(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

hi miraclecraz, has this been long ? mayb just a phase.
Shawn has been like this few mths back. he will keep waking in the nite, crying with eyes closed . i will give him pacifier, pat pat him, sometimes have to get up and carry him. he keep doing that for few wks or close to 1 mth. yes, disturbed sleep. so during that period, we let him sleep in between us quite often (coz its tiring to keep getting from my bed and pat pat him in his cot).

2 wks back, hb away on biz trip. he slept beside me. even worse,every 2 hours, cry , then milk, cry. then wake up to play at 6. almost died.
but for Shawn, its a phase, now ok already so he's back into his cot zzzz. these days, he would rub his eyes, roll about on my bed, i give him his pacifier, continue to roll here & there , then zzz. then i transfer him to his cot

Pillow, does he rub his eyes quite bad?

Dahlia will rub and rub her eyes, scratch her ears, scratch her head, pull her hair, rub her nose.. there was once she rub her eyes and accidentally poked her right eye, resulting in a very reddish spot on the white of her eyeball. But so far the spot disappeared.

he rubs his eyes quite often. yes, looks like quite hard to me.
few mths back, he rub till, have red rash type. so exasperating. see PD twice.

he likes to "dig" his ears quite hard too.

miraclecraz
I also faced the same problem. My girl will push herself up to check whether we are around or not if I leave her in the cot. The cot is just beside our bed. I'm worried that she don't get enough sleep as we have to wake up early to send her to my mum's place hence decided to let her sleep between us most of the time.
Was afraid that it will be difficult to ask her to sleep alone in future as well.
For those who already have the 2nd or 3rd one, at what age did your 1st child start to sleep on their own?

totoro_bb - my son sleeps on his own mattress in our room since 1 years old till arrival of mei mei hazel.
He sleeps on our bed ever since.
Hazel on the other hand sleeps on her own baby cot in my room.

Fau (shotbyfau) : hazel also rub her eyes , scratch her ears, scratch her head and pull her hair wor ... haha. I tot her hair was too long and cut it once for her. still same problem.
but so far didn't hurt herself.

Sharing this article with all the mummies here.

By Sujatha Rajagopal

<font color="0000ff">A Father’s Day Message for Mums.</font>

In every family, mum is often the trapeze-artist, swinging dangerously high then low in the circus called parenthood. It’s never easy being a mother. But we aren’t alone. Yes, it’s time to thank the partner who extends his hand and grasps ours firmly every time. Helping us to not fall. Or being there to pick us up when we do.

How can we thank dads? Let’s start by trusting their parenting style.

It is not the purpose of this article to critique mothers and how we bring up our young. Instead, this article hopes to remind mums that even when our spouses don’t seem as engaged as we wish they’d be, they do care. And often times, their style works. Simply realizing this will make us better mothers. Taking a leaf from our spouse’s book now and then may make us the best mothers ever!

Here are some reasons to trust your spouse’s approach…

Dad’s way: more play
In almost every household, mothers who come home from work don’t actually switch to “home” mode. That’s because we feel we’re greeted by chores to do, dishes to wash, toys to pick up. Dads meanwhile just hang up their shirts and roll on the floor with the kids, toys and all. Unfair? Yes. But it needn’t be.

All work and no play makes mum a dull girl. While we are gifted multitaskers we barely notice that our efficiency sometimes takes us further away from our husband and kids and causes us to lose sight of priorities. It bears repeating that mums aren’t the only super-parent. The important difference is that dads know when to shrug off the cape.

Dad’s way: risks pay off
Many of us grew up with over-protective parents. But if you consider it carefully, dads tend to nurture a child’s sense of abandon more than mums do.

Kids hear a lot of “Don’ts” from mums. Dads, on the other hand, tend to let the little ones take the risks and learn from them. “Try it!” they’ll say, knowing that Junior could be hurt but staying just within reach so that if he does take a tumble, someone is there to catch him in time.

It’s like learning to cycle. When we let our kids fall or trip over the pedals once or twice, they end up discovering a lifelong skill.

Dad’s way: details can wait
There may be no clearer marker on the difference in parenting styles than how we deal with the little things.

Mothers are natural perfectionists: we like to see matching clothes, pristine rooms and clockwork bedtimes. “If an extra five minutes mean a happier child, I’d rather give it to her,” says Don, father to two young girls. “Tara does a great job getting the girls looking pretty but I focus on comfort first, matching socks last,” he adds, grinning sheepishly.

There’s of course nothing wrong in caring about the finer points of child rearing…but we often have Dads to thank for not losing focus on what is more important.

Families function best when both dads and mums are in sync. And it’s true that fathers may not always know best. But with Father’s Day around the corner, let us empathize with his hopes, worries and guilt trips. Let us celebrate his opinions, playfulness, even his mistakes.

Let us reconsider the electric shaver or expensive perfume he may never use. Perhaps the best Father’s Day gift is a note that says, “I love how you do what you do for me and the kids. Thank you.”

fau,
same here for faith! she rubs her eyes, dig her ears and scratch her head everytime shes sleepy! and she does it very violently leaving scratch marks in her ears sometimes.

she has also been upgraded from cot to mattress on the floor as she seems very cramped in her cot. she can roll and flip all over the matress now but still want roll onto the floor so i place a bumper mat there.

mummyfaith, Florence, pillow: so scary right the way they scratch their head/ears.. like can just rip off anytime!

totoro, nice article!

Mothers are natural perfectionists: we like to see matching clothes..
so true! coz yesterday to fetch my parents at the airport, i left my hb to dress D up and guess what. he made her wear a white and green and brown striped top, a pair blaring red pants and yellow maryjane socks. so cartoon, can?!

aiyoh...rub eyes and face and pull ears...ben does them all. in fact, his right ear seems to be pulled till got tear liao! had to go see pd to get some cream.

Mummies, would like to find out if anyone of you BP with Pink on the family tees, cos its been more than 2 months and i have not rcv the items yet. DO u have her email?? Tks

rxsti, welcome to Pink.

my friend and i have joined her BPs. exasperating wait. then after 2mths, she will come back and say its out of stock.

a seriously lousy organiser.

pillow
oh dear, she refunded you &amp; your friend?? nowadays, quite scare to join BP also, since there have been few cases of reported lousy organiser..

lbs, yah...ben on potty now. not really training tho. just to catch his 'face' for pooing time and there on the potty he goes! hehehe.

i aso scared of organisers that cannot make it de. say one date then no deliver. sighs. buy the bumper mat was liek dis la. sighs. so sianz one. one minute say have, next minute say no more....

sleeping pattern
my boy has been co-sleeping with us since he turned 1 month. he always wake up to check if mummy beside him or not. so easier for me if he's beside me. i think he actually can sleep on his own bed if he wants cos at my mum's house he can sleep in his own bed.
my colleague told me that she managed to 'graduate' her kids to their own beds by having grand parties to celebrate their bdays and telling her kids 'wow! you are big boy now! no need to sleep with mummy daddy now!' i am hoping it will work with my boy ...
(fingers xxx crossed!)

blue,
Thanks for the addy.

Hi rxsti,
I think i got Pink email addy cos i used to buy things from her BP as well. Just to chk is her a/c xxx-xx889-8? If yes, i can give u her email addy. Let me know then i can PM u.

BTMum,
My boy also like tat pull his ears till cracked ah... very serious &amp; bleed some more haiz... PD mentioned b4 most likely teething tats why pull hair, nose, ears etc. But it's also up to individual bb.
Row,

irene, ben so far no bleeding. but the wound v red and like for long time le. i noticed it long ago but dare not tell my MIL in case she sensitive so i kept quiet. lol. dat day finally ren bu zhu so told them about it. MIL actually din know about it at all! scolded me for not telling her and had to take ben to see pd immediately. LOL

rubbing eyes, pulling ears
wonder why they dont feel pain lor ... nate also like that ...
one time he rub until his tears became red .. almost freaked me out seeing the tears bloody ... good thing it's just the skin on the eyelid but it shows how much strength they use when they scratch!

BTMum,
Maybe u can apply some aloe vera gel as it works for my boy
It seems like a miracle gel cos i used it once on jerald's face for eczema &amp; it really works &amp; u can see the rashes is not so active &amp; red. Dun worry slowly thy will overcome the pulling part.

totoro,
nice article, brought tears to my eyes.. esp the last part... i am like tat one.. cry over little things... so sensitive..

Mak Dahlia
Boleh pengsan lah ..dont know where she learns this.. everytime on high chair, she sure will manage to put one of her legs up &amp; chew on it!!

Gingerleaf/JustMe
She suppose to be "ladylike" leh. My mum &amp; her nannies keep telling me, when baby chews on the legs = Mummy going to have another one soon!!! @@

Mak D
Dahlia is SOOOOO CUTE on this pose!! hahahaha..
Go for it Mak D, I support you..wahahaa...

blue
she is ladylike in disguise only hor...hahaa

Florence
Thks but she really starting to show her 'true self' lately..Gone the timid little Missy Yan liao!!

She now will "quarrels" with her brother until her brother gives in to her *roll eyes*

Chloe
Haha, i was looking at D picture &amp; trying to figure the word on her pose...push up! YES! she looks like doing push ups!! hahaa..sooo cute

Phoebe
You got a little trainer here liao

Fau,
Ur girl so cute.. she manages to stay at that position for how long??
She smart girl leh.. know how to do some exercise to keep herself slim...hee...

lbs,
Wow.. ur girl "wen wu shuang quan" huh?? hee..
she can be gentle and also can be rough huh??

lbs : Little hazel is not much better. Used to be so angel-like. Now she cries whenever she wants her way.
so miss her old self. haha

Kor kor also give up.

lbs,
Yan so cute in the 1st pic. She must hv very nice &amp; slim legs tats why could pull it out herself. I wonder how she quarrel with her bro. Using bb talk? Must be very funny heehee..

Fau,
Dahlia's so cute with this push up position. She looks pretty steady also well train haha..

Mummies, anywae I realli envy u all for hving nice bumper mat, little play corner for ur bb to crawl, roll or even knock their heads...
I can onli dream.....even for such simple stuff. My in law simply dun like all these items to tk up space in his inside his living rm or hse...
Sigh, lament again...he dun like to waste electricity n water. If we on the tap bigger, he'll nag. Weather so hot, but he refuse to turn on the fan in the living room. My baby perspire like mad...when my maid went n turn on the fan as she was trying to pat Chloe to sleep, he asked her to OFF....my maid also Buay Tahan, n point to the poor perspiring Chloe , n tell him "ah gong, baby very hot !"...onli then he allow her to on the fan..
When I just had the maid, I asked the maid to mop the floor, wash the main toilet daily...guess wat? He said : No need to ask her to mop the floor, wash toilet &amp; cook daily la...can u all guess the reason y???
no prize for guessing correctly though...

Mak D
I agree, old folks like to associate anything done by baby = time to have another baby!

magoo
Can pengz leh, somemore now she likes to play her kor-kor toys..CARS!!

Florence
Yea Yea, Yan also, she will cries cries cries to get her way..&amp; sometimes she will purposely does somethings to get attn..for example, keep throwing things to the floor &amp; expect us to pick it up for her then she throws, then we pick...sigh

Irene
Yea, Yan doesnt have bak-bak legs which Mama prefers!! *hiak-hiak*

She will "quarrels" with kor-kor by making many kinds of sounds PLUS facial expressions PLUS flapping her arms like a mother Hen!! hahaaaa

Fau,
D is very pretty with one side dimple..haha... I love bb with dimples.. Sarah don't have..but never mind.. still love her the same..hehe

lbs : hazel loves to play with kor kor's toys. be it toys bus , cars or anything kor kor plays. All her girly toys are pass. haha .

So cute hor , how the kids behave so alike and different at times.