(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

chintz: u can feed her diluted prune juice. it helps with constipation. and i think she may b rejecting milk feed cos she is constipated and not comfy to eat any more..

thx ecookie: bought and fed her the juice yesterday liao. i hope she poo soon.

she takes cereal really really well! jialat.. that's why i'm thinking to 'upgrade' her meal to porridge soon.

madlynette: could it also be her teething problem? now her bottom two teeth has appeared! she bite, bite and bite a lot!!

hi chintz, sorry to hear about that, but i tink its better to send to childcare or get a maid than to send her overseas! bb shd always stay near mummy or she may grow up not close to u n worse still resenting u for sending her away!!

try feeding her diluted prune juice (recommended by PD) or sweet potato (mil tried that once n it worked)

myra is so smart!! in fact, she looks like 2-3 yrs old in tat pix rather than a 6-7 month old bb, hee.. my gal only knows how to grab things n puts into her mouth haha

chintz,
can be many reasons, maybe now she started solids, she needs less milk, myra now drink up to 150/180ml instead of 210ml previously. also i find she's very sensitive to temperature and changing of formula and the way its mixed. you may wait and try again later when she's more hungry.

nowadays myra prefers to drink in her rocker chair instead of in our arms. so when she is in our arms, she will reject like as if poison. then when we put her in the rocker she drinks happily. so funny, but very hard on us cos we cannot understand what is it they want. so i try and error, hopefully can strike like dat.

ueno.. oic, is carrier arr..thk q...

chintz..u can start try porridge, cereal everyday abit heaty.. gv more juice will help.

hippo
same thinking as you. my girl won't have to learn to call 'ah ma'. hahahaha and i won't teach her the word 'ah ma'. In future, in her mind only have 'po po', 'gong gong', 'shu shu', daddy and mummy.

chintz
if your mum can come to s'pore to take care is good lor. if not, i think it is better to put chloe in infant care.

as for me, i have no problem cos i been taking care of my gal myself although i'm a first time mummy. ever since MIL(i no longer acknowledge her)moved out, i have no prob looking after my gal at all.

junniez n other mummies who feed bbs porridge:
how do i go prepare yummy porridge for baby? after ready must blend somemore is it?

chintz are you using the normal rice or the brown rice ??? if BR den you must soak ... i soak over night if not cannot make it too hard liao ( i add in the water that i soak the rice to cook)... i also use the slow cooker to cook for like 3hrs ... i add a big pc of pork in it and cook ... den about to ready i add in a big pc of veg like carrot or pumpkin ... after ... all are cooked i add in a pc of fish too i use either the chicken stock from NTUC or ikan bills powder( cooked ourself) to taste ... but for a start you can dun add in the taste ... sometimes if i cook soup i will also using my soup as the base ... you can also cook the pork ribs and fish bone den use the stock to cook the porridge ... i also use ikan bills and yellow bean to boil the stock at times .. .so as to have differ taste ... remember ikan bills cannot put too much cos will be bitter

chintz: i read somewhere u can try blending the grains 1st so they in smaller pieces before you cook. in this way cooking time will be reduced and no need blend..

madlynette,
my gal oso refused to finish her milk if we carry her, after some trial n error, realised she'll drink if i place her on the bed, n hold up the bottle for her.

tiffy, what mil did to make u not acknowledge her?

chintz

I use slow cooker to cook. use auto function and after 2 hrs porridge is v soft. Once it is cooked, i put sliced threadfin in and cook till the fish is ready. Then before feeding, i took out the fish first and mashed it with a spoon. Then scoop out the porridge and mix with the mashed fish and feed my gal. Don't have to blend at all. Very easy task.

CM and tiffy! thanks for the tips!

so, no more purees after we feed baby porridge? blending puree like quite fun leh.. hehee somemore i just bought new cube tray with lid! :p

Chintz,
you can soak the 'new" rice first for an hour, then put in fish( make them small piece)/meat(for the taste only) into boiling water, then add the rice and vegi..actually if cook long enough (I also dunno how long is long as I am not the one cooking) it will be very soft already. Then no need to blend

Now the I know Beco can carry the bb facing front. I thought cannot at the first place. How many kg can it carry till and price pls?

gingerleaf ... good question i go home and see hahahaha ... i nvr put in a lot ... just a tiny bit

But i am one that is very 'da tan' ... i give Carlson Ice Cream ... prata ... bread ... bbq pork meat cos last sat went for bbq ... and a lot more kekeke dun scold be ok ...

gingerleaf,
our gers almost same same, i suspect myra feels hot when she's drinking milk in my arms, she sweats so maybe thats why she prefer to be placed elsewhere.

all these cooking tips and recipes are very very helpful! thanks!

gingerleaf,
it a long story and many many incidents happen. Dun wish to say anymore.
why u want to buy chicken stock? if is for preparing bb food, it is best not to use. BB is best to have food in natural taste. BB food should not use any seasoning.

chintz,
i use a small slow cooker to cook porridge for my gal.

I have never let my gal take nestle cereal at all cos i find it too sweet. Food that my gal have tried: plain porridge, carrot porridge, threadfin porridge(almost everyday), brown rice, potatoes, sweet potatoes, apples

CM, maybe your is the 2nd one right...so you are more daring..

I am so called hack care that I let Raph try some adult food....But hor, I give can lar....
My husband godfather let him suck roast duck lor and I was pissed about it.

cm,
don't give ur bb so many cold thing like ice cream. BB should not eat cold thing and cooling things.
1 of my husband's fren's son who is 3 year old recently admitted to KKH cos lung conjestion. His parents give him cold drink to drink lor. Even if the son having bad cough, also let him drink cold stuff so that why lung conjestion, too much phelgm inside liao.

madlynette, slow cooker is good. my mum also use that to cook porridge for my boy.

i bought one to use at home during the weekend. and i told my hubby that the slow cooker is purely for cooking baby's porridge hor, not for mil to cook her stuff. cos she dunno destroy how many of my pots liao.. sibei sian. last time i use a small pot to cook porridge for my boy, then my mil see me use the pot she also wan to use lor, go and cook dunno what inside and scratch the pot, the next time i use, the porridge all black black inside.

perlicia,
beco is up to 20kg.

gingerleaf,
i prepare my own chicken stock, i freeze the excess and use them whenever i need. its better than those ntuc ones cos homemade ones no msg.

tiffy, nope, im asking cm if the chicken stock she uses contains msg.

Perlicia,
beco cannot have baby face front at all. Onli face mummy, or back carry.

What is new rice?

ueno: how to prepare own chicken stock? im very interested.

re"porridege
i wanted to start only when baby is older like when 9 mths+ but think maybe will start when he ard 8m + hee..
but i tot meat is best to intro only after 8 mths?

gingerleaf, my mum said "new" rice is those that is more youngly harvested. I know in NTUC, who to ask about it. But my mum go to those market grocery shop, and they said the "new" rice more easy to cook for baby...

The Beco Obi (just a funny name,sound like or-beat) can leh.Picture I see from the website is like that

1408119.jpg

So i thought can...How much...more ex then Bjorn?

ecookie, i think the meat is for the taste only. won't actually feed bb the meat rite?

yeah how to make chicken stock, euno?

pumpkin porridge: add the pumpkin into the porridge just like that? replacing carrot is it?

ecookie, i bought the takasin (dunno is it this spelling) brand. it's those orange type with the claypot type inside. mini size one 0.7 litres. i bought at sheng siong for 27.90 or 25.90?

perlicia,
beco looks comfortable hor..BB doesn't look like hanging in the air..look more like sitting down..

perlicia,
why waste money on the orbi if u have the bjorn. If u look closely, it doesnt have waist support, all ur baby's weight is on the shoulder. It is like 2 fabric, criss cross to hold ur baby.

thanks for the info on new rice, so i juz go n ask.. 'xin mi'? Is that the chinese term?

Anyone know if those jap rice used to make sushi, can be cook as porridge?

gingerleaf, I didn't have the bjorn lor...think think that it can only last till 10kg so i didn't buy. You're right, 2 piece and the baby butt got a hole....

Anyway, where can I enquire and test on the Beco.

gingerleaf can but it will be too ex in long run kekeke ...

perlicia, same here only i can give hahaha ... but my mum also anyhow give one ... hmm next time my SIL will have prob with my mum liao if she give birth .. .but this SIL will help her la stop my mum from doing all those

Tiff ok ok noted ... ya only when bb is well la ... not a lot only try hmmm i know the limit keke he is my son mah ... will take care of him dun worry...

ecookie ... WOW to me too long liao la ... 9 mths ... to me i think he need the food to let him grow ' i know yr bb is growing very very well liao' hmm as in he need the mto crawl to walk to climb etc etc ... please try a little eariler can ;P

CM: really ah? 9 mths too late? then okie maybe will let him try earlier.. maybe 7+mth lor. now he still v young to me leh.. 6m + only.. hmm

Chicken stock-
Use 2 packets of Chicken Ribs/Bones,Remove the skin and fats as much as possible.Soak in hot water for about 20 minutes. Drain the hot water, place ribs/bones in slow cooker then add about 2.5litres of hot boiling water. Use high heat and cook for about 3 hours.After 3 hours, remove the ribs/bones.Pour stock through a filter to remove oil.The stock is now clear and keep aside to cool down. U can also add veg or spices to the stock for flavor. For a start, i will just serve ,my boy pure chicken stock but i only intend to do that when he is 8mths old. Before that i will only give him veg stock for his porridge.