(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Blue,
Many said my boy very long thou he's only 67cm at 5mth. Yours 72 at 6mth, that's tall to me.

atinarin,
You may want to try slowly switch FM. If you usually give 6 scoops, mix 5scoop Enfa and 1 scoop Similac for 3-4days. Then increase the Similac ratio.

Re: Sterilising
Mummies, do you stop bottle sterilising when bb starts solids at 6mth? Mrs Wong from TMC said can do so cos the utensils are also not sterilized by then.

mummyfaith.. poor girl. Must be so tiring for you. Zac also wakes up about 5-6 times at nite, wailing with eyes closed. I attribute it to teething. For his case, I just need to carry and pat him and he'll go back to sleep. Sometimes, when this doesn't work, I will latch him and he'll drink quite vigourously so that's probably hunger. Have you tried pacifier?
Another way could be to get hubby to comfort her instead. Cuz if you comfort her, she'll smell you and want to comfort suckle. First few nites it might take your hubby longer to comfort her. But after a while she'll get the message that at nite, mummy not around, and she may not wake up so often liao cuz not worth it.. you can try if this works?

brought Shawn for his jab on sat. he weighs 8.05kg now, 69cm. guess its average. PD went through weaning process with me. i have started him on cereals and puree. PD suggest that i try to give porridge as a lunch meal for abt a month before adding on dinner as well. She goes, " pls pls give bb stuff that you yourself would eat as well. introduce variety. make it taste good, but not to add salt, sugar,etc. delay fish, eggs and honey to 9 mths. do the ikan bilis porridge at 8mths". i get the impression, that my idea of cereals and puree only aint that tasty ....

so i have switched my plan... initially, i wanted to do cereals, followed on by veg and fruit puree, and moved on to porridge at 8-9mths onwards. but now am gonna do a mix instead. doing the traditional porridge (boil with pork / chicken), add carrots, potatoes, etc. it definitely taste much better than my cereals and puree though.

mummies, can share what your PD recommend ? coz am a bit confused coz 2 PDs which i have seen, suggest that i do the traditional porridge. contrary to what i have been reading up...

pillow,

my PD also recommended me to cook traditional porridge for my gal. but the only meat to use is pork for the time being. can add veg though (carrot, sweet potato, potato, brocolli etc etc).

Bena, Peapod,
Thanks, looks like I'm not the only one with baby waking up multiple times at night...Faith doesn't use pacifier but may try the water trick tonight. Do u feed water in milk bottle or training cup? I tried feeding Faith water with both in the day as shes now on cereal but she doesn't like to drink at all. Don't dare to ask hubby to help soothe her at night as he is very tired and needs his sleep to be able to concentrate at work.

thanks meko. my PD also didnt suggest we do those 3-4 day allergy testing which i have read up on....

of coz the traditional porridge also smell GREAT .

Pillow, Meko,
thats interesting what your PDs recommend, i dont see PD so i depend on the first foods book but the book says to only give cereal and puree first. so how? i'm confused leh.

gd aft! doing my aft pump now and reading the posts.
re: sleeping thru
i read from books that 90% of bb at 6 months can sleep thriugh the night. but my boy still cant and he'll be 6 months tomorrow! the longest he slept was 4 to 5 hours. usually 3 hrs plus at night. will try your tips.. hope it works!

Hi.

RE: Sleeping thru
Caelen had slept from 8pm to 4am without food. Unfortunately that only happened once. But it shows that he CAN sleep thru, he just WON'T hehee... I read in the Dr Sears book that if your baby is a high-need baby, then he probably won't sleep thru till quite old.

RE: Porridge
I feel that porridge is kindof equivalent to cereal cos both are rice-based. But porridge should be more nutritous than plain cereal. I give Caelen cereal (with milk) in morning and porridge in evening. Think puree is not a complete food, maybe to give like a snack instead?

RE: frequent wake ups at night
My gal also like that, i do give her water but it will not last long, and most of the time she doesnt want it. I usually latch her on.... but im going to try FM tonight if she wakes up, cos latching her does not work as she will cry a few times, and also restless twist and turns. Last nite she turn till she face down again.... luckily i woke up to check on her around 3+am then i flip her up and she let out a loud cry.... dont know if she can breathe with that position or not....?? My gal take pacifier, but when she cry she will spit out her pacifier and when you give it to her she will still cry.... I will try everything till shes quiet and back to sleep. I also didnt see any signs of her 1st tooth yet. I also need help, my dark circles are getting worse.

RE: Weight and Height @ 6th month
My gal weighs 8.48kg and measure 69cm.

hi mummies:
but think porriage is only more nutritious if u cook n serve immediately cos if you put in slow cooked whole day most nutrients will be gone..
but my mum insists that slow cooker is the way to go, cos porriage need to be very mashed so baby can feed better.. hmm.

hi ecookie, my MIL also put in slow cooker leh. Shouldn't the nutrients go into the porridge already (like soup which is boiled long long)? You mean they will be destroyed?!

seeing all your posts about food make me so anxious to feed dahlia! but too bad cant as yet lah coz she's still recovering from her fever. the fever's almost gone today, took urgent leave to take care of her. apart from the fever and cough she's still the giggly happy baby, so i think the FTM syndrome is just overwhelming me lah.

though i cant be blamed for being paranoid for this point, coz the antibiotics is giving her a poop-fest! saturday pooped 5 times, sunday pooped 4 times, today so far only twice.. i've never seen a bum as red as hers :|

peapod: yah thats what i read leh.. cook too long nutrients will destroy..
but i guess should be okie since most of us grow up eating like this right?

fau: yah i havent start feeding my boy solids yet but looking forward to do so next mth when he s at least 5 1/2 mths!! bought heinz rice cereal standby liao.. but still need to buy ice cubes with lids for the purees..

think will pop by daiso to look out as suggested by one of the mummies here

a little confused here. can clarify? i guess, pureed food is good for the nutrients?
to entice them to eat proper food is to cook porridge?

i know shd feed them porride by 8-9 months old. so for now till 8-9 months, what should we feed bb?

i very tempted to feed bb with solid...but went for bb vaccination last Sat at TMC, PD sd is better to start at 6mth, cos he think my bb on the high percentile rate. Afraid she will be quite big when grown up. so guess can't do the puree for her liao

ben mum: i think i wil just feed rice cereals + vege+ fruits purees till he near 8 mths then will introduce meat.

but think porriage can introduce ard 6 mths bah.. its the same as rice cereals right?

bubumama: really? my boy also on the big side.. ard 75percentile or more! so cant start solids soon?

think i will check with my PD during his 5 mths vaccine this sat

i suppose so, cos i told him can i give bb at least cereal, but he sd, no better not, wait till 6mth.......

u know i really really very tempted to lah...

i read the first foods book and porridge should not be put in the slow cooker, like what ecookie said, cos it kills the nutrients, apparently...

so im confused, 1 week, just Heinz cereal?
Next week? Porridge with one vege?

Pillow,
What you have initially planned, I think, is alright leh. This is my plan too. Start with cereal (cos high iron)+puree, then porridge at 8-9mths.

I started Isaac with one week of cereal. Then make puree and add into the cereal. i don't feed puree by itself cos the taste can be too strong/sweet, except fruit puree.

Why not porridge now? According to First Foods Book, porridge needs to be cooked till mashy which can destroy the precious nutrients. If not, bbs can't digest properly. So it's recommended to feed at later mths when the digestive system is more developed + they are ready for the chewing movement.

Ben Mum,
when I tasted the green pea puree+cereal, i tot it tastes a little raw. But Isaac takes it well. Their taste buds, unlike ours, are very sensitive to flavors. What we feel bland is tasty to them. So don't worry about how to make bb food more tasty

ecookie,
Happen to bypass Daiso at PS last week, most of the cube trays don't come with lids except one type which is not suitable.

I bought at Taka as Isetan OOS. You may want to try.

Re: sleeping thru the night
At first ryann can slp thru then suddenly one of the nights he started waking up at night 4-5 am.
that is when i think maybe growth spurt so i increase his feeds.

old feeding:
5 times 3 hrly 150ml which at times he cannot even finish.
change
4 times 4hrly 180ml
current feeding habit
4 times 4 hrly 210ml
One of which 210ml in total with rice cereal in the afternoon - 1 1/2 tbsp of rice cereal mix with EBM.
Manage to slp thru if last feed is around 9pm.
If last feed is earlier will either dream feed 100 ml more before i sleep.

if he still wake up in the middle of the night i will only feed water then pat him slp. only if he still make super big fuss then will feed EBM.

usually waking up at night i realize gt a few common reasons:
1) drinking not enough during then day
2) teething
3) play too much during the day.
4) external reasons such as too cold etc.

maybe can try the above method. HTHs

Re:Weight
Ryann is only 7.6kg and 66 cm leh... 50 percentile. Is it too small or light as compared to so many bb here??

Cindy (Fitty nut)
I still sterilize the bottles as per normal only will stop when ryann 1 yrs old. anyway dun need much effort.
as for utensils i will run thru hot water.

RE: Sterilizing

Me too, same method as Phoebe. Its better to be more clean as their tiny stomach is still growing.

pillow: can use chicken for porridge? My house no pork no lard leh. I also wondering if can give porridge now but think it's quite abit for baby to intro so many stuff, puree, cereal and porridge. Will they start rejecting milk soon? I very scared leh, cos' Sam's intake of milk dwindled after intro of solid.

Anyone asked PD what's the minimum daily intake of milk once baby goes on solid?

Phoebe,

Today is the last day of Times 25% sale and I went during lunch time. Bought the book, Feed your Child Right @ $28.10 after discount. Original Price is $37.45. Let me know if you want it as if not, I'll just keep for myself.
Email me @ [email protected]

thanks, phoebe!
i kept a feeding book too lol!
the timing can be tricky to remember so if i never write down i cant remember the last feed exactly..ha

hey i just called my auntie, she took care of alot of kids and grandchildren before. She told me intro porridge only at around 8-9mths, I shall follow her advice, anyway...I don't see a hurry to add porridge to baby's diet now. I'm still happy puree'ing veg and fruits, hee hee! My aunt even suggested i can up his cereal/puree intake at 6pm and then replace the milk with water at 7:30pm and then 11:30pm last milk feed.

ecookie: Ok, tks. Since i won't be seeing my son's PD till 9mths, thought someone here wld have brought up to their PDs.

I am going "crazy" at my new workplace. So much to learn and work on and the timeline like super short leh.
No proper training on where to find info so the "looking for info" already takes up so much time.
Really miss coming online but ...

There was a mummy asking for my contact details last week. Was it Yoki? Give me some time.

Also, briefly scan through this page and saw Mummyfaith and Bena talking about their BB "making noises" at night. Mine too. Just started last week. I thought she was hungry but found her eyes closed. I thought she was cold and covered her up with blanket. Not much use leh.
Last night I was so tired, I just looked up and seeing that nothing was wrong, I just dozed off again. Lazy me... but really sleepy lah.

Anyway, my BB's tooth is developing. I was cleaning her gum and felt rough edges. Can see the white part already :D

re: feeding
so the ideal is to into solids n let them replace milk feeds so by say 9 mths, most babies should be having 3 solids + 3 milk feeds per day? am i right?

Topic: What does PD check during visits?

What do your PD check during consultation eg. before jabs? Do they do a thorough check of their motor skills or just weight and height?

goldfishy: u mentioned cleaning ur baby gums? even when they have no teeth? how u go about? just our clean fingers + plain water?

wow! so professional like hospital keep record of the feeds! i am the aga aga type of mummy.. hehe ..

re: semi solids
i tried pureed carrots with rice cereal for my bb yesterday. he's quite ok with it. i tried it myself too! taste pretty nice lei!
any recipes to share?

bubumama,

voted liao!

phoebe,

r u beta nw?

re : sleeping thru

maegan nv once slept thru... mayb she's the 10% tat cant. increase intake durin daytime oso cant.. at my wits too. feeling very tired every day aft nite feeds

re: sleeping thru
if most of our bb belong to the 10%, then where are the 90% babies? my husb kept asking me how come our bb can't sleep thru ... sigh ... how i know??? any bb here from the 90%?

babies: sleeping thru
i think at their age, sleeping thru means ard 6 hrs only..
so if ur baby sleeps at 10+ and wakes up at 3-4am, means sleeping thru already, i guess.

normally mine will sleep at 10 but i ll feed him a dream feed at 11+/12 and normally he can sleep till 6+ then will stir abit.. im a light sleeper so will wake up and pop in the pacifier and normally he ll fall back asleep till 7+ for his 1st feed.

after that, i will try my best to pat him back to sleep (sometimes successful only) till 9+ then he ll really start the day..