(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

poohwei, bena,
wat timing n day u are looking at for shichida at TP hub?
most likely will stop my elder wan soon.. since he's gg to b 4 yes old liao. hb say send him for chinese language cos he really very poor in the language lor.

lbs,
maegan same as yan.. still at teat 1. oso will get choke smtimes. xiaojie oso.. keke

you mummies so nice buy new teats for bb ... keke hahahaha i CUT myself for my bb haha

BuBu Mama (pcos_woman) ya how ... hmmm i am going to stopp BF in 2weeks time liao ... very little milk left

I just happened to browse thru the Aug mummies thread and they are talking about this Trio centre as an alternative to Shicida... has anyone heard of it?

thanks bena!! will call them =P

anyone using the maclaren quest? is it more spacious? see the price of peg perego quite scared.

Irene, hahahaa...i burst out laughing reading ur post re: Jerald's remove his arm from PJ, so hilarious...he is very smart leh, outsmart you, hahahaha. Issit the PJ oversized? Let him wear romper to sleep lah, won't expose tummy even.

Darmae: oic..older one eh, nvm, show it to me when got time, i also no hurry.

Gingerleaf,
You got kua zhang or not.. can see ripples??

Atinarin,
Thanks! But hor S$99 too expensive for me lah
I'll rather use that money for Shichida and have him sit on some preloved S$20 high chair :p

Shichida :
Anyone interested in forming a class near Northeast area? I understand that if you have 4-5 babies, can form one class. (Dramae, am I correct?) I'm very interested to get one going on a weekday leh.. anyone? Poohwei?

Bubu mama,
Me too leh.. ever since I stopped dieting (yes I diet even though I'm breastfeeding :p) and exercise, I've been bingeing! Cakes, ice-cream, chips... jialat. Somemore I'm a SAHM- alot of time to munch and munch and munch. I'm eating a magnum now!

peapod,
re:trio centre
hv not heard of tis learning centre before. juz browse their website. the programme and setup seems to be similar wif shichida. i saw they offer trial lessons...

ben mum,
i hv maclaren quest (gift from fren). its light weight yet sturdy.. comparing to the aprica i hv.. its more spacious. if i put my coming to 4yrs old boy in there, can still fit lor. one dwnside which i dun like is tat it can topple backwards if u hang heavy diaper bag or shopping bags on the handle.

btw, i saw mothercare centrept hving sales. maclaren quest mod is now selling at 239 instead of usual 339.

voice..
yeah old model. it was my son bday present when he was 2 yrs old. funnie to recd such a present esp when my son dun like to sit in stroller.. we do use it occasionally... but mayb less than 30x in the 1.5yrs. hb wanted leave for maegan as an alternative in case the aprica one is abit too compart for her as she grow... but i am juz too keen in the bugoboo bee or quinny buzz lor. keke... see hw lar. if cant sell, i juz use lor.

bena,
yeah 4 babies can start class liao. i wud luv to join u.. but hor, me no SAHM, so wkday is out leh

RE: buffet club card

I've recieved a phonecall asking me to sign up for this card. But when i asked the lady where are the places i can use the card she couldnt answer me kept asking me to go and view their website. And further more she wasnt able to send me a catalogue when i asked for it. It could be the lastest scam on phone now Ladies do take note.

bena, lol, really can see wobblies la. Heeh.

Im keen in shichida too. When is a good time to start lessons? My gal is turning 6mth on the 1st. She cant even sit yet, so I tot it'll be better if she can sit then attend classes.
I'd opt for weekday lessons also.

darmae
hi^5! so we have two missy here..keke

Ben Mum
I also have the Quest, bought at $200+ about 3 years ago at the hypermart at Kaki Bukit.

Agree with Darmae, the downside is you cannot hang heavy things at the handle..otherwise , I think is a good buy..value for money bah..

hmm....thanks darmae & lbs,
will go down to robinson's to check it out. dunno if cheong choon will sell or not.

lbs, how is yan? took her to EYS liao?

Voice,
The PJ is not oversized lah. We dun let him wear romper to sleep at night as i scare he may catch a cold. My mum will let him wear a 2pcs kind or a sleepsuit. I really wonder how my boy do tat heehee...

lbs,
hi 5... keke
hw's ur little missy? getting beta or not?

ben mum,
go shopping for stroller... bring bb ben, test drive. hee..

brgt my 2 kids for flu jab tdy.. maegan juz arrhh. then look at the doc. nv really cry.
elder wan. we ned to hold him dwn like WWF lor. been trying to convince him.. but cant so no choice. cry like mad... hohoho..
but in the end, he was so proud of the plaster tat he refused to remove it. went to sch with it and kept telling his teacher n frens he can nw go disneyland... kids... hee

ben Mum/Darmae
Brought Yan to see the Chinese sinseh we brought our boy to, not EYS this afternoon.

Just now evening fed her the 1st dosage of the yucky medicine, piang Darmae, I can fully understand what you mean by WWF loh..haha

She seems to be sleeping better now. I mean for the past few days she keeps coughing, so far from 8pm till now, i only heard her cough once..good sign??

But I have another problem, she has not poo for two days (today second day)!! OMG

Phoebe
I dont consider the quest basket below as big, normal size bah..

Irene,
Jade does that too! Supposed to be sleeping but she undress herself in the middle of the night! I've resorted to using a sleeping bag now hehe so she can't squirm out of it.

Bena,
I want to send Jade to the Shichida class leh...but hubby is totally against it. Coz his sister sent her oldest child for 4 yrs and she say she cannot really see any benefit....So he say dun waste our money lor. How to convince hubby?

Ben Mum,
Re stroller, I'm using the Peg Perego P3 too...would highly recommend it - its the perfect stroller!!! I love it coz its big and can hang lots of bags on it and its stable. And Jade sleeps with her arms and legs stretched out inside hehe! It reclines flat so its good for newborns (maybe yr next child can benefit!), and the baby can face both forward and backward - backward is great when Jade is cranky and thinks that I'm no longer there when she can't see me! It can take up to max of 20kg, so can be used for long time probably 3-4 yrs old? The fabric is comfy and water resistant, washable, and easy to remove. It has a 5 point harness so it tops the list in terms of safety and even has suspension on the wheels so baby gets a less bumpy ride! The best part is that it can fit any brand of infant car seat, so when Jade is sleeping in her car seat (I'm using a maxi cosi) and I don't want to wake her up, I can just pop the car seat onto the stroller. There's space behind for an older toddler to stand too. And its really easy to fold and carry, and it can stand on its own when its folded! I can operate the stroller with one hand while carrying Jade. So I think it was a really good investment. The only con is that its big means bulky and its heavier compared to the rest of the strollers. If I remember correctly the Combi is 5kg, Maclaren is 7kg, and the Peg Perego is 8.5kg. But my maid (who is short and small sized) and I can manage well...its not that much heavier (Jade is heavier than the stroller haha), and we really only need to lift it in and out of the car boot. I did my research before I finally chose this stroller. Although its pricey, its quality and comfort is well worth it. And plus it'll probably last you through 2-3 kids.

angel, u really v good sales lady! =D the price does scare me off. must discuss with hb first and see what he says.

phoebe, can ask if u can get staff price for peg perego at kaki bukit aso? may need the extra discount.

Ben Mum,
Strollers are so expensive hor? I was so shocked to see the price tag the 1st time I went shopping for one when I was pregnant. I'm also the budget type mum so bu she de buy peg perego. Then hubby also keep commenting that peg perego is too bulky and heavy so diff to handle when I'm alone. In the end we got a combi one which is super light weight at 4.2kg only and also easy one hand operation. But agree that combi being a jap brand is much smaller size compared to the ang moh brands lah. Faith is now a snug fit in her stroller loh.

Re: Watery Stools
Faith started pooing many times yesterday and the stools are very watery. I suspect it is due to the carrot puree which I started her on Sunday. She passed out watery stools with bits of carrot like 4 times yesterday and this morning at 5.30am too! Anyone had experienced this with your baby? I wonder if I should send her to PD but I have stopped giving her carrot today.

Any mummies here sign up with the Pix n Portraits package? I signed up the new born package with free 1, 4, 8, 12th mth studio pics. But when I want to call and make appt for my bb's 4th mth pic, couldn't get them at all. Keep going to the mailbox for 3 days already. And when I found a hp to call on the brochure, the gal Val says she's no longer working for the company anymore. After which she hangs up her phone when I call again. DID THE COMPANY CLOSE DOWN? Anyone's make a appt with them recently? Or did anyone pass by the shop at Novena Sq and see that they are open/closed? Can PM me if you know anything? Thks! So sad, was looking forward to take my bb's 4th mth pic.

hi mummies, wow few days never see thread and it's moving so fast.. me busy with nynke and also setting up thread to sell baby pouch slings. still in process cos writing mails to the supplier in USA and ding-dong here and there. think supplier getting fed up with me cos i ask so many questions haha...but quite an enjoyable process though not earning much. at least using my brain and not just doing housework and looking after nynke. when she sleeps, i head for the internet..leaving all the chores aside..

stroller- the quest was recommended by my sister as she says her 4 yr plus son still can use it. thus as long term investment, I also get one. so far we do like it vv much. as for the basket, not vv convenient to use actually cos once we place nynke to the lowest point, cannot really place things in the basket and if there's things there, a bit difficult to take out when it's at lowest point.

peas puree- question- i bought the NTUC brand..is it just boil and then blend? think of giving nynke the peas this week and start plain porridge next week.

cereal- regretted only buying 1 box heinz plain rice cereal previously. now cannot find any stock in ntuc . so bought frisocrem and hope she like them.

blue, u ok?? the kids also back to school?

Amy,
I think you can find Heinz rice cereal in Kiddy Palace.. Pinkjy bought a pack for me from there..

Angel,
You are so good in convincing the mummies here I'm sure you'll have no problem convincing your hubby
Why don't you suggest letting Jade try it out for a term and see if it will really benefit her? Every baby is different so maybe his sister's child shouldn't be the only yardstick on whether the course is beneficial?

For Stroller, I find that weight is very important to me. Maybe because I'm on the small side, but I find our babies already very heavy and having to push a heavy baby using a heavy stroller is quite undesirable for me. It's like pushing a 17-20kg weight everywhere. It's also very difficult to bring out a heavy stroller from the boot. So I bought a lightweight combi that is only 3.9kg. On days when I go out with Zac, I can handle him, and still carry the stroller to take a taxi. I'll start him on an umbrella stroller once he gets too big for the combi. I'm looking fwd to it cuz by then it'll even be lighter

Hi amy,

Strange isn't it that Heniz rice cereal is OOS everywhere? I managed to find them after scouting around many supermarkets in one NTUC located at Rochor Centre. Not sure if their stocks will last as I only bought 2 more packs last week when I found them.

Need advice...

Juz realise that my boy is teething. His lower tooth is showing. However, his feeding is getting difficult these few days. He dun want to drink from bottle for his milk feeds in the early morning n late nite. Only 2 milk feeds a day, thatz why I am worrying as he keep rejecting the milk. I even try to spoonfeed the milk, still fail. He has no prob with his cereal feed n pureed feed. He poos about @ least 2 times a day, and can poo up to 4 times a day (poo - paste form).

His norm schedule is:
0700 - Milk (160ml)
1030 - Cereal w/ milk (180ml)
1430 - Pureed w/ cereal (150ml)
1800 - Cereal w/ milk (180ml)
2200 - Milk (180ml)

Itz only these two days that he started to reject his milk feeds. What should I do? Should I bring him to PD? Teething stages? I heard that teething stages are difficult, but what are these 'stages' about?

i think im gonna learn how to use my sling again.. its been collecting dust for the longest time!! but baby carrier abit cannot make it already.. gave me bad backache!!!

mummyfaith,
thats sounds like diahorrea! If it persists, its better to bring her to see a doctor. Meanwhile, give her more warm water to replenish her fluids. Are there rashes on her chin, cheeks or body? It could be a case of an allergic reaction as well. My gal poop mucousy poo once when I gave her pumpkin. Then she had rashes on her chest, face n arms, which went away after I stop giving her pumpkins

bluelily,
I took my boy's package from them..
For what i know, they will sms me when is time for me to bring my boy for shoots..(1st/2nd/4th etc).
my last visit was in Jan..

amy, you must sieve the peas to remove the skin before blending i think.

Angel: I think you have given Jade peas before, can confirm steps again on how to do the peas? Issit steam, sieve and blend?

how come so strange so many of you can't find Heinz cereal? I seen it around everytime i went supermarket leh.

Irene: my boy lagi best, he knows how to use laptop, I was chatting with bebeNg last nit and he close off my chat screen, must be complaining to me to stop chatting and pay attention to him, lol!

Anybody has given HT barley cereal to your baby? I intro to my boy for past few days and realised he got constipation, I also wonder issit broccoli or barley cereal cos' i intro both new items at the same time together. Today am asking my maid to switch back to heinz rice cereal and monitor if he is still having hard stools.

Hi sharon/amy,
Re peas, you can buy frozen peas...the nutrients are as good as fresh peas although its frozen according to the weaning book I have. I use NTUC brand. Just boil the peas for 15-20 mins until soft, puree it using blender and add abit of the water used to boil when pureeing till its smooth and consistency is right. I do the whole packet and freeze everything in ice trays cubes overnight. Some books recommend to strain the peas first before pureeing because the skin bits may not be liked by babies. But personally I find its too troublesome and my girl doesn't mind so I skip that step. Also think its good that they get used to different texture foods so next time won't be so choosy

alamak...angel i also buy the ntuc brand- it says from NZ right? followed the instructions and boil for 2-3 mins only leh..i just gave nynke just now. she's ok with it. then i found some pea skin in her mouth..apparently one 'stubborn' skin not well-blended lor. luckily manage to get out from her mouth..will be more careful next time. mIL actually ask whether want to give nynke chicken porridge since she's making it for lunch. I said NO no..felt bad cos she meant well...but our 6 mth not suitable for meat flavored stuff yet right??

bubumama, abt the sling, ang moh (the supplier) says sling to 18kg and they really still carry their kids even that weight..dun think i can make it lah...break my back...

hi amy, when i discussed weaning plan with 2 PDs, both of them actually recommend that i do the chicken / pork porridge, add carrots,etc when my boy is 6mths. a NO No on fish till 9mths.

i think there is no rule to strictly say No. i feel its more abt preference and what you believe in when reading up stuff in the internet. although i feel these days, some mummies follow what's up in the internet/books so strictly that whatever is contrary, is almost akin to feeding something "bad" for our babies.

tiny voice: better to intro 1 new food at a time so u can monitor his reactions to each new food. hope ur boy will have softer stools for today! :p

re peas: so we got frozen peas (like in a pack) from supermarket and just need to steam it and freeze it for storeage right? we still need to remove skin?? the blender cant blend the pea skin to mash-like??

Re: Carseat

Do ur babies feel warm when she remove them from the carseat? Or issit becos i got a lousy car seat? Thinking of buying a cushion for the carseat. Any idea as to where i can purchase it?

mummyfaith, yeah. strollers so ex. thinking between a maclaren quest and p3.

i still need to get another car seat too. realised the one i have has no base, so the car seat 'rocks' a little. ben almost slipped out when i was going down a steep slope 3 weeks ago. Luckily, my MIL was there to hold him at the back seat.

anyone can recommend a good car seat with base that can be used till 4 years old? *wink at angel*

Ben mum,
Im using a Britax Safe and Sound Meridian AHR.
Generally, the safe and sound range is pretty popular and its very cushy. Models like Royale is more popular than the rest I think.

amy!
I bought the exact same pouch from a spree before Yan is born..hehe

very very comfortable material..easy wash, easy dry, easy carry..not sure if the mummies who went for the first gathering saw it, Yan was actually sleeping very comfortably inside most of the time..hiak hiak

angel
checking, the frozen peas, issit those used for fried rice? Also, I heard beans are good but any idea what type of beans?

Hi Mommies...!!!

Wow...u gals really chatted very fast! hahahaha...

Re: Stroller
For my own opinion, better go for those light ones, easy to open and close and got "4-wheel drive" ones...actually i like the heavy kind of strollers too...but after shopping several times wif my sis...i'm really glad tat we did not buy the heavy ones! so funny...imagine 2 ladies all dressed up for shopping...end up one carrying baby...who is all over u,pulling yr hair...,one carrying the stroller full wif bags...very lang bei oredi...if the stroller is the heavy type, gonna b more lang bei lor!
My SIL got a strokke...! super stylo but super unfriendly too...very heavy and bulky...very hard to move ard in small spaces...

Re: Heinz cereal
Ya lor...agree wif Tiny...but mayb the bigger super markets...try Giant and Cold Storage...

Heinz cereal, i bought it last sunday from jurong east ntuc. theres plenty there, west side mummies can try buying from there.

lbs, great..u r my walking testimoy then..haha.

car seat- i'm using graco and it's with a detachable base. bought from usa n think they also have it here. we also have a maxi cosi, also vv warm when i bring nynke out from it.

poohwei,
shldnt be warm leh. so far maegan ok when she sits on the maxi cosi infant seat. we juz switched her over to britax eclipse (used for my elder wan).
u may wan to try Kiddopotamus for the cushion spread.

btw, u heard any updates fm hiryani?

lbs,
i rem the pouch u were carrying Yan with.. hee.. very good wor. and u very skilful oso.
too bad i oredi bgt a beco carrier... cant spend more liao. otherwise i will buy and ask u to guide me.. hohoho

ben mum,
i will oso recommedn britax. i hv the eclipse.. used tat for my elder wan. but now he dun sit liao, give to mei mei. he 'upgraded' to jnr highback booster seat.

RE: Stroller

How much is a P3? im using capella. im bought the first one which has big and comfy seat, 5 point harness and 3 x all wheel drive. it has a big storage basket below and it's quite heavy (but still manageable). But the best part is it cant fit into our saloon car boot, even if it can fit, it will take us 10 mins to fit it in.... so it has been sitting at home after using twice.
Then i went to buy another smaller build capella, 4 wheel drive, seat not so comfy and its a 3 point harness. The basket storage is not useful, weight is manageable, and most important it can fit into our car boot easily.
Im also tempted to buy new stroller.....