(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

thanks euno!
will make stock this weekend!

ueno .... must boil for so long ??? over small fire is it ... hmmm what did u put fr yr veg stock??? thanks for sharing

gingerleaf, madlynette

I got the same prob! I realized that jayden sweats alot when drinking milk and he'll fuss when he's carried. Sometimes I need to sing song to him then he'll drink. Maybe I should try putting him in a chair to drink or what.

re: porridge
so many cooking tips! I'm actually penning them down. hehe...this lousy mommy can't cook for nuts!!! I am so ashamed of myself.

yeah going to knock off soon .... clap clap
:D can't wait ...

i want my boy to be bigger size so now i start to feed him in the middle of the night again ... hmmm dun know i am wrong or not cos wait he got the habit pengz ... do you all think i should do that ... hmmm cos by right he dun need liao only wants to drink water ...

CM: so scary , why suddenly think of us 2 !? lol..
i stil dun know how u look like!! did u go on 1st may?? no mind can see u on 19th!

CM: dun need lah.. if he not waking up at night means he takng enuff..
wats ur boy weight?? dun get obsessed with baby;s weight,. so long gaining steadily over the mths then can liao

ecookie ... i did go for the 1st May but nvr go to the cafe to meet you lor ... hb want s to buy things ... my boy is abt 8kg+++ be is 11/09

think of the 2 of you so slim lor ... my fat fat one ... you can ask the rest ... hmm in the 1 may pic got some of my image .. the one wearing black fat fat one

tiffy, *high 5* on mils! =P

CM & perlicia, tot i m e only one.. so scared dun dare to own up dat i also let bb adri try everything one!! except for dairy products.. keke.. but any others, will just put a teeny weeny bit in her mouth for taste.. keke

CM: 8++kg is a also a good weight for a 7M+ baby i think... so dun stress urself out over his weight..baby knows best. if they hungry they will cry for milk.. so if he doesnt want milk and sleeping thru, just let him be.

hippo, dun feel bad la. LOL
I oso let lyn tried Ice Kachang once! But only the shaven ice la, which I think is abit sweet, coz she smacks her lips, smile n wants more! =p

chintz... wow... 1 question oni, soooo many good recipes arrrr!! tat's v good... i also learnt how to make chicken stock then, thks ueno
ecookie, can feed porridge once bb turn 6mths.. infact better than cereal, of cos, those natural & nutriuous porridge, not w msg, etc lah... i hardly use slow cooker to cook porrdige as i find it v slow (but of cos porridge turns out v soft, but faster get watery leh - tat's how i experienced), chintz, no need to mash/blend the porride, if u want v soft then try slow cooker, i ususally soak rice (abt 20-30min) b4 cooking, also turn v soft. if i v free then i'll pound the rice b4 cooking (must wash & dry the rice 1st), then store in container & use for cooking... ya, add ingredient as u like (eg. fish, veg, etc, all chop to small pcs can liao)... if use stock as base to cook porridge, more tasty (no need add anything), i always brew soup (b4 add salt) then us4 the stock to cook porridge.

wow, u r so creative, unlike me so boring, only know how to make rice cereal, then boil veg (e.g. carrot, pumpkin, green veg) with fish, mash everything up then feed bb....

tink me a bit lazy to cook porridge too, haha

but then bb still gobbles everything up, so greedy lol..

gingerleaf, madlynette, bbwow,
Yes, I got the same prob. Both hb n myself dun feed Jerry in our arms. We feed him as he lies on the bed, elevate with pillow. This is for the early morning & late nite milk feed. He sweats alot with the mild warm milk, so we have to further lower the aircon temp during his feed.

I juz did porridge cooking again.
Soak rice in hot water 3hrs. Put the rice, silver fish n boil in claypot. Add in small slices of sweet potatoes when it boils. 10mins later, add in chopped spinach. Leave it to boil. Off fire n cover the pot of porridge. Use spoon to mash before serving dinner. Itz easy! Hee...

Soup stock can be frozen?

Greetings from Phuket!

Im now enjoying my frappe in a cafe, got 30mins free internet acess upon buying 2 frappes! hee... so i drop by to say HELLO! miss u mummies
so many posts these few days, im gonna catch up when im back! cya n take care

hihi, me november mummie....saw that some of the oct mummies discussing abt beco obi. i think dun have to consider liao ...as ur babies are quite "heavy" already.

i had one ... it was very good to use when my baby was smaller. cos very easy, comfy and cool...and my baby always sleep when i carry her in the obi. but recently, i find her too heavy for the obi liao.... the shoulder and back will ache after a while.

think obi is suited for younger and lighter babies...altho it states can use up to 12kg, i think practically, at most ard 8-9kg. mine ard 8kg i buay tahan liao, switch to my butterfly.

juz to share with u mummies

doobom,

dunno hubby can go wif us or not.. company sending him to italy next week. Sian.... think i will be going alone wif kayden. Ask my bro-in-law to send me there loh.

So tired.. brought kayden to see doc again. His Bronchiolitis still has not recover. Lucky i brought him to see another PD, if not kept drinking the cough syrup like no used.

Poor bb, was send to take X-Ray.. (dunno how many cells die). Got infection in his airway... doc suggest to do nasal suction.. he cry and cry!! My mum and I nearly cry aso... now rent the neubaliser hm.. need to blow every 4hrs!!!! Kayden saw me preparing the machine.. he cry and cry till whole face red. I realised bb quite smart... give him eat medicine, shut his mouth tight tight... die die also dun want to open. Haiz.... next few days and weeks will be veri challenging for both my mum and me.

Need to stop now... now it's mummy turn to take medicine!!!

Hey ladies, presenting the long waited vegetable stock recipe.....

Veg Stock

3 carrots - peeled and cut
1 big yellow onion - peeled and quartered
2 tomatoes - quartered
3-4 stalks of celery
(add chicken if you want to make chicken stock)

Put all the ingredients into a pot with freshly boiled water.Pour enough water to cover the ingredients plus some, and top up as you go, bring to a boil and simmer for at least 30-40 minutes.

Sieve and strain the ingredients. Let it cool then store it in freezer container.

Stock can be frozen up to a month

Oh no, annie, sorry to hear that Kayden has to go through all the unpleasant treatment. Poor Kayden...hopefully he'll recover very soon.

annie, do take care of urself, and remember to rest, rest and rest, ok?

posting is getting faster n faster.... hard to catch up =P

Hippo....

yr gal photos really tempt all the mummies here.. =D

re: porridge,

I didnt soak the porridge, Y must soak ??.. easy cook..?

annie,

Poor Kayden..Hughugz Annie mummy.. Do take care..Hope Kayden recover soon..

Re:puree,

Normally hw do you prepare puree?... Steam and blend rite... fruit and vegetable same method? I only steam apple, potato than blend...like honeydew I use the food maker manually, in the end like fruit juice..haa

garden_Dreamz,

Ya, i like the tune too, v calm. Acutally i went for it last year when im preggie too. Just that i kneeled only for the first 30 mins and didnt bow througtout. It great satisfaction after that. Hopefully, BB can take in.

All,

Wow, everyone into pureeing food. enjoy.. remember avocado!! is v rich is fatty acid which is good for bbies brain development..

looks like i am depriving my gal of many food. let her try cereals for a month before we started introducing her to new food last week. right now, the solids are meant as supplement to the milk and has not taken over any meals yet.
Are they supposed to replace milk feeds aldy?

when is a good time to start porridge? cos i tot cereals has more nutrition than porridge?

Jacq,
its true cereal is more nutritious than porridge, but sooner or later will have to start them on it, coz asian eats rice n such, so have to let them get use to what they will be progressing to in future. When to start depends on ur comfort level. Some mummies here started on porridge instead of cereal.

chintz, sorry to hear about ur MIL problems. for some infantcare, you can put your baby there a few days a week. if your MIL wants some free time, perhaps you could do that to relieve her for a couple of days?

madlynette, my MIL claims that my girl can sign twinkle twinkle little star too, cos she sings it to her quite ofter. i've not see her do it yet though. thought my MIL was pulling my leg, but maybe she really can... i shall try again tmr!

is it necessary to use stock? is stock more for taste or for nutritional value? cos i have just been giving hannah plain brown rice porridge, then mix in veg at the end. haven't started on meat yet. think i'll start when she's 8 mths.

morning mummies!!
It's FRIDAYYYY! Thanks for all for your concern. I'm feeling much better now. Our decision is hiring a maid.

re: porridge,
ya is stock for taste only or for nutritional value? thanks!

btw, chloe still rejecting milk. if i get lucky she can drinks 4oz. half of the times drinkin only 2oz and the rest of the times, dunwan to drink at all.

is this normal or should i call PD to check?

annie, poor dear.. do take great care or urself too!

pinky, go go! take the pics with jayden!

gingerleaf, need to ask for expert adv.. keke.. how to make apple puree?

dodo, i envy u! must be enjoying ur trip... have great fun ya!

morning mummies, it's friday! sighz, today office got alot of events. lunchtime and after work. after work, we are going to play paintball.

hippo,

For apple puree, I cut the apple in cube and steam it follow by blend ... not sure right or not...hahaa... I oni know this, other puree I also not sure...need advise too.=P

Frostyfiona,

Paintball.. My company held this event last month at OCC.. I din join but heard from my colleagues it fun .

Veg stock-
Ingredients:
Sweet Potatoes
Leek
Carrots
Parsnip

After preparing all the 4 veggies, put all into a pot of water.

Boil for about 1.5hours.

Strain and cool down the stock

Can be frozen for future use, advisable to keep in freezer for a maximum of 7 days.

Just called up the clinic. The nurse said it's normal, some babies dislike the taste of milk starting 6mths (after they've tried cereal). And they got more discomfort when they have growing teeth (bingo!)

*relieved*

sanbebe,
i will not give tomatoes to my boy until he's 1 yr old,its too acidic and It's one of the most allergenic vegetables. If you have any food allergies in the family, definitely avoid it .

pinky, thanks! but hor, stupid qns: how do u steam it? i m an idiot in e kitchem.. mummy does it for me.. keke=)