(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Chin SS/bbwow
yah... the food battle is really really pathetic with my boy n the cleaning up after that is horrendous! i tried giving him just PLAIN porridge with just chicken stock, nothing else coz previous time gave him fish,spinach,carrot,pumpkin,etc, all he reject. in the end... PLAIN porridge also reject! can faint man... asked my mum if wanna try the chinese kind of brown rice. she told me he PLAIN porridge still dun wan, dun bother buying brown rice, sure $ go down the drain!

totoro,ueno,
So happy to meet you all at Trio. Like Kelly, he was so tired after the class that he fell asleep immediately after the class.

bbwow,
Congrats to you that your bb finally take the spoon
This is indeed a good beginning.
3 tsp = 1 tbsp so ur bb is taking slightly more than 1 tbsp. Well done !

annie,
I'm so sorry that I didn't recognise you at the warehouse sale. It was because I was late when we first met at the expo. Everything is like a rush, so I didn't take a good look at you the other time.

What did you buy? You were still there when I left. I couldn't the heat so I did it very fast. Just took whatever that I interest me. I just want to get out of that place.

garden,
You can mix avocado with milk to adjust the consistency but it can also be served just by itself.

Mashed Avocado

Peel and de-pit a ripe avocado
Cut the flesh out and mash with a fork

Avocados are served fresh from their peels! There is no need to cook avocados for baby or adult! Give an avocado a gentle roll around your counter to help separate the meat from the shell before you slice!

You can also serve with pears, apple or banana.

Krissie,
Yes, avocado is first food. It's very nutritious. A good source of vitamins and minerals.

You have already introduced a variety of food to your baby and I think this is really good. I'm yet to intro pumpkin and cauliflower.

I guess the reason that you baby is not taking more than 1/2 tbsp might be because

1.small appetite
she is small size so she doesn't have big appetite?

2.too hungry
Do you follow Gina Ford, feed your gal by the tier method? I'm doing it now and I think it's pretty good. Initially I didn't feed by tier, Jav refused to take cereal. He was screaming. I think it's because he's too hungry so he just want milk. So the 2nd day, I followed GF's method , and true enough, he finished up the cereal.

3. too much milk before solid
Did you feed too much milk before solid? If you're giving her half of her feed before and the remaining half after solid, perhaps you can try to reduce the amount of milk giving to her.

gingerleaf,
My c-sect wound heal very quickly and it's just a fine thin line. No itch or pain at all.

karrie,jas,
My gynae said must wait for 2 years then conceive.

hi jas, when i went yesterday, the one i got (newborn-toddler portable rocker) left only 2sets. There are plenty of other models though..

I'm wondering, will they replenish their stocks at the warehouse sale? cos it's til 5may!! still got a week..

if any of u go one of these days, and see they got more stocks in, please let us know!! Thanks

sanbebe
thanks..I think she has a small appetite. I'm following the tier method. also make sure she's not too full/hungry before the feed. shall try avacado for her soon.. my son didnt like avacado last time too.. I was thinking of blending brocoli for her this weekend, then can serve my elder boy cream of brocoli too..

junnie
how's lance? he's always in my prayers. hope he gets well soon.

Jas
congrats.. wow.. v fast leh..

garden dreamz
my gal also eat v little, so i can understd..

my c-section area also itch ... actually worse .. my tummy and everywhere will itch as well esp those stretch marks area. My fren told me its hormone changes due to preggy and maybe confinement not done properly ... anyway i just live with the itch as don't want to keep eating those allergy pills. Have my A or B injection and was adv not to conceive until 6 mths later ... wanted to have 2nd but don't think I have the energy for it yet ...

avacado
how do i know that they are ripe ... bought one last week and when I cut it, inside was white and very hard !

spinach
went to the supermarket end up empty handed as don no which type to buy. Anyone know where can I get organic spinach and what type ??

ecookie,

how much you're feeding your bb now? regarding making purees, how do you do it? Steam and then just mash? I'm still contemplating to buy blender.

garden_dreamz,
yeah. My mom bought the brown rice from medical hall I think. We haven't try it yet. Maybe this week. I'd let you know the outcome. hehe...

I realized the trick to make my boy eat is to let him read a storybook. he likes it. Esp those books with mirrors in it. So maybe you need to find something to entertain your boy then he'll not notice what he's eating! hahah

Hey Morning Mummies,

3 days I never log in, have so much news to catch up.

Congrats Jas....Maybe you can tempt the October mummies to be pregnant again like we tempt each others on toys...haha

welcome, mummies recently join our forum.

gingleleaf, you really win already....showing us a mountain of toys. I guess I missed the toy fair as today then I know about it only

Raphael is down with flu and cough...paed also never give cough syrup...only for the phlegm. Lucky for me, he is actively playing and eating...

One good news for me too, saw Raphael's first tooth. come out already. When he is crying out loud, I was envying his tooth....

4 days to gymboree. Can't wait to meet all mummies and babies. I think I have to print the list out to see who is who...

Perlicia,

the sale until 4 May so you still have chance to grab some ......

BTW, you mentioned about the baby jar prune + oatmeal, I went to look for it but couldn't find it. You have the brand?

so exciting to see all the milestones that the babies are making ........ I'm still waiting for mine ......

ya. so excited on gymboree!!

the list should attach our bb photo in it. I cannot imagine going up to the person and ask "Are you (nick)??" hehehe

bbwow: so far his only solids meal is at 6+pm (dinner) and that replace his milk feed for that time slot. using heinz cereal + FM scoop .. so he will take 3.5scoops heinz mixed with ard 70-80ml milk + 1 cube veg puree + 1 cube fruit puree.

cooking: yah i steamed the veg/fruit and then puree by using a fruit juice blender we've previously. so far okie.. remember for fruits no need add too much water cos they are juicy by themselves.. then freeze the purees in ice cubes trays lor.. so far will only make 1 week supply every weekend...

morning all!! =D

gingerleaf & dodo, i also want to buy e FP piano! i was hesitating yesterday so ended up buying the scooter, phone (same as dodo!) n the learning activity table... hmm, tink i shd go down today to grab e piano?? got new stocks leh!

CONGRATZ Jas!!

re gymboree on 1/5.. wat time is e class? am not joining cos used to work with them, so will be signing up direct.. but i want to meet u girls n babies if i can make it! ecookie, u are not joining e class too but gg down rite?

jas, gymboree will clean up e place! datz y must remember to bring socks for adults wor!

dodo, get leapfrog thru sprees! much cheaper than getting it here..

teething: my boy didnt seem to drool alot but he has the tendency to bite on most things (esp his tiny fists!) nowadays.. is that a sign of teething?

hippo: yup gg down at ard 1045? think the lesson end by then.. will try to ambush the mummies attending.. chintz gg down too, right??

so u gg?

Totoro, sanbebe,
Nice meeting u mummies too! I've posted the pics in our yahoo grp n i've also sent them to yr emails.

morning mommies,
didnt go to the toys warehouse sale, cos i read a lot of mommies have to go twice or trice to exchange defect toys, so thats out for me since i don't drive. too bad...

jas
congratulations, so wonderful your bbs get to be 1 yr apart, since you hit the jackpot early.... you plan one arr...

gymboree
gonna be hard to remember both mommies nicknames and real names and bb names as well....oh dear!

yah labour day holiday is coming...

oh..thanks totoro, then I must find my excuse to go down already.

Prune and oatmeal, I think it is from Nestle.

Raph is swallowing so well now. He didn't want pureed food but porridge now..*faint*
He is no longer at my mum's place already...I doubt MIL is ready to cook for him.

We went Ikea and he was shouting,drooling and eyeing on the chicken wing, I really need to get lots of treats and biter for him when we are eating...Seems like he want to be involved in meals with us now.

ecookie, it might be the sign of teething cause the gums like very itchy to them. At 6-8mths, this is the time to teeth. You can read the info in the health book.

Hi all mummies!

hippo, ya, I heard got new stocks, but oso heard they priced the piano at $80 instead of $60, coz the box is brand new. >.<

The activity table is very cute! All the food on the table makes some kind of noise. Hahah

ecookie
should get you boi a teether to bite on....i got the pigeon teether for my ger. my ger has been biting for a long time already, her teeth is taking some time to cut through the gums, still not out yet.

good morning mummies!!

My exam hell is starting coz I have to mark hundreds of essays!!!

hmmm many different opinions about when it's advisable to have no. 2 after c-section...so confused now...hehe

my c-section wound still itches now and then too. but doesn't hurt lah. my scar is a little raised and still pinkish coz i think i moved around too much during my confinement. cannot sit still...hai....now regret loh.

Morning all...

Good thing nobody having monday blues.. cos we're all looking fwd to thursday.. YEAHHHHHHH⁄⁄

ecookie: i will confirm again whether i'm going to harborfront or not, cos my parents might be coming for holiday

would love to meet all mummies still!! mayb brought my parents along and show them, how united the oct mummies are!!! hehehe

gingerleaf: dun think i miss the small font cute lor.. lol....
ya lah ya lah.. cutest is ..... lyn lah.. ha

karrie: hundreds of essays sound scary!!

seems like alot of mummies on c-sect here.. must take care of the wound cos its true that the internal wounds will heal slower than the external./skin wound.. so even though ur external wound heals.. must still not engage in vigorous activities..

teething: okie wil get my boy some teethers.. previously got one from baby fair but i found the edge like abit sharp..think will get pigeon one as recommended by madlynette...

n hols coming on thurs!!!

taking leave to bring the lil'one for his vaccine tom!! *wee* can see his growth and get to spend whole day with him.. *happy*

ecookie,
hahahahahah =p

Ya, seems like many c sect mums here!
My scar oso raised one, then the center is flat. Looks so funny. Now looks like 2 short cuts instead of one long one. I think its the confinement not done properly too. Coz I was moving around alot during my confinement.

gingerleaf, ya.. cutest.. n yet is e biggest "stirrer"! hahaha.. look hw many mums' wallet u emptied! i was telling my hb abt u.. and he saw the truckload of stuff u got for lyn (&amp; of cos i told him all e rest not shown here) and he went "wah! must be very very loaded!" hahahaha! see? cutest n richest!

ya, e piano is gg for $80 liao.. i went back n tested all e toys.. so scared they will be faulty. and my silly hubby really go n fix e scooter leh! told him better c can take out after fixing anot. he nvr check n just fix.. jialat! now gotta put in plastic bag 1st and keep cos can only use when bb is near 1 yr old! grr...

how much did u get e activity table for? i got it for $50.. wanted to get one with a better box but realised mine is the only one tagged $50 and e rest $60! then e assistant very cute.. he tell me just take the $50 one 1st.. hahaha!

ecookie, okie dok! i will try my best to meet u all there. cos mth-end closing la.. labour day = working day for me..

ecookie,

tomolo u on leave ??? got a lot of sales leh ... fox, toys R us, robinson ..... still thinking what excuse shld i come up with ha ha

hippo

I also want to buy the grand piano but weekdays cannot go liao as too far ...who going down ??? can lobang or not?

chintz
agreed the 2 photos very funi , one with leroy touching kelly and the other one jav looking at her ... and she ... busy checking both of them (left and right) during the lesson instead of concentrating ....

ginger
I almost "choke" when see ur remarks on how to recognise you leh ... u sure u r the shortest

From sept thread
re: fox sales

29 apr - 4th may
12 - 7pm

WING TAI INDUSTRIAL CENTRE
105 Tampines Rd

hmm I want to go so can get socks for my girl ...

morning mummies!!!

haha, gingerleaf, u very thickskin lo haha..
ya la, u r the cutest mummy n lyn is the cutest bb!
cant wait to see all of u on Thursday!!!

frostyfiona, the number is 6836 1000.
The Lasik Surgery clinic.
I paid ard 3.6K if i didnt rem wrongly but my treatment was the wavefront technology cos my astig is 200 degrees
if u have no astig, then normal lasik is only 2.4K

totoro,
ya, im the shortest one la, no doubt. ren ming le.

hippo,
ha! im sharing good stuffs with u all ma, in a way help u all save, coz get outside sure much much more expensive. I'll never buy so much toys at retail price! So one time buy so much, will not buy toys anymore! I figured out all the toys is enough to last her till she pass 1!

Actually if the toys were at retail price, I doubt I will buy it as well. It's too expensive liao but since around 50%, I was asking myself why not ... but if this continue ... I think we can combine and have a 2nd hand toy sales liao when our bb gets older...

bbwow:: yah i realise mine cant accept PM.. how to amend it huh??

totoro_bb: yah on leave but dun think will hit the sales cos baby taking vaccine tom think will stay at home incase devp fever..but the fox very tempting!!!!

maybe we can all go on 1st may?? hehe

gingerleaf: u sure u wont buy any more toys after this?? i dun believe u! keke.

sanbebe,

it's ok lai.. b4 i go down was thinking will see anyone of u or not whom i saw @ the expo.

Funny is u still remember kayden!!! ha ha

ya loh super hot.. my hubby keep rushing me. den kayden also cannot take the heat. veri cranky!!! in the end bought only 8 toys for him. mostly above 12mth toys. like the barney...(safety song driver), Fisher Price-Sesame street ABC....the counting friend phone.. and many more.

I have already open up 1 toy for him to play BUT he is not interested loh. So sad!!! my parents say the house is full of his toys. Need to stay in a bungalow den got enough space to keep his toysssss!!!

ecookie,

I dunno leh. think must go to your profile settings to switch on. I was thinking of asking if you have Friso 2 Gold sample?

Btw mummies,
hope this fox flyer is useful to you. hehehe... Can print out and use the $5 off discounts.
I'm asking my hubby if they're opened on 1st may. he's working with wingtai.

aiya...the flyer too big, how to minimize huh??