(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Emily,
Wow, tats a good blog..thanks..next time can send to ppl to read.

peapod,
Care share with me how much did u top up for the shipping cost?thx

Darmae
wah, u going on holiday?! I itchy for holiday now..haha

We went to Bali last December when Yan was coming to 3 months. Well, it was quite an easy trip for us as Yan hasnt start solids, so her meals = Mama

As we went for villa stay (pratically 'locked' ourselves away from outside world), I had to bring along enough diapers for her to last for our 4D 3N (est around 8 diapers a day)

Usually, I will also bring along fever medicine for the kids in case of emergency.

You still breastfeeding? If you can do full latching during your trip, then it will be much easier as you do not need to bring along your pump.
laugh.gif

For Maegan's solid intake, you probably can pack some istant cereal (the best if you have those sample sachets) & few bottles of puree foods.

i will be at burger king expo tomorrow at 10.30am for bfast and then try to get the goodie bag at 11am, please look out for me ok. unless it rains or bad weather then i prolly stay at home.

MIM sling
i didnt know theres different materials available, i think mine is sateen as it is quite smooth, most likely i will use it tomorrow when i go to bbcare expo tomorrow, mine is pink. yah it tend to slip at the ring and always must pull pull when bb gets lower and lower. hehe. yes it is quite cool and not hot for bb so it is quite good for our tropical weather.

hi Emily, my boy is taken care by maid at home mon - fri, so it doesn't make a diff if she's alone at home on weekends since weekday there's no supervision, hee hee! Thus far i find my maid is ok lah, except she is not very good in housework but babycare is quite good. See my chubby boy you can tell, hahahahaa!

hi darmae: can share your experience with bringing a 15mths boy? Am planning to travel with Sam in Dec, then he would be 15mths, hee hee!

Hi peapod..
I also doesnt know how to use the leappad system with Edison.. I tried once, he was busy tearing the pages and his hands keep hitting the system.. Aiyo! Later the system get spoilt by him before he even learn anything from it.. So in the end, I kept the system in my storeroom.. maybe try again next month..

Hi Yoki..
I bought the system from the oversea spree.. 1 system + 3 books, total ~$80 (including shipping)...

wah Tiny
u plan so long ahead de..kekee

where you intend to go? we too having plans to travel...next year!

In terms of what to pack, I think unless you are going to some island resort/ulu place, shouldnt be much a problem. The real challenge is if you are taking long flight..haha..We brought our boy travelling when he was 13 months for a long flight trip. He was up & crawl all over the cabin floor during the whole flight *faint*

lbs: yah...we believe in planning ahead, need to save for holiday expenses mah! We planning to go canada to visit my SIL & family, sure a long long flight eh! Our airfare will be a gift from them as a belated wedding gift, of cos' we can't go w/o Sam, will be skinned alive!

lbs,
yup.. my daddy planned and paid for the trip. total 8 adults and 2 toddlers, 1 infant. hee
confirmed the trip 1 week before the news of flu breaking out in HK. we were quite hesitant to go fwd with the trip initially.. but glad tat the situation is under ctrl and improving.
by then shld be ok.. anyway to play safe, we will bring 2 kids for the flu jab 15 days before departure.

yup, me still breastfeeding... but i figured out i will still bring the pump cos smtimes my gal chun pattern. she can refuse my breasts as times.
thanks for the tips.

voice,
we went to korea with my inlaws in mar 2006 when darius was 15mths old. we opted for midnight flight thinking that he will sleep and then we dun hv to 'run' around him in the flight. but then hor, we are wrong.. he cant get to sleep. the bassinet wasnt that comfortable as he is rather big for the bassinet. so he was quite grouchy during the flight...
it was winter korea when we went there.. we found layering him is more effective than letting him wear 1 super thick coat. as we hv to get on and off the bus.
hv to bring enuff milk, diapers... toys and books to entertain and of cos distract him at times. medication is essential.. juz in case. touchwood.

as he was on solid liao.. i let him take the food along wif us. but i still packed some instant cereal/porridge.

where do u plan to go? we may oso plan another in nov/dec if my hubby's schedule allows so... need to use my krisflyer mileage b4 it expires.

low
flu jab can take starting from 6 months..read in the newspaper the other day

Darmae
yeap, better play safe to take the jab...haha..we also find the bassinet a hassle in fact. Got to bring out the baby every now & then when there is turbulence.

Tiny
Wah, Canada sure a LONG flight..so make sure you have enough toys/books/etc to entertain Sam during the long flight.

The 14 hour flight I had with my boy already made me want to pull my hair..though he was not crying but he cant sit still loh..haha

voice,
wah seh... flight to canada really a challenge.
you are very brave.

lbs,
yeah.. we hv consulted PD. he advised on the jab too.. lucky thing is that the flu outbreak in HK was cfm as old strain. otherwise he wud advise us to cancel the trip instead.
darius and my niece are sooo looking fwd to disneyland. the next tough thing... is to convince both of them to take the jab. for maegan no problem.. still baby, wun resist much.

Wah voice, you are so adventurous! Dare to venture so far with Sam! Last time we brought my elder gal to Perth when she was 18 months already quite a challenge liao ... though flight was only about 6 hours. She refused to sleep in her cot and so, throughout she slept on my lap ... I can hardly moved then.

Hi Em, hehee, I also kept the leapfrog safe away from his prying hands. I really hope he will like it leh, else waste of $$ again

Hi Yoki, I paid about same as Emily but only 2 books so slightly lesser.

Hi atinarin, I was reading the blog with fascination. The life of a tai tai is...wow. Did you see the toys that covered the entire sofa for Xmas?? And the birthday bashes for the DOGS...and the branded shoes? She is even publishing the blog into a book! But she is really nice to take time to do volunteer work also

RE: Travelling
Was also thinking of going for a short trip in May but only the two of us hehee *Bad Mummy* Maybe Bintan resort or somewhere nearby. No courage to bring baby along yet. Voice, you are really brave leh. Pei Fu!

peopod, dun say you bad mummy..we mummy also deserve a break leh. I went Bali with hubby for er ren shi jie leaving all three kids with my sister in feb..
Actually the younger they are the easier to fly. I find most difficult time is maybe 1-4yrs pld cos they cannot sit still and want to walk around on their own. young baby just sleep n drink. Try not to travel night flight cos its not comfortable for them to sleep in the basinnet and they will be grouchy and start making noise and kicking the seats. The passenger infront will stare at you. Best is travel with SQ with good entertainment for the kids where they can just watch tv n play games. Some of my friend feed they child with flu medicine so that they will knock out in the plane.

mummies...not that am brave lah, cos' i can't bear to leave Sam behind for 21 days leh plus SIL and family already give tall order, to bring SAM! hee hee!(maybe that was the subtle condition for paying for tix, hahahaha)

So far I think Sam is good, he is not short attention span yet, he can sit on our laps and concentrate while we read to him up to 10mins i think. I think he enjoys reading...like his daddy. When hubby has to train NLB, he so happy, can borrow books.

Hi peapod..
I told my HB many times that I will NEVER leave Edison behind.. If we think that its going to be troublesome and "beyond manage" to bring Edison on vacation, then we don't go... Wait until he is old enough..

I don't plan to go for any vacation now.. When Edison is 3 y/o, we will go for a long vacation.. We wanted to go to USA... self-drive, free n easy for 2 weeks! *Oh, I realise that its still too early for me to daydream now*......

I haven't read the Tai-Tai blog yet.. Let me go and take a look now........

Em,
with #1, i always wanted er ren shi jie, sometimes even yi ren shi jie cos i opted to travel frequently and even outstationed for weeks - mths.
but now with #2, think differently... money and status to me not as impt as before liao. so i reject travel requests etc... and now i go everywhere with her. very happy and contented... wanted to bring #1, but he like to follow daddy more. mayb cos he 'angry' wif mummy not being wif him previously. trying to make up for him as in when i can :p
we are planning more vacations, short/long together as a family now. hee

u oso very adventurous hor.. go usa.. hee

i briefly browse the tai tai blog. she has 3 dogs wor... hee

gingerleaf,
I do have a MIM sling (cotton, light blue), use less than 3times. My hubby dun allow me to use it coz I m the clumpsy type and he is worried about my handling of bb. If you wan it, I can let it out to you. Can email me ([email protected]).

Just managed to steal a few minutes during lunch to come in
Talking abt holidays, I am planning a trip to HK with Jade in May too. Can spend quality time together as a family and do some bonding especially daddy coz he hardly have any time with the baby.

Re leappad, my two cents worth - I usually let Jade sit down on my lap facing outwards then I will hold the leappad (out of her reach) and read to her. Initially she always tries to eat the book and squash the pages, I will tell her no and move it away from her...then when she settles down I will continue to read. Now she sits quietly and listens (most of the time lah). I read to her at bedtime and before naps, as sort of a winding down activity if she's not tired/cranky. Hehe maybe you guys can try. They have to learn to sit still when reading. So we have to instill in them at an early age and get them used to it. Coz it surely will get more difficult when they grow older.

magoo, pm u already, but dun think can attach the pic in pm, do let me hv your email address so that I can send it to u.

RE: Leaving babies behind

I'm guilty of this ... haha! Maybe cos I'm not such a noble mummy. For me, I think mummies also need to have some time for herself and also some "couple time" with hubby. After I gave birth to my elder gal, hubby and I went on a short 3 days 2 nights' trip to KL just before I went back to work, leaving her behind as she's too small to travel then (about 2 months plus). I feel "couple time" also important as we were both busy with a demanding baby ever since she was born and hardly time for ourselves. Then we also went for a 10 days' Japan trip w/o her (when she was about 2 years plus) cos the main objective was to try for our 2nd baby ... how to bring her along right?

Anyway, we always leave the kids with my in-laws on Sun night and won't see them till Wed. Now with 2 kids, we only leave the baby with my in-laws there till Wed, but the elder one we will bring back on Tue. So at least Mon night hubby and me got 1 night to "patoh", which I think is important also. More balanced.

To add on, maybe cos we are used to such arrangements already, so in a way, separation anxiety is not so jialart. Our kids are also more adaptable and sociable.

Meko n magoo i sure remember u all.. but u two talk in forum these days ma hee..hee.. irene long time no talk .. wiselyn also le..

meko i just brought the retro jacket n dress for charlene in the bp too.. think i also bp siao liao.. chiam liao hee..hee..

peapod: ya she did volunteer work too, goo karma for her la haha...

yep 3 dogs, and theywere a couple who never wanted kids initailly...solid la got newspaper article on her some more...byt she loks very different now eh...

but its like nice life also, everyday go out with the maid and bb, taxi or hb fetch no public transport.

then the post where she allow her girl to rip newspapers? she actually realised and was thankful for a maid to clean up...poor maid must be so mad though.

its ok i dont have a maid or whatever, am happy. trying to be happy with what i have, just wish my health would be better..after pregnancy alot of stuff haywire, not getting better.

darmae,
Thanks for the testimonies! Btw, my fren just came back from HKG trip with her almost 1yr old gal but regretted it. Mainly b'cos the subways aren't stroller-friendly. Escalators are all downward, so every time got to carry the stroller up. Very tiring. Plus the narrow streets + air pollution. Maybe you want to consider sling.

fitty,
thks for highlighting.. we will be bringing carrier instead.. which is why i went to buy beco carrier.. hee every1 can help to carry.. keke
hv the MIM sling n little pod sling. but i cant managed both well.

blueskye,
once awhile will go in and read for updates..lets hope she really change for the better but jus got a weird feeling

Yoki, think it's quite natural to feel that way lah ... humans are afterall, skeptical ... but well, thank God we weren't one of the "victims" ...

dear mummies,I've got quite a few request for babylegs, if there is anyone else who are interested, please email me the design that you want and I will try to get for all this weekend, no gaurantee that I can get it though, so best to let me know alternative design. Will check out the shipping cost to singapore and let you know.

row,
thanks alot! really appreciate your help. i need to add 2 more.. is it ok? i email u..

juz came out from boss' office.. got letter for variable bonus. hee