(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

merkon,

i think my bb belongs to the 90% group. she started sleeping thru when she was arnd 3 mths.

i also will feed a dream feed around 11+ and she can sleep until 8am or even 9am during weekends. weekdays she will wake up earlier cos disturbed by mummy as I have to go to work.

ecookie,

mine will stir n make noise within the 3-4hr interval... if she ever make it to the 6hrly mark, i will be very happy liao. hope she will 'master' the art of sleeping thru one day.. hee

Recently been quite busy so seldom contribute liao...sometimes juz glance thru all the posts nia...

Regarding sleep thru...
My BB had been sleeping thru since ard 1 1/2 mth bah... Nw most of the time she will sleep ard 11 plus n wake up ard 9 plus....

think my baby is the 90% lor. She sleeps at 10pm and wakes up about 5-6am, feed her milk then she sleep again till 9am. Sometimes she will sleep thru 10pm-8am.

re: sleeping thru
thanks! i'm just waiting for the day my baby will sleep for more than 5 hours. trying to get the baby to sleep on his cot to see if he can sleep better too.

5 o'clock now! 30mins more to go!

darmae,

In life, there r pros n cons.....she veri naughty....always purposely crying out loud non stop seeking attention....n like to perform a lot of stunts....n tricks until I can't tahan her....fall onto the playmat wif a loud "poom", she oso wun cry...

merkon: envious!!! i can only go off at 630pm bleh!!!

meko: yah i want baby to sleep longer till 9am + aft his 1st feed but when i go to work always wake him up one..

merkon, i guess mine belongs to the 90% too.
Shes been sleeping thru since 3rd mth oso.
Sleeps from 11+ till 9am, with no feed inbtwn

merkon,

u're so cute. call urself 10% mummy..

my gal is drinking FM. last feed depending on how much she wanna drink. sometimes drink only 80ml. Think she just wanna sleep.

I give FM for last feed too. Ard 180ml, but normally dun finish. Lately seems to be on milk strike, Dowanna drink milk, make her drink like forcing her to take poison lidat.
I feed her BM b4 for last feed, also can sleep thru.

funny

totally agree wif u.
ur gal very tough ah. fell hard on the bumpermat oso nv cry... steady wor.

gingerleaf,

we bgt uob jnr life (endownment plan) and life maxi

recently my bb also sometimes on milk strike, but hor, when i pop the bottle into her mouth, she suck suck a bit and then give me big big smile, and turn her head left, right, left, right. when i insist and keep the bottle in her mouth, she again give me that toothless smile and let the milk dribble down her bib. wah liao, i like want to ask her "what pattern is this man?"

gingerleaf,
i bot policy from NTUC, first time buy insurance one so a bit blur blur, hospital and life. something lidat.

Can I consult all of you with regards to weaning and also current milk intake of your babies.

Here’s my boy Zorian’s current feeding schedule

Wakes up between 5.30-7.30am and will have his shower between 7.30-8am.

8-9am: 180ml milk
12-1pm: 4 tbsp of brown rice cereal (water added till correct texture. No fix qty)
4-5pm: 180 ml milk *Sometimes will only drink 100ml
8-9pm: 210ml milk (Last feed b4 sleep)
2-4am: 210ml milk
Total milk intake: 780ml

1) Is his feeding schedule normal? He doesn’t feel hungry most of the time. Esp the feed at 4-5pm because sometimes he’ll only drink a little and then “tahan” till 8pm.
2) Am I giving too much cereal? I read some books and recommended to increase cereal to twice per day without compromising on the milk intake at this stage now.
But looking at his feeds, it’s quite difficult to introduce another cereal feed though?

Anyone care to share with me?

madlynette,

my gal does the same thing too! will drink only a bit then refused to drink. then she will also go 'buuuuuuuuu'. end up spraying milk on me as well. else, she would use her tongue to push the teat out.

Ecookie,
Supposed to clean mouth, tongue, sides so that the milk will be wiped off (reducing the chance of fungal growth-- they call it "thrush".)
What I do is that I use gauze (wet it and wrap around finger)(those type that we used to bite on when we had our tooth removed). Can get from pharmacy in packs of 100's pieces.
Better cos the fibre won't drop off.

Hi funny76,
Mine also almost sleep thru (usually 9+pm till 5+ am) since 1.5 months. Don't know why these 2 weeks so weird.

Probably teething bah...

meko, haha very funny hor, but how lidat, waste a lot of milk, so hard to pump one, hor. :p or r you givin FM, sorry dunno who give FM and who give EBM anymore....

Merkon,
Hee you are so cute. I'm like you - 10% mummy.

Darmae,
Maegan too active lah.. Like Zac. He's never slept through before. Longest is 5 hours and that was donkey months ago one very lucky nite. When we co-sleep in his early months, I latch him on so many times at nite (comfort suck) I lose count. His bed time is now from 8.30pm to 6.30am. If I'm lucky, he'll wake up at 11+pm and 4pm. If I'm unlucky, he'll wake up at 11pm, 12am, 2am, 3am, 4am, 5am, 6am - all not due to hunger. Then I'll be, awoken by his cries, blur blur walk to his room, carry this heavy sack of rice and pat and pat for a few mins till he falls back to sleep. Then blur blur walk back to my own room. 1 hour later repeat again. That's my wretched life.

madlynette: very funny the way u describe..! spraying all over u haha..myra notti notti!

my last feed to baby is milk ard 130ml.. cos he s not on 6 feeds. so his last feed is the least so when we drop to 5 feeds. he wont miss it soo much ,.ha

re: insurance very impt!
my hubby got it under his name as dependent as part of his company insurance.. and 3 days before baby turns 1 mth he got fever and was admitted to hospital for 3 nights cos too young so need to blood/urine tests etc.. lucky nothing wrong and fever just part of throat infection (passed by bad pappy) and subsided after few days.
but the bill comes up to 2k+!! after claiming from medisave $900+ only, the rest we were able to claim under insurance so not still okie..

ecookie,
He already has my company 24x7.. still not enuff meh? The longest I've been away from him since his birth = 3hrs. And that was on my birthday.

Hi peapod, can you PM me your CL contact? Thanks!

Anyone of you still have any good recommendation? So I can pass on the contacts to my friend. Thanks so much!

Finally finished setting my paper! So happy! Can go home see my boy liao...tired...

magoo, yah loh, haven't get the chance to see your boy leh!

madlynette: i can totally identify with your description on the milk strike. the toothless grin is so so cute right?

gingerleaf: i bought AIA achiever (investment link for savings)and AIA Pink of Health (for medical cover). All AIA pdts cos my relative is from AIA so no choice lah ...

Bena: wow! you only away from your bb for 3 hours so far? salute you!

miraclecraz: your boy is 6 month old too? i'm not too experienced as i'm a first time mummy. but if compared to my son, your bb's intake is definitely more. my bb still can't finish 150ml of milk even now. but i think everything should be fine as long as bb is happy and well.

re: 10%/90%
ben aso belong to the lucky 90% ba. he sleeps from 7.30-8.30pm to next morning 5.45-6.15am since 3+ months old. i actually wanted to train him to sleep through but gave up after 1 night. could not bear his crying. however, 2 weeks later, he suddenly slept through!! was a miracle cos i had to go back to work 1/2 weeks later. =D

re: milk intake
ben drinks 6.15+am, 10.15+am, 2+pm all 150ml, and 5.30+pm (180ml) b4 he sleeps at 8+pm and 10.30pm dream feed of 180ml. total per day is 810ml. have yet to give him solids yet. thinking of starting this friday.

re: insurance
Bought AIA for ben. not sure what it covers tho. all hb settle. =D

to all SAHM, i think we all see grass greener on the other side. I have always wanted to stay at home with ben. i think i miss him more than he misses me. LOL. really miss out on all his milestone learning. sighs. from WM (working mother)

Ben Mum,
I still believe quality time is better than quantity. No doubt I have alot of time with Zac, most of it is time on childcare. Today I decided to change things a little and spent a whole 2 hours in bed with Zac just wrestling with him, rolling in bed and making him laugh. These are precious moments working mothers can have with their babies too. Right?

bena,

maegan's pattern is almost sama sama as Zac except tat she's not yet a sack of rice. hohoho... i oso usu latch her 2x if i'm lucky.. unlucky times, latching up to 4x lor. very tiring..still hv to get ready for work and trying to stay awake and alert at work.

ben mum,

we as WM may not be around to witness most of our bb's 1st... but then we will get rewarded in other sense. maegan now hv her preferences, she can recognise ppl well.. each time i stepped home, her head will turn to the direction of my voice. then lately, she began to flap her hands asking me to carry her... juz tis morning, when i say gdbye to her as usual b4 i leave for work. she cried with her hands flapping and leaning fwd asking me to carry... hee and i was elated instead. keke

Darmae,
So touching..
Meagan is a slighly smaller sack of rice but a very wriggly and strong one...I always think working mums are great.. I mean it's like working 2 shifts. At least for SAHMs like me, we can pack in some afternoon naps when baby naps. But for working mums, gotta be 100% alert in order to be efficient at work.. really not easy.

Btw, I've decided to work part time soon and after zac turns 1 year, I'll probably go full time

bena,

my arm muscles tone up quite a fair but nw. becos of my superactive maegan. hee...

who's taking care of zac when u start the part time work?

yeah, blue's op tdy...

my boy slept thru' the night since 4mth old, before i went back to work.

gingerleaf: i switch medishield from ntuc to manulife for myself and hubby, both must be same plan and my boy is covered under same scheme for FREE till age 25. I also bought life policy from manulife for my boy.

darmae,
My mum lor.. it'll just be a few hours. Hope she won't have weird ideas and start doing weird things with Zac..heehee.

ecookie,
ryann change to 5 feeds in beginning feb. so abt 5 mths. he change himself one. drink more but longer hrs.

darmae, thks. went to see doc already. gt medicine, he say antacid is breastfeeding safe. =p

Hi Bena..
Oh, you r going to work part-time soon? Hope you enjoy going back to work.. Gonna be a little tough at the beginning, but slowly you will get yourself adjusted to the new routine.

Hi blue..
Hope everything goes well on you.. Take a good rest after the op..

Hi Phoebe..
Why u taking antacid? Got gastric pain? Better take care wor.. Feeling better after taking the medicine?

Haven't login to this forum for more than a week, I missed a lot of discussions here... Something crops up, and I was so miserable for the past few days.. I made a decision yesterday & finally see "light" at the end of the tunnel...

Allow me to grumble a bit... Last week, my parents (from Msia) came down to visit me.. I was taking half day off whole week to bring them around.. As I was picking up Edison from infant care at noon (off-peak hour), I noticed that the infant care only have 2 teachers at that time. How can 2 teachers attending to 15 babies?! From his teary red eyes, I knew that he has been crying for sometime, but no one attend to him due to short of manpower. My poor boy! I was so heart-pain at that moment, nearly want to broke into tears... I made complaint to the supervisor, then to the principal and finally to MCYS!

Its not the first time that this center has manpower shortage problem. Two more staff resigning this month, I'm not sure whether they have a replacement already. Their standard is dropping day by day! Even the teachers admit that they cannot attend to the babies in-time as they are too tied-up...

I've decided to withdrawn Edison from this infant care, I don't want him to suffer in this place anymore! After discussing the issues with my PIL, they supported my idea to hire a maid.. MIL will supervise the maid when she takes care of Edison.. In the morning, my HB will send the maid + Edison to MIL's place.. FIL offers to send them to our home after I returned from work.. Now, we r rushing to agencies to look for a suitable maid...

I was feeling so down for the past few days.. I kept thinking how much have my poor boy suffered in that infant care.. My imagination has gone wild... I keep blaming myself for not being able to take good care of Edison, I'm such a lousy mother...

Sigh, enuf enuf of my lamenting... I need to think positively now & move forward!

insurance,

Medical insurance is very impt and I'm glad that I got it as my girl bill the last time cost me ard $6K when she is admitted at 2.5mths. Finally got the claims back recently. I bought Medishield and Pink of Health from AIA.

Sleeping tru,
My girl now will wake up ard 12plus and 4 plus in the morning. She used to be able to sleep tru the 4 plus one when I just give her the pacifier. But now, I think she know I bluff her with the pacifier, so will insist that I carry her outside, sit her in the sofa and make milk for her. Funny thing is she will rather fall asleep on the sofa as compared to her bed. hiaz

recently myra dun want to sleep alone in the cot. she eck eck and cry all night, so we gave up and she is back in our bed again. she so happy and slept thru. hiaz...

emily: i am sure you are trying your best to be the best mummy to your bb! hope the maid works out well for your family! my maid just came in 2 weeks ago. another set of problems also.. sigh .. all the best for your maid selection!

A WARNING TO ALL MUMMIES!

Last Sun, my little Prinz fell from the bed

Admited that I did not “enclosed” him. I place him in the middle of the bed, then as I was changing, less than 2 seconds, heard a bang and he was no longer on the bed anymore! Found him on the floor head up, crying very loudly. Got a shock of my life. Feel so guilty for leaving him there. Immediately carried him, saying his head, he still crying very painfully. Lift his face up, got another shock of my life, his mouth and nose is full of blood, quickly use ice but he scream even louder. (All this while DH was in the bathroom) when he came out, saw what happen, snatch Prinz from him. He so angry with me, I also did want that to happen mah. We keep on pacifying him with toys, water and song singing still didn’t work, end up feed him some milk then after drinking, doze off to dreamland, when he woke up, his lips was swollen, nose a bit bruise, then another few hrs later, he like don’t remember anything. Lucky everything is well now, little one can eat, drink, play & smile. Heng. But still feel very bad. Now I must remember he can push his butt very far, must enclosed him at all times!

PLS REMEMBER TO "ENCLOSED YOUR LITTLE ONE AT ALL TIMES!

Hi chereen..
So sorry to hear that. I advised you to bring your little prince to see a doctor to be sure there is no injury.

Yeah, I agree, we must be careful all the times.