Just done with my report! Now I can post my thoughts about SAHM liao ...
All I can say is ... JustMe's posting really was the "turning point" ... the one which I said was inspiring. It totally sets me on a different ground now!
Now that I look back, I think I have been a really bad mummy (speaking from my heart). I spend most of my time on the net when I was at home with the kids. Of cos I do spend time with them too ... but could have been more in both quantity and quality. There is so much more I could have done with them.
Some of you may know that before I joined my current company, I was sort of a SAHM for a short 4 months (trying out then) ... in the end it didn't work out so eventually I'm still back at working full time. After JustMe's postings, it really sets myself thinking ... did I do my best to give my kid all my time and love when I was a SAHM? Answer is NO. There could have been alot more I can do but I didn't.
When I see what the rest of the SAHMs have shared, I really feel you all are very wei da! So selfless and devoted to your kid ... it puts me to shame.
Was sharing with my close colleague over lunch just now on all these issues ... don't know why suddently at one point, I almost wanted to cry. I think like most of you said, if can afford, why not be SAHM and give your child the best right? For my own selfish reasons, I had to give the best option a 2nd thought ... sigh.
Anyway, all said, I think it is never too late to start putting myself on track now. I think I will give SAHM a try again but this time, with efforts. But hor, I need alot of support and guidance from fellow SAHMs here, esp on what you all normally do at home etc. Think I need to start working out a routine timetable for my 2 kids liao.
However, if my company will to offer me part-time scheme (which I don't think so), I will still go for it lah. I shall then be my 100% devoted SAHM (to my best efforts) for the 2 days I am not working.