(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Florence
Really? Our gals same leh..likes to play their kor kor's toys..how?? I dont want her to be a tomboy leh..

Justme
Your Sarah so pretty le, if got dimples somemore..can kill!! *hiak hiak*

Siti, all the babygirls here pretty lah.. hahaha. i miss sarah leh.

1479714.jpg

when can the two girls help their mommies carry shopping bags again?? :p

elaine, dont envy ok.. i got the mat late (a few weeks ago) and it's really a bit silly coz d is crawling all over the place now. bo pien!

Elaine,
No need to envy lah cos i got the mat at home too but jerald always crawl out of the mat & went round picking up or pulling things. He'll also roll the mat using his walker. He'll only guai guai sit inside & play with other kids or bbs around.

lbs,
It'll be very siong to carry a bb with ba ba thighs for long lei. U wan i can pass my boy to u & see if u surrender haha.. It must be very cute to see her quarrels with her bro.

Mak D/JustMe
The picture of the duos is simply adorable!!

Irene
I was well trained during my boy time liao, he was & still the over 97% baby/kid!! hohoho

irene, tks sent her PM, she reply alr.

lbs, ur description of their quarrel is so funny hahaha... cant imagine seeing it. :D

elaine,

dun envy lar....u like the mat, then bring chloe over to my place lor..then she and clara can play on the mat..hee hee...

Hi Miraclecraz,
Re sleeping habits, for me I have strongly believe that its impt for children to sleep on their own as its an impt life skill. You should really consider teaching Zorian how to sleep on his own...maybe take a week of leave to do this and get some help from your parents or in-laws because the first few nights will be tough. But your efforts will definetely pay off and be worthwhile coz it will save you a lifetime of hassle.

My girlfriend's kids are really terrible in that aspect and she advised me to start getting Jade into the habit of sleeping alone when she's young. My girlfriend can't go out at night (yes I mean every night!) and can't go on overseas trips without her children (aged 2 and 4) because they are so used to sleeping in her room with her and when they wake up in the middle of the night, they must see her. Even the daddy won't do. There was once she had to work very late and her children cried for hours because their mummy wasn't there to put them to sleep. I find that kind of attachment is too extreme and unhealthy. And it affected relations with her hubby too (btw, she's just gotten a divorce from her hubby although not entirely due to her children but it did have a role to play I'm sure because there's no time/place for intimacy).

For Jade, when she was born I had her sleeping in my room in a playpen. It was convenient for me to feed her in the middle of the night. I resisted the temptations to bring her into bed with me and she's used to sleeping in her own cot now. When she turned 3 months, I decided to move her out of our room and let her sleep in her own room. Its so much easier to change things when they're younger, rather than wait till they have habits formed and its more difficult to change it and they're likely to put up a big fight. I installed a baby monitor so I can hear her from my room, and when she cried I'd go pacify her but always put her back into her cot to sleep. It was really tempting to bring her into bed with me but I resisted and I always told myself - today's convenience is tomorrow's inconvenience. Jade also used to need to be carried, rocked, patted, and sang to sleep (thanks to my confinement lady) and I liked to do it coz it was nice to cuddle with her. But ard 4 months I decided its not something I want to continue doing for the rest of her life! So I trained her to fall asleep on the bed using the Baby Whisperer's Pick up / Put Down method. If she cried, I'd pick her up for a while till she stopped crying I put her down on the bed. I just continued to do this till she finally fell asleep. The first 2 nights was tough and she took abt 30-45 mins to fall asleep. But after that it was really easy, when its bed time I leave her in her cot and she falls asleep on her own. And when she wakes up at night, she is able to soothe herself back to sleep because she has learnt the skill of falling asleep on her own and didn't need rocking/carrying/patting, etc.

I have the Baby Whisperer book if you want to read more

lbs, ben aso put his legs up the chair the minute he sits in it! but hor, he too big to bring his feet up to eat. hahahaha...benefits of fattening him i guess...kakakakaka

fau, ur dahlia so clever har. can do pushups. can punish her liao....akakakakakaka evil aunty nancy

sarah looks v toddler leh...so demure, sitting there with d...=D

irene, doc gave us some cream le. hopefully will clear soon. now much better liao...

elaine, no need envy de. we all go thro same things. MIL aso din like things to clog up her house. i dun care...just buy lo...then she use it. kakakakakaka

Florence,

Yeah your boy boy will definetely be able to do it! Its only a matter of whether you will persevere! Be prepared for him to cry very loudly till his face turn red and voice change. Its really impt you prepare yourself mentally and tell your hubby/parents and whoever is staying with you what you are planning to do and prepare them too and tell him to support you 100% no matter what! Coz when I first tried doing it with Jade, after she cried for 10 mins (which seemed like forever and ever), I was crying too and already very soft-hearted and wanted to give in, and to make things worse my hubby started shouting at me to give in too coz he also heart pain for her, then I caved and ended up I made her cry for nothing. It was only on the 2nd attempt that I succeeded.

angel
I read your post and am a bit scared cos now my girl although only 8mth+ is doing the same thing. She need me to carry or sayang her when she cried during the night. Daddy can only distract her for a while and that short time frame is for me to take shower. I have tried to disappeared and ignored her cries while daddy tries to pacify her but after 30mins, she will still be crying until she has no voice and the whole body will start to go cold turkey kind! So we gave up and let her have a sleep as she don't really take long naps in the afternoon and only have a few hours to sleep at night.
I hope to break the habit when she is much older so at least she can communicate to me on the reason why. hope that it will work!

BTMum,
Hope Ben feels better after applying the cream.

angel,
This's amazing & u did it so fast. I kudo to u.. pei fu pei fu.. I dun think my hb will support me if i do tat to his precious son.

re: baby food
cant remember which mommy fed her baby cheese. may i know what kind of cheese was that? tonight is grocery shopping for bb food.

i've given dahlia bits of bread, she seems to like the texture. so hoping to let her try bellamy's pasta for babies!

Hi totoro_bb,
Maybe you should start early. From experience from other mummies, its much easier to do things when they're younger. The longer you wait, the harder it will be.

As for the reason why, actually I think no need to ask her bah...whatever she is used to becomes a habit. If she's used to mummy cuddling her to sleep, she'd expect you cuddle her every night lor. What reason you expect her to give? LOL

re sleeping
i dun think i can tahan too. tried it one time and it worked without ben crying much. he simply rolled all over the bed and fell asleep in 30 minutes. but the second night, he did not want to roll but want to be carried to sleep. he cried and cried and i caved in. well, me not ready to let him cry it out. we sleep on the mattress floor so a bit tough to pu/pd. sleep in the same room but ben has his own mattress at PIL place. at my own place, he sleeps in his cot in my room. so far, ben woke up rare in the nights. hb can still pat him or tire him to sleep (tried ONE time so far.) normally, i just pat him to sleep. the only tough tme was i think he was teething. woke up every morning at 4am. had to cuddle him to sleep. but i guess that one no choice la. uncomfortable mah.

Fau,
Any cheese is fine as long as it's hard and pasturised, so cheddar, cheshire, lancashire, edam, cottage cheese , are all fine. But stay away from brie, camembert and blue cheese.

Personally I'd use "real" cheese rather than some highly processed variety. I started Jade on mild chedder as the taste is not too strong and moved her on to others. She loves cheese!

Pillow,
Sometimes I grate the cheese and put into her puree. When she started to be able to hold her food with her fingers and feed herself, I cut in small cubes and gave her as snacks. Sometimes I grill the cheese on bread and cut into small bits.

Fau,
Any brand will do

angel
was thinking of the following - temperature(too hot/too cold), wet diapers, uncomfortable-dressing, nitemares, noise/environment ... now she cannot communicate so we assume a lot of things mah or maybe I'm giving reason as I just want to be near her since already can't see her during the day! contradicting hor

BTMum,
With the PU/PD method, the baby doesn't cry it out and we don't leave them to cry. We cuddle them and soothe them till they stop crying so they know we are there and love them

Other methods are tougher and probably more effective but it takes a really strong person to do it. I also cannot do that to my girl!

angel: am 1 mummy that spoil the baby, i still pat him to sleep, recently from cuddling on chest to place him on bed and pat pat pat. No physical strength involved, my hand will break. So far if he cries at night, either hubby or me able to put him back to sleep.

totoro_bb,
I know what you mean
Anyway whenever you decide to do, you need to make sure baby's need are all met first (well fed/diapers changed/comfortable, etc.) before you start the PU/PD method.

Pillow,
Pieces are abt 0.5cm wide. Jade puts it in her mouth and chews on it for a while then swallows. As long as your baby knows how to swallow (he should by now), he won't choke.

angel, thanks ! shall try that coz mummy here lurves cheese.

if feed Shawn snacks , he open mouth big big. super happy. but see his spoon, his mouth close tight tight. aarrrggggh

I also join a bp with pink dunno if the same one. Also alot of delay n no updates on thread. My things are here but i cant meet her to collect because she always plan pick up at tampines so last minute. Suppose tomorrow is the pick up at tampines today then post details. By the time i check the thread already too late liao. Till now my things still with her, and i dun wish to go for registered mail for something so small. waste my money to bp with her if i opt for postage. She stay in woodlands i think. Is it the same Pink you all deal with?

lbs,fau
I have a future trainer here, train the chest muscles =p

Re: Sleeping
I used to pat Ryann to sleep also, but i stop doing that unless he is not well and need comfort. Same reason as Angel, i dun wan him to get used to it. But sometimes hubby and other caregiver plays a part also. At times, hubby have different parenting style and sometimes i see him pat ryann i will stop him also thus most impt is they must support the same parenting style too.If not, all efforts will be wasted and some babies will get confuse and they may choose different people to coax them to sleep.

jus for your info:

collect 6 barcodes of Huggies Pull ups Pant and/or Huggies Ultra from 1st Jul to 30 Sep 08 can redeem a Huggies Play Tent worth of $39.90.

Pillow,
Your Shawn and my Jade is the same! First few spoons ok, but after a while she will start to fuss and cry when she sees the spoon coming but if I let her feed herself she'll happily gobble all the food down! Think our babes want independence!

Hi BTMum,
Re PU/PD method, no you don't leave the room and don't let him cry it out. You stay beside him so he knows you're there, and you pick him up if he cries and soothe him till he stops then put him back down, so you don't break the trust between baby and you.

phoebe: i also had bad experience with her, i got her hp#, when u on msn, beep me ok, i will give u her hp#. Nowadays I AVOID her BPs no matter how attractive it is.

RE: Sleeping Pattern

Gosh! My boy has been sleeping in between me & hubby ever since he turned 4months. Room is too small for him to sleep on the floor. Same here that he wont want daddy to carry should he wake up in the middle of the night.

RE: Potty train

My accomplishment so far ever since checking out this forum.

1480452.jpg

fau!! omg, like i said, sarah look so unkempt in the pic... argh...haha. But its not easy for our girls to take pic together.. bet when they are bigger, then will be able to pose together alot then. =P

lbs, fau, justme,
the photo of the gals are soooo sweet!

finally i hv a chance to login. hv to juz browse thru the postings. ended my day late tdy as usual. to reward myself, i went for massage (1 hr)... nw 'relaxing', gg to "sleep mode" soon.

angel,
oooooh... u really tempted me lor. im here in shanghai, nv go veri liao tiao. i hope i hv time to go dwn. by the time i knock off, rush dwn oso cant make it as im in pudong.. the neon plc is at puxi (pu-an lu). will try to see hw it can fit in my schedule. must 'squeeze' time for it, else like wasted lor. so many gd buy

irene, lbs,
ya.. me "tong-ing". has a short telecon wif hubby. wat he told me made me cry (with delight) lor. 1st was abt maegan... she was crying when hubby puts her in her cot at bedtime. he tried to carry oso buay sai. finally he resorted in putting my pillow in her cot. surprisingly, she stopped crying and then fell asleep.
2nd was my son.... hubby put him to bed after mei mei dozed off. he puts the blanket over him, then my son said 'daddy, mummy always cover me with blanket every nite.' my hubby say yes.. go to bed, mummy will b back soon. shortly after, there was a thunder.. then son turned n asked "daddy, did mummy rem to bring umbrella to china?"... very touched hor...
cant wait to fly back!!!

supercar,
congrats on the successful potty training...i plan to put maegan on potty training too when i come back. hope its not too late...

good nitez all..

Good morning mummies.
It's Wed liao... let's work hard & look forward to the weekends.

Supercar,
Ur boy look so cute in his potty & his hair looks very stylo too heehee...

darmae,
I feel so happy & touched for u & i believe u can't wait to fly back straight away to hug both ur precious kids.

I think <font color="000000">HFMD</font> is coming back cos the childcare which both my nephews attended will be closed for the next 2 weeks as there r a few cases there. Very scary last time there happened to hv 4 cases but thy didn't closed it at all. I got a shock when my dad told me tat. Imagined the teachers there still dare to tell my dad can still let them cm in today but not tmr as it'll officially closed. How can thy be so inconsiderate to let all the young kids attend class when there's positive or cases shown.

I hope those mummies who send their bbs or kids to infant/childcare to take note just in case there r some inconsiderate ppl around.

Hi darmae..
Your kids are so sweet...
You must have missed them terribly.. Give them a big big hug when you are back..
Meanwhile, enjoy your stay at Shanghai.. Oh, Pudong to Puxi is quite a journey too, hope you can make it in time for shopping after work...

Hi Irene..
One 13mth old toddler was hospitalised last week due to HFMD. Now, there are 600+ cases of HFMD reported weekly... Those babies at infant/child care really have to be extra cautious...

Oh Darmae
I bet it must have really melt your heart, right?

Yan is more of a daddy gal (she will glue to me when she wants comfort suck/miss the breasts but other times she will want daddy's attn loh) During my first 'separation' from the kids in Feb, hb actually took off his smelly T-shirt &amp; let her hug to sleep! @@

Mummies attending this Sat's JWT-Kids Trial ...

If there is a min. of 8 signups from our group on Sat, JWT-Kids will be able to start a new class at 12pm or 1pm.

Membership Fee of $60 will also be WAIVED on the same day if you commit to a term of 8 lessons of S$288.

Just for your info ...

Hi Emily,
Serious... i thot already die down liao slightly better but now it starts again arghh... Cannot bring my boy for a swim liao sigh..

magoo,
I remb u gg for ur op today hor. Take care &amp; update us again.