(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Hi Amy

Hehe..yah the sample packets r realli useful for outing. Wonder if they sell them in small sachets instead of in tins n boxes.

Mi also a SAHM, getting "auntie-like"....haha was tt FUNNY who said tt she got unpluck eyebrows n etc... very familiar, hee...
Mi also notice I now no more image liao..last time I MUST mk-up before I step out of the hse..now I can even go orchard rd w.o single mkup n very casual wear..heck care..but very paiseh when see ex colleagues or frens..try to hide sumwhere or pretend nvr see..
But one night, I sudd thought thru alot of stuff n decided I shldnt lead my life tis way...
So now mi trying to mk more effort in dolling myself up again n lose weight. For hubby sake, n my own sake. Hope I can succeed.

Voice: I really gave him the raw potato and carrot puree but in a way it's not that raw also lah ... cos I "heat up" with hot water. Anyway only gave a little ... next time I know. Heeee ... first time mah. Last time I never puree food for my gal one.

Amy,

I can't make it for tis wk! Nxt wk shld be no problem except Fri. Mit up at PP koufu is okie.I live almost opp PP.
U can email mi at [email protected] Thks!

Phoebe,

Maybe u shld ask the shop tat sold u ur cot. They might hav contact or whatever...
Regarding the flashcard details, can email mi at [email protected] Thks a million!

HI mummies and babies,

Long long time very post liao.
How is everyone?

natalie started on solids recently, i notice that she got rashes around her mouth. Lots of rashes! Why huh? She also got rashes on her back. Is it heat rash? Should i bring her to PD to check?

wah!... I've been missing out A LOT!!

RE: Fear of toys.
Sarah scared of BUBBLES!!... weird.. she screamed bloody murder when I blew bubbles that day.. and I tot i can have fun with the bubbles I bought purposely for us. GEE...

BUT she simply LURVE Cookie Monster! My oh my, wonder wat's wrong with my girl. SHe'll squeal in delight and giggle lots when my hubby got this cookie monster puppet.

I have been giving many varieties of food for my girl to try. so far tried the following:
fruits:
apple, mango, starfruit, banana, papaya all uncook, just mashed it with the back of the spoon or let her suck directly. Also tried commercial pear sauce and prune sauce.

Vegetables:
carrot, pumpkin, sweet potato, spinach, pea all steamed and pureed.

Cereal:
rice cereal, oatmeal banana, vanilla custard. Also tried bottled food BeechNut turkey rice.

my girl won't eat the same thing for more than two meal, so got to constantly think of new food for her, headache leh.

Gingerleaf!!!
You got the beco from MummyHamster huh!?!

WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA.... i have been trying to track the 4th gen like mad! I even tot of getting it online from foreign retailers! Madness!

Re: Baby Food.

How do you mummies prepare Avocado?!? Its hard!!!
Can't get it into puree form no matter what i do. Must we steam it first? I spoilt 2 avocados so far. argh! If not because of the claim that avocados are great first bb food, i wouldn't bother to even buy it.

Cookie Monster,
Re: rash around mouth

Sarah also have these rashes around her chin. So ugly. She used to have really flawless skin. Now this. I think its the drool rash. But dunno if its allergy or something.

JustMe, you got to wait for the Avocado to be ripe before you eat it. Ripe one is soft and creamy so no need to cook. even for us blend it with milk and add a little honey is very good for complexion leh.

RE: SAHM image.

I dunno abt those SAHMs. My hubby told me openly that he really appreciates that I still try to dress up when I go out with him. muahaha...yeah true, no matter how bo pian, still better to doll up a bit. tough being a woman lah.

hi poulinea, long time no see u. how r u and bb? yah, my son occasionally still sit on it, haahaaa, now got high chair he prefer to sit high high up, esp. during his meals. Plus now he can sit up unsupported already, he prefer to have a rolling good time in his play yard.

blue: it's ok lah, we all learn thru' mistakes and become wiser. hee hee!

RE: SAHM Image
Aiyah, even though I'm not SAHM but hubby (and sometimes even I myself) think that I'm already quite "auntie" ... haha.

Meko,
of coz I can resist temptations! tsk tsk! This one is a 'NEED' you know, not a 'want'. Hehe. Next time you tempt me with other things that I dun need la, then i will show you my worth self control! HAHAHAHHAHAHAHA. =p

Justme,
assuming that the mummyhamster is another beco seller, but no, I didnt get from her! =D Got it from a frd's frd. What design is mummyhamster selling? You getting from her?
Yay! \o/

re avocado,
They will yield alittle when you sqeeze them gently in ur hand. If its too soft, its probably rotten inside. Too hard = not ripe.

*looks at someone* Hahahahah.

gingerleaf,
u cant resist temptation and got urself a beco carrier.. hee...

looks like i dun ned to give u my review anymore hor. hahaha

i tried beco-ing maegan today. it was def easier that the last time i tried. chose the wrong timing the 1st time.... close to her naptime hence she was cranky n refused to settle in the carrier. tdy was a breeze, she 'sinked' into the carrier cos it was kinda large for her size, hee.. but she was still very happy.

as the max weight allowable for the beco is abt 45 pounds. i decd to try on my 18kg son too.. hee. lucky tat he was cooperative and willing to be the model. i was very surprised that most of his weight was kinda 'buffered'. i actually felt tat he was very much lighter comparing to carrying him using my arms.

here's a pix of him on the beco before 'piggy backing' him up to my mum's place at 3rd floor via the stairs. hee

1340869.jpg

gingerleaf,
which design u'hv gotten?
i wanted the carnival very much.. but didnt managed to get it. so settle for ella lor.. hee
anyway the functionality is more impt lor.

our trip to HK will very much be 'lighten' with the carrier.. hee

darmae,
i got the metropolis!
Im still struggling with the back carry, need hubby to help load her in. Can you load maegan in urself via the back?

When I do the front carry, the shoulder strap on my left keeps slipping down and I gotta keep adjusting.

Ya, baby feels almost weighless when I carry her!

RE: beco
Think my gal enjoys being in the BECO. Carried her for an hour of so in the BECO and she fell asleep in it. Thumbs up n good buy!!

waah... poohwei, gingerleaf, darmae!! I am so green with envy!! I still can't get a BECO!!! Frustration getting the best of me...

Row, Gingerleaf,

Everytime I try to buy avocado, all i see are really hard ones. So these aren't ripe yet??
Where can I get riped ones??

Re: Beco Carrier.

I think I am going mad. I have been dreaming of carrying sarah in beco for few days now. Was really pinning my hopes on MummyHamster's sale. But someone reserved it already. Design was Ella. Don't quite fancy it, but desperate already.

*Praying everyday, someone, somewhere will put up her beco 4th gen on sale, soon*

justme, gingerleaf, u all v cute leh. beco and ergo similar mah. just that beco can hip carry and cradle carry. i think ergo cannot bah. ergo can get online mostly i think. and ergo has this 'cross' shoulder strap which prevents the shoulder straps from dropping off your shoulder. better leh i thought. anyway....just my 2 cents worth la.

blueskye, amy, i think hor, having a bb makes me more brave leh. i used to scream in sight of baby or adult cockroaches. hide in my room until hb come back and kill the cockroach. now, even in the car, i see bb cockroach in my car, i can use tissue and kill it! faint! dunno how i would react if i had seen a huge one. *better pray hard i dun see one*! LOL

BTmum,

for your info, ergo can do both hip carry and cradle carry...just that for BB less then 4 mths, needs a baby instert to be safer...must do homework properly before u buy anything hor...haha..i dare not comment on beco cos no use before...but review for ergo is GOOD...

hi darmae, waaah, see u piggyback ur son makes u really really petite....in person, u're already petite leh. Am sure beco is really a good help for you.

cookie monster: the rash may be a sign of food allergy? think better to consult a doc to rule that out.. cos rash on back + together with intro of solids may possibly be food allergy.. alternatively, go back to plain cereals n see if the rash will go away?

BTmum: u r so brave!!! im scared of roaches to death too..but think i become braver with age not baby haha.. last time see a dead roach i can scream and detour to avoid it..but now can tahan dead or alive so long its far away...but killing it with tissue?! still very beyond me!

Good Morning to all mummies

Hope u have a nice weekend
me very sian as usual monday blues again hee..hee...

Darmae u look so slim n jiao xiao ling long le

cookie monster i don't think they are food allergy rash if the rashes are only gather near the mouth n cheek area le.... could it be cos when they eat cereals their mouth is usually full of leftover cereals then must wipe with a damp cloth or else they would develop rashes.. my charlene has that too initially.. then when i start to wipe her mouth with a dry hanky follow by wipe it twice with damp hanky no more rashes now

justme,
i understand wat u meant by desperate. hee.. i had wanted carnival but then cos i needed the carrier for my trip next week, so settle for ella lor.

re : avocado
the ripe ones are those which have very dark brown skin. you can try the traditional way of wrapping in newspaper to speed up the ripening process. tis trick works.

gingerleaf,
yeah, i needed help for back carrying maegan too. dun hv confident to do it on my own yet. but front and hip carry is easy.
tried cradle carry once, but she wasnt to happy to be in that position.... kept trying to get up lor. anyway its not milk time yet, so diff to get her settle in. i'll try the next time when she wants to nurse.

ben mum,
beco oso hv the chest buckle to prevent shoulder strap from slipping. i guess beco n ergo really similar in alot of areas. which is why voice was advised that 4th gen discontinued becos of the file suit against them by ergo. hee...

poohwei,
i cant wait till the day maegan dozed in the beco. hee

voice, low,
me not tall lar, only 1.59m nia. so look petite lor. hee plus my boy quite tall now.. lucky he takes after his daddy's built

darmae: hee, am shorted than you leh. hahaa! I think you need to carry maegan gai gai longer than she will fall asleep inside longer. It's very natural for babies to fall asleep in moving vehicle/transport.

re: teething biscuits
vone,
what did the news say?
I discontinue giving Rusks to sarah cos, it contains sucrose and milk solids. No sugar and salt for her till she reaches 1. And milk, can only be obtained from ME!

Any of ur baby encounter this..

My boy's development is as well as a 6 mth bb should do like: started say mamama.. or bababa..roll over..likes to stand/bear weight on legs..
in daytime,he only can play and watch TV for a while. If sit for too long, he will scream and wanna us to carry him around.
He likes shopping,turns his head around to c ppl.

But he becomes more cranky when comes to sleep time at night, he is super tired and wanna sleep but very difficult to get asleep, so he starts to scream for 30mins b4 falling asleep

darmae, beco looks good! and you look really petite, like an older sister piggybacking her younger brother
wah got beco, got bugaboo bee.. wah wah!

lina, nice bumping into you the other day. i'm still so GERAM with myra's hair, sorry i tousled it without your permission :p

re: teething biscuits
my ILs (why is it always them!!) insists that teething biscuits are good coz at least she's munching on something worthwhile (???) but i remember teething biscuits as very sweet stuff (which can never be a good thing for a 7mth old baby, right?) so i'm saying NO to them.

re: pureeing peas
i can't remember which mommy wrote about puree-ing peas, but i'm wondering since their skin is slightly on the thick side, do we peel off the skin after steaming before we turn them into purees, or just blend with the skins? can advise?

re: rice cereal
which other rice cereal brands are good for babies? coz my first box of heinz organic rice cereal is finishing so would like to try another one..

hi fau!
Gee, you seem to be always bumping into pple from forum. So nice! I haven't had any chance though.

Re: Peas
I think the mummies here referred to the frozen peas right?? You are referring to the sweet peas??

fau,
hee.. older sister piggybacking younger bro. thanks for the compliment lor.. but hor, u hvnt seen the front wif my haggard face. LOL...

need the beco for the trip next week. will be bringing maclaren volo instead of the bee. otherwise too much to handle. volo cant recline, gd for my son only so ned to beco maegan.

shall do my review of the beco ;) managed to get my hands on the 4th generation beco carrier (Pony express) on Friday evening. its lovely, the print is sooooo chic and not that furry.

am petite, only 1.53m , around 44kg. tried it on Friday nite, didnt adjust the chest straps properly, so the straps were half slipping off. was thking, oh no, is the carrier too big for me ?!! saturday, had more time to fidget with the carrier. realised the chest straps should be at my shoulder area instead ! so after adjusting it properly, it was a breeze to use. this is definitely one carrier that i can fit on alone without help of my hubby. shopped at vivo city , bb fell asleep in his carrier.

the weight distribution is great ! and i like it that my bb is v comfortable, close to me when shopping. and the straps just need onetime adjustment to fit my size, thereafter, all i need to do is to buckle on, carry the bb to straddle across my hip , and click on the chest straps. done in less than 1minute. can't believe i actually struggled and lived with my Infantino for so long !! what a waste of my time.

i feel its definitely worth and not to mention the designs are soooooo coool !!!!

pillow,

i got the pony express too. so lovely ya? so nice to feel the 'fur' while carrying baby too. haha

gingerleaf,

maybe u try adjusting the chest straps too so that i wont keep slipping off your shoulder?

fau: u can try healthy times brown rice cereals? think its quite a fav with some mummies here..

radiance: perhaps ur baby does not nap enough during the day? cos read that if babies do not nap enough, they got sleepy and cranky and when come night time they ll fight sleep even though they r very tired.. so will fuss before sleeping..

talking abt sleep, im obsessed with baby sleep time.. how many hours do your babies normally clock in?? read should be between 13-14 hrs for babies ard 6 mths.. but mine hovering near 12 hrs instead leh.. hmm

meko, yeah ! initially, i thought it was white and brown so a bit concerned it would be easily dirtied. but when i got the carrier, its actually light brown with dark brown patches
and not too furry which is great

I have a little problem here.. Edison was on milk strike since yesterday... After taking his cereal at 2pm, he didnt want to drink any milk or eat anything until 3am! At 3am feed, he only drank about 90ml of milk.. This morning, he still refused to drink when I feed him at 7:30am..

Has anyone has any advise or experience on how to handle this? He does not look sick at all, still as cheerful & playful...

emily: so edison didnt take anything from 2pm - 3am?? not even a sip of water?? think have to feed him some water at least if not dehydrating..
if situation never improve, best to consult GP

HAHAHAAAA YES YES i found my beco !! fast eh :p

was dreaming abt it day and night, till i got moody. think my HB is most relieved that i found one !