(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Good morning mummies.
Can i check if your toddler sleeping on his/her own bed?
Jerald is sleeping on his own bed with playyard surrounding it next to our bed but he tends to climb up to sleep with us in the middle of the night without fail. It's damn tiring as he dun sleep still but turn 360 degree around & also kick us with his legs haiz... last time i still can carry him up & down but now i can't carry him till i recover so my hb say just let him be since he's tired also. Both me & my hb are growing to be panda liao damn tired...

JustMe,
Thanks for ur concern. Sarah look so sweet & can feed herself. Very clever gal

justme: glad to know that sarah's 1st day at school went well. hope she will keep it up! so did she manage to self-feed finish the cereals? so smart of her!

Irene: Jordan is still sleeping in his playpen but soemtimes he will cry at night wanting me to carry him to sleep with us on the bed also. Last time when we let D sleep on the mattress on the floor, she will also climb up to sleep in between us in the middle of the night ... till quite big. She also keep kicking blanket and even "punched" and "kicked" us in her sleep one.

Hi Irene,

En En sleeps on our bed without fail every nite. Recently, i have "2 babies" on me...My #2..n En En resting on me...Grrh.. When she falls asleep, we will bring her down to her bed which is the mattress on the floor. But she will climb up and sleep with us in the middle of the nite again...N when she is on our bed, she will sleep parallel to the headboard without fail. Hubby was complaining that our king sized bed will no longer be able to fit all of us since En En refuse to sleep in the same direction as us.

Re: Self Feeding
Sarah is so brilliant! Can self feed cereal. Hopefully En En will pick up the skills soon.

Re: Food
My maid has been using half a cup of rice to cook porridge for En En for 2 meals. Is that too much. (For adults, she uses half a cup of rice per meal per adult.)

Blue,
I remb seeing Desiree's pillow on ur bed as u mention she'll auto bring her pillow up herself
I wonder is there any ways to kick this kind of habit?

Poohwei,
Same here we'll transfer him to his bed when he fall asleep. In the middle of the night he'll crawl over me & auto close his eyes sleeping in between me & hb. Once a while is ok but often will make us very tired & sleepless night as i'm a light sleeper

I guess so long as En En can finish her meal shld be ok ba. Not too sure if is it too much but jerald definitely eat lesser than tat.

Irene:

For Desiree, she kicked that habit after my hubby told her that Ninja Turtles will carry her away if they see her on our bed in the middle of the night cos they always catch children sleeping on daddy and mummy's bed. It worked! Sometimes when she wanted to climb up and sleep with us, I will just remind her of Ninja Turtles. Coincidentally, it was also Ninja Turtles who helped us wean her off pacifiers around 3 years old ... haha ... we said Ninja Turtles have taken away all her pacifiers and if she wants, she has to go find them to ask them to give her back. So she rather not have the pacifiers. Haha.

I know this is not the best way but bo bian lor ... anyway I think at Jerald's age, he still don't understand what is "fear" lor ... so probably won't work on him.

Why not you try decorating his sleep area with his favourite characters? Maybe it might encourage him to sleep there?

Blue,
Tats a good & funny way of telling Desiree. I can understand it's really bo bian but to use some tricks to kick the habit. I'm also trying to wean jerald off pacifier but seems like going on forever. He simply can't do without it when he nap/sleep. Worst thing is my parents & MIL always say he will wean it off himself when he grow older haiz..

I guess he prefer to sleep with us & also feel lonely ba. We tried all ways plus put toys he loves to play on his bed but he'll just grab & climb up our bed.

sori for being so long winded but i can't help thinking wat can be done.

Irene: Actually we never try weaning Desiree off pacifiers till she started going to childcare around 3 years old. Surprisingly when we tried weaning her off, it took us only 1 day to wean her off! Though sometimes she still looks for her "du du", but she rather don't eat "du du" than to find Ninja Turtles.

RE: second day in CC
Sarah did ok again in CC today. I went into hiding while my hubby said goodbye to her and went off to work. She fussed a bit, but calmed down when the teacher pulled her in the room and start singing songs with the other toddlers.
One of the teachers said, sarah is one of those todd who are heaven sent ~ no crying/struggling so much so the teachers have to calm them down for hours. I told them its a little too soon to comment now.

re: 3rd trim
I am into my last 2 months of preg..super duper tired. Can't remember being this tired during my first preg...can't wait to get this over and done with.

re: sleeping in own bed
We are in the process of transition as we place sarah down on her own bed after she settled into deeper sleep. But now, I don't force her into it much cos, she's currently adapting to life in a CC. Taking it slow, if she insist on sleeping w us in the middle of the night, i just relent. and think its normal for them to sleep and rotate, 360 deg much of the time. haha.

on pacifiers, i happen to have a different view. I totally have no desire to wean Shawn off pacifier. to me, it's a godsend tool.

with pacifier, i do not need to carry him, cajole him to zzzz. when its zzz time, all i need is to pass him his pacifier and bolster, job done. in the middle of the night, with his nightmares or crying spates, i just pass him his pacifier. then he will drift back to zzz land. so that leaves me with good quality zzz.

i see absolutely nothing wrong with being reliant on pacifier. i so love the pacifier

irene, my boy is like your jerald. he climbs up our bed in the middle of the night eyes closed and snuggle in between the 2 of us. but usually we find out only when we wake up in the morning.

Re: pacifiers
just went for a course and it talks about attachment theory. the pacifier is like a substitute for the caregiver when he/she not around. hence, it brings the child comfort and reassurance. it's like the smelly pillow/blanket many kids bring around. better make sure the child is ready b4 weaning off. i'm planning to wait till nate is able to understand explanation better b4 i wean him off.

Pillow,
I'm ok with pacifer since it really calms him down whenever he fuss & he really doze off faster than without it. But my parents tends to over use it even in the day when he's not taking his nap which i dun like lor.

nateM,
Good lei both u & ur hb can sleep so soundly haha...
My hb also have the same thinking of urs too so i just let him be & dun hurry it since there's no harm also.

Pillow, Nate and Irene: I don't know why leh ... I find babies sucking du du look so cute. If a baby never use du du hor, like don't feel like baby hor?
Something's missing like that ... heeeee.

Re : sleeping with us

Hazel hates sleeping on our bed. when we carry her to our bed , she would wanna crawl back to own cot. wahaha. but keith love falling asleep on our bed. (we will carry him back to his bed when he falls asleep and he will stay in his bed le.

hmm, i guess if you have a 5 yr old kid, stil running around with du du is not cute.

but looking at them now, i find it super cute too.

Hi Irene,
Morning! How are you doing? I read your blog couple of days ago, I was shocked! I hope that you are all well now...

Hi Blue,
I just read your reply to me on the Dr's Secret products... Sounds quite expensive for MLM products wor... I prefer to stick to my current brand at the moment, thanks for your recommendation...

Hi Pillow,
I super like your description abt pacifier - it's a godsend tool! Haha! I fully agree to it!

Emily: Initially I thought quite expensive also ... but considering the set can last me so long, and that I can see obvious results just after 2 weeks, I think it's all worth it!

on pacifiers
my biggest grouse about dudu is the price!
my boy uses avent and it's so expensive sia ... and he needs 2 sets cos 1 at home 1 at my mum's place.

blue
what a happy boy u have! even the 'normal' him looks so smiley!

Nate: Jordan also uses Avent pacifiers (he used to use Nuk but there was once he almost swallowed the pacifier so we switched all to Avent .. bigger and more difficult to swallow). Btw, think you will be amazed by the no. of pacifiers he has ... 8 in my place and 6 in my in-laws' place.

blue,
i also think Jordan looks more like you than your hubby. =)

re: pacifier,

Sarah never use the pacifier. She uses ME as her human pacifier ~ super tiring. NOw with didi coming along, I am contemplating on introducing the pacifier to the newborn. But I got issues on it lei. Like, won't it encourage bad jaw development, increasing the chances of dental correction in kids? furthermore, my family have history of protruding teeth. i used dental braces few years back. =P

And if the baby is going to be fully latch-on baby, I won't know how much his milk intake is, and if i insist on the pacifier, will i mistake his hunger for comfort so much so, he won't have enuf nutrition and go hungry? anyone care to enlighten me?

JustMe: I don't think it will affect bad jaw development lah .. you've seen D before right? She was a pacifier baby till 3 years old leh ... her teeth ok what.

blue
how often u change jordan's pacifier? u change all 8 of them at one time? i dunno if there's a recommended time to change but i usually change every 1 to 2 months. u think that's ok?

justme
u can consider getting orthodontic pacifiers like avent and nuk. btw, i used braces few years back though when i was young i didn't use pacifier. my hubby uses pacifier when he was young but grew up with straight set of teeth. so i think the correlation may not be absolute.

i remember when nate was latching on, he would spit out the pacifier when he wants milk. i'm sure your little one will protest also if he's hungry.

talking about latching on, i do miss bf. now have to lug bottles, FM and flask when i go out. troublesome +++

Nate: I don't change that often cos since I have so many to rotate use, I guess the "life span" should be longer. I usually change around 6 months ... sometimes longer.

sorry to borrow this thread coz i was looking for advices here but cant seem to find a relevant thread so i am hoping some experienced mummies here can help me out.
my bb gal is 17mths old now and i am expecting a second one in end july.
besides thinking of the childcare arrangement, i would like to find a solution to their sleeping arrangement.
currently, my girl zzz in her own room own cot, she has been doing that since 1mth old and so far its been good.
i hope that i can put my second one to sleep separatly from me too but as i dun have another extra room, should i put them together in the same room?
but i am also concerned that the second one will disturb jie jie sleep esp when during night feeds and also during the earlier mths when bb cries more...

and also,any adivice on managing 2 without maid n help, i am sahm.
eg: siblings rivalry etc.

i like to care for my second one myself, but at the same time, i dun want my girl to feel neglected..

any books on this aspect to recommend?

am quite at a loss here ...
kind mummies pls advise?..
i really do appreciate all advices. thanks million.

hi blue, natem,
thanks for the input. I think i will consider pacifier for little boy.

hi eva,
just want to share my situation.

I am in my 3rd trim and have an 18 months in tow. Like you, I was a bit lost as to how to handle when second one arrives.

I am a sahm, no maid, no IL or own mum to assist ~ all by myself most of the day, except when darling hubby at home to help around.
I practise attachment parenting on my 1st one and now having difficulty letting go of her. We decided to place her in 1/2 day childcare programme for the following reasons.

1) she won't feel too neglected at home as I will be too tired and too busy with baby.

2) Can help develop her social skills.

So far, it has only been 4 days, and thankfully, she's adapting well to the new environment and routine. Me on the other hand cried everytime she went for the programme.

I am still unsure if I am able to cope with the upcoming challenges. But we have to go thru it all and make the right decisions when the time come. =p

hi justme,
thanks for your adivice? how do u settle the zzz arrangement?

i have thought of childcare too but bu she de leh... aiya..though i know there are pros too. will consider.

thanks again.

Good morning mummies,
TGIF!!! Wait for today till my neck very long..

atinarin,
No worries i'm fine just tired cos things happen one after another. Glad it's over

Wat abt u? How's everything?

Anyone has a evenflo exersaucer that i could rent for 2 months? My gal is turning 8 months but I do not want to buy one as will have no space to store it when she outgrew it. Willing to pay for the rental and collect from your place.

Hey, are you all experiencing having cranky and grouchy toddlers at home lately? Jordan has been really cranky and grouchy these few days ... every morning when he wakes up, he will cry ... throughout the day also ... sometimes cry for nothing ... and the crying is the cranky type of cry. Wonder if it's due to teething again ... I can feel abit "sharp sharp" deep in there.

mine has been whiny and terribly clingy to me. and he seems to be "set off" by little things so long as i am around.

for these 2 wks, whenever i am around, he will stick to me, wants me to carry him, refuse others. but behaves badly, like dont' want to sit in his high chair, fussy w his meals.

i have to "hide" away for him to finish his meals, to get him to sit properly in high chair, car seat,etc.

anyone experiencing this?

pillow: sam behaves just like shawn, he also fuss alot during meal time if am around. For car seat, he's doing good, i left a bag of goodies(legos and stuff), so he will want to reach out for his goodie bag before letting me strap him down. After we reach destination, he knows getting off and he will throw aside his toys and ready for me to carry him out...his action v. cute one.

Hi Blue & Pillow,
My faith has been in the clingy phase for the past month! She is stuck to me like glue the minute shes awake. She has been very independent girl since going to infantcare at a young age. But now she refuses to let go of me when I drop her off at the centre. She will start wailing the minute I put her down or the teachers try to carry her away. Now I have stopped sending her to infantcare, I get my hubby to do it and he has no problems at all.

At home, shes also much more demanding. She will insist on watching her fav dvds, read her fav books, eat her fav snacks. If we don't oblige, she will throw tantrums. Shes also starting to show tat she has a mind of her own when it comes to dressing. She will ask to wear her fav blouse and wants to pick out her own shoes when we go out.

I guess at this age, shes going through something which results in all these behaviour?

mummyfaith, tinyvoice, pillow, blue,
gee, i tot, only those mummies who are expecting are experiencing super clingy/fussy todds. Good to know its not becos, "they know" di di or mei mei is coming. Feeling less guilty now =P.

When i fetch sarah from CC she'll cry so badly never failing to make me feel guilty for sending her there. But that day, my hubby fetched her and he said sarah was just happy to see him. no crying! argh....

Dear Mummies

Charlene behaves exactly like that too.. she is very clingy with me, so sticky till I cannot even go to the loo alone she insist on waiting for me outside and I cannot close the toilet door...!!

She throw tantrums if she does not get her way and sometimes she beats me too.. sign but when with her papa she is very obedient and always so guai so sometimes is hard for papa to believe that she is so notti with me around sign...

i'm glad to read the above posts.
re :clingy
i used to have no problem saying gdbye to maegan whenever i leave for work. these few weeks, she cling on me when she sees me dressed up and refused to let any1 carry her.
my helper wud often try to distract her and taking her to another room... but the minute she realised i'm gone.. she will start to cry n scream.

re : feeding
if she sees me around, she will refuse anyone else to feed her except me.

re : tantrums
likewise for maegan, she will wail and do anythg to get her way these days. when she fell, smtimes it cud be juz very minor, she wud cry loudly and say 'pain pain'... she will oni stop if i sayang her.

like wat mummyfaith has mentioned, its prolly to do wif the age grp.

i seemed to recall my #1 being clingy n fussy as well but to the extent of his bb sister

Just I thought I was alone..looks like most mummies are dealing with terrorists at home like I do!

Missy Yan has been really grouchy & super clingy recently. And as if these are not enough, she is behaving really really notti till the extend I wish I can shut off my ears than listen to her wailing & screaming!

Nowadays, whenever she feels that she is being 'ignored', she can just throw herself to the floor, lie flat on her tummy, face down & kick her legs screaming at the top of her voice!