(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

hippo, i steam it using an automatic steamer.. haha ..cos i also not sure how to steam.

for apple puree. i steam for 10mins.. then it's soft enough to be mashed manually.. and feed baby.. yumz!

chintz,

yea, most likely the case. Jayden also had the same experience when he was teething and we were in the transition of changing step 2 milk too.

That was the reason why he rejected solids also cause his gum hurts. Not to worry too much if Chloe is still active and her normal self.

pinky, chloe loves the cereal. Today my mum is going to feed her porridge for the first time.

euno, my mum put in tomato already!! she put in bit of carrot and tomato she said. And meat for taste into the slow cooker

thanks sanbebe, ueno for the veg stock recipe, yah probably will not give tomatoes until later, hear its acidic too.

chintz,
glad you've found a new arrangement already.

stock,
me also not sure if its for nutritional value or taste, but its true im giving bb porridge so she get use to taste of rice cos thats our daily staple.

zhen zhen,
you ger also can sign twinkle little stars *high 5*

hippo,

I don't even have a steamer at home. So I just add some water in the rice cooker and put a small pot inside over it to steam.

chintz,
btw, when we take out the frozen puree cubes to de-froze, do you re-steam the food again? I realized it takes very long to de-froze!

hippo, to steam, fill wok/pot with water. use a metal rack or turn over a bowl and use that to prop up the dish containing the fruit/veg you wanna steam. cover wok/pot and heat over stove to steam food. hope you understand what i'm saying.

Morning, mummies. Itz Friday... Yipee, weekend is near for us to spend time with babies. =D

re: Gathering
HARD ROCK Cafe on Vesak Day (May19), 12pm-3pm
1) ecookie - 03 (me+hb_bb)
2) CM syeo - 04 (me+bb+gal+maid)
3) hippo - 03 (me, hb n bb)
4) sugar_nut - 03 (me, hubby + bb)
5) frostyfiona - 03 (me, hubby and BB)
6) cheval - 03 (me, hubby + bb)
7) totoro_bb - 03 (me, hb + bb)
8) ueno - 02 (me n bb )
9) Pinky -02 (me & bb)
10) sanbebe - 03 (me, hb + bb)
11) Jas - 02 (me & bb)
12) unice - 03 (me, hb, bb)
13) Doobom - 02 (me & bb)
14) Annie - 03 (me & bb)
15) Dodo - 03 (me, hb, bb)
16) Jacq - 03 (me, hb, bb)
17) Perlicia - 02 (me & bb)
18) gingerleaf - 03 (me, hb, bb)
19) eil - 02 (me & bb)
20) zhen_zhen - 03 (me, hb + bb)
21) chintz - 03 (me, hubby + bb)
22) madlynette - 03 (me,hb n bb) KIV
23) bbwow - 03 (me, hb n bb)
24) Tiffany - 04 (me+bb+boy+maid)
25) junnie - 04 (me + hb + bb + gal) TBC
26) ariajo - 02 (me and bb)
27) ponponta 03 (me, hb nn bb)
28) zinterz - 02 (me n bb - hb to be confirmed)
29) renziz - 03 (me, hb, bb - TBC)

I will be calling up Hard Rock to confirm our numbers this afternoon. Thanks! We will be seeing each other soon again! =)

sanbebe, ueno: thanks for the veg stock tips!! i think can just choose most veg (that u ve tried previously with babies + no allergies) and just boil then viola got veg stock liao!! seems nice.

but yah, stock is for taste or for nutritional value when adding to porridge??

also the qn on porridge more nutritional or rice cereal cos i understand cereal is iron -fortified one but porridge not.. v confused leh.

and yah, i also think i will only intro meat after baby 8m+

chintz, think doobom had same problem with jerry. she said he takes milk better from spoon. if you have patience, might wanna try feeding her the extra milk this way?

madlynette, i'm not sure whether hannah can sign. haven't seen for myself. not sure whether MIL's eyes playing tricks in her. haha

annie+ kayden: get well soon! esp the mummy must rest more so you can take better care of the baby!

madlynette: yah agree with you . i got a steamer *(prize from DnD) and find it so easy to use whether to steam fruit/veg or just to warm up the puree

but cooking porridge. thats a headache.. dun know if should get slow cooker or normal pot??!

bbwow,
i'm staying at my parents house since i'm taking care of my aged father, my late mom was a cooking daily housewife, so i inherited a lot of kitchen appliances, baking appliances as well. too bad im FTWM, so my maid get to play with all the kitchen toys, not me.

chintz,
when my boy rejects milk, I was worried about his milk intake. No choice, so resort to spoon feed. In addition, you may like to add milk to rice cereals.

re: BB's behaviour
These few days, my boy screams n screams when he wants attention. To the extent that his face turns red. @ times, he holds stiff n shiver like a robot. Mine!!! Realise that he is doing that coz he is angry. Told him not to do that, he looks @ me n pause for a while. After I stop telling him (No, No, itz not gd!), he do that again. *faint*

annie,

oh dear. hope kayden is fine! Really hope to see him again at the meet-up. And do take care of yourself too!

doobom, thanks for organizing this huge gathering!

madlynette,
I see. It's ok. As long as Myra benefits from all of it.

ecookie,
now you make me contemplate whether to get a steamer. Is it those multi-tier ones?

bbwow: yup those multi-tier one.. dun think it will be expensive.. mine is just the akira brand nia.. but again when u start porridge, think no need steamer cos everything chop pieces throw in to cook right?

doobom, thanks for your help to coordinate for the gathering! so excited abt it~

ecookie, i sugguest you buy a slow cooker. if use pot must "jar ga" the fire all the time. kekeke...

i have the thermal pot, but it doesn't work so well with such a small amt of porridge. so currently just cooking over the fire. almost burnt the porridge 2 days ago, cos i forgot about it! now thinking i should get a slow cooker. safer...

bbwow, chintz, madlynette and mummies, thanks for the steaming tips! phew! ok.. must go search for a steamer after work 2day.. cnt wait for work to be over, so tired!

baby adri decided to give me an ulcer yday! she stuck her fingers in my mouth, dig into my lips n pulled out! pain ah!!! my hubby says he'll end up having to be disciplinarian instead of me as discussed. cos bb is seeing me as a toy! haiyo.. n whenever i scold her, she gets cheeky and give me dat silly smile or act blur n totally ignore me.. but when daddy scold her, she keeps quiet n listen.. grrrrrrr... n she dun dare to throw tantrums at my hubby! hmm.... dunno to laugh at this or what.. haiyo. played peekaboo with her yday and she's so cute though! haha.. after appearing on her left, she'll laugh and then shift her head to the right, waiting for mine to appear.. itz reali amazing how fast all babies can learn. i can't wait to see the amazing things the Oct babies do during our meetup!

oh, i dun cook brown rice leh... i cook those normal white rice. i aga aga lor. nv say how much water. just check out every now and then then add water when feel not enough. how long ah? ehhh, i think should be abt 1 hrs ba. when i see the porridge is "nua nua" liao then i off it..

hippo: haha me too! i always stern to baby YZ but he just smile at me.. but when his daddy scolds him, he seems to know and look down at his own fingers v funny.. and if hubby continue talking to him in stern voice, then he ll start to get upset then i ll rescue him .. ha

Anyone has problems with FIL huh? I thought usually guys are more bo chup? I really cannot stand my FIL!!! He keeps commenting this & that. Yesterday, he still comment that cereal is so bland, who wants to eat it! But baby cereal is like that one ma!

One nagging MIL is good enough, and now I have a nagging FIL!!!

*rolls eyes*

sorry, just want to let out frustrations.

i just gone up to have meeting for an hour and i need to spend 5 mins to catch up for posts liao!!

ecookie: think we're hiring a maid, though mil is still mad and don't want to talk to us

bbwow: the defrost method i use is put the puree into a bowl, and heat up the bowl into a pot filled with water (if u understand what i mean) haa we're all kitchen idiot!

i think cannot re-steam, all nutrition will be lost?!

bbwow: wah, FIL also like that quite irritating. normally guys bo chup one..ask ur hubbi to tell him baby food like that one.. if not, we put alot of seasoning inside meh?

chintz: aiyah, ur MIL just being difficult. let her be lor. but will she be ard when maid is taking care of chloe?

then now, who taking care of chloe? since u have not hire the maid yet?

re: heating up puree
last time i use to bring out the puree from fridge (thaw overnight - transfer from freezer to the normal section of fridge) and put in a bowl of hot water..but realise too slow so i use steamer to steam 5 mins. (i will open up the container holding the puree to a little gap inside the steamer) and the food got heat up fast.

just 5 mins to warm up, will the nutrition be lost?? *sweat*

ecookie, *high5*! sama sama.. aiyo.. n i m e one who's fiercer lor! haiz.. lose to a 7mth old baby. jialat. lose face liao le.

bbwow, dun worie, our ears r open to "venting machines!" keke.. hugs hugs.. itz gotta do with age and 'experience' ba?? ha!

ecookie, yap it's to bring the maid and chloe to her house every morning. Now my mum still around, taking care til sunday. Let's see this monday when we bring chloe to mil's place. Hopefully she has cooled off by then..

If not, gotta come out with a temp arrangement again before the maid arrives!!

*ggrrrrr*

ecookie,

precisely. i think they really have no sense sometimes. Sometimes I also don't have the motivation to explain to them again & AGAIN.

chintz,
your MIL temper really terok hor. like that how to talk next time. Later she think this time she gets her way, you can NEVER argue with her anymore. I remembered she's also taking care of another kid right? could that be the reason?

hippo,
i understand what you mean. my hubby always tell my son "Now you're the king, wait till you're older then we show you our color!" hahahaha

bbwow, your FIL is so strange. dun tell me last time they feed ur hubby all the tasty tasty food?? most important is that jayden likes to eat. if he dun think it's tasteless, then FIL nag for what?

hippo, for us, it's the other way around. i'm the disciplinarian. my hubby is the softie. my girl bullies everyone except me.

chintz, nvm lo... look at it with an open mind. the road ahead is still FAR... keke.. time will tell if her favourite is a nice kid anot lor.. oops! i'm so evil.. i agree with bbwow, u give in tis time, u'll have to give in always liao..

zhen zhen, lucky u lor. i wish i can be dat way! keke..

chintz: eeks who care the other is the fav. fav then fav lor.. better! i dun want my boy to be MIL fav too.. he can be my parents and my fav enuff liao!

hippo: are u sure u want to be the stern one.. u sure u can be stern to adri?? haha

zhen_zhen,

I think he's reaching menopause. He doesn't understand that bb's taste is sensitive and shouldn't subject to harsh food.

hehe...hannah doesn't look like a bully. she's such a sweetie!

chintz,
I think your MIL just find taking care of bb a chore. We also know that it's not easy to take care everyday so maybe she needs some breathing space some times.

hippo, being the strict one is not easy. can be quite heart pain. but someone's got to be firm lor. and i know my hubby cannot.

bbwow, she's not those tough bully types. maybe the right word to use is manipulative? she knows how to get her way, especially with the men. hannah has got all of them wrapped around her little finger. so young, and already knows how to use her feminine wiles. sneaky girl

u know mil was the one who encouraged us to build a family asap, reason given was, "i can help you guys take care of bb now"

looking at all the posts on cooking ... I really have to do something in the kitchen liao, if not I like depriving her alot ... has been feeding all baby jar so far. Yesterday she ate pear and give me a funny look but still like it!

Any mummies in sengkang want to organize a mass puree session !!! hee to save time and effort !!

chintz, don't worry so much, i'm sure it will all work out in the end

actually, i'm really saddened when i hear grandparents treating their grandkids this way. my mom actually has some frens who ask her why she bothers dropping everything, so that she can look after hannah once a week when i got to work. can you believe that? my mom's reply "my granddaughter is more important!". i love my mom. she's the best!

totoro,

I can join you. Since we stay so near! heee

zhen_zhen,
not all moms will sacrifice. Sadly, my mom is one of them.
She loves my boy but she won't give up her 'tai tai' status to take care of my baby.

chintz,
reality always bites the hardest. my mom also swear in front of all my cousins that she'll take care if I give birth. but now also like that. so disappointed. but what to do...

totoro,
that'll be fun! but i haven't start my girl with solid yet. i'll join in when i started aria..i stay in punggol. so very near

bbwow,
just ignore him lah.. my FIL also got a lot of comments lah..i "or or orr.." then forget abt it liao..haha..

zhenzhen: i think own mum is still the best. but my mum abit like bbwow one.. still dont want give up her part time so now can only take care of my baby part time.. so i still have to stand my MIL nonsense at times

totoro_bb: self puree is good! cheap n fuN!

totoro, making puree is fun. i love coming up with new concoctions for hannah! and it's not too inconvenient if you make a big batch and freeze after that.

btw... i tried avocado + banana + rice cereal combo the other day. hannah loves it! not sure if any mummies want to try. :p

zhen_zhen: u mix everything and feed hannah? or one spoon cereal, one spoon banana etc etc?

taste yummy?? i think it does! i just hear my tummy calling!!! hehee

banana can only use which type ah? yet to let my bb try that