(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Hi madlynette..
Thanks for comforting me

Hi merkon..
I expect to face another different problem when the maid is here.. Which maid agency did you go to? Any good recommendations?

bena,
ya, its always nv easy to decide on caregiver.

phoebe,

glad to hear tat u r beta now. woth the assurance from doc, beta than extracting info fm net. hee

Em,
i feel for you. i wud b tearing if i were in ur situation.
dun blame urself... its not your fault. the centre shld be addressing this issue and raising alarm for shortage of manpower instead of trying to cope with merely 2 teachers. the decision you hv made is certainly for edison's best welfare.
take care ya... wish u luck in getting a helper.

madlynette,
maegan was at one stage like tat as well... i found myself 'surrendering' to her and allowing her to bunk in on same bed. but hubby raised concerns and eventually we started putting her back in her cot again. initially it was tough... she kept crying the minute we put her dwn. but we see improvement day by day. took us almost 2 weeks to correct her.

hi chereen, better bring ur bb to see a doc to reassurance. when come to bb, everything shld be more detail rather than judge by ourselves. i mean i very kia su one...don't mind spending the $ in order to get an answer

hi emily, is not ur fault, like darmae say, i too will feel bad when i'm in this situation too. don't blame urself, ok.

chereen,
sorry to learn abt prinz's fall. i agree wif em and bubumama, shld bring him to doc. juz to make sure.
thanks for the reminder. i hv to admit tat i am complacent at times when it comes to leaving maegan on my bed.

Thanks for all the concerns,
According to my mom, he is pretty ok. Can giggle & drink his milk.
Used a hard boil egg to massage his face, bruises were all gone! Babies do recover fast!
Yes my mom will be bringing him to the doct this afternoon.
Im unable to take off from work so have to depend on my mom to sayang him

emily: dun be sad... now that you ve decided to make a positive change for edison, things can only be better!

phoebe: thanks for input. think i will change his feeds to 5x when im back from my trip (when hes 5 mths 1 weeks +) cos now his hours drag longer in between feeds and i ve prob feeding him his 6 feeds by from 7am -12 midnight. ha

darmae: so sweet to hear that maegen reaches out for you! im waiting for the day that my boy will do so.. now he only eck eck n lean slightly forward when i make the carry him gesture haha hasnt learn to raise his hands towards me yet..

madlynette: what abt bringing the cot close to ur bed? i lower baby cot so that level with our bed.. guess at night when he stirs and realise we are nearby easier to go back to sleep bah?

ya tks, chereen for the reminder, me too, like to take things for granted....now must be very very careful when leaving bb on the bed, my mum is diff, though bb still not yet knows how to crawl, she will put all kinds of "blockage" to prevent her from falling....haiz really - old ginger is always better (sorry har, chinese not gd) :0

Hello, good morning mummies ... me here! Yesterday can't log in cos after the surgery, I was feeling nauseous and kept throwing up due to post-anethesia effects. This morning went back for review ... surgery went on well. In the meantime, can only be patient to see the results in 6-10 months' time.
Wounds still painful ... can't sleep properly also as I can't lie on my back ... have to sleep sideways.

darmae, may try to train myra, see how, me lazy mom need my sleep. hehe.

ecookie,
her cot is next to my bed liao, but cannot bring the sides low enough that she can see us. so we peek in when she eck eck and her eyes big big like marbles.

chereen,
take care, bring to doc cos got blood and bruises, must moniter ok.

emily,
me also looking for maid now...friend recommended an agency at hougang and we'll be going down this fri to settle the stuff. guess infant care centre is like that since they have too many babies to look after. don't blame yourself too much, like u said, be positive and move on.

cherbie, ouch, hurts mummies' hearts to hear about your boy. understand how bad u felt.

as for me, another sad phase...my girl keeps crying when i bring her to my mum's place. she only wants me to carry her and none of my sisters or my mum can help me cos she cries once they tried to carry her. i m so upset that she's not getting close to my sisters and mum. I m trying my best to bring her over to my mum's place as often as possible, hopefully she can get more familiar with the place and people there.

tiny voice, just saw past few posts and saw u asking for the dutch name book. how to pass to u ah? it's in dutch leh..do u have someone to translate for u? mine was done thru my dutch friend then.

rxsti, replied your mail liao

RE: Sterilising

Think better sterilise till 1 year old ... safer. For bowls / utensils, I will use purified water (aka my Hyflux water, similar to Diamond) to wash and then rinse with hot water before use.

RE: Insurance

I bought 2 policies for Jordan already - always believe in a whole life and an endowment plan as the basic. Bought the life one from UOB Insurance and the NTUC Income's "Pay My Uni" plan. Got it from my friend who is an independent adviser ... so he can sell a range of different products from different insurance companies. Better ... cos before I decide, he will show me a comparison of all the plans according to my needs and budget ... no need to go shopping around ... one person can do all the job for you and you decide from there. If you all keen, I can recommend him to you. Btw I'm also in the insurance industry so I know most insurance products well ... just that I am not selling.

fritty, my boy was 68cm tall when he was 5 months also. So when your is 6 months, should be around 72cm also, assuming they grow at the same rate.

hi emily, i undertand ur concern, cos' i got no one to take care too, i leave my boy with my maid with almost no supervision at all, cos' my maid can only go visit at most once a week, some weeks if she's tied up or tired after work, she don't go. I hope you get a good maid, get someone who has kids are better, though she will miss her kids initially, it will only get better as time goes by. I find maid with kids can take care and understand babies better. Most impt, have close communication with your maid. Yesterday i asked her if she feels fustrated when Sam cries and cranky whole day, she said, "nolah mum, it's normal. I have my own kids too and i know it's like that." I told her it's impt for me to know how she feels, if she can't take it, then we must know how to resolve the situation. So far Sam likes my maid and can hear him giggle away when she bath/wipe or change him. If can, choose a maid who can accept no off day, cos' once you let them go out, they will 'chut' alot of patterns liao. Compensate in other ways, ie. celebrate b'day for maid and buy her gift on her b'day. My maid requested to go out with her cousin/auntie in singapore, i told her no and reason with her why. 1stly she has no $$, still receiving $20/mth allowance and she uses her $$ to buy phone card(we decided to let her use her hp to communicate with her family) and toiletries and some clothes. She still owe me $58 as i paid for her first to buy some tees and bras. Then she is not familiar with Singapore and it's our responsibility to take care of her well being. We told her next year then see how, will review if can let her go out on her b'day. I told her also there is a terrorist at large, she don't want to be caught by him right?! *hee* *hee*

I will pray that you will get a good maid to assist you.

madlynette: ha eyes big big like marbles.. thats my nightmare .. to wake up at 3/4am to see my boy eyes wide open wanting to play!

bubumama: so funny abt the old ginger better. but its true my mum kept on nagging me to do the same thing cos they say baby flip/roll off surfaces VERY FAST.. and its true lor

amy: huh..in dutch eh...then don't borrow liao, no dutch friend, haahaaa! But i really likes ur girl name "Nynke", was telling my hubby..next one if girl, i will name her Nynke Joshua!

ecookie,
i'm sure ur boy will reach out for u soon.. maegan oredi 6mths plus liao. hee.

madlynette,
no la.. not tat u lazy mum, you bound to be tired and needed more sleep. we are '2 shifts' mum like wat bena called us. hee

blue,
i'm sooo happy for u tat ur surgery is successful. must meet up sometime later.. wan to see pretty blue.

my mum also keep nagging me to do the same (i.e. to block whenever put bb on the bed) cos u won't know when they will start to do something (i.e. to flip/crawl).....but i always no listen....now shld be more careful already.

haiz, bb running nose this morning, but boss got things urgent to rush, so don't think can take urgent leave....hopeful tonite can faster rush home w/o doing my "cow job" & bring her to see doc.

hey mummies

dahlia's fever is getting better now.. still sponging her down but every 5 hours as opposed to every 2 hours over the weekend. also staggering the timing of her fever medicine feed. breaks my heart to see her sick, but despite everything else, she's still a happy baby. spent 3 whole days with her and she's starting to get clingy to me, which i'm embarassed to say is giving me a damn syiok feeling hehe! makes me feel important!

ecookie: dahlia's mastered to art of reaching out over the weekend, i see i so happy i wanted to cry hehe.

1304285.jpg

Wow so scary... Heard from my frd...
if you child has any injuries on him, the law holds you liable. That means, they will charge you with negligence if anything happens *touchwood*. Is this true?

THE STRAITS TIMES STORY

There was a case that the father dropped his boy, and the boy fell on the floor. The father did not tell the family till the boy was bleeding when he was drinking milk. His mother rushed the little one to the hospital and the boy had a small crack in his skull – hospitalized for 1 month. The daddy was then charged and had to pay a fine.

Sorry to intrude. I am planning to buy a 6-panel play yard with 2 activities for my child. So need someone to share (meaning to buy the other 6-panel play yard with 2 doors).

Total Cost will be $180

If you are interested please call cheong Choon at 6532 3855.

Fau,
Love that photo of Dahlia! So adorable!

Tiny Voice,
Wow, Samuel is a big boy already! Very handsome indeed! Can I know where you got the play yard? I need it as Faith is crawling out of her bumper mat already.

Darmae, Bena,
Heehee...I was actually happy to read your posts on Maegan and Zac waking up multiple times at night, cos it means Faith is normal! Hahaha...looks like our total BF babies have this sleep issue in common!

fau,
glad to hear dahlia is recovering well...
the reachin out phase fm them really heartwarming lor. i almost want to call n take leave when maegan 1st reached out for me.. hee

voice,
big play yard.. hee can house many of sam sam's fren

blue,
hhmm... 6mths. by then our kids will be 1 yr old... juz nice for a big gathering too!!

mummyfaith: thanks! :D

re: sleeping thru the night

just to share. my friend's son just turned 1 yesterday, and my friend has been BFing him since he was born. so far he's never slept through the night, still wakes up at 3am for a night feed. she's trying hard to wean him off now, as he has registered it in him that mummy = breastfeed. he takes EBM from both grandmothers (who takes care of him when my friend is working) but with my friend, he will scream and cry when she tries to feed him using the bottle. so now she's battling with the weaning process :S

to all interested in the play yard, i got it thru' a pte BP with aug mummies, they bought it from Cheong Choon. So you all can org. together a pte BP here for those interested, do it via email, else moderator going to come after us...hee hee! I paid around $160 for 6 panels too, Winnie said can get 1.5sets also, no need to get full set, 1 set is 4 panels. To house the bumper mat i have, is 6 panels. My bumper mat is yellow bear bought from SSW.

mummyfaith: hee hee...he is taken liao.

Cheeren can feel ur pain while reading your post... yes me also sometimes can be careless must be more careful now.. got once.. i was putting my charlene on the back of the car wanting to change her wet diapers.. reach out for my bag and before i know she flip almost falling lucky hubby caught hold of her and save her from the fall.. my hubby also scold me saying i should be more careful

Hope ur baby is giving a clear signal after seeing the doc.. should not be a problem since baby is still drinking and playing but better play safe

darmae.. hee..hee. u so cute.. almost want to call n take leave hee..hee. i think if my charlene knows how to do that i sure fly up the sky too haha...

voice.. u got the yellow bear bumper mat.. may i ask how many pieces of playyard u need to cover the entire areas? Pls advise.. u get ur playyard from cheong chong too?

Yes yes ... I'll probably have a party for Jordan ... will definitely invite you guys over if it doesn't clash with your own parties. Afterall, baby Jordan only has his "baby friends" from here.

emily: i went to Nation maid agency. the experience with the staff was not bad lah but now the maid starting to give some probs lor (eg. use phone without permission, wake up at 7am and the rest of the family wait for her to get ready to go out!) we trying to tahan as long as possible. we got a transfer maid cos we thought can see and interview in person better. can also see how they handle the baby in person also. all the best! must open eyes BIG BIG ok?

Tiny Voice,
You mean $160 for 6 panels is BP price?

I am keen to get the play yard, anyone else interested in pooling together our purchase to order from Cheong Choon?

yes mummies, my play yard is 6 panels, just nice to surround the yellow bumper mat. And yes, bought from Cheong Choon.

Low, we have the same bumper mat bought from the same supplier.

Magoo: tks, yah lor...i also find he is getting more handsome! (thick skinned mummy) hahahaha!

Amy: yah..aim for a girl next, but boy also fine lah...actually i prefer boy to girl, boy in general not as petty as girl. And if boy, can share sam's stuff, save $$$, haahaaa.

hi mummies, long time no post already...just to share...

regarding bb falling down...yes...we do get worry that when clara falls down and hurt herself...esp on hard floor...so we got her the playyard to play in...she still at times...knock herself on the head when lose balance and face down against the plastic fence as she is now exploring to stand and walk...BUT we realise one thing...when they fall...bb wants to know what the parents' reaction is...do we run to them and say pain pain...which they will sure cry louder and louder...we experience last sunday when clara fall her head on hard ground and my father ran over to carry her...or do we take a step back (heart pain of cos) and see if the fall is not serious...laugh it off together with the bb...to us is a good way to gauge if the fall is a bad one...if they dun laugh...then better take note already...if not...they will program in their head...any and every thing will be cry.

Mummyfaith: i need to go back and review my emails and check how much is the BP price i paid for, can't remember, i think is $150+, somewhere around there. Cheong Choon will do fee delivery to individual home.

clement: i tend to agree with you.. normally when they fall down better to just calmly ask them okie anot, thats why my SIL always do with her son.. try to be calm.. and more often than not, the kid just shake it off and continue playing.. if u fuss over them, they will cry even if not v painful...

playyard: im interested in getting 6 panels! so who is interested in pooling together and get from cheong choon?

so far me + mummyfaith keen? heh

cherkon,
thanks for the advice. i am aso guilty of leaving bb on the bed when i go to toilet at times. now have to extra vigilant. ben is so lazy la. never flip after the 2 days of learning how to flip. so i get complacent.

blueskye, i aso wan to see mei mei blueskye! =D think all ur bb will turn 1 yr first then ben's turn. lol dun mind a gathering then. =D

emily, we are all trying hard to provide a good environment for our bb. i am sure u have scrutinzed the infant care very thoroughly before placing him there. just that they had manpower issues after that. move on! that's the idea! =D on the bright side, edison has learnt to be more independent? =D

re: play yard
think have to get it later. cos ben still not crawling yet.

i need to get a high chair first, iron-fortified rice cereal and get ready for ben's first solid! so exciting!!!!! =D

ecookie, i aso waiting for the day ben will open up his arms and ask me to carry leh!

darmae, i think i will think like you (call in for UPA) if ben asks for me to carry! =D but i am sure my MIL will scold me for being nonsensical! ha!

fau: babies grow up very fast hor!! dahlia looks so steady sitting up!

this mom@work look very suspicious remind me of the previous scandal .. ha.
mom@work if you are a sincere mum, forgive me but there are bad mummies out there trying to cheat other mummies of hard-earned $!!

blueskye": hope ur ops went well and you ll see results VVVV soon!

gingerleaf: 1 set of the panels(4 pcs) will come with 1 toy panel and 1 door. so for the half set, you got to coordinate with other mummies to see who will get door or toy.

Pls. note for those buying from cheong choon: you will pay your set of play yard to cheong choon directly, COD!
So don't have to pay another mummy in advance. No risk of kenna cheated, hee hee!

eccokie,

mom@work is asking who wants to share, then call up CC and arrange, so CC will then divide up the play yards and then send to you accordingly. Tho the nick does looks suspicious. lol

voice,
Most mum requested to have 2 toy panel instead of 2 doors, yet they pay the same as what the mum with 2 door is paying. Then I feel those mummies who took 2 doors like very lugi.

Saw some mummies story on baby falling..
when thay started to roll over?? COz my boy 5.5 mths now , he only likes flipping but never see him roll , does it mean tht he is still safe if he is in the bed?

gingerleaf: for the additional half set, i opted for door, the toy is not very fun one lah. You can place babies toys inside mah. Most kids will be bored with same toys very fast, so i see no point in opting for 2 same toy panels. I rather have door panel so can open at different angle.

voice,
i'd take 2 doors oso. I think the same as you, more practical. Im comtemplating abt getting one, but yet I feel like getting a walker.. if get playard, hse no place to move liao!