(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Gingerleaf, speedy recovery to you. Drink lots of water, so you can hugz & kiss Lyn again. *So siAnzz if cun kiss bb hor...*

Annie, speedy recovery to you too. Yes, I told hb about our HR meetup. He wan to 'siam' leh, so only fetching me & bb there. Pick us up again after the meetup. Ur hb fetching u & bb there, if he is not joining?

Perlicia, how many of u? U & bb? n hb?

*Dinner time*

cheval,ecookie, thks.. will try the potato/swee potato recipe tis weekend (weekday got no chance got bb under nanny's care)...

hippo, dun worry, i'll b a v 'good' MIL cos we all mummies here alr kana 'MIL' nonsense, sure wont let our children b 'sandwiched'!!

CM, u v funny...hahaha..nvm, will see how 'big size' u r if i cfm go gathering!

totoro, u & bb also sick arrr... better take care.. u can try 'chuan1 pei4 pi2 pa2 gao1' for your sorethroat, it works for me. as 4 bb, can gv barley water, but not daily esp must alittle bit of 'dong gua tiao', too sweet caused phylem..

Junnie, will pass to u if I am going for the meetup.

My little rubbish bin has some butter in his potato....I think my mum boil them as she said too long to steam.

doobom, It will just be me and bb...My husband will think about siam also...I'll be surprise if he said he will join.

hi mummies, any space for me?

HARD ROCK Cafe on Vesak Day (May19), 12pm-3pm
1) ecookie - 03 (me+hb_bb)
2) CM syeo - 04 (me+bb+gal+maid)
3) hippo - 03 (me, hb n bb)
4) sugar_nut - 03 (me, hubby + bb)
5) frostyfiona - 03 (me, hubby and BB)
6) cheval - 03 (me, hubby + bb)
7) totoro_bb - 03 (me, hb + bb)
8) ueno - 02 (me n bb )
9) Pinky -02 (me & bb)
10) sanbebe - 03 (me, hb + bb)
11) Jas - 02 (me & bb)
12) unice - 03 (me, hb, bb)
13) Doobom - 02 (me & bb)
14) Annie
15) Dodo - 03 (me, hb, bb)
16) Jacq - 03 (me, hb, bb)
17) Ling
18) gingerleaf - 03 (me, hb, bb)
19) eil - 02 (me & bb)
20) zhen_zhen
21) chintz - 03 (me, hubby + bb)
22) madlynette - 03 (me,hb n bb) KIV
23) bbwow - 03 (me, hb n bb)
24) Tiffany - 04 (me+bb+boy+maid)
25) junnie 04 (me + hb + bb + gal) TBC
26) ariajo - 02 (me and bb)
27) ponponta 03 (me, hb nn bb)

hi mummies, did anybody take pills to stop BFing? I took all my pills already, but hor it still haven stop.. my breasts super engorged like a big rock and it keep leaking non-stop.. have to keep changing breast pad. How long will this last? i only afraid that i will have mastitis again as i kanna twice this year already.. i called gynae she say just have to let it stop naturally, but it is suffering..really tempted to express again to relieve the engorgement.. help help!!

hi mummies, any space for me?

8) ueno - 02 (me n bb )
9) Pinky -02 (me & bb)
11) Jas - 02 (me & bb)
14) Annie
17) Ling
19) eil - 02 (me & bb)
20) zhen_zhen - 03 (me, hb + bb)
25) junnie 04 (me + hb + bb + gal) TBC

cheval,
Oh I'm also using Gina Ford's book of weaning. But
I check with the website for info too. Gina Ford puts potatoes as 1st food as it rarely cause allergy. Well, I'll introduce sweet potatoes at this stage and potatoes later.

junnie,
Normally you'll need to add water to food when puree-ing.

totoro,
Do drink loads of water and rest well.

Remember not to add sugar to barley water if giving to Kelly. Just plain barley water will do.

8) ueno - 02 (me n bb )
9) Pinky -02 (me & bb)
11) Jas - 02 (me & bb)
14) Annie - 03 (me, hb, bb)
17) Perlicia - 02 (me & bb)
19) eil - 02 (me & bb)
25) junnie - 04 (me + hb + bb + gal) TBC

Anymore joining us? Come on...

Perlicia, I put u in #17. Coz saw Ling's post that she is going up m'sia, not joining us.

Ling, u not joining us? Going m'sia for holiday??

junnie, haha! ya, datz true.. we are being "tormented" by mils ourselves also.. keke..

ponponta, long time no see! have u tried cabbage?

wow, this is so exciting!! die die must try make it for the gathering, cant wait to see so many bb taht day, i love bb!! =)

ps count me in:

8) ueno - 02 (me n bb )
9) Pinky -02 (me & bb)
11) Jas - 02 (me & bb)
19) eil - 02 (me & bb)
28) zinterz - 02 (me n bb - hb to be confirmed)

re MIL

i've got my share of frustrations, esp when dh not on my side for some of the issues, esp feeding.. e.g. bb to try 1 food @ a time for 2-3 days, but MIL lets her try 2 new foods in a day and now, none at all! she said no cooling foods such as cabbage?! tot the idea is to let bb try if the food is agreeable??

now i've 'closed both eyes' and will let her do what she wants during wk days but i'll go ahead let bb try new foods @ wk ends

zinterz,

MIL have their own traditional logic one la. We just have to get around with them since they're taking care for us.

My mom bought the brown rice with si sen and I ask my MIL to feed BB. BB don't want, she eat herself! Make my mom more pissed cause it's supposed to 'bu' her grandson in the end my mil eat the good stuff. Hahahahah

zinterz: yah i agree with bb wow.. cos we working mum sometimes really must close eyes but very hard to do for me sometimes ha..

bbwow: ha so funny ur MIL went to eat the good stuff..

ponponta: think u should still express to relieve the engorgement but slowly reduce the express no. of times.. for me that time when i stopping, i ll pump ard 4 times as usual a day, then reduce to 3 times after 2 days.. then 2 times...after few days..

u ll definitely feed that the breasts v hard cos the timing stretches b/w pumps. just try to massage it between pumps and leaking is common. even till the end, when i no longer pump, breasts will still leak when i take hot shower ha

poponta,
i think you should express to relief the engorgement, not everything but half the amt or perhaps express abt 30%? slowly you'll notice that your milk supply will drop gradually...no good to take pills lah...mastitis is no joke ok? if not treated properly might lead to abscess leh..

ecookie,
wow, you really have very good let down leh.. i no longer have that let down during shower liao..

wah, the gathering is getting more and more ppl and bbs! i am so excited abt it~~ cant wait for vesak day to come~

have you all stop bf liao?

ariajo: i dun have it now lah! haha i have that when i stopping bf... so when i dun need to pump no more engorgement back then, i will still have some leaking when taking hot shower lor..

frostyfiona: i stopped when baby is 2 1/2 mths + already.. ha but cos my GP advised against since i got asthma ..

hi ariajo and ecookie,

i also tried to stop gradually but cannot.. when i reduce my pump time from 20mins to 10mins, i got blocked ducts and suffered from mastitis. That is when i decided to call it a quit and took the pills. But take pills also no use.. i still have very bad engorgment..

I tried cabbage still no relieve, but i dun dare to go back expressing scared it will defeat the purpose of eating pills.. think i better go back to gynae tomolo..

ariajo, really must admire your determination to BFing bb till 1 year..

frostyfiona, have you stopped BFing? i remember when i first return back to work, was discussing with you on places to express milk in office.. that was like so long ago already...heeehee...

yippee!! really looking forward to meet all the mummies and babies.. it will be great fun!

ecookie,
oh..haha..

ponponta,
i got all the encouragement from my collegues. most of the all pro BF. i have 2 collegues still breastfeeding their 2 years old plus kids! theirs are on demand basis now..no need to pump..only latch at night. i hope i can achieve that..then it'll be so easy, no need to express in the office..i dun think i'll BF more than 1 year lah cos i can't wait to on diet!!

wah, i think you really got a lot of milk leh..so sayang to just stop it..yeah, better go back to gynae but i also think it's good to see LC and ask them to teach how to stop milk gradually without suffering from all this?

yesterday mil declared war on hubby n me liao. she said that she won't take care of bb for us anymore. she claimed that we treated her like a maid?! etc etc

i was badly hit by her accusations and actions!

now the question is what to do next?
nanny? infant care? or hire a maid?
what do u all reckon?

i'm upset why she can't see taking care of bb as a love to her grandchild, instead of seeing it as a duty and task??

chintz: im so sorry to hear that.. how can ur MIL do that? she should at least talk to her son (if she not comfy talking to u) how she feels then perhaps you guys can rectify the situation rather than just declare not taking care of chloe liao!

if she really dun want to take care, then i guess the choice will be infantcare for me. or if she still dun mind taking care just that she doesnt want to do the housework chores then can get a maid to relieve her so she can just focus on baby chloe?

nanny aint a bad choice but must choose carefully. better those with children themselves and experienced one.

Never meet anyone of you before... will try to drop by. Any contact number. Im bringing BB for 3steps 1bow the nite before at KMS
so worryu that hewill be too tired. May just drop by.. want to c all teh bbies ... hee

ps count me in:

8) ueno - 02 (me n bb )
9) Pinky -02 (me & bb)
11) Jas - 02 (me & bb)
19) eil - 02 (me & bb)
28) zinterz - 02 (me n bb - hb to be confirmed)
29) renziz - 03 (me, hb, bb - TBC)

chintz,
oh my! your MIL sounds really unhappy with the current arrangements, if you MIL insist not to take care, think its best to find another way. discuss with HB what you think is the best arrangement for your bb. for me i've hired a maid when i was 8 mths pregs. bcos she also has to take care of my aged father while we work. she turn out to be quite good.

chintz,
ur MIL got angmor thinking manz, dowanna look after babies. Nvm la, if she dowanan look after, when chloe grows up and can start calling ppl, she will be super jealous.
Infantcare is a good choice, but if you can find a nanny, I think even better, coz more personalise. I personally grew up with a nanny, and the love n care she gave me is even much more than what my mum actually gave.

no hear from gingerleaf today... poor gal, must be still under the weather... do take lots of fruits/veg/vit C and water, yah? same for other mummies who r not feeling well recently. weather nowadays really v.hot.

chintz
so sorry to hear about ur MIL. but not all MILs see taking care of grandchildren as something done out of love, to some, its a chore and cuts into their life. sad but true. hopefully ur MIL is not like this and its just an incident that sparked her off. could she have said that in a moment of anger? agree with ecookie that she could have just voiced out her sorrows with ur hubby (then work out a proper solution) rather than bottle it and then erupt like that.

give her some time to cool down first, coz MIL stuff not easy waters to thread. if its housework that is overwhelming, then get a maid to help her out, at least child is still under her care n her burden is eased off.

if she really prefer not to care for chloe, then infantcare is a good option. its ex, but babies r well-taken care off. choose centres which give frequent feedback on what they do for ur child each day (when feed,poo,change diaper,etc). for us mummies, we may 'she bu de' but kids in infantcare/childcare r more independent n learn things faster coz they have fellow kids around to play with them.

renziz
u going for the 3 steps 1 bow at KMS? i used to go for that for a couple of years, but stopped when i got preggie. :D can't go this year coz my mum still recuperating from surgery n needs me around. enjoy the spiritual,reflective n calming event. i always loved hearing that tune.

gingerleaf
hey, its true leh. my boy see my MIL only will cry v loud. u seen my boy b4, v.sensitive, little bit not right only, will cry liao. then nowadays, when go MIL place, he see FIL, SIL,etc, smile smile, when see MIL, cry liao. smart boy! :D

chintz: haiyo dun tear lah. not worth over her.
as what ginger + madlynette said, other possibilities will work as well too. so now most impt thing is to sit down with ur hubbi and discuss whats the best way for chloe. actually all 3 choices are not bad but for me, i just feel a maid better needs an adult supervision thats all.

mad, (can i call you this nick)
haha..i saw little boss don't allow.. i was like huh? your boss don;t allow you to stop?? then i realise little boss is your girl..haha..

chintz,
oh dear..i know it feels awful cos my MIL did that to us once.. i was so sad, panic, ..cos she's afterall still nice to my girl and can take care of her well. i'm quite "fang xin" when she take care of my girl..sorry, i didn't really follow the previous postings cos it's moving so fast, so didn't really know what happen between you and MIL!! for me, it's my hubby fault, angered my MIL. in the end, i got to come in and make peace, pacify a bit, talk talk a bit...heng, she change her mind and willing to help us again..else, i really dunno how..

anyway, if you ask me, i'll rather put my girl at infant care cos i don't feel comfortable to have my girl get too attached to another person except hubby and me..hehe...also, she'll get to socialize with other babies and play with them. of course, the downside is that she might get sick from time to time but well, that also means her body get a chance to fight all this virus/germs and develope immunity lah.

yeah hubby n i thought of the most extreme scenario -> let my mum take care instead, bring her to indon! the mil is really really sickening already! always use this responsibility to threaten us in many ways.

Guess that's the last resort, cos i can't bear to part with bb

garden_dreamz: if 1 day my boy as smart as urs and cry when see MIL, i wil be happy leh haha
but he wont lah cos she genuinely care for him so dun think he will cry upon seeing her ha

anyway yest when i go home, my boy stretches out hands to me wanting me to carry. then when MIL did the carry carry gesture, he didnt want, he just turned away from her as i carried him. hah. n guess what?! my MIL doesnt believe and just carry him from me and ask me to do the carry gesture to test if my boy wants me! SIAO!

of cos my boy wants me and despite her doing another time the gesture when i m carrying him, he refused again!~ haha.

chintz: dun send chloe to indo! i think infantcare is a very feasible choice but must really actively look out already cos good ones may not have space so must quickly go tour a few to see see

madlynette,
if u get ergo, ur bee how?

I keep thinking abt ur bee u know. I wanna have a stroller that i can handle myself. Sigh

gingerleaf,
theres many light weight strollers, one hand operations, can find at mothercare HF, got aprica super lightweight i think 5kg. one hand fold operation. got mclaren and combi as well. i chose bee cos it feels sturdy and solid, cos i'm quite rough when handle stroller, need be gentle i get angry lor, no patience.

aiyah that day at gymboree, why you never ask to test drive?

gingerleaf, madlynette:
mama can only come once in a while, she got my dad, my two bros, n their wifes, n their children (total 3) to take care! ~phew.. all living under the same roof..

Chintz, I agree that infantcare may be a good idea.. actually we have kinda enquire before just to keep our options open. The infant pricing is actually not too far off from above 18mths, cos' the govt subsidy is higher. And there are still slots available!

See if there are any reputable ones ard your place or workplace, it may even be more convenient than sending to your MIL house.