(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

doodom,
so cute ur bb got teeth already

mine coming soon, i can see but havent cut through the gums yet, just saw last night. cos find her sucking her thumb so furiously. hehe.

doobom: ur boy is growing fine!! mine is ard 8.45kg when he s 5 mths old.. yest i weighed him ard 8.6kg now @ 5 mths 1 w + haha.

feel that he got hungry easier nowadasy + he looks v hungry when he sees his milk bottle haha. mayb its really time to increase his intake cos his intake stagnant since 3mths+!

perlicia: having IL probs can b a pain in the ass.. my MIL also got some weird ideas and our styles of taking care abit clash but so far still manageable.. trying to "ren" till baby 18 mths then will send him to childcare lor.

my arrangement abit weird.. mon-wed day time is MIL take care for us (nights we take over ourselves). then thurs + fri baby will be at my mum's place staying overnight..

when baby over at my mum's place, my folks like to take him to downstairs supermart walk walk n he loves that!! ha mayb they distracted by all the colorful products?

but when hes at our house from mon-wed my MIL never take him out which i prefer too.. hehe.. scared she doesnt know to bring him out..

perlicia n ecookie: I can so relate to ur stories. Now i'm thinkin of ways to ask her start feeding bb cereal/porridge during the weekdays.

Feel very difficult to communicate to her!

chintz! yes yes i dread solids partly i dun know how she can cope feeding her cereals.. n porriage worse!!! she lagi like cant manage alone one.. we have to scoop the powder properly in containers , then sterilised bottles properly for her..

cant imagine she alone how to make porriage for baby?? thinkmaybe have to rely on instant porriade for the 3 days a week she taking care.. poor baby!

yesterday I went kiddy palace to look for the heinz blue box cereal and NO MORE STOCK!

But I opted for the organic healthy times brown rice cereal instead. It's for 4 months and up as well. Maybe some of you can try that.

Haha...ok, at least I am not feeling alone.

Due to these stress from MIL, actually I start forcing my boy to get semi-solid as and when I am clearing my maternity leave. My intention is to let him get use to eating then the paternal grandma can feed him. He is cry hestically at the start and actually my mom popped me the question," Why must you force him into food becaause of MIL". Then suddenly, it clears my thoughts that it is true. So I close one eye and just tell her that I want her to feed him brown rice. Of course, I stock up the puree food in case she felt tired to feed Raph with brown rice. Porridge, I also dilemma to tell her as she never go market one and never cook for the family one(always eat ta bao)...so how the fish and pork going to come about sparing the thoughts of how well she can cook.Haizz

ecookie, actually I like this idea to leave baby at 2 different places. At least you can have a break on thur and friday, bb can go supermarket on that day also.

If I never bring Raph out on weekdays, I think weekend than he can go out.

oh dear, i feel so heartpain too! poor little lance have to go through all the pains and tubes. sobz... junnie, be strong, we will be behind supporting you. hope baby lance recover well and real soon.

re: cereals and porridge, i tried baby xavier on heniz rice cereal and self cooked porridge (just put carrot and potato). he loves it! maybe something new. he can finish quite alot but still wan milk milk after the cereal or porridge. then he will be real satisfied. kekee...

perlicia, i agreed with ecookie, PILs issue are a pain in the ass. i believe those who stayed with PIL have stories that they cannot finish telling in 1 day! ahahaah... although pil stayed with me, i still let my mum take care of my baby... dun care!

re: going out
my mum advised me not to bring the baby out so much... anyway i dun really bring him out lah.. scared he kenna dunno what virus back then jialat... anyway he gets to go out for 5 mins when we drive to my mum's place every morning before i go to work.. hahaha..

Ok for PIL not to bring bb out. Just make me wonder that she take care of Raph for 5 months and never bring him even downstairs at all. Think that she is not confident to bring him down. As not much activity to do at home except playing with jumperoo, Raphael always put to sleep in his auto yaolan.

Perlicia,

Me and my mum taking care of my son.. my mum and dad will bring my son out every 3 or 4 hr. i think my son go down like 5 or 6 times a day. If nv bring him out for dat day sure cry and cry!!!

Those short break of fruits and biscuit, i gave him b'cos we're having tea break also. My son saw us eating cry and cry no choice everytime we having tea break we give him something to bite...

Ya.. I think u shd ask ur MIL to give bb some snack in between the 4hr break.

doobom,

my bb not teething yet... cannot see anything lei.

Gymboree,

Class size vary every lesson. BB attended only one session of level 2 only and had only 10 babies at that time. When he was in Level 1, the max we wncounter is only 10 and min isa bout 4only. Personally, i prefer a class size of 6-8. Dun have to wait too long for equipment and the instructor has more time for individual BB.

Hey, why not try tanglin for the trial although i have not tried other branches but im v happy with the tanglin branch. Is not too far from MRT la.. just walk walk and walk.. aft class can go shopping.. haha..

Solid food,

Im rather confused about what food BB can start on now. I follow rather strictly to a Supper Baby Food book by Ruth Yaron. Carrot, spinch are not supppose to be fed before 7/8 respectively. os there is a high nitrate level.

They recomanded stuff like wheat germ, brewer yeast, millet etc which are very nutrient and high in protein..I tried brewer yeast myself.. it tasted ok.

Brig only starts on homemade bown rice, sweet pototes, pumpkin, avocado. Im going to buy millet and papaya for him soon. It is recomanded that babies takes some avocado every day as itis high in fatty acid which is good for brain development.

Dun intend to starts on meat till 1 yr old.

So far BB is growing well, at 8.3kg 69cm at 6th mth. My only concern is his iron take. homemade/grined BR has lower iron level then commercial product, whatmore he drink only 1 to 2 x of FM daily. But he seems to be growing well and PD didnt say anything when review. So sohlud be ok la hor.. Iron level is BM seems to be lower although well absord by body.

Can add me into the yahoo group: [email protected]

jas: why r u up at 3am?!

re:solids:
yup think i starting fish+meat only when baby at least 8 mths old..i should b following first food n wholesomebaby website closely for introducing 1st food to baby..

rebaby gg out:
annie: wow ur baby sure goes out alot! actually sometimes i worried that my folks bring baby downstairs too much, then he ll easily get frustrated /bored when he with my MIL from mon-wed daytime... but think they bring him once a day for an hr or so and its always visiting the neighborhood shop n save + nearby shops only haha

perlicia: yah 2 nights w/o baby is really quite good at times. hubbi+i will cheong to get all household chores done 1 evening +try to squeeze in couple time the other evening...

fiona: yah better to let own mum take care hor? easier to communicate to her how we want to take care of baby

annie, my parents also like to bring my boy downstair, walk the dog, go to market and almost evening time go out. All this colourful activities is only for sunday. He enjoy alot and seems to sleep for quite long after the market trip. Little eyes too tired already.

ecookie, my couple outing can only make it when raph sleep and better to come back before his dream feed.

Hey pinky!

Can PM/email me ur email? Thanks.

re ILs/own parents bring babies out

Yesterday I was waiting for cab at the sheltered walkway leading the a bus stop, then got one auntie, who had been standing at a distance away walked up behind me, then encourage her grandson to go n 'touch meimei's leg!', which is lyn! Then I ignored them and moved away. Then the auntie walk further ahead n the little boy sat down on the floor n refuses to move! Then the auntie told the little boy " quickly stand up, or po po dowan u anymore'. The little boy kick n fuss but she continue to walk away, then he cried louder. In the end, she had to go back and scoop him up. So dirty leh, somemore the walkway is by the road side! So dangerous!

Jojer,
I have sent you the invite. Have you recieved?? If it lands in ur junk mail, u have onli a week b4 it gets delete away. Pls get back to me k.

Cheval,
Have you got my invite? If not, Pls PM me ur email again.

Have added you chris. PLS check ur junk box if u dun recieved it in the inbox k. thanks!

ecookie..

my boy auto.. know who will bring him out one. last night brought him to marina sq walk walk for around 1hr while walking for awhile he knock off. So much easier no need to pat and carry him to sleep!!!

My boy har... go down so often even the security guard @ my hse say.. it's u again ah!!! ha ha

Perlicia,

My parents bring him out too often, i scared next time in future if nv go out he cry and cry. Quite tiring lei keep bring him out.

ecookie, ya lor. although my mum sometimes have some ideas on how we should bring up the baby, but I know it works cos thats how she brought me up mah! hahahaha...

madlynette,

Seems like Jerric is at the same pace as myra!heh.. He can sit unsupported for quite awhile and his head will turn here and there to look around. Very KPO boy! When i put toys infront of him at a distance he will do push ups and gets ready in crawling position and lunge forward.Can see that he is determine to get it lor.. so cute leh..I also think he trying to crawl soon. Mya so fast teething liao? 2 teeths somemore? If i am not wrong she turns 6 mths today?
My boy has nothing yet.. hmm..

Annie,

Next time when caeden is older he sure Like to go out alot and not stay at home because from young always go out so often!Think my jerric is a home boy, only place he gets to go is downstairs to go fetch his korkor back from sch.
Ur boy sure eats alot leh.. I thot fish is not recommended till abt 8mths old? It's better for u to give him more fruits/veges to avoid consitipation.

doobom,
Ur boy is not alone! Jerric till now only drinks 130ml somtimes 150ml. Also very little! at 5Mths he weighs 8.1kg. PD says he is abv average so dun have to worry as long their feeding is okie.

my girl start to flip when she 3 mth old. 4mth old start to wriggle and push backward. Now 5 mth old, she know how to crawl forward. I use handkercheif to attract her direction to crawl forward and can see that she crawl faster than before. So far, she not teething yet.

hi gals, i missed the emails and post as was very busy with work. Any more slots for gymoboree? I very interested.. Please let me know okiez?? Thanks...

tiffy: ur girl devt is v fast hehe.. my boy flipped at 4 mths+ & now at 5 mths + more of moving backewards and only sometimes will move abit forward if i dangle objects he s interested in..

re: heinz
i bought 2 packets from cold storage centrept just now... apparantly its not OOS in cold storage

hi mummies: i popped by NTUC this morn to compare similac + friso 2, seems like similac follow on milk is higher for the following:
iron, omega6, AHA, AA, taurine etc,also sodium content is lower than that of friso 2

but its lower in content for calcium + omega3..

seems like similac is better but much more expensive ard $34++ compared to friso 2 @$28..

hmm, but think will let my boy try similac once he turns 6 mths.. if he s okie with it should be switching to that

jojer,

no choice lei.. i find my parents spoilt him unitl i have no say!!! how to tell them??? my dad say ah.. must bring him down mah since he love it so much den can remember his childhood.

I noe cannot eat fish blar blar blar... like i say if i nv give my boy any food my parents sure scold me. Seem like my boy is my dad son instead of me. U noe ah... my boy ah they keep carry him when they at hm. when they not at hm i very "siong". my hand recently just go injection. Veins swollen!!!!

Sometimes b'cos of dis quarrel wif my hubby....

gingerleaf, Today I went ICA to collect Raph passport. Very long wait. Then this little boy come with the mother wanting to touch Raphael. The mother ask her son to touch the shoes only, then the little boy touch the leg. I am still ok with it, then hor, the little boy saw the bulging pamper....he touch lor...Raph kanna molested. The mother quickily drag the boy away.

My parents spoiled him. But at least I can tell my parents off. so they sometimes restrict themselves. Afterall, more comfortable to tell own parents than the PIL.

Now,I find that really the price makes a diff for the FM. More expensive one, like have higher contents in DHA,AA,Taurine etc.

annie, is that your hubby never help to carry your boy? My husband also like that. Now his parents want to go for dinner and he want me to carry Raph and he just couching on the sofa. I ask him cannot he carry meh.

Perlicia,

How u noe my hubby nv help carry my boy?? smart lei. My hubby when carry my son ah like to go switch on TV and sit on the sofa. Cannot carry him walk about.

Den ah.. when my parents, sis and bro-in-law at hm they like to play wif him. My hubby just go back to the room and play PSP loh. Angry right!!! I ask him can go entertain him, u noe wat he reply.. so many pple entertain him already mah.

#@%&# - scold my hubby

annie yah sometimes the older folks spoil the lil' one by carrying them too much, then when we left alone with them, very shiong hehe

Perlicia,
The little boy wanna catch 'worm'
Hahah.

But seriously,
Now HFM so rampant, I think I wun let strangers touch my baby, expecially kids. Coz dunno their 'backgrd' ma

re: development
hannah can sit unaided too. but she likes to fling her body back or to the side, so must keep an eye on her. she is also a champion gynmast, can roll from one end of the mattress to the other end in a few seconds. crawling-wise, she's been in reverse mode the past few weeks. in fact, she can "crawl" backwards very fast! haha... only recently, starting to move forward slightly.

re: feeding
i'm also thinking of starting baby on meats later. for now, it's just cereal, veg and fruits. thinking of making porridge, but i'm a bit lazy. is it possible to make a bigger batch and freeze, then just heat up amount you want? cos i can't imagine cooking porridge every day!

does anyone know when we can start feeding baby rusk biscuits? on the box, they put from 6 months. anyone tried yet?

re: Nestle vs Heinz
was comparing nutritional content of some cereals today, and realise why the difference between the 2 brands seems so great. for heinz organic rice cereal, the nutritional value given is for 100g of mixed cereal (i.e. powder + milk). for nestle rice cereal, they base on 100g of pure powder. but think overall, heinz still got less sodium. HTH

zhen zhen,

Ha ha porridge cannot freeze lah. My mum told me ah, dun cook porridge for both lunch and dinner together got wind.

last time also cannot imagine cooking porridge daily but now used to it already.... it's like no choice!!!

i feed my boy biscuit already but not rusk biscuit. i forget the brand but i know dis biscuit got chicken, carrot and other favours.

morning mommies,
yesterday first time put myra in highchair when we go out eating, so exciting to see her in her own seat.

stage 2 milk
she reject the stage 2 milk when we prepare a full bottle, the 2nd attempt we made 50/50, she managed to drink that with some persuasion.
giving her for lunch time only.

cereal
since heinz is OOS, we gave her nestle cos we got the sample, she dun like it. "yucks" helper says she dun like sweet stuff.

have a good weekend

madlynette: which stage 2 milk u gave myra? friso 2 or similac?

my mamalove high chair was just delivered yest! u ve got 1 too right?

heh, good that myra doesnt like sweet stuff...sweet stuff not too good

zhen zhen, porridge cannot freeze! ekkeek... if you can, buy those small slow cooker and use. very convenient. my mum is using that and she cook porridge for my nephew and my boy everyday. just throw everything in and let it cook lor. my mum also cook those oaks in the cooker for the two boys..

at home i dun have the cooker, so ask my maid to cook slowly over small fire.

re: meat
i already let my boy eat porridge with fish liao. so far so good and he likes it. now it seems like he like porridge more than the heinz cereal. hahaha...

annie: i think by 5 mhs can let them try sitting in high chair. of cos they wont sit up straight like us but so long their necks can support then can sit high chair bah?

shucks! looks like this lazy mummy won't be feeding her dd porridge very often. haha...

annie, think the biscuit is called baby bites? so how does your son like it? does he feed himself or u feed him?

re: high chair
u can start putting them in highchair le. but if ur bb not very stable, you can put pillow or towel around them to help support them. have been doing that with the ikea highchair at my PIL place.