not she will keep hmm

Yah yah yah today is FRIDAY ... weekend soon ... yesterday i drove since last Aug 07 ... aiyo i totally forget how to park a car pengz ... hb so worry cos i need to drive soon after he leave ... got to brign gal to school and classes ... haha haha he cannot sleep at night he say got to give me intentive training liao kekeke

i am so busy at work sobsob ... not enough time to catch this thread ... so fast nowsaday ...

Mad can you dun use mircowave to defost bb's food ... not very good to use that ...

gingerleaf,
think lyn is practicing her motor skills, myra will do the sign with another person as if she's communicating, she did that to a 9 mth old baby we sat next to when we went for jab at the polyclinic, thats the first time. me and the other mommy saw and we both like ""whats that? is she waving hello?" she does it when alone as well, but can tell its not very random, quite purposely. and she tries to make her fingers quite pointed when closed. but i think once bbs get tired of something they will quickly move on to the next trick and sometimes may forget what they've learnt before

perlicia, that's good news. so you're gonna be SAHM now??

totoro, making puree is not that difficult. just need about 30 - 45min can already. like what gingerleaf says, make a big batch at one go and freeze into cubes. will be able to last you for a while. i only do it once a week or once a fortnight. but one shot, i will make a few kinds of puree.

oh no, gingerleaf! i have no intention to be linked to the purple dinosaur!

how coincidence, i just post something about chloe n barney this morning too!!

but again, that's the best rhymes i can sing!! haha

ginger & ecookie
me already sleepless night everyday liao ... then stress at work also.... then have to deal with another big kid at home .... yah more excuses :p.... I think I really need to change my life !! Realized I gained more weight as well due to the unhealthy lifestyle !! hiaz

gingerleaf,
my ergo will be delivered tomorrow. very nervousleh, always nervous when i order things online. hehe.
they are throwing in a free nursing top as well. they having some promotion.

madlynette, i posted this, this morning:
the defrost method i use is put the puree into a bowl, and heat up the bowl into a pot filled with water (if u understand what i mean) haa we're all kitchen idiot!

totoro_bb:the other big kid is ur hubby? haha

mad: u can thaw the puree overnight (transfer from freezer to the normal section of fridge) ,so before meal the puree with be soft already but cold. then just heat up like what chintz said abv..

gingerleaf: i realise ur hubbi is very capable! he can take care of lyn a whole day at his work place? thats really cool!

including feeding/changing diapers/nap time ?

ecookie,
no la, MIL there oso. So she look after.
But honestly, I have to give my hb some credit, he really can look after her. He can do what I can do, and even better! Sometimes Im lazy n pile up my bottles n pump in the sink, he will help me wash. Same for clothes. So now Im very spoilt, always try my luck n pile up everything. =p

mad,
I got this email from a frd, and its abt a research where someone did a test on 2 seedlings. One is to water with distilled water n the other is to water with microwaved water. Needless to say the one watered with microwaved water didnt make it after a few days.
The theory is that, anything thats microwaved had their molecules changed in such that the body no longer recognised it as food anymore, so it will be pass out as waste.
BUT! Its an email attachment after all, so oso dunno the credibility.
However, after that email, I never dare to mircowave anything for her, even when in a rush.

yes yes I know, but I always take things for granted.. and then feel bad abt it later. =p

Mad,
what color u got?? How much was it? Nursing top can sell! U dun need it oso rite?

madlynette: yes i saw that email gingerleaf referred to before. remember when we were preggie, i always read somewhere that it's best not stand near to the microwave?

i guess that's the same reason?

chintz,
cannot stand near??? Oh dear! During preg time, Im always heating up food for supper, and I always lean by the counter n prop my face right infront of the microwave door to see teh food cook inside!

gingerleaf: ha so funny.. the way u say u lean on the microwave!
and yah u got a good hb!! nice!

madlynette: yah try not to microwave for myra. so far i never use microwave for bb YZ.

(0_*) gingerleaf, errr, don't do it for ur next pregnancy bah!!

i have tried to avoid microwave ever since, and we put it on our NOT TO BUY list, when ppl ask what we need for housewarming haha