(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

thanks junnie & jovialz & tiffy for all the beautiful xmas wishes! keke...

i hope all babies are well & fine now..

Junnie,
Thanks ! will check it out !

I had that problem with Caelen a few weeks back too. So now, I just put him to bed, switch off all the lights then I'll lie down in my bed (he sleep same room) and pretend to sleep. Initially he make noise, I'll just tell him to sleep and ignor him. After a few days, he get the idea liao and goes to sleep on his own.

bbwow, i tink itz just a passing phase for J.. hang in there ya? =)

jovialz, so sweet of ur hb! such a big xmas gift! nice...

junnie & ecookie, i also 'sausage'adri up at nite.. dat girl dun understand wat is cold one leh.. i m freezing at nite and yet she can kick her blanket off.. but i have tried my dreambag on her b4 i sold it off.. pui! no way of putting her inside man.. itz so windy nowadays i m scared she'll be cold...

jovial.. wow.. ur hb really v 'sayang' u!!!!

so fast, tml is xmas eve le... duno my boss wat time then will announce we can go off.. duno got half or 3/4 day, hiaz... i'm sure most of u office got official half day?

Hippo,
You better liao ? My nose still block every night. Day time when it gets warmer, it clears up. I wonder it is flu or just super sensitive.

junnie, my co is unofficial half-day so if any1 take leave will be recorded as 1 day.. tink itz e same for others? keke.. my hb's co like urs.. so irritating! nvr announce... can u imagine.. getting his bonus tmro (i tink!) and yet dunno how much also.. ha!

jovialz, poor dear! itz e same for me cos i have sinus problem.. but it hasn't acted up for quite a long time prior to this flu.. so i'm wondering if itz flu or sinus too.. ha! drink warm water and if u can, steam ur nose with those eucalyptus aroma oil.. can clear the congestion... =)

He very sweet loh. Say the current car 2 yrs liao and he wants to get me a bigger car too. Cos bigger car = more metal = more protection. He say must protect 2 of his most beloved.

hippo.. u try put on sock & long pant for her if weather turn cold... mine everynite slp w sock+long pant & normal T (if long sleeve they'll sweat like mad)..

Junnie,
My stat board so it's officially a half day (same like new year's eve and CNY eve) but same like hippo, if take leave must take 1 day.

hippO; yah nowadays damn cold! i thinking of buying long sleeve long pants PJs for myself heheh

junnie: hi 5! wrap them up ard the waist very funny hor, but bo bian, dun know how yz sleep the top top will roll up one! and yah i very scared of cold and these few nights so cold n windy, till i dun want to switch on the fan! *brr*

jovialz: c is so guai! yz will make noise in car after awhile. and point at the buckle asking u to take off and carry him. sigh. nowadays im learning to drive so hb will sit in front with me to guide me, then poor yz make noise till cry at times but we just cont to talk to him assuringly. hope he get used to being alone at the back soon....

aria,

wahahah...i like your description of MAGIC BREAST. I wished I still had that power too. I also put that muslin wrap for J. No use. sometimes it ended up on the floor. Wonder how it dropped out from the cot man!

ecookie,
actually I used to do that too to make J sleep. Just lie beside him and he'll go sleep. then 2 months back he decided to make fun of me. he'll come pinch my face, pull my hair and laugh very loud. I'll tell him go sleep and he'll still play! so I fed up and say OK you go sleep yourself! so I put him in his cot and surprisingly he did! So from there, I know he can sleep on his own. but lately, he just refused to go sleep! grrr...really tempted to buy cane liao.

chersam,
btw, we have opened up the xmas present. at first J wondered what it is until he saw the purple thing in the wrapper and quickly tear open. and now he carries it around the house. kekeke

ecookie,
you thinking of buying the PJ only. Cos my boy and hubby cannot do without Aircon. I'm wearing a T-shirt and short underneath my long sleeve PJ and cover with blanket. My hubby sometime wakes up early in the morning still see me curl up and cover me with his blanket on top of mine.

I would normally tell him I'm driving and play his CD for him

junnie, ha! she wears long pants to sleep without fail.. but socks? ahhahaha! she'll pull them off.. only time she didnt was in genting nia.. hiaks hiaks

jovialz, orh... i m sooooo jealous.. keke.. my small car also 2 yrs liao leh.. u r able to sell ur car off huh? cos market very bad... i wanted to change but dun tink i'll be able to get rid of my car... so too bad..
must go back tell hb liao.. and i tot he was already very sweet with his xmas pressie to me liao.. whahahahahaah!

bbwow: ok hope yz will "graduate" to be like J too. sleep on his own! dun buy cane lah. use other methods like notti corner lor.
anyone uses this method yet?
i tried once with yz, when he notti, i bring him to a corner and make him sit there and say notti boy go notti corner. then he wanted to crawl away and i just make him sit there again n again till he dun dare to move but cry pitifully and stretch his hands towards me. after awhile (like 5 mins?) i carried him and told him why he was made to sit there (he hit papa despite us saying no..).the after awhile, i asked him where is notti corner which he remembered and point correctly. then i asked him who is notti boy, he pointed to himself , then i asked u want go sit notti corner and he said "yao"!!!! *faintz*
so not sure if they are too young to under stand this concept leh. but my coll said this method works very well on her 2yo son. maybe shld ask her when did she start implementing this method..

ecookie, i also wana buy long PJs!! haha...
btw, i m the chauffeur leh! i dun wana let hb drive cos i'm very impatient & i dun wana stress him out with baby.. so they sit behind leh! hahahahah.. poor me...

junnie/jovials,
the m&d toys for more appropiate for toddlers? want to get such educational toys to stimulate aria. now, she only like music toys.. still dun know how to stack toys or fit shape objects into the correct hole.

hippo,
my co same as yours

jovialz,
so envious!!that is an expensive gift and a useful one too!sorry did you get the $2 COE?

oh yeah, abt pacifier.. mmm, yeah, try not to use but i'm thinking twice now after what you just shared with me. may be when i really wean her off will try the water method first.

bbwow,
no cane! think our baby too young to understand..haha.. the way, J disturb you is so funny..

hippo,
your hubby already very sweet lah if got give you christmas pressie..it's been ages since we bought each other anything...last time he used to be very romantic. make cards for me..i still have those cards with me. now he said no time for romance liao..ceh...

hippo... then u wait until she sleep then put the sock??

bbwow.. like wat ecookie said, dun buy cane la.. try the notti corner method, i tink it works if start fm young. must remember dun gv in to them if they r v notti/stubborn, if not, they will climb over ur head (my experience w zann).

ecookie,
wah.. you so early already start notti corner? mm...i still wonder if they understand disciplin because Aria like to dig the power point and i said no sternly many times and remove her hand. she still repeat and smile cheekily..in the end i got to carry her to somewhere else to distract her..recently she started to cry and whine for things and will point to things she wanted. will cry if I did not get her idea..i'm happy because this is one of the milestone listed in the health booklet for her age but then i don't know how to stop her habit of whining for things she's not suppose to get. what i do is to offer something to distract her only. my hubby and in laws always give in to her but i dun think it's the correct way. i dun want her to be a spoilt brat!

aria_jo: last time yz also like that will shout n scream when he wants things/our food from us. so we taught him to say "na (take in chinese)" and "more" when coming to take things/food. at least not so noisy. so now, he ll like politely say "na , na" and point to things. those ok i will still give him, not ok one i will tell him sternly no. then he ll lose his temper and hit floor or table but i ignore him and he continue to play with other things. but at my parents' hse most of the time they give in or he 'll hit the floor and pretend to cry while pointing to his hands and say "tong tong"! then the old folks will swoop in to sayang him! i also scared he will become spoilt..

aria, dun worie abt the m&d toys.. just guide her along and she'll learn.. quite stimulating for the brain! =) but u must help her along else she'll get frustrated...
i m very 'manja' one.. and i brighten up his life leh! so he must give me some credits right? kekeke.. u must tell him must make time for romance else life will be dull one.... gambate!

junnie, ha! can try.. but i m more worried abt the stomach & chest areas..

ecookie, i like ur notti corner idea!

recently lleyton sleeping habits also changed a bit.. Last time he used to roll around in my bed, and refused to settle down to sleep until he knock out due to fatigue. Then only can I carry him back to cot. These 2 days he actually allow me to settle him in his cot, pat pat him a bit, then he will open his eyes, look at me, close again.. until he doze off. We thought it is a better habit as compared to play play play until concussed.

Jovial, so nice of your hubby to buy you a new car! So all the while you all have 2 cars at home? I also thought of hvg my own 2nd hand small small one cos' we work in so different locations.. is it very shiong to own 2 for a small family? COE, road tax, insurance, petrol, servicing all need money.

Re: sleeping at night, I just cover him with a pigeon blanket but most likely he will kick off in the middle of the night. But I will definitely wear socks for him.

ecookie,
my friend uses the 'notti corner' method. Dunno if it consider work of not, but now the son will stand there, but the eye got the I'm angry/ not happy ..ge-ing look lor ..rather than I'm sorry look.

Ariajo,
not the $2 coe. It's Cat B $2656 coe.

Hippo,
Hubby have to top up a bit for the small car loan redeem (despite he only took 7yrs loan). The selling price is only about half the price we paid for the car initially.

Partly because the road I travel have lots of transport trucks (near Changi Cargo / logistic park) and somemore got up and down slope. Few months back, just got a fatal accident where a truck cannot stop in time (red light) after a down slope and crash into a saloon which crash into another MPV in front. The saloon became like a ball and driver died.

jovialz: that is so terrible. after i got my licence i really think there are a lot of bad/dangerous drivers in sg! esp those taxis and big vehicles cheonging away! i really think its very suey to get hurt/die becos of other pple reckless driving.

notti corner: my coll's son is scared of the corner instead of angry. i also dun know if i want that kinda response. if only he can be like my nephew whom can talk reason one!! he is coming 4 yo now though. but i remember my SIL using the notti corner when he s younger too. think as they grow older, its best to make them see where we coming from..

hippo: u very manja one? wah ur hb must be very happy cos i think most guys like their wives/gfs to manja them hahahah.

i also want a xmas gift!! hb has been combining my xmas n bday gift since they are only 6 days apart! that sneaky man.
must go pester him.
n cards!! last time still got hand made cards then become purchased cards then now must pester too!! bleh.

ariajo,
you can check out this website on Melissa and Doug wooden toys . it's a US website so not sure what are sold in Singapore thou.
http://www.melissaanddoug.com

Sugar_nut,
Definately must plan the budget properly 1st lor. But we find the flexibility is there, like after work he will go straight home to feed the dogs, I can go and visit baby then pack dinner back for him. In emergency like Baby sick need to go hospital the last 2 times, I can just drive off to send baby. Time saving too.

plus, at least when petrol price drop, you get saving. Not like public transport, petrol increase they increase price, petrol drop they didn't reduce.

hippo,
mmm.. i'm a lazy mum..you know the flash cards like rojak now..i bought an expensive one which has emboss effect and you guide your child fingers along the embossed lines to teach the the letters. now aria took it and crush it in her hands! you "know" how to manja up to your hubby lah..keke...

ecookie,
oh, yeah, Aria does say "na, na" and point to the things.. sometimes her "na" including opening the things like the lid, plastic bag, bottle cap, etc implicitly (i think only i know how to decifer that..haha) which i refuse and then she will cry out loud in fustration and with tears, like very kelian like that. my in laws and hubby always give in to her which i think is a very bad habit..i think i'm a discipline mummy..

jovialz,
oh dear...sounds like a terrible accident...yeah, you better drive carefully...

ecookie,
yah, terrible accident. Ever since then, he start planning liao. So this time he got me a Totoya Vellfire. A 2400cc MPV. Big enough that people don't bully (lots of time people see my car small, bully and cut infront of me
). Also can carry 7 people since planning for no. 2 and have maid.

jovialz,
yeah, it's good to get a big big tall car that is intimidating.. my ex TL car is the hyundai car and it's so tall i feel it's intimidating when he droves us around...keke..

aria,
look like it's in-built in mummy to decifer baby's code. Caelen will just point to the things he is interested (don't even say 'na'). If it's things he can touch, I'll just let him touch and tell him what it is. If thing I don't let him touch (generally dangerous ones), I'll just say the name and tell him cannot touch. Once in a while he'll cry but I cannot give in lor.

jovialz, oic! wah.. 50% loss.. pain leh..
and the accident sounds scary!!
tuas area driving also quite bad but i'm more or less used to the idiots around here..

ecookie, keke.. ya.. i m like a little girl (when he's not making me angry la...) and do all sorts of funny acts.. but dun cross me lor.. my temper is super fast one... very seldom get cross now liao le.. try not to let adri see us angry with each other.. (TRY!).. lol..
u must go pester him! split the pressies! cards-wise.. erm.. tougher though... i have tried.. try = receive 1 handmade card.. dun try = no handmade cards... hahahhaha

aria, tell me abt flashcards.. those that i got from totoro? i bought abt 5 sets or more.. used only 20 cards so far.. 20 cards!! whahahahaa...

i'm just kidding about the cane la. re notti corner, I do make J stand beside the xmas tree now and you know what he do? Go pluck out the leaves then make a mess on the floor! -_-

aria,
I'm also the discipline mistress. but J is really getting out of hand now. nowadays he goes to the toilet and try to touch the toilet bowl water!!! I really dunno which part of the genes he got from.

ecookie,
I also use simple words to communicate with J. he wants biscuits he go to kitchen, take the container and tell us "open". I ask him drink milk ok? he say "ok" then I feed him. but when I ask him orh orh ok? he puts his hands on his chest to tell me scared! ALAMAK!

hippo,
hi-5..i also only flash selected cards..wahaha.. recently added new animals for her only..last time only cat and dog..wahaha..

bbwow,
oh yes...aria does that too. they like to play with water and they're curios with water gushing out..hehe..so, i always close the lid when she follows me to the toilet when i wash my face or brush my teeth..

my FIL told me last time there were many news of baby toppled into the toilet bowl and the head stuck there and died ... gave me goosebump.. so, now i always close the common toilet door or watch where she heads too..

haha, j is so cute and communicates well. he's not only developement well in his motor skill but also his vocal hor..the christmas tree is fake or real tree? :p

bbwow,ariajo.. i dun face tis toilet bowl prblm now cos he duno how to walk by himself yet.. can see tat walk or dun walk really a big headache 4 us!! ariajo.. bb toppled into toilet bowl sounds scary... bbwow... hopefully ur xmas wont b 'botak' jus 2days time is xmas!! keke..

hippo.. dun worry abt tummy/chest, wear bigger T tat's long enuff to tuck inside her long pant (unless is newborn hv to wrap them up esp at nite windy or aircon room).. most impt is the feet, once get cold easy to hv r/n (my nanny told me one, hope it helps).

sugar_nut.. ur lleyton another's guai guai boy can slp on his own...

ecookie.. *clap clap* u also promoted to hv driving licence le...

ariajo.. 4get ans ur qtn, the m&d toys more for pre-sch children lor, they can learn alphabets, colors, shapes. they hv higer level ones like zigzaw puzzles for bigger kids.. something like brain trainer too.. if u hv big toy area @ home can buy, i dun hv so seldom buy...

jovial... the accident u share really horrible..ur hb really v thoughtful.. caelen v lucky can sit big new car tml le!! keke

hippo, jovial.. so good u all got 'unofficial' half day...at least u knw is firm & easy to plan activities, ours cant (duno 1pm or 3pm then can go)... my boss will deduct leave according u apply even if he announce half day on holiday eve.

Jovial,
So sweet of your HB! haha.. i told my HB, then he say can i give you a bicycle??!!! Faintz... haizz

Looks like everyone quite busy with the festive seasons. So envy! Must enjoy to the max k?!! HAVE A SUPER MERRY BERRY CHRISTMAS!

Anyone knows got any remedies for freckles? i seems to have quite alot recently during preggy. how to get rid?

Hippo,
Tell me about flashcard, I'd only did it once or twice. He happier to grap everything from me and throw onto the floor.

Jas,
Erm... whitening cream or laser ? ... dunno leh. How's little Danson ? How's little Dayan coping with a baby brother ?

Gingerleaf,
Thanks. You know the one you gave, Caelen use it to practice his motor skills instead. He use his thumb and pointer to pick the pieces and spin by the peg.

How to teach them to put the pieces in the right places ?

jas, LOL! ur hb is so funny!! hahaha.. my hb simply tell me no money... =P

junnie, true lor.. i still have last min pressies to get for my 2 fav oldies at home.. else they'll be jealous dat every1 else have stuff & they dun.. keke...

jovialz & aria, hi-5!! hahaha... lazy mummies + busybody babies = no use for flashcards..
as for the puzzles, adri also does the same! ha.. but we will tell her the animals the piece is related to.. point to it and keep guiding her hands to put it down...

dat notti girl ar.. now she sees pics of horses, she goes "krok krok" (sound for riding) and we tell her itz horse, she goes "krok krok".. she cld say "orse" just last 2 weeks!! grrr... now she refers to it as "krok krok".. and she has been going ard, pouncing on pple and goes "krok krok" esp when they are lying down... is she a girl or wat???

gingerleaf, go go go! ur turn liao.. now dat ur diet is completed successfully, u can go pursue ur license liao.. =)

ECookie,
When you drive, if you see people standing along the roadside and see taxi around. Just becareful. The taxi will most likely do whatever they can to get the passenger, especially now difficult to get customer.

Gingerleaf,
go go and take your license.

Hippo,
That's what I do lor, but he ignor me and continue to pick the pieces up and spin *faint*. Bored liao, he'll throw onto the floor and listen for the sound when it hit the floor. *faint faint*.

junnie: thanks!!

gingerleaf: yup i went school and took abt 1-2 lessons per week and got it in 3 1/2 mths time! but my is auto licence nia. u can do it too!!

jovialz: yah i also told my hb abt ur gift, then he said he ll go n rob a bank after work. @_@

bbwow: yah better close down the toilet lid just to be safe. so far i ve been teaching yz that toilets, kitchen and sofa is out of reach. sofa meaning dun let him climb up. cos scared once we step out of room for awhile, he ll climb up and lose balance and fall down.

so far he ll still try to attempt but once i say no in loud voice he ll quickly scamper away. im also the discipline master at home..

Ecookie,
wow! Envies! Im plain lazy la. Im thinking of passing my final 1st then take leh. But hor, drag till now, Final still haven go register. Hhahaah.

Hippo,
I saw the bang bang clip! Adri so cute!!! Still know how to die die! This morning I tried on lyn, then she also can managed the die die part. But she keep doing die die even when I haven bang her. heheheh.

jovialz, same same la.. but just gotta be a broken recorder.. i realise i m getting very very naggy leh!! hahaha...

ecookie, i salute ur hb! *~*