(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

dodo,

so gald for u that everything is fine now. Is not easy to be mummy.. take care..

Solid food,

Started on millet today but think is too coarse, he didnt want it.. will try to grind again today.

Iron:

Anyone out here worry about bb not having enough iron. COs BB is on 4-5x milk of 150ml, of which only 1-2x is formula milk. Cos i home grind all my cereal, there are of course not forfeited with iron. worry about his iron intake. any suggestion??

ecookie,
you reckon if japan is easy to bring a baby to? A frd told me, free and easy isnt that easy coz their subway mostly is stairs n no escalators, so gg to be very troublesome. Whats ur take?
Where did you go to?

gingerleaf: yah i agree with ur friend,,think japan not exactly the best place to bring a baby..esp the subway is crowded + not so easily accessed by escaltor except for major stat..u need a baby carrier for a pram will take up too much space...

also, language is a main prob..like if u need hot water or ask where s the nearest baby changing room can pose a prob..

and *touch wood* incase of emergency like the lil' one got cold/fever, hard to ask ard cos of lang barrier and medical fees are v high.

u want to consider baby friendly places like australia perhaps..?but it will be cold there as its autumn over there now

dodo *huggs* you're really brave. your account really made me wanna cry. I think I wouldn't be able to stand being there, surrounded by so many pitiful cries n seeing my bb suffer too.

have much respect for junnie too, stay strong will be praying for chubby little lance.

my maid just fell sick with a bad flu. fever, chills and the works. she overworks herself, ignores our advice to slow down and rest now and then when bb sleeps. now burnt out...sighs...had to bring her to the doc and all...she's really nice and hardworking, doesn't like to trouble us but she doesn't realise that by doing that she is actually giving us more headache...dunno how to talk to her also.

Now, dunno if I should take childcare leave to take care of matty personally coz scared she pass the bug to him...actually she was already having the sniffles yesterday but still carried him...if he gets it he gets it i suppose.

Re Gymboree:

I have updated the details of the mummies who are joining us for the trial class in yahoogroups(except for few). Thanks to all who have made payment..

I am targetting to make another visit early next week to make payment, so v much appreciated if the rest can effect the transfer by end of this week.

Cheval / Sanbebe / Sharon / Jojer, can give me the name of your baby and birthdate?

dodo,
U surely have a strong & healthy prince. When you are with him, all things become possible! The milk you give him is his strength to overwhelm the infection! Right now, do believe that he is armed with a new unbeatable immune system thru out his life. He be safe & healthy! it must be hard on you...do take care! dun worry too much ya...i know its easier than said to be done. Just be assured Ziqian is going to be better than yesterday! *smile*

Lance:
Any updates? Still keeping him in prayers!

Gymboree:
Looking forward to it! Counting down...

Thanks mummies, feel better now, still have flu and cough...now got ulcers somemore! yucks!

Jas,
must drink more water!
I always beliff water work wonders and I always drink till Im so bloated when Im down with the flu.

morning mummies!!
just want to complain abit here.. just realise this morning that my MIL went to wash baby toy's which has batteries inside one!!! and of cos its spoilt now.. and she asked me how come no more music !! *grr*

sigh, i tot its common sense that toys that "sings" are equipped with batteries and its a big no no to wash them!!

pissed and as usual the husband is quiet on this cos is his own mum. *angry*

sugarnut,
thanks for your time in organizing the gymboree, really appreciate it.

ecookie,
hope its not such an expensive toy. haha! aiyah must forgive MIL lar she from different generation maybe she dunno one.

Morning...

Any bb has his/her passport done? I am applying for my bb. Like to check if bb needs to be present during collection of passport @ ICA?

madlynette: u r very kind.. i ve to admit im very short tempered when it comes to my MIL.. mayb too many conflicts when it comes to baby.. then over time, i got easily irritated by her..
sigh..okie must cool down and try to be as understanding as u.. hee.

ecookie,

I have the same frustration. But think again, during their generation, not much toys with batteries?

I always have conflicts with my PIL. So nowadays I just keep quiet when bb is at their place and don't do anything. But at my own place, I have the freedom with my bb.

No choice lor. Just have to 'ren' cause we're working

My PIL because of this fact becomes ya-ya and know I can't do anything

bbwow: yah cos we are working mums.. sigh.. if only we are SAHM then dun have to put up with IL's style of taking care of our babies... :|

yah i got to "ren"!!! till baby 18 mths!!

Dooborn,
Yes..your bb has to be present when collecting passport..cos there are too many fraud cases in the past..so very strict!

ecookie,
That's why i chose to be SAHM. Just have to close one eye though when comes to MIL issue. For me, i close two eyes becos way before that, we have so much conflicts tat she dun dare to touch my bb till now! hee...

ecookie,
why hub keep quiet? He got to be impartial ma, how can lidat side his mum when its her fault. You shld tell him to explain it to ur MIL that toys that sings n flashes lights cannot be wash, if never explain, she'll prob do it again.
But look on the bright side, she is washing toys for ur bb to maintain cleanliness! Hehe.
Ya la, agree with madlynette, MILS are from another generation one. Mine is pretty much okie in a way, but I hate it when we go out for family dinners on weekend, she will keep calling baby even when she is sleeping. Her theory is, so that baby wun cry. I dunno what to say manz. Baby sleeping how to cary?? Sometime its so hard to pacify n pat her to sleep outside, and when she is aslp, she will keep calling out bb's name. zzzz

gingerleaf,
you MIL call out to bb when bb sleeping, hor hor!, maybe she hope ur bb will dream of her........erm, her voice. :p

Jas: wah.. u must be very "fierce" when it comes to ur baby heheh.. so now MIL issues more okie..?
but think its natural for us to be uptight abt our babies cos OUR babies what..hah

gingerleaf: my hubby is like a wooden man.. can sit there listen to us talking to n fro , then tension slowly mounting also cannot sense one! his other name is mr insensitive..

yah lah, just now he said he ll call back during lunch to have another talk with her .. thats what i told him.. if we dun educate them, then they will make the same mistake...

and why ur MIL want to disturb lyn? very hard to get babies asleep outside.. everytime baby YZ sleeps in his pram, i very happy one.. ahah

feeding:
just want to share here that my boy is finally on 5 feeds a day.. previously hard to switch from 6 feeds to 5 feeds cos he cant take too much per feed.. so stick with 6 feeds to ensure he drinks enough..

now finally on 5 feeds a day totally ard 940ml a day..
timing: 730am/11am/3pm/7.30pm/1130pm (dream feed)

talking abt dream feed, my bro-in-law advised me to switch the dream feed earlier when aft 6 mths cos not good for baby to go to sleep immediately after a milk feed, bad for the teeth..

but dun know how to do that leh.. somemore with solids introduction.. like alot of things going on for baby.. and also scared feed him too early, he ll start waking up at 3-4am for milk!

mummies out there.. whats the last feeding timing for ur babies?

madlynette,
lol. i really dunno what she is thinking manz.

ecookie,
I dunno! She will keep calling her! Even when she is drinking milk or what.. EVEN WHEN IM PATTING HER TO SLEEP! she will suddenly call her name. WAH!! very irritating one. Then hb asked her to hush n dun call her, she will say, call then good ma. I believe there is some superstitions involved, but she is not saying and it irks me no end!

gingerleaf, maybe u should ask her what is the rational behind calling names? If bb awakes, can she carry her or not while u have ur dinner?

I am super happy when bb sleep and when put him inside pram and continue sleep, even happier as i can enjoy my meals then.

ecookie, mine still having dream feed (6th feed) at 1-2am.

my last feed is by 9 30pm. cos usually by 10 30pm i will make her sleep already. last night she never demand for milk so she went to sleep with out her last feed, wor wake us up at 2am crying for milk, hehe.

One of the Nov mummies is pregnant again...

MILs,
ecookies, the grandma wants you to buy new toys for the grandchildren lar..so must spoil it. My PIL buy a big box to put raph's toys. but when I buy back toys, then they said everywhere is raph's things...contradicting. My husband also side his mother one.

jas,yes, it is our baby and dunno why MIL like to make it like they know the bb more than the mummy.

perlicia,
she wun say, she juz say " call then good ma, so bb wun cry." >.<
OH, talk abt enjoying meals, I dun even enjoy mine when Im having dinner with them coz they will keep calling her or poking her, then food comes, all go n eat and I gotta pacify n pat. Lucky hb automatic, will help out.
But once dinner finish, the calling comes again. My gal oso one kind la, so tired liao, ppl call, she still will smile. So she is asking for it too.

Thanks, mummies. I will bring Jerry along when his passport is ready.

EXACTLY agree, Perlicia. Why MILs like to assume that they know bb more than mummy? When this happens, really makes me boil. >.<

Sorry to barge in. Anyone using SIMILAC milk powder? I over bought as my ger just turn 1 yr and no longer use the stage 2.

selling @ discounted price, i have 2 cans.
<font color="ff0000">$30 per can, 900g SIMILAC FOLLOW-ON STAGE 2</font>

Collection Point: Preferably at AMK, pls suggest if u have other collecting point, will see if it's on the way from my work place.

Pls PM me if interested. Thanks...

madlynette: okie so myra say take last feed ard 930pm.. then all the way till morn say 7am can tahan? thats good leh..

once my hubby n i too tired fell asleep with baby at 9+pm then never dream feed him.. then he woke up at 4am and cried so angrily for milk.. lol..

gingerleaf: yes thats y i hate family dinners.. when come to actual meals.. everyone starts eating then left us to pacify him.. bleh

The in laws are like that one...same for mine. they will take their own sweet time to eat and let us handle bb. when everything is settle, either we are left with the remains or have to eat fast as everyone is going to go. My husband also reserve food for me first, but sometimes cannot have more helpings. My parents different. My dad will eat fast then carry bb for me. Then I enjoy myself.

gingerleaf, that's something new, what so good about calling names in sleep??? I know that I have to tell him where we are if bb is sleeping lar.

doobom..agreed hor...it also makes me real hot. Who is the mother!!!

In the morning before i go for work, my husband will ask me why carry bb when he is ok in the playpen. Then I will tell him,actually wanting to let my MIL knows, "I carry my son need a reason one meh".

yes, most of the time if my MIL step on my tail, I will ask my hubby 'questions' which he cun answer. Then he will noe that he needs to 'talk' to her.

All babies cry for reasons. MILs' mindset is that mother is @ fault if babies cry. When Jerry make noise, she keep assuming this and that. I m the mother, I understand him better. Even if I explain to her about the reason of his act, she still carry on with her own assumptions n give 'comments'.

I cun stand all her 'NO this, NO that' too.

gingerleaf,

My MIL will call my bb name too esp when he goes from one place and return home. Say it's superstitious, must 'inform' bb that we're home!

Got once I just walk into her house without 'informing', then she bring my bb out and in again and 'inform'! I nearly fainted!

bbwow,

this apply to my MIL, everytime when reaching home she will said rem to inform him that "we r home" than he will know that he is home....ermm??

gingerleaf,

lyn so cute... tired yet smile back.. keke
Is like that, sometime they like to poke or even pat him so hard to make him smile etc..

pinky,

I can never understand their mindset.

I always tell my husband, your parents are FLINTSTONES. Just recently my boy caught a cold and my MIL proudly declare that her kids (which means my husband) never have cough/flu before during this age. I just shoot at her "WOW. You got super kids huh? Never sick before?"

I dunno what's the rationale behind it man...

ecookie,
Haha! i have been 'ren-ing' her for 11 years...everything i give in to her..but last year since i pregnant..i cannot tahan liao! i start to retaliate! she is so scared..this kind of bully ah...really must have a fiercer person to cast her down! Anyway, she won't dare to touch my son reason is when i pregnant, she has cursed my son &amp; I..so do u think i will let her touch my baby? NO WAY!

Now the situation at home is i treat her transparent, she also treat me transparent lor! real sianz when we are at home...everyday i pray she goes out asap! very stressed staying with her.

Yr HB same same with my HB..like a stone one. I told him b4..that now the relationship has become like this, u also must bear responsibilities!

MIL:
MIL issues is never ending one...for me, i need at least one month to finish sharing! hahaa!

bbwow,

sometime feel so angry yet cant voice out....=(

Jas,

Y she cursed yr bb??.. so funny, is her grandchildren leh..u mean u stayin with her 11 yrs?

jas, she cursed you and your bb? Did I see wrongly?

So is that house yours or your PIL? Not intending to move out?

My mum told me that she has this fren's daughter who married to a man, then move into his flat,staying with the ILs.

The ILs don't allow her to go back to her parents place, cannot talk loudly in the house, cannot cook and even tabao back to the house to eat. I was thinking crazy ah...How to tolerate? The woman wants to move out but the husband said that he is not going to leave his parents and ask her to tolerate. If I am into this situation, I don't even want to marry this man. Luckily they have no children yet. Otherwise more problems

re: IL issues
perhaps i should take heart after reading all the posts about this n that i'm not alone in this IL issue. :D

ecookie
ya... once my unpaid leave over, i dunno how to handle when bb goes over there to stay for the day. sometimes i wonder if i shd risk n let bb b cared for by my maid alone. but worried if its safe n my hubby is definitely not supportive.

but if go IL's place, i constantly complain to hubby also not a solution. sighzz.... thus, i really have to pray that if bb indeed go IL's place, time flies n i can send him to childcare once he's 18 mth! but dunno which childcare is good though... sigh... thus, all the SAHMs are so so lucky that they need not be involved in this tug of war with ILs over the caregiving of their children.

bbwow,
i can really identify wif ur comment abt ur MIL. my MIL also proudly declared right in front of me that her kids (my hubby n his sis) were angels and had absolutely SMOOTH BABY SKIN- no RASH, no CRYING, no SCREAMING for milk,etc, LOVES to drink WATER, bath with soap n towel (who bathes with soap when there's such a product as baby bath?!!).

jas
yap. MIL issues never never ends...

pinky
u won't b surprised that some ILs out there dun have the love for grandchildren.

jas: ur MIL so mean!! why she curse bb n u! so now u staying with her? not intending to move out yet? my MIL stay over 2 nights a week i alerady cannot tahan.. everyday counting down to baby 18 mths so she doesnt need to come anymore.. cos i can send baby to half day childcare n my mum to take care full time..

but i also angry with her for making me think this way.. cos cant bear for baby to grow up so fast mah...

MIL issues: glad to know that im not the one suffering such rubbish!

garden_dreamz: think better for ur IL to take care lah.. between maid + IL, think IL somehow safer though definitely will have conflicts still one...

yah lets count down to when baby 18 mths together!

Perlicia,
I pity ur mum's frd. It must be painful to see her daughter living like that.

bbwow, I heard that b4, the logic is, to 'call' baby's soul back, lest part of the soul is still playing outside and haven come home, so 'call' it to come home.

Jas,
why this kind of woman, curse u n baby? But you have been gracious enough to be still staying with her.

Oh, at dinner over the weekends, FIL ask if I can start making fish porridge for baby, coz its more nutritious, so I told him, I dowanna take the risk and feed her seafood, coz she got sensitive skin like daddy and breaks out in rashes easily. So I reason with him that cereal is also nutritous, and its rice cereal, so its juz as filling. Then SIL add in(GRR!!)" You must feed fish you know. especially 'ngor he'(threadfin). Then no dha how? good for brain you know." I told her the reason la, then she said back sarcasticly, but my son eat oreadi oso nuthin wrong what. I felt like retorting that, I didnt have a baby with his hb, but his brother, so how can compare lidat. So I mention Im eating fish oil, then she said " aiyo, by the time the fish oil gets to baby, all diluted oreadi"
Cant stand her leh. Teacher somemore! Then always tell me, porridge must cook long long, then will be nutritious, and when i reply that, by then all the vits all gone, she can still tell me, 'wun one la.'
Really wanna faint. Somemore, her own son oso not very healthy one, always fall sick and is EXTREMELY notti, I mean, who is she to preach when she didnt exactly have a role model son for me to gawk at?

oh my god jas, why your IL curse you and the baby?! gosh... so irritating.....

garden_dreamz, i can see my MIL in your MIL you know?! hahaha, everytime tell me her daughters all very kuai. last time always drink milk then go slp, slp liao drink milk go slp again. blah blah blah. I thinking that's why the daughters all so lazy now lor. you know hor, she always say her daughters how good how good, then say my hubby not good to her. hello, we bought the house and let her and the FIL to stay/eat/drink/use FOC, she everyday still complain we not good. they dun even need to contribute to the household, and still can keep complaining say my maid why use this so fast, use that so fast. then now, she kenna "snake" (i think skin problem), NONE OF THE DAUGHTERS came to wash the wounds for her lor! all say very scared! (scared of their own mum.... *roll eyes*) Very gross dun dare to see! Live very far lor(when they are staying just one mrt station away), not convenient to come and visit her (anyway, i dun wan them to visit also, cos they will bring their kids and come and mess up my house!)

That's how "good and nice" her daughters are...

Yeah, Im not surprised some ppl dun have the love for their grandchild.

Take my mum for example, when I was only a month old, I was sent to live with my nanny(babysitter). AND I LIVE WITH HER FOR 14 YEARS! Onli go home during sch holidays. I always tell ppl(nanny frds) that my real mum is my nanny n not my own mum. Hehe.
Then when I grew up, I had a turbulant r/s with my mum. Finally I got a place of my own and cannot be bothered with her anymore. Even when Im preg, she never calls me to check on me. I envy ppl who got nice mum who makes them nutritious soups. Luckily, I got a hb who takes me out for nutritious dinner.
Then when baby was born, She onli seen lyn 2-3 times, and cannot be bothered to ask much. Only time she calls is when she wants me to give $.

So, im not surprise there are some ppl out there who dun care for their grandchildren at all.

frostyfiona: aiyah its like that one.. MIL will always think their children very good one lah..

like my MIL, that time my boy got fever 38.2!!! and she touched his forehead n say not very hot leh.. then she called her own daughter (my SIL) and when my SIL told her its high for a baby < 1 mth old THEN she said must go see doc! wah lau feel like screaming then leh!

from then ,i know whatever i say cant go to her head one, she only trusts her own children... so i get my hubby to talk to her whenever there is stuff i need to drive home one..

gingerleaf, sorry to hear about your own mother like that. Maybe rarely this will happened.

See, we are all nice mummies gossiping about MILs..Oops...

MILs seems to have perfect child, don't get sick, not naughty etc. When they said that, I always think that are they hinting that the maternal side passed all the bad habits to the baby. Lucky for me, my husband will always tell her that now FM also different and more expensive leh...so of course baby tends to be smarter (In a sense more naughty too).

Frosty, we can never be their daughters no matter how good we are.

perlicia: haha funny that you say we are nice mummies talking bad abt MILs. my hubby always say next time ur DIL doesnt like you also! lol